F-35 Joint Strike Fighter (JSF) program

Canadian Industrial Participation

The F-35 Joint Strike Fighter program involves the development, production and sustainment of a stealthy, multi-role fighter aircraft. Globally, the F-35 JSF is the largest fighter aircraft program. Canada is one of nine countries in the F-35 JSF program, along with the U.S., UK, Italy, Netherlands, Turkey, Norway, Denmark and Australia. Other countries such as Japan, South Korea and Israel are also purchasing the aircraft through the U.S. Foreign Military Sales program.

Canada has been a participant in the F-35 JSF program since 1997. This early involvement has been providing Canadian industry with the opportunity to become a part of the F-35 JSF supply chain. In order to maximize affordability, the partner countries agreed to a best value approach to industrial participation which awards work to the most competitive companies.

In 2006, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada signed Memoranda of Understanding containing industrial participation plans with each of the prime contractors (Lockheed Martin and Pratt & Whitney). These agreements allow Canadian companies to compete for work on the JSF program, including the airframe, systems, engines and associated services. Opportunities include providing a wide range of manufacturing and services in areas such as major structural assemblies, electronic systems, advanced composites, high speed machining, simulation and training, tooling, sustainment, and landing gear maintenance.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada works to maximize Canadian industrial participation on the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter program through activities such as opportunity identification, awareness and outreach, technology investment, and capability matching.

The 2012 Spring Report of the Auditor General was released on April 3, 2012 and contained a chapter entitled Replacing Canada's Fighter Jets. In response to the Auditor General's report, the Government of Canada released a Seven-Point Plan to ensure that the Royal Canadian Air Force acquires the fighter aircraft it needs to complete the missions asked of it by the Government. According to the Seven-Point Plan, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada will continue its activities related to Canadian industry participation in the F-35 JSF Program.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's contribution to the Government of Canada's Seven-Point Plan has also included tabling reports to Parliament on the industrial participation of Canadian industry in the F-35 JSF Program: Canadian Industrial Participation in the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter Program. According to the Fall 2014 report, companies in Canada have secured $637 million USD in contracts on F-35 development and initial production.

Under the Seven-Point Plan, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada also completed a Report on Industrial Benefits summarizing its assessment of potential industrial benefits associated with four fighter aircraft. The assessment is based on information submitted by companies as part of the evaluation of options market analysis. Specifically, companies were requested to provide information regarding their commitment to provide economic benefits in Canada and the approach they would take.

For more information about the F-35 JSF program, please consult its official website at F-35 Lightning II Program website.

At Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, the JSF Industrial Participation contacts are:

Clem Srour, Telephone: 613-697-5566
Julia Climie, Telephone: 613-404-5794

For more information on Canadian industrial participation, please consult the following reports.

Canadian Industrial Participation in the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter Program

Date modified:

Programme d’avions de combat interarmées F-35 (ACI)

Participation de l’industrie canadienne

Le Programme d’avions de combat interarmées de modèle F-35 englobe la conception, la production et l’entretien d’un chasseur furtif polyvalent. Le programme d’ACI est le programme d’avions de combat le plus important au monde. Le Canada est l’un des neuf pays partenaires du programme d’ACI, aux côtés des États-Unis, du Royaume-Uni, de l’Italie, des Pays-Bas, de la Turquie, de la Norvège, du Danemark et de l’Australie. D’autres pays, comme le Japon, la Corée du Sud et Israël, achètent également l’avion par l’entremise du programme de vente de matériel militaire des États-Unis (É.-U.) à l'étranger (Foreign Military Sales).

Le Canada participe au programme d’ACI depuis 1997. Cette participation affirmée très tôt dans le processus a permis à l’industrie canadienne de s’installer solidement dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement des ACI F-35. Afin que le prix de l’appareil soit le plus abordable possible, les pays partenaires ont convenu d’une approche fondée sur la rentabilité pour que le travail soit attribué aux entreprises du secteur privé les plus concurrentielles.

En 2006, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada a signé un protocole d’entente, qui comprenait les plans de participation industrielle, avec chaque entrepreneur principal, soit Lockheed Martin et Pratt & Whitney. Ces ententes permettent aux entreprises canadiennes de concurrencer les autres entreprises pour obtenir des travaux dans le cadre du programme d’ACI, notamment pour la cellule, les systèmes, les moteurs et les services connexes. Ces possibilités incluent d’offrir un large éventail d’activités de fabrication et de services au chapitre des grands assemblages structuraux, des systèmes électroniques, des composites de pointe, de l’usinage haute vitesse, de la simulation et de la formation, de l’outillage, du soutien et de l’entretien des trains d’atterrissage.

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada s’efforce de maximiser la participation industrielle du Canada au Programme d’avions de combat interarmées F-35 par l’entremise d’activités telles que l’identification des débouchés, la sensibilisation et les relations externes, l’investissement dans la technologie et le jumelage des capacités.

Diffusé le 3 avril 2012, le Rapport du printemps 2012 du vérificateur général (le Rapport) contenait un chapitre intitulé « Le remplacement des avions de combat du Canada ». En réponse au rapport du vérificateur général, le gouvernement du Canada a publié un Plan à sept volets pour s’assurer que l’Aviation royale du Canada acquière les avions de combat dont elle a besoin pour exécuter les missions que lui confie le gouvernement. Selon le Plan à sept volets, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada poursuivra ses activités en lien avec la participation des industries du Canada au Programme d’ACI F-35.

La contribution d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada au Plan à sept volets du gouvernement du Canada comprend également la présentation de rapports au Parlement sur la participation de l’industrie canadienne au Programme d’ACI F-35 : Participation de l’industrie canadienne au Programme d’avions de combat interarmées F-35. Selon le rapport de l’automne 2014, des entreprises du Canada ont conclu des contrats d’une valeur de 637 millions $US pour le développement et la production initiale du F-35.

Toujours dans le cadre du Plan à sept volets, Industrie Canada a également produit un Rapport sur les retombées industrielles, lequel résume l’évaluation du ministère des avantages potentiels pour l’industrie associés à quatre avions de combat. L’évaluation est fondée sur les renseignements soumis par des entreprises dans le cadre de l’évaluation des options offertes sur le marché. Plus particulièrement, les entreprises devaient fournir des renseignements concernant leur engagement à générer des retombées économiques pour le Canada ainsi que l’approche qu’elles adopteraient pour y parvenir.

Pour plus d’information au sujet du programme d’avions de combat interarmées de F-35, consulter le site officiel à l’adresse : F-35 Lightning II Program (anglais seulement).

À Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, les personnes-ressources pour la participation industrielle à l’ACI sont :

Clem Srour, téléphone : 613-697-5566
Julia Climie, téléphone : 613-404-5794

Pour en savoir davantage sur la participation industrielle canadienne, consulter le rapport suivant :

Participation de l’industrie canadienne au Programme d’avions de combat interarmées F-35

Date de modification :