Space Advisory Board (SAB) roundtable on Canada’s future in space

May 16, 2017 – Toronto

SAB Hosts: Lucy Stojak, Michelle Mendes, and Gordon Ozinski

Areas of Focus

  1. Grow Canada’s Space Sector;
  2. Innovate and Explore Space;
  3. Strengthen Long-Term International Partnerships;
  4. Inspire the Next Generation;
  5. Contribute to our Understanding of the Earth;
  6. Improve Quality of Life for Canadians; and,
  7. Ensure a Safe and Secure Nation.

Highlights

The Canadian space sector is at a crossroads as increasing competition and new commercial space actors push the boundaries. In an era of transformation, industry needs to be internationally focused and exporting. There is a sense of urgency to develop and implement a sustainable long term plan of action that will help to grow the Canadian industry and create job opportunities. Canada needs to catch up with other countries that are investing heavily in space and also create the right business environment.

To help leverage investments, a whole of government approach is proposed. Canada`s ability to develop a long-term plan and put resources behind ideas was highlighted as a challenge. Flexible funding mechanisms including government procurements must be available to fund innovation and science.

Canada must also ensure that it has the appropriate legislative and regulatory structures in place to support progress. Existing legislation and regulations may be updated, and new laws proposed for emerging space activities. The structure and mandate of the Canadian Space Agency should be examined to ensure that it has the ability to develop and deliver on a long-term sustainable plan with an appropriate level of funding. 

To ensure that space activities capture awareness, or “public mindshare”, public communication efforts by the Government need to be increased along with a renewed commitment to education and public outreach. There are many success stories to tell in Canada, of which the public may not be aware. Increased communication and engagement are encouraged along with using non-traditional groups to support education and public outreach activities.  

Key Implementation Considerations/Challenges

Role of Government: The Government should act as an enabler for Canadian industry by supporting space missions and research and development; Canada should also be a customer of Canadian services (e.g., satellite and Earth observation data). The government should not develop technologies that compete with industry – the government should administer projects. There is a perspective that capacity at the Canadian Space Agency is hollowing out and that more could be done to bring back in-house expertise.

Proactive approach: A vibrant space industry in Canada is possible. Canada needs to take a proactive approach to space, anticipate where there are opportunities and plan forward. Canada needs to allow innovative thinkers to pitch new ideas and take risks, and move away from government-driven specifications/requirements.  Canada must to be responsive, and support rapid decisions – otherwise, industry is at risk of being leap-frogged by competitors; industry must be first to market to capture opportunities and make big gains.

Flight demonstration: Canada has a suite of successful programs that help to support technology development (e.g., Canadian Space Agency programs, SR&ED) and that provide incentives for companies to do business in Canada; but, there is gap in terms of in-flight demonstration – a precursor to generating business and spin offs. SMEs are great innovators but they need first flight opportunities.  

Opportunities: The next generation is leaving Canada for opportunities in other countries (e.g., Europe, US); industry and academia need to collaborate to reverse this trend. Competitions bring together academia and industry, providing mentorship opportunities and visibility for career opportunities. Canada can provide more opportunities to enable access to space: sponsoring competitions (e.g., small sats); providing support and/or permissions to fly technologies (Government regulations to approve amateur rocket launches are not well-defined); leveraging Canadian government facilities (e.g., military base) for student projects.

Inspiration: Canada should fund projects that are inspirational. Space exploration missions and smaller, lower cost missions can be exciting; consideration could be given to a Canadian-led mission rather than partnering. Canada has a micro space mission capability at the University of Toronto Space Flight Lab that could be leveraged.  To position Canada to lead, ongoing and continuous support is essential. With respect to Canada’s nanosat activities, support has been intermittent: a Canadian Space Agency (CSA) workshop in 2010 recommended an annual Canadian forum on nanosatellite activities, and a follow-on event was hosted in 2012. More recently, the Canadian Space Commerce Association organized a first SmallSat Symposium in 2016 and is working toward a second event in 2017.

Telecommunications: Canada has been a pioneer in telecommunications with much expertise. The industry is at a crossroads as commercial providers plan to launch disruptive LEO constellations and GEO satellite orders are in decline. Deemed a commercial sector, support for the telecommunications sector has declined, impacting its competitiveness in the global market. Canada could lead in this area and undertake demonstration missions that would help to sustain the sector, and maintain expertise.

Earth observation: Earth observation is an emerging and growing commercial sector that could benefit from technology demonstration missions every few years; technologies can be developed for climate change and environmental monitoring which could be exported.

Space exploration: Space exploration supports all the proposed goals of the space strategy. Canada must determine its future in space exploration as other space agencies are deciding on next ideas post International Space Station.

Life sciences: Canada`s participation in the International Space Station has advanced life sciences research, and supported cross agency collaboration (e.g., Canadian Space Agency and the Canada Institutes of Health Research, Institute for Aging) and with other space agencies (NASA, ESA, JAXA). There have been important spill overs in health and medicine, for example Canadarm technology for surgeries, and more recently the Hexoskin bio-monitoring project in Montreal.  

Top Ideas / Outcomes

Whole of government plan: The Canadian space program requires a whole of government approach to leverage funding and enable a cross-sectoral approach; other government departments that benefit from and with space in their mandate need to be engaged in discussion on the future of the space program. It would be useful for stakeholders to know the Government`s short, medium and long-term goals, and the priorities that the Canadian Space Agency would be interested in pursuing. 

Partnerships: For innovation to flourish in Canada, an ecosystem approach is needed. The Government can bridge the gap between industry and academia by creating partnerships, establishing consortiums and public private partnerships, funding innovation hubs, and working horizontally with other government departments. More can also be done to encourage other non-traditional avenues for innovation, such as amateur groups, innovation labs and open spaces for hands-on experiences to be considered. These methods could help to attract students to the space sector and leverage the interest and passion of civil society.

Legislative frameworks: Legislation needs to be modernized, notably for remote sensing regulations; additionally, consideration could be given to an Outer Space Act, to enable new space activities such on-orbit servicing and space mining. The Canadian Space Agency Act may also need to be reviewed, with a suggestion that the Agency should become a crown corporation reporting to Parliament to ensure a greater level of independence and stability for long-term planning.

Emerging tech: Afocus on funding niche areas can be limiting and can restrict innovation. Canada needs to provide dedicated funding for key capabilities and emerging areas that may be higher risk (e.g., by applying the google 70-20-10 model for innovation, with resources dedicated to core business, peripherally related work, and unrelated/innovative activities). Canada should consider key technologies that will be critical to the space economy, including on-orbit servicing, Earth observation and LEO telecommunications.

People: To develop and maintain talent, youth need to be interested in space and envision a viable carrier path within the Canadian space sector. There are limited placement and job opportunities for students in space-related studies. Collaboration to develop internships and mentorship programs will help attract youth and ensure jobs in Canada; support for competitions is also important for providing hands on, relevant experience in demand by youth. Education and public outreach (EPO) activities by the Government have been in decline. In order to leverage space to inspire the current and next-generation, defined goals based on an assessment of needs/gaps should be considered (e.g., many people in STEM, may need to focus on STEAM or skills development).

Engagement and outreach: A national engagement strategy, coordinated by the Agency, would help to inspire the next generation. A procurement approach to contract out services for outreach may be considered as part of a renewed approach to EPO. It is important to engage Canadians differently at different stages – from public schools and high school through to university students and graduates. Non-traditional groups (e.g., museums, societies, amateur groups) can be leveraged along with EPO organizations to connect with schools and universities cost-effectively through networks of volunteers, reaching many children and youth. Participatory practices (e.g., challenges like NASA Apps challenge and Hackathons; mentorship programs; rocketry teams), should be integrated into an engagement strategy to promote innovation.  

Space mining: Canada is a mining powerhouse and has the largest concentration of mining expertise. Yet companies are choosing to go to other countries instead, like the US and Luxembourg, where there is more legal certainty and incentives for investment. Canada needs legislation to enable space mining, and could provide tax credits – aligned with the Emerson Report, Canada could extend flow through shares to space mining, or commercial space exploration activities.

Big data: Canada must prepare for a big data revolution, and examine how to leverage data to build jobs. Technologies and skills are necessary for interpreting and processing data and turning it into useful data for government priorities and commercial interests.

Participants

  • Adam P. Trumpour - Pratt & Whitney Canada
  • Christian Sallaberger - Canadensys Aerospace Corporation
  • Dale Boucher – Deltion Innovations
  • Dan King - MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates (MDA)
  • Denis Godin – Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)
  • Dexter Jagula – SkyWatch
  • J.F. Gauthier – GHGSat
  • Kieran A. Carroll – GEDEX Systems Inc.
  • Krishna Dev Kumar – Ryerson University, Department of Aerospace Engineering
  • Marc Boucher – SpaceQ
  • Marianne Mader – Royal Ontario Museum (ROM)
  • Minh On – Canadian Space Society
  • Perry Edmundson – Ontario Drive & Gear
  • Renee Hlozek – University of Toronto, Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Richard L. Hughson – University of Waterloo, Department of Kinesiology
  • Roman Ronge – Alfare Systems Inc.
  • Rushi Ghadawala – BR Aerospace Solutions and Services
Date modified:

Table ronde du Comité consultatif de l’espace (CCE) sur l’avenir du Canada dans l’espace

Le 16 mai 2017 - Toronto

Hôtes du CCE : Lucy Stojak, Michelle Mendes et Gordon Ozinski

Priorités

  1. Développer le secteur spatial du Canada;
  2. Innover et explorer l'espace;
  3. Renforcer les partenariats internationaux à long terme;
  4. Inspirer la prochaine génération;
  5. Contribuer à notre compréhension de la Terre;
  6. Améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens;
  7. Préserver une nation sûre et sécurisée.

Faits saillants

Le secteur spatial canadien est à une croisée des chemins alors que la concurrence augmente dans ce secteur et que de nouveaux acteurs commerciaux entrent en scène. Au cours de cette ère de transformation, l'industrie doit mettre l'accent sur le marché international et l'exportation. Il est urgent d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre un plan d'action durable à long terme qui contribuera à la croissance de l'industrie spatiale canadienne et qui créera des emplois. Le Canada doit rattraper les autres pays qui investissent fortement dans l'espace et créer un contexte commercial favorable.

Pour aider à tirer pleinement profit des investissements, une approche pangouvernementale est proposée. La capacité du Canada d'élaborer un plan à long terme et de consacrer des ressources à la mise en œuvre des idées pose un défi. Des mécanismes de financement souples, y compris concernant les acquisitions du gouvernement, doivent être disponibles pour financer l'innovation et la science.

Le Canada doit également s'assurer qu'il dispose des structures législatives et réglementaires pertinentes pour soutenir les progrès. Les lois et les règlements peuvent être mis à jour, et de nouvelles lois être proposées pour appuyer les activités spatiales émergentes. La structure et le mandat de l'Agence spatiale canadienne doivent être examinés afin de s'assurer qu'ils permettent l'élaboration et la réalisation d'un plan durable à long terme grâce à un niveau de financement approprié.

Afin que les activités spatiales soient connues du public et captent son attention, les efforts de communication publique du gouvernement doivent être intensifiés, avec un engagement renouvelé envers l'éducation et la sensibilisation du public. Il existe de nombreux exemples de réussite à raconter au Canada, dont le public pourrait ne pas être au courant. Une communication et un engagement accrus sont encouragés ainsi que le recours à des groupes non traditionnels pour soutenir l'éducation et appuyer les activités de sensibilisation.

Principales considérations et principaux défis de mise en œuvre

Rôle du gouvernement : Le gouvernement devrait intervenir  comme un catalyseur pour l'industrie canadienne en soutenant les missions spatiales et la recherche et développement; il devrait également s'approvisionner en services auprès de fournisseurs canadiens, notamment pour ce qui est des données recueillies par satellite et des données d'observation de la Terre. Le gouvernement ne devrait pas mettre au point des technologies qui entrent en concurrence avec l'industrie, mais plutôt administrer des projets. Selon certains, la capacité de l'Agence spatiale canadienne s'effrite et on pourrait en faire plus pour récupérer l'expertise perdue à l'interne.

Approche proactive : Il est encore possible pour le Canada de se doter d'une industrie spatiale dynamique. Le Canada doit adopter une approche proactive face à l'espace, reconnaître où il existe des possibilités et établir un plan d'action. Il doit permettre aux penseurs d'avant-garde de lancer de nouvelles idées et de prendre des risques, et réduire les exigences gouvernementales. Le Canada doit pouvoir réagir et favoriser les décisions rapides, sinon l'industrie canadienne risque de se faire dépasser par les concurrents étrangers. L'industrie doit être la première à faire la mise en marché afin de saisir les occasions et d'effectuer des gains importants.

Démonstration en vol : Le Canada possède un ensemble de programmes efficaces qui aident à soutenir le développement des technologies (p. ex. les programmes de l'Agence spatiale canadienne et le Programme de la recherche scientifique et du développement expérimental [RS&DE]), qui mettent en œuvre des mesures pour inciter les entreprises à faire des affaires au Canada. Cependant, il y a des lacunes au niveau des démonstrations en vol, qui constituent un élément essentiel à la création de possibilités d'affaires et de retombées. Les PME sont de grandes innovatrices, mais elles ont besoin d'occasions de démontrer leurs technologies de vols d'abord.

Possibilités : La prochaine génération quitte le Canada pour saisir les possibilités qu'offrent d'autres pays (notamment l'Europe et les États-Unis); l'industrie et les universités doivent collaborer pour inverser cette tendance. Les concours permettent de réunir les universités et l'industrie, d'offrir des possibilités de mentorat et de la visibilité quant aux possibilités de carrières. Le Canada peut en faire davantage pour faciliter l'accès à l'espace : il peut parrainer des concours (p. ex. petits satellites), fournir un soutien et des autorisations de mise à l'essai des technologies en vol (la règlementation gouvernementale visant à approuver les lancements de fusées par des amateurs n'est pas bien définie); et utiliser les installations du gouvernement du Canada (p. ex. les bases militaires) pour faciliter les projets étudiants.

Inspiration : Le Canada devrait financer les projets qui sont source d'inspiration. Les missions d'exploration spatiale et les missions moins vastes et moins coûteuses peuvent être passionnantes; il est possible d'envisager une mission dirigée par le Canada plutôt qu'une mission en partenariat. Le Canada a une microcapacité de mission au laboratoire de vol spatial de l'Université de Toronto, qui pourrait être exploitée. Afin de permettre au Canada de se positionner, un soutien permanent et continu est essentiel. En ce qui concerne les activités relatives à Nanosat, le soutien a été intermittent : un atelier de travail de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) en 2010 recommandait de tenir chaque année un forum canadien sur les activités liées aux nanosatellites, et un événement de suivi a été organisé en 2012. Plus récemment, l'Association canadienne du commerce spatial a organisé un premier colloque au sujet du projet SmallSat en 2016 et travaille à en organiser un second en 2017.

Télécommunications : Le Canada a été un pionnier dans le domaine des télécommunications, où il possède beaucoup d'expertise. L'industrie est à la croisée des chemins alors que les fournisseurs commerciaux prévoient lancer des constellations de satellites perturbateurs à orbite terrestre basse et des satellites sur orbite géostationnaire, et les commandes sont en baisse. Considéré comme un secteur commercial, le soutien au secteur des télécommunications a diminué, ce qui a une incidence sur la compétitivité sur le marché mondial. Le Canada pourrait être un leader dans ce domaine et entreprendre des missions de démonstration qui pourraient contribuer à soutenir ce secteur et à maintenir l'expertise.

Observation de la Terre : L'observation de la Terre est un secteur commercial nouveau et croissant qui pourrait bénéficier de missions de démonstration technologiques à intervalles de quelques années; des technologies pourraient être mises au point pour la surveillance des changements climatiques et de l'environnement et pourraient ensuite être exportées.

Exploration spatiale : L'exploration spatiale appuie tous les objectifs proposés par la stratégie spatiale. Le Canada doit décider de son avenir quant à l'exploration de l'espace, alors que les autres agences spatiales décident actuellement des idées à mettre en œuvre après la Station spatiale internationale.

Sciences de la vie : La participation du Canada à la Station spatiale internationale a fait progresser la recherche en sciences de la vie et appuyé la collaboration de l'Agence (p. ex. l'Agence spatiale canadienne, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, l'Institut du vieillissement) avec les autres agences spatiales (NASA, ESA, JAXA). Il y a eu des retombées importantes en santé et en médecine, notamment la technologie du Canadarm pour les chirurgies, et plus récemment le projet de bio-surveillance de Hexoskin à Montréal. 

Principales idées et réalisations

Plan pangouvernemental : Le programme spatial canadien a besoin d'une approche globale pour attirer les investissements et favoriser une démarche intersectorielle; les autres ministères dont le mandat touche l'espace doivent participer au débat sur l'avenir du programme spatial. Il serait utile pour les intervenants de connaître les objectifs du gouvernement à court, à moyen et à long terme, ainsi que les priorités que l'Agence spatiale canadienne souhaite mettre en œuvre.

Partenariats : Pour que l'innovation s'épanouisse au Canada, une approche écosystémique est nécessaire. Le gouvernement peut combler le fossé entre l'industrie et les universités en créant des partenariats, en établissant des consortiums et des partenariats publics-privés, en finançant les centres d'innovation et en facilitant la collaboration horizontale avec les autres ministères. Il est également possible d'en faire plus pour favoriser d'autres moyens non traditionnels d'innovation, tels que les groupes d'amateurs, les laboratoires d'innovation et les espaces ouverts pour que les expériences pratiques soient prises en considération. Ces méthodes pourraient aider à attirer des étudiants dans le secteur spatial et à tirer parti de l'intérêt et de la passion pour l'espace dans la société civile.

Cadre législatif : La législation doit être modernisée, notamment en ce qui a trait à la règlementation sur la télédétection. De plus, il faudrait examiner la possibilité d'élaborer une loi sur l'espace extra-atmosphérique, afin de permettre de tenir de nouvelles activités dans l'espace comme l'entretien en orbite et l'exploitation minière dans l'espace. La Loi sur l'Agence spatiale canadienne a également besoin d'être revitalisée, et il est suggéré que l'Agence devienne une société d'État rendant compte au Parlement, afin d'assurer un plus grand niveau d'indépendance et de stabilité pour la planification à long terme.

Technologies émergentes : Le fait de mettre l'accent sur le financement des domaines spécialisés peut être restrictif et freiner l'innovation. Le Canada doit fournir un financement propre aux capacités clés et aux secteurs en émergence qui pourraient présenter des risques plus élevés (p. ex. en appliquant le modèle 70-20-10 de Google pour l'innovation et en affectant des ressources particulières aux activités commerciales essentielles, aux travaux connexes liés de manière périphérique et aux activités indépendantes et novatrices). Le Canada devrait envisager des technologies clés qui seront essentielles à l'économie de l'espace, y compris l'entretien en orbite, l'observation de la Terre et les télécommunications au moyen des satellites à orbite terrestre basse.

Personnes : Pour développer et entretenir leur talent, les jeunes ont besoin d'être intéressés par l'espace et d'entrevoir un cheminement de carrière viable dans le secteur spatial canadien. Il y a peu de possibilités de stages et d'emplois pour les étudiants qui poursuivent des études dans le domaine spatial. La collaboration en vue d'élaborer des programmes de mentorat et de stage permettra d'attirer les jeunes et de leur garantir des emplois au Canada; le parrainage de concours est également important afin de donner aux jeunes la possibilité d'acquérir l'expérience pertinente qu'ils demandent. Les activités d'éducation et de sensibilisation du public (OEB) par le gouvernement ont diminué. Afin de tirer parti de l'espace pour inspirer la génération actuelle et la prochaine génération, il faudrait envisager d'établir les objectifs en fonction d'une évaluation des besoins et des lacunes (p. ex. de nombreuses personnes en sciences, en technologie, en ingénierie et en mathématiques [STIM] pourraient devoir se concentrer sur les disciplines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'économie, des arts et des mathématiques [STEAM] ou sur le perfectionnement des compétences).

Mobilisation et sensibilisation : Une stratégie de mobilisation nationale, coordonnée par l'Agence, permettrait d'inspirer la prochaine génération. Une approche en matière d'approvisionnement visant à sous-traiter les services de sensibilisation pourrait être envisagée comme faisant partie d'une approche renouvelée de l'OEB. Il est important d'engager les Canadiens différemment à différents stades - des écoles publiques et du lycée aux étudiants et diplômés universitaires. Les groupes non traditionnels (par exemple, les musées, les sociétés, les groupes d'amateurs) peuvent être mis à profit avec les organisations de l'OEB pour communiquer avec les écoles et les universités de manière rentable grâce à des réseaux de bénévoles, atteignant de nombreux enfants et jeunes. Les pratiques participatives (p. ex. les défis tels que NASA Apps et Hackathons; les programmes de mentorat; les équipes d'astromodélisme) devraient être intégrées à une stratégie de mobilisation afin de promouvoir l'innovation.

Exploitation minière dans l'espace : Le Canada est une puissance minière et possède la plus vaste concentration d'experts en matière d'exploitation minière. Cependant, les entreprises se tournent vers d'autres pays, comme les États-Unis et le Luxembourg, où il y a plus de certitude juridique et de mesures incitatives à l'investissement. Le Canada a besoin de lois pour rendre l'exploitation minière possible dans l'espace, et pourrait fournir des crédits d'impôt à cet effet, comme l'indique le rapport Emerson. Il pourrait étendre le financement par actions accréditives à l'exploitation minière dans l'espace, ou aux activités d'exploration spatiale commerciale.

Données massives : Le Canada doit se préparer à une révolution occasionnée par les données massives et examiner comment il pourrait exploiter ces données pour créer des emplois. Les technologies et les compétences sont utiles pour interpréter et traiter les données, ainsi que pour les transformer en renseignements utiles afin de répondre aux priorités gouvernementales et aux intérêts commerciaux.

Participants

  • Adam P. Trumpour - Pratt and Whitney Canada
  • Christian Sallaberger - Canadensys Aerospace Corporation
  • Dale Boucher – Deltion Innovations
  • Dan King - MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates (MDA)
  • Denis Godin - Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG)
  • Dexter Jagula – SkyWatch
  • J-F Gauthier – GHGSat
  • Kieran A. Carroll – GEDEX Systems Inc.
  • Krishna Dev Kumar – Université Ryerson, Département d'ingénierie aérospatiale
  • Marc Boucher – SpaceQ
  • Marianne M. Mader – Musée royal de l'Ontario
  • Minh On – Société spatiale canadienne
  • Perry Edmundson - Ontario Drive and Gear
  • Renee Hlozek –Université de Toronto, Département d'astronomie et d'astrophysique
  • Richard L. Hughson – Université de Waterloo, Département de kinésiologie
  • Roman Ronge – Alfare Systems Inc.
  • Rushi Ghadawala – BR Aerospace Solutions and Services
Date de modification :