Space Advisory Board (SAB) roundtable on Canada’s future in space

May 18, 2017 – WebEx, Canada’s Youth and Next Generation Space Leaders

Hosts: Stephane Germain, Christine Tovee and Michelle Mendes

Areas of Focus

  1. Grow Canada’s Space Sector;
  2. Innovate and Explore Space;
  3. Strengthen Long-Term International Partnerships;
  4. Inspire the Next Generation;
  5. Contribute to our Understanding of the Earth;
  6. Improve Quality of Life for Canadians; and,
  7. Ensure a Safe and Secure Nation.

Highlights

There is an opportunity for greater outreach and awareness about Canada’s successes in the space sector, particularly from the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) and the Government of Canada surrounding engagement with academic institutions and small and medium-sized businesses. The efforts made by the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) in promoting career opportunities within the Forces, which successfully connects with audiences through dynamic and engaging communication, is a model to consider. Communication efforts may also be tailored to target those outside of traditional science and mathematics-based disciplines in order to promote a broad range of career opportunities in fields including business development, design and project management, among others within the space industry.

Significant interest in inspiring the next generation was voiced as many participants suggested that young students should be exposed to the space sector early on. Integrating space material into school curriculums may also prove to be valuable given how dependent society has become on space, specifically with respect to satellite communications.  University students may also play a role in inspiring the next generation by attending elementary and high schools in order to champion post-secondary studies in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM), and beyond.  

A call for greater employment opportunities within the space industry in Canada emerged as a product of the perceived rise in space-based activity abroad relative to in Canada. Many highly skilled fresh graduates are being attracted to foreign markets despite a desire to remain in Canada. Greater support for entrepreneurship was also voiced, particularly with regards to more accessible research and development (R&D) commercialization vehicles, incubators/accelerators, and micro-funding programs.

Canada could position itself as a global leader in Earth observation (EO) and planetary sciences given the current United States (US) Administration’s disinterest in climate change issues. Canada’s RADARSAT program, for example, may provide a wealth of proprietary data in this regard.  The importance of government investments to build and sustain space activity was also highlighted with reference to government-backed success stories in the US such as Elon Musk’s SpaceX.

Key Implementation Considerations/Challenges

Digital skills and infrastructure: Space-based data collection and dissemination presents new opportunities for expanding digital skills across multiple sectors requiring big-data manipulation. Canada should support the development of satellite technology instead of buying data abroad given its strong position to become a leader in this field.

Space-related priorities: Space policies and frameworks must resonate with peoples’ lives in order to make space exciting to the average Canadian. Policy setting would also benefit from greater engagement with youths who are often excluded from ongoing discussions. Policies should also align with global efforts in ensuring the safeguarding of the planet from a climate change and sustainability perspective.i>

Inclusive growth: the US’ Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) Program, is a model that has received lots of attention in Canada and that could help to advance innovative ideas through partnership.

Education and Public Outreach: The CSA needs to increase its footprint across education and public outreach through in school programs at all levels and social media platforms to better engage with today’s youth in order to better promote space-based careers. A suggested approach to accomplish this would be an education and outreach plan that is able to engage children that follows through into post-secondary. Particular interest was raised around space mining, and the desire for more programs to get students involved in, and educated on the skills required to develop such systems.  

Public communications:  Both educational information and entertaining content is important for captivating the public’s attention and in particular youth. Entrepreneurial success stories can be equally inspiring as astronauts, and showcasing innovative space companies such as Elon Musk’s SpaceX is one way to incite interest in the space sciences.i>

Emerging capabilities: Autonomous refueling is anticipated to be an emerging capability in which Canada can seek to hold a competitive advantage.

Planetary science:  It is currently perceived that the CSA’s focus is on engineering and building things like robotics, but more space-based efforts could be targeted towards planetary and environmental sciences.  
Lack of coordination: The Canadian Satellite Design Challenges (CSDC) was cited as a well-established program in Canada and served as a benchmark for assessing the CSA’s CubeSat program. It was noted that the CubeSat program may be a duplication of effort and may not result in incremental innovation, as the aggressive timelines would in effect encourage groups to buy subsystems rather than design them from scratch. This impedes necessary skills development and facilities/infrastructure needed to grow these programs across the country. Overall, there is an opportunity to better assess gaps in order to better inform future youth engagement programs.

Top Ideas / Outcomes

Social approach: Approaching space through a fundamental cultural lens will contribute to increasing quality of life as demonstrated by the Connecting Canadians program for example. 

Open data: The proliferation of open data/big-data better positions Canada in the global conversation surrounding New Space.

Brand ambassadors:  Young engineers and scientists who participate in academic clubs and in international competitions essentially act as brand ambassadors for Canada’s science and technology capabilities, abroad. Further support and recognition of these efforts will encourage more to participate, ultimately boosting Canada’s global presence. This will also encourage international partnerships between businesses as students graduate into careers. Additionally, partnership between Canadian and foreign universities, and the mobility of students in studies overseas could be better supported given the broader benefits of such international exposure.

Entrepreneurship: Business coaching to young entrepreneurs and fledging start-ups to stimulate growth and ensure higher success rates.

Access to Facilities: Wider access to command test facilities and safe demonstration sites will help to encourage new innovations from students and youths who typically lack access to these types of resources. 

Continuity and stability: Ensuring Canada’s continued success in space hinges on more frequent missions with continued support and funding. This in turn will keep the Canadian space industry at the forefront of people’s minds, encourage start-ups to remain motivated, and inspires the next generation.

Participants

  • Adam Vigneron – European Space Agency
  • Anne Wen – Space Generation Advisory Council
  • Austin Shirley – University of Saskatchewan, Department of Engineering  
  • Bachar Elzein – École Polytechnique de Montréal, Department of Engineering
  • Bryan Little – Royal Military College, Department of Engineering
  • Carl Demchuck - RockÉTS
  • Cassie Stuurman – University of Texas, Institute for Geophysics
  • Christophe Leclerc – École Polytechnique de Montréal, Aerospace Department
  • Chuck Black  - Commercial Space Blog
  • Clovis Vinant-Tang – McGill University, Space Systems Group
  • Dario Schor – Magellan
  • Elise Harrington – University of Western Ontario, Department of Earth Sciences
  • Felix Valin – McGill University, Department of Physics
  • Francis Picotte - Ryerson Space Society, Aerospace Department
  • Gabriel Rodriguez – École Polytechnique de Montréal, Department of Engineering
  • Jan Clarence Dee – Concordia University, Department of Engineering  
  • Larry Reeves –Canadian Satellite Design Challenge; UrtheCast
  • Lilly Hader –George Brown College
  • Michele Faragalli – Mission Control Space Services
  • Michael Anthony Jordan – Royal Canadian Air Force
  • Olivier Jobin – École Polytechnique de Montréal, Department of Engineering
  • Paul Albert-Lebrun – McGill University, Department of Engineering
  • Pierre Daligault –  École Polytechnique de Montréal, Department of Engineering
  • Pierre-Alexandre Desrochers – RockÉTS
  • Ryan Anderson - Canadian Space Society
  • Tanya Harrison –Arizona State University, Space Technology and Science  
  • Walid Chabchoub – McGill University, Department of Engineering
  • Zaid Rana – Concordia University, Department of Engineering
Date modified:

Table ronde du Comité consultatif de l’espace (CCE) sur l’avenir du Canada dans l’espace

Le 18 mai 2017 - WebEx, la jeunesse canadienne et la prochaine génération de leaders dans l’espace

Hôtes du CCE: Stéphane Germain, Christine Tovee et Michelle Mendes

Priorités

  1. Développer le secteur spatial du Canada;
  2. Innover et explorer l'espace;
  3. Renforcer les partenariats internationaux à long terme;
  4. Inspirer la prochaine génération;
  5. Contribuer à notre compréhension de la Terre;
  6. Améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens;
  7. Préserver une nation sûre et sécurisée.

Faits saillants

Il est possible de sensibiliser davantage les Canadiens quant aux réussites du Canada dans le secteur spatial, et plus particulièrement celles de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) et du gouvernement du Canada, auxquelles ont contribué des établissements universitaires et de petites et moyennes entreprises. Les efforts déployés par les Forces armées canadiennes pour promouvoir les possibilités de carrière au sein des Forces armées en utilisant des moyens très dynamiques et captivants pour communiquer avec l'auditoire constituent un modèle à examiner. Ces efforts de communication peuvent également être adaptés pour cibler des disciplines autres que la science traditionnelle et les mathématiques afin de promouvoir un large éventail de possibilités de carrière dans de nombreux domaines tels que le développement des entreprises ou la conception et la gestion de projet au sein de l'industrie spatiale.

De nombreux participants manifestent un vif intérêt à inspirer la nouvelle génération et suggèrent que les jeunes étudiants se familiarisent tôt avec le secteur spatial. L'intégration du matériel utilisé dans l'espace aux programmes scolaires pourrait aussi se révéler utile, compte tenu de la façon dont la société dépend maintenant de l'espace, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les communications par satellite. Les étudiants universitaires peuvent également jouer un rôle et inspirer la nouvelle génération en faisant la promotion des études postsecondaires en sciences, en technologie, en ingénierie et en mathématiques (STIM), et au–delà, dans les écoles primaires et secondaires.

L'augmentation de l'activité spatiale à l'étranger par rapport au Canada semble avoir favorisé un appel à l'augmentation des possibilités d'emploi au sein de l'industrie spatiale canadienne. De nombreux jeunes diplômés hautement qualifiés sont attirés vers les marchés étrangers, même s'ils préféreraient rester au Canada. La demande d'un plus grand soutien à l'entrepreneuriat est également exprimée, en particulier en ce qui concerne des mécanismes de commercialisation plus accessibles en matière de recherche et développement (RD), des incubateurs et des accélérateurs et des microprogrammes de financement.

Le Canada pourrait se positionner comme un leader mondial en matière d'observation de la Terre (OT) et de sciences planétaires, compte tenu du manque d'intérêt de l'administration actuelle des États–Unis au sujet des questions liées aux changements climatiques. Le programme RADARSAT, par exemple, peut fournir une multitude de données exclusives à cet égard. L'importance des investissements du gouvernement pour établir et maintenir l'activité spatiale est mise en évidence en faisant référence à des réussites aux États–Unis,  comme la société Space X d'Elon Musk.

Principales considérations et principaux défis de mise en œuvre

Compétences numériques et infrastructure : La collecte de données dans l'espace et leur diffusion offrent de nouvelles occasions d'accroître les compétences numériques dans plusieurs secteurs nécessitant le traitement de données massives. Le Canada devrait appuyer le développement de la technologie par satellite au lieu d'acheter des données à l'étranger, compte tenu de sa position de force, pour devenir un chef de file dans ce domaine.

Priorités liées à l'espace : Les politiques et les cadres relatifs à l'espace doivent trouver un écho dans la vie des gens afin de faire de l'espace un sujet passionnant pour le Canadien moyen. L'établissement des politiques profiterait aussi d'un engagement plus important des jeunes, lesquels sont souvent exclus des discussions en cours. Les politiques devraient aussi cadrer avec les efforts mondiaux visant à assurer la sauvegarde de la planète sous l'angle des changements climatiques et de la viabilité.i>

Croissance inclusive : Le programme américain Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) est un modèle qui capte grandement l'attention au Canada et qui pourrait aider à faire avancer des idées novatrices au moyen du partenariat.

Éducation et sensibilisation du public: L'ASC doit accroître son empreinte en éducation et en sensibilisation du public, et ce, dans les programmes scolaires à tous les niveaux ainsi que dans les plateformes de médias sociaux.  Le tout permettrait  de mieux engager les jeunes d'aujourd'hui et de mieux promouvoir les carrières spatiales. Une approche suggérée pour y parvenir serait un plan d'éducation et de sensibilisation qui permettrait d'engager les enfants jusqu'à l'enseignement postsecondaire. Un intérêt particulier a été soulevé au sujet de l'exploration minière spatiale, et le désir de plus de programmes pour faire participer les élèves et les éduquer quant aux compétences requises pour développer de tels systèmes.

Communications publiques : Les renseignements éducatifs et le contenu divertissant sont importants pour captiver l'attention du public et, plus particulièrement, des jeunes. Les réussites des entrepreneurs peuvent être tout aussi inspirantes que celles des astronautes, et le fait de faire valoir les entreprises spatiales novatrices telles que la société Space X d'Elon Musk est une façon d'éveiller l'intérêt envers les sciences spatiales.i>

Capacités émergentes : On prévoit que le ravitaillement autonome sera une capacité émergente relativement à laquelle le Canada pourrait chercher à obtenir un avantage concurrentiel.

Science planétaire : On estime actuellement que l'ASC met l'accent sur l'ingénierie et la construction d'objets robotisés, mais les efforts concernant les technologies spatiales devraient être davantage axés sur les sciences planétaires et environnementales.

Manque de coordination : Le Concours de conception d'un satellite pour un défi canadien (CCSDC) est présenté comme un programme bien établi au Canada et a servi de point de référence pour l'évaluation du programme CubeSat de l'ASC. Il est mentionné que le programme CubeSat pourrait être un chevauchement des efforts et ne pas être un facteur d'innovation progressive, puisque l'échéancier très serré aurait pour effet d'encourager les groupes à acheter plutôt que de concevoir entièrement des sous–systèmes. Cette situation empêche le développement des compétences, des installations et des infrastructures nécessaires à la croissance des  programmes à cet égard dans tout le pays. Sur une note positive, il y a là une occasion de mieux évaluer les lacunes afin d'éclairer l'élaboration des futurs programmes favorisant la participation des jeunes.

Principales idées et réalisations

Approche sociale : Aborder l'espace sous un angle culturel fondamental contribuera à améliorer la qualité de vie, comme l'a démontré le programme Un Canada branché, notamment.

Données ouvertes : La prolifération des données ouvertes/massives place le Canada en meilleure position dans la conversation mondiale entourant le Nouvel espace.

Ambassadeurs de marque : Les jeunes ingénieurs et scientifiques qui participent aux clubs universitaires et aux concours internationaux sont de fait des ambassadeurs de marque pour le Canada en sciences et en technologie à l'étranger. Un soutien et une reconnaissance plus grands de ces efforts encourageront un plus grand nombre d'entre eux à participer, ce qui en fin de compte renforcera la présence du Canada sur la scène mondiale. Cela encouragera également la formation de partenariats entre les entreprises lorsque les étudiants de troisième cycle entameront leur carrière. En outre, le partenariat entre les universités canadiennes et étrangères et la mobilité des étudiants qui poursuivent leurs études à l'étranger pourraient être mieux pris en charge, compte tenu de l'ensemble des avantages d'une telle exposition internationale.

Esprit d'entreprise : L'encadrement des jeunes entrepreneurs et des entreprises en démarrage stimulera la croissance et garantira des taux élevés de succès.

Accès aux installations : Un accès plus large aux installations d'essai des commandes et aux sites de démonstration sécuritaires contribuera à stimuler  les innovations par les étudiants et les jeunes qui n'ont généralement pas accès à ces types de ressources.

Continuité et stabilité : Pour assurer la réussite à long terme du Canada dans l'espace, il faut des missions plus fréquentes, ainsi qu'un soutien et un financement continus. Cela maintiendra l'industrie spatiale canadienne présente dans l'esprit des gens, en plus de favoriser la naissance d'entreprises pour entretenir la motivation et d'inspirer la prochaine génération.

Participants

  • Adam Vigneron–Agence spatiale européenne
  • Anne Wen–Conseil consultatif de la génération spatiale
  • Austin Shirley – Université de la Saskatchewan
  • Bachar Elzein – École polytechnique de Montréal
  • Bryan Little–Collège militaire royal
  • Carl Demchuck - RockÉTS
  • Cassie Stuurman– Université du Texas
  • Christophe Leclerc–École polytechnique de Montréal
  • Chuck Black -  Commercial Space Blog
  • Clovis Vinant–Tang - Université McGill
  • Dario Schor - Magellan
  • Elise Harrington - Université Western de l'Ontario
  • Felix Valin–Université McGill
  • Francis Picotte - Ryerson Space Society
  • Gabriel Rodriguez - École polytechnique de Montréal
  • Jan Clarence Dee–Université Concordia
  • Larry Reeves - Concours de conception d'un satellite pour un défi canadien; UrthCast
  • Lilly Hader–Collège Georgia Brown
  • Mic Faragalli - Mission Control Space Services
  • Michael Jordan–Aviation royale canadienne
  • Olivier Jobin - École polytechnique de Montréal
  • Paul Albert–Lebrun–Université McGill
  • Pierre Daligault - École polytechnique de Montréal
  • Pierre–Alexandre Desrochers–RockÉTS
  • Ryan Anderson – Société spatiale canadienne
  • Tanya Harrison - Université de l'État de l'Arizona
  • Walid Chabchoub–Université McGill
  • Zaid Rana–Université Concordia
Date de modification :