Space Advisory Board Roundtable on Canada’s Future in Space

May 19, 2017 – WebEx, the North and Canada’s Future in Space

SAB Hosts:  Christine Tovee, Stephane Germain, and Michele Mendes

Areas of Focus

  1. Grow Canada’s Space Sector;
  2. Innovate and Explore Space;
  3. Strengthen Long-Term International Partnerships;
  4. Inspire the Next Generation;
  5. Contribute to our Understanding of the Earth;
  6. Improve Quality of Life for Canadians; and
  7. Ensure a Safe and Secure Nation.

Highlights

To support economic development and well-being in the North, it is important to recognize the strategic value of space. Space is important both in terms of security, and improving the quality of life of Canadians through socio-economic benefits. 

Northern and remote communities rely on space technologies for connectivity and situational awareness, which are especially important for economic diversification, civil security and government services such as health care (e.g., telehealth, telemedicine), education, search and rescue, and, environmental and emergency monitoring. Stakeholders noted need for space assets to support situational awareness as a high priority, particularly important in search and rescue activities, ensuring responsiveness, and mitigating against potential dire consequences. Earth observation (EO) data and geospatial data has the potential for a breadth of applications in the North, but there may be a need to improve accessibility.

Inuvik has major potential to be a hub for the development of geospatial information that can attract business and promote social development. It is suggested that collaboration, including with industry and academia on the development of geospatial information centers can help to generate STEM opportunities and technology development (e.g., UAV testing and various other clean energy).

Significant concerns were raised regarding Canada’s legislative framework for remote sensing as it presents a regulatory burden that restricts innovation and growth in Canada and the North. The Remote Sensing Space Systems Act (RSSSA) is seen as outdated and it may be a barrier to attracting international clients, particularly for the development of ground stations and enabling activities in Inuvik. To help improve the business environment in Canada, it may be important to modernize the RSSSA and to renew Canada’s federal licensing process.

Stakeholders indicated that they were interested in seeing short- and medium-term deliverables being developed as part of the Space Strategy, and a need for action. Continuous engagement and consultations are crucial as stakeholders would like to have the ability to inform ideas through continuous dialogue.

Key Implementation Considerations/Challenges

Project planning and responsiveness: To support partnerships in Canada and internationally, the Government of Canada may wish to explore ways to improve its project planning processes to be responsive and agile. Prior experience has been that opportunity development and selection has been driven by a single committed official and when there is a change in personnel opportunities have been lost. Other countries and allies often wish to partner with Canada on initiatives, and it would be beneficial to put in place a systematic approach to enable opportunities for collaboration. Sustainable funding from the Government of Canada for space-related projects was also noted.

Licensing process: Aligned with international best practices, it was suggested that service standards are needed for rendering decisions for remote sensing licenses (e.g., within 30 days); at present, it often takes several months and in exceptional cases over a year for the Government to make decisions. Improved licensing may help to encourage greater investment in Canada.  

Business and funding models: It was noted that space and bandwidth should be dealt with as infrastructure, as this will affect business and funding models (e.g., service model vs. manufacturing hardware). 

Data Access: Open data and/or access to precise data that is affordable and timely will enable Northern communities to monitor Northern territories and provide basic government services. There may also be an opportunity support business opportunities through open data policies, and by making RADARSAT data available to the public. Access and normalization of space-based data is required to address crucial data gaps in the North and support development. Canada needs to get to a point where geospatial coverage in the North is as good as the rest of Canada.

Skills and training: Northern communities need to have education and training development to support the development of the space-related economy and job opportunities (e.g., to operate and manage ground stations).The Northern experience includes a loss of human capital as people often seek training and development opportunities in Southern provinces. It was cited that there are issues surrounding Northern communities’ technology adaption and business development. 

Linking space and the North: The Space Strategy can help to connect space and the North. It was suggested that a federal Northern Strategy would help to align the Space Strategy with the needs and opportunities of the North by establishing a plan to address challenges and a foundation for partnerships. A pan-Arctic approach similar to Polar View, a global organization providing satellite-based information and data services in the Polar Regions with membership from 90 different partners from 15 different countries, was suggested as a possible framework to guide future efforts in areas related to space and the North.

Connectivity: In Canada’s North, it is not just a matter of greater capacity (i.e. more broadband) but improved networking and quality of service. Communities in the North and remote communities often rely on satellite services that have a higher degree of latency (slower speeds). At the ground station/network level, overall capacity is shared and may be limited; it was suggested that the provision of the “backbone” infrastructure (i.e., portion of network connecting traffic to the Internet server) rather than the "last mile" (portion of network connecting individual end-users/customers to the services) that is driving complexity and cost. 

Top Ideas / Outcomes

Space is strategic: Space is a strategic asset that is important for social and economic growth in the North and national sovereignty. It was suggested that the Government of Canada should ensure that it has the right business environment and help to foster the Canadian space industry through strengthened support for Canadian infrastructure and capabilities. 

Northern connectivity: In terms of connectivity in the North, issues regarding quality, cost, and affordability were highlighted. The government may wish to use satellite technologies to address connectivity challenges in the North and Canadian-first solutions to support the growth of the space sector. It was noted that Canadian companies have invested in providing enhanced satellite broadband services (e.g., high throughput satellite services) to Northern communities that are more cost-effective than building fiber; the cost of these services can be expensive, and fiber-optics may be a preferred long-term solution where there is a business case. It was suggested that low-Earth orbit (LEO) satellite constellations may be an interesting option in the North.

Health care and education: Improved access to telecommunications services in remote communities is important for Canadians to access fundamental services such as health care and education. For instance, the internet is used for distance learning and to connect hospitals to nursing stations; to enable these services, high capacity (i.e., throughput) and speeds (i.e., low latency) is necessary and not always available.  Advanced satellite technology and additional ground infrastructure may help to address capacity and speeds.  

Modernize legislation and regulations: The space sector is experiencing a shift from traditional large systems and focus on hardware to smaller systems and focus on applications. It is unclear whether Canada as a nation is ready to embrace this shift–federal legislation and regulations need to be reviewed to address the New Space paradigm and to encourage growth in Canada. Stakeholders would like to see the Government take action to address of the recommendations from the independent reviews of the Remote Sensing Space Systems Act, released in 2012 and 2017.

Economic Diversification: There is an aspiration to develop a wide range of expertise rooted in the North to sustain economic development. The space sector is viewed as a support mechanism to move away from traditional resource-based economic activities, which would be a benefit to the North. In order to transition from traditional economy based on resources to the digital economy, there is a need for education and outreach, particularly to bring awareness to the geospatial sector, the tools available to support decision-making, as well as increasing youth engagement and involvement.

Earth Observation (EO): EO in the North is very important given large territory that needs to be monitored and expected trend of increased economic activity such as shipping (e.g. EO will be needed to support research, ice and climate monitoring, Search and Rescue, etc.). Also need to expand on ground-truthing of the data collection of the North; and integrating space-based data with other ground data. An area for potential EO investment is unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) data collection, which has become increasingly popular. It was also noted that there is untapped potential in SAR data to address needs of Northern communities, particularly in Search and Rescue.

Partnerships: Partnerships are often discussed at the government-to-government level, but in the field of science, it is often individual partnerships (e.g. university departments, individuals, academics) that are beneficial. It was noted that indigenous governments also need to be engaged as they are interested in building partnership and multi-stakeholder groups. Partnerships between provincial and federal governments along with private industry and academia could potentially benefit the space sector, for example, in geomatics. Our partnerships with Allies can also be reassessed to determine whether Canada can shift from being a paying contributor to leading an initiative.

Participants

  • Andrew Gaule–Government of Yukon
  • Benjamin Hamel–MDA
  • Brian Horton–Yukon College, Yukon Research Centre
  • Colin Avey–Government of the Northwest Territories
  • Doug Rae–MDA
  • Ellen Hols–Telesat
  • Ian McLeod– MDA
  • Jean-Francois Dumoulin–Kativik Regional Government, Tamaani Internet Section
  • Leslie Hogan–Canadian Council for Aviation and Aerospace
  • Lorraine Thomas–Imaituk Inc. / SSi Micro
  • Marie-Hélène Forget–Université Laval, Takuvik Lab
  • Matthew Dares–Aurora College
  • Melanie Desjardins, Government of the Northwest Territories
  • Michele Beck–Telesat
  • Paul Adlakha–LOOKNorth / C-Core
  • Steve Schwartz–Government of the Northwest Territories
  • Tom Zubko– New North Networks Ltd.
  • Travis Schindel–Northern Lights General Partnership
Date modified:

Table ronde du Comité consultatif de l’espace sur l’avenir du Canada dans l'espace

19 mai 2017 – WebEx, le Nord et l’avenir du Canada dans l’espace

Hôtes du CCE: Christine Tovee, Stephane Germain et Michele Mendes

Priorités

  1. Développer le secteur spatial du Canada;
  2. Innover et explorer l'espace;
  3. Renforcer les partenariats internationaux à long terme;
  4. Inspirer la prochaine génération;
  5. Contribuer à notre compréhension de la Terre;
  6. Améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens;
  7. Préserver une nation sûre et sécurisée.

Faits saillants

Pour favoriser le développement économique et le bien-être dans le Nord, il est important de reconnaître la valeur stratégique de l'espace. L'espace est important pour la sécurité et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des Canadiens grâce aux retombées socioéconomiques. 

Les collectivités du Nord et celles éloignées comptent sur les technologies spatiales quant à la connectivité et à la connaissance de la situation, lesquelles sont très importantes pour la diversité économique, la sécurité civile et les services gouvernementaux tels que les soins de santé (p. ex. télésanté, télémédecine), l’éducation, et la surveillance de l’environnement et des situations d’urgence. Les parties prenantes ont souligné la nécessité de disposer d’actifs spatiaux pour soutenir la connaissance de la situation comme une priorité élevée, particulièrement importante pour les activités de recherche et de sauvetage, assurant la réactivité et atténuant les conséquences potentielles désastreuses. Les données d’observation de la Terre (OT) et les données géospatiales peuvent se prêter à de multiples applications dans le Nord, mais il pourrait être nécessaire d’améliorer l’accessibilité.

Inuvik pourrait devenir un carrefour pour l'élaboration d'informations géospatiales susceptibles d'attirer des entreprises et de promouvoir le développement social. On estime que la collaboration, y compris avec l'industrie et le milieu universitaires, au sujet de la création de centres d'information spatiale fournirait des possibilités en matière de STIM et de développement technologique (p. ex. essais de véhicules aériens sans pilote  et diverses technologies propres).

D'importantes préoccupations sont soulevées au sujet du cadre législatif canadien concernant la télédétection, car il impose un fardeau réglementaire qui nuit à l'innovation et à la croissance au Canada et dans le Nord. La Loi sur les systèmes de télédétection spatiale (LSTS) est perçue comme étant désuète et empêchant d'attirer des clients internationaux, en particulier concernant l'établissement de stations terrestres et d'activités habilitantes à Inuvik. Pour améliorer l'environnement commercial au Canada, il pourrait être important de moderniser la LSTS et d'examiner le processus de délivrances de licences fédérales du Canada.

Les intéressés indiquent qu'ils souhaitent que des livrables à court et à moyen terme soient élaborés dans le cadre de la Stratégie spatiale, et qu'il est nécessaire de passer à l'action. La mobilisation et la consultation continues sont essentielles, car les intervenants souhaitent pouvoir éclairer les idées grâce à un dialogue continu.   

Considérations et difficultés clés en matière de mise en œuvre

Planification du projet et réponse aux besoins : Pour faciliter les partenariats au Canada et à l'échelle internationale, le gouvernement fédéral pourrait examiner des moyens d'améliorer ses processus de planification des projets, pour donner suite aux besoins et faire preuve de souplesse. L'expérience antérieure a été que le développement et la sélection d'opportunités a été motivé par un seul responsable engagé et que, lorsqu'il y a eu un changement de personnel, des opportunités ont été perdues. D'autres pays et alliés souhaitent souvent travailler en partenariat avec le Canada à des initiatives, et il serait avantageux d'instaurer une approche systématique facilitant les possibilités de collaboration. On mentionne qu'un financement durable des projets liés à l'espace par le gouvernement du Canada est souhaitable.    

Processus d'octroi de licences : Conformément aux pratiques exemplaires internationales, on estime que des normes de service sont nécessaires pour la prise des décisions ayant trait à la télédétection (p. ex. délai de 30 jours). À l'heure actuelle, cela prend souvent des mois, et dans des situations exceptionnelles plus d'un an, pour que le gouvernement rende une décision. Un meilleur processus d'octroi de licences pourrait favoriser l'investissement au Canada.  

Modèles d'affaires et de financement : On signale que l'espace et la largeur de bande devraient être traités au titre de l'infrastructure, car cela influe sur les modèles d'affaires et de financement (p. ex. modèle de service c. matériel de fabrication). 

Accès aux données : Des données ouvertes ou un accès abordable et en temps opportun à des données précises aideraient les collectivités du Nord à surveiller les territoires du Nord et à fournir les services gouvernementaux de base. Des politiques de données ouvertes et la mise à la disposition du public des données de RADARSAT pourraient aussi favoriser les débouchés. L'accès aux données spatiales et leur normalisation sont nécessaires pour combler les graves lacunes en matière de données dans le Nord et stimuler le développement. Le Canada doit faire en sorte que la couverture géospatiale dans le Nord soit aussi efficace que celle dans le reste du pays.   

Compétences et formation : Les collectivités du Nord ont besoin de services d'éducation et de formation pour faciliter le développement de l'économie liée à l'espace ainsi que la création d'emplois (p. ex. pour l'exploitation et la gestion de stations terrestres). Le capital humain du Nord s'effrite, alors que les gens cherchent des possibilités de formation et de perfectionnement dans les provinces du Sud. On signale que les collectivités du Nord sont confrontées à des problèmes quant à l'adoption de la technologie et au développement des entreprises. 

Lien entre l'espace et le Nord : La Stratégie spatiale peut aider à lier l'espace et le Nord. On estime que la Stratégie fédérale pour le Nord faciliterait l'alignement de la Stratégie spatiale avec les besoins et les possibilités qui existent dans le Nord, en dressant un plan pour relever les défis et en jetant les bases des partenariats. Une approche à l'échelle de l'Arctique semblable à Polar View, une organisation mondiale fournissant des services de renseignements et de données satellitaires aux régions polaires et comptant 90 partenaires divers provenant de 15 pays différents, est mentionnée comme cadre éventuel d'orientation des efforts futurs dans les domaines liés à l'espace et au Nord.

Connectivité: dans le Nord du Canada, il ne s'agit pas seulement d'une plus grande capacité (à savoir plus de large bande) mais d'un réseau amélioré et d'une qualité de service. Les communautés dans le Nord et les communautés éloignées comptent souvent sur des services par satellite qui ont un degré de latence plus élevé (plus lent). Au niveau station / réseau au sol, la capacité globale est partagée et peut être limitée; Il a été suggéré que la fourniture de l'infrastructure "colonne vertébrale" (c'est-à-dire la partie du réseau reliant le trafic au serveur Internet) plutôt que le «dernier kilomètre» (partie du réseau reliant les utilisateurs finaux / clients aux services) est source principale de complexité et de coût.

Principales idées et réalisations

L'espace est stratégique : L'espace est un actif stratégique important pour la croissance économique et sociale dans le Nord et la souveraineté nationale. On estime que le gouvernement du Canada devrait s'assurer que le Nord possède un milieu d'affaires efficace et appuyer l'industrie spatiale canadienne par un soutien affermi de l'infrastructure et des capacités canadiennes. 

Connectivité dans le Nord : En ce qui concerne la connectivité dans le Nord, on met en relief les problèmes de qualité, de coût et d'abordabilité. Le gouvernement pourrait utiliser les technologies satellitaires pour régler les problèmes de connectivité dans le Nord et apporter des solutions accordant la priorité au Canada à l'appui de la croissance du secteur spatial. On indique que des entreprises canadiennes ont investi pour fournir des services satellitaires à large bande améliorés (p. ex. services satellitaires à haut débit) aux collectivités du Nord, lesquels sont plus économiques que les services nécessitant une infrastructure pour fibre optique. De tels services satellitaires sont quand même coûteux, et la solution à long terme souhaitable pourrait être la fibre optique là où l'analyse de rentabilisation le justifie. On estime aussi que les constellations satellitaires sur orbite terrestre basse (LEO) pourraient être une option intéressante dans le Nord.

Soins de santé et éducation : L'accès aux services de télécommunications dans les collectivités éloignées est important pour que les Canadiens puissent profiter des services essentiels tels que les soins de santé et l'éducation. Par exemple, l'Internet est utilisé pour le téléapprentissage et le raccordement des hôpitaux aux postes de soins infirmiers. Pour offrir de tels services, il faut une haute capacité (haut débit) et des vitesses élevées (latence faible), mais celles-ci ne sont pas toujours disponibles. Une technologie satellitaire de pointe et une infrastructure terrestre améliorée pourraient aider à fournir la capacité et les vitesses requises.   

Modernisation de la législation et de la réglementation : Le secteur spatial est en train de passer des grands systèmes traditionnels et des visées connexes à de petits systèmes et à une orientation sur les applications. On ne sait pas encore si le Canada en tant que pays est prêt pour une telle transition : les lois et les règlements fédéraux doivent être examinés pour cadrer avec le nouveau paradigme de l'espace et favoriser la croissance au Canada. Les intervenants souhaitent que le gouvernement prenne des mesures pour donner suite aux recommandations issues des examens indépendants de la Loi sur les systèmes de télédétection spatiale, qui ont été rendues publiques en 2012 et en 2017.

Diversification économique : Il existe une aspiration à développer une large gamme d'expertise enracinée dans le Nord pour soutenir le développement. Le secteur spatial est perçu comme un mécanisme d'appui pour se distancer des activités économiques traditionnelles axées sur les ressources, ce qui constituerait un avantage pour le Nord. Pour passer de l'économie traditionnelle fondée sur les ressources à l'économie numérique, l'éducation et la sensibilisation sont nécessaires, particulièrement pour sensibiliser au secteur géospatial et aux outils disponibles facilitant la prise des décisions, et il faut renforcer la mobilisation et la participation des jeunes.  

Observation de la Terre (OT) : L'OT dans le Nord est très importante compte tenu de la grande superficie du territoire à surveiller et de la tendance escomptée quant à l'augmentation de l'activité économique, concernant notamment le transport maritime (p. ex. l'OT sera requise quant à la recherche, à la surveillance des glaces et du climat, à la recherche et au sauvetage, etc.). Il faudra également élargir la vérification sur place des données recueillies dans le Nord et intégrer les données spatiales à d'autres données. Un domaine d'investissement potentiel lié à l'OT concerne la collecte de données sur les véhicules aériens sans pilote, domaine de plus en plus populaire. On estime également que les données SAR pourraient être davantage exploitées pour aider à répondre aux besoins dans le Nord, tout particulièrement en ce qui concerne la recherche et le sauvetage.

Partenariats : Les gouvernements discutent souvent un à un de partenariats, mais dans le domaine des sciences ce sont souvent les partenariats individuels (p. ex. facultés universitaires, particuliers, universitaires) qui sont profitables. On estime que les administrations autochtones doivent aussi participer, car elles tiennent à former des partenariats et des groupes pluripartites. Les partenariats entre les gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral ainsi que ceux du secteur privé avec le milieu universitaire pourraient profiter au secteur spatial, en géomatique par exemple. Nos partenariats avec nos alliés peuvent également être réévalués afin de déterminer si le Canada, au lieu de simplement participer aux coûts, pourrait diriger une initiative.    

Participants

  • Andrew Gaule–Gouvernement du Yukon
  • Benjamin Hamel–MDA
  • Brian Horton–Collège du Yukon, centre de recherche du Yukon
  • Colin Avey–Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
  • Doug Rae–MDA
  • Ellen Hols–Télésat
  • Ian McLeod–MDA
  • Jean-Francois Dumoulin–Administration régionale de Kativik, section Internet Tamaani
  • Leslie Hogan–Conseil canadien de l'aviation et de l'aérospatiale
  • Lorraine Thomas–Imaituk Inc. / SSi Micro
  • Marie-Hélène Forget–Université Laval, lab. Takuvik
  • Matthew Dares–Collège Aurora
  • Melanie Desjardins, Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
  • Michele Beck–Télésat
  • Paul Adlakha–LOOKNorth / C-Core
  • Steve Schwartz–Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
  • Tom Zubko–New North Networks Ltd.
  • Travis Schindel–Northern Lights General Partnership
Date de modification :