Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)


How can I access government information under the Access to Information Act?

In order to access government information under the Access to Information Act, you must first determine which government institution is responsible for the information that you are seeking. Each federal government institution that is subject to the Access to Information Act is responsible for maintaining its own Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Office. For reference, you may wish to consult Info Source, which is an annual publication that serves as a directory of federal government institutions, their activities and information holdings. Info Source is available on Treasury Board Secretariat's website and may also be found in constituency offices of Members of Parliament and all federal government institution Access to Information and Privacy Offices.

Prior to submitting a request under the Access to Information Act, it may be beneficial to determine if the information that you are seeking is not already available through Proactive Disclosure or other government publications. A request can be submitted via Pay online portal, by using the prescribed form noted below or by indicating in a letter that certain information is requested under the Access to Information Act. Once you have determined which institution has the information that you are seeking you can submit your request along with the $5 prescribed application fee (cheque or money order made payable to the Receiver General of Canada) to the appropriate ATIP Office. For a complete listing of ATIP Coordinators and Offices, visit Treasury Board Secretariat's website. Note that additional fees may be charged by the institution prior to completing the processing of your request.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/eng/h_00034.html#q1

Is there a cost to submit a request under the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act?

Each request submitted under the Access to Information Act must be accompanied by a $5 application fee (cheque or money order made payable to the Receiver General of Canada). This application fee entitles you to 5 hours of search and preparation. However, additional charges, related to search, preparation, computer processing, photocopying, etc., may be applied during the course of processing your request. All possible fees are identified in the Access to Information Regulations.

There are no fees associated with submitting a request under the Privacy Act.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/eng/h_00034.html#q2

What information is accessible under the Access to Information Act?

Records, regardless of the format, held under the control of a federal government institution (listed in Schedule 1 of the Act) are subject to the Access to Information Act. There are a few exceptions such as documents that are published or available for purchase or confidences of the Queen's Privy Council. This information is excluded and, therefore, the Act does not apply to these records. With respect to all other types of records, certain information may require exemption from access; such as information relating to national defence and security, law enforcement, the administration of economic and social programs and other individuals' personal information.

Access to Information request form

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/eng/h_00034.html#q3

How can I access my personal information under the Privacy Act?

In order to access government information under the Privacy Act, you must first determine which government institution is responsible for the personal information that you are seeking. Each federal government institution that is subject to the Privacy Act is responsible for maintaining its own Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Office and is responsible for managing personal information that it collects. For reference, you may wish to consult Info Source, which is an annual publication that serves as a directory of federal government institutions, their activities and information holdings. Info Source is available on Treasury Board Secretariat's website and may also be found in constituency offices of Members of Parliament and all federal government institution Access to Information and Privacy Offices.

Once you have determined which institution holds your personal information, you can submit your request via the pay online portal, by prescribed form noted below or by indicating in a letter that certain personal information pertaining to you is requested under the Privacy Act. Ensure that you have provided sufficient details to help the institution retrieve your personal information. There is no fee associated with submitting a request under the Privacy Act. Then, forward your request to the appropriate ATIP Coordinator. For a complete listing of ATIP Coordinators and Offices, visit Treasury Board Secretariat's website.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/eng/h_00034.html#q4

What personal information is accessible to me under the Privacy Act?

Records, regardless of the format, held under the control of a federal government institution (listed in the Schedule of the Act) are subject to the Privacy Act. There are a few exceptions: documents that are published or available for purchase and confidences of the Queen's Privy Council. This information is excluded and, therefore, the Act does not apply to these records. With respect to all other types of records, certain information may require exemption from access; such as information relating to national defence and security, law enforcement, and personal information concerning other individuals.

Personal Information Request Form

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/eng/h_00034.html#q5

When can I expect a response to my request submitted under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act?

Both Acts allow for a legal response time of 30 calendar days from the date of receipt of an official request. The Acts also allow for legal extensions to this first 30 calendar-day response time.

The Privacy Act provides for one legal extension of no more than 30 days, which means the institution may take up to 60 days to provide you with a response. An institution may extend the statutory time limit if processing your request would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the institution, or in order to consult with other government institutions, or if additional time is necessary for translation purposes or for the purposes of converting the information into an alternative format.

The Access to Information Act also provides for a reasonable extension to the response time if processing your request would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the institution, or in order to consult with other government institutions, or if consultations with private businesses are required.

You will be notified should an extension of the response time be required under either Act.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/eng/h_00034.html#q6

When may I submit a complaint under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act?

The Information Commissioner of Canada investigates complaints from anyone who makes a formal request for information under the Access to Information Act to a federal institution and is dissatisfied with the response or the manner in which the request was processed. For example, your complaint may involve a refusal of access to information, delays in providing a response, fee estimates, or belief that the institution did not respect their duty to assist, etc. Your complaint must be made in writing to the Information Commissioner within 60 days after you have received a notice that the institution has refused access to the requested records or after you have received all or part of the records.

Complaints must be sent to the following address:

Office of the Information Commissioner
30 Victoria Street
Gatineau, Québec
K1A 1H3

Tel: 1-800-267-0441
Fax: 819-994-1768
Website: Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada

The Privacy Act provides individuals with a basic right to know why their information is collected by the government, how it will be used, how long it will be kept and who will have access to it. The Act also provides individuals with a basic right of access to all of their personal information held by government institutions, subject to limited exceptions outlined in the Act. If you believe that a government institution has not respected your privacy rights, you may submit a complaint at anytime in writing to:

Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
30 Victoria Street
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 1H3

Toll-free: 1-800-282-1376
Tel: 819-994-5444
Fax: 819-994-5424
Website: Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/eng/h_00034.html#q7

Is there a cost to submitting a complaint and having it investigated?

Both the Information and Privacy Commissioners function as ombudsmen. As such, there is no cost to you for the investigation of a complaint.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/eng/h_00034.html#q8

What is the Personal Information and Protection of Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA)?

Individuals are also protected by the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) that sets out ground rules for how private sector organizations may collect, use or disclose personal information in the course of commercial activities. The law gives individuals the right to access and request correction of the personal information these organizations may have collected about them.

For a copy of the Personal Information and Protection of Electronic Documents Act, visit the Department of Justice Canada website. For additional information concerning PIPEDA and e-commerce, visit Industry Canada's website.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/eng/h_00034.html#q9

Foire aux questions (FAQ)


Comment dois-je procéder pour accéder à de l'information gouvernementale en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information?

Pour accéder à l'information gouvernementale en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, vous devez d'abord déterminer quelle est l'organisation gouvernementale qui est responsable de la gestion de l'information que vous recherchez. Il incombe à chaque organisation gouvernementale fédérale visée par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information d'avoir son propre bureau d'accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP). À titre indicatif, vous souhaiterez peut-être consulter Info Source, une publication annuelle qui sert d'annuaire des organisations fédérales, de leurs activités et de leur fonds informationnel. Info Source est accessible à partir du site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, et parfois, à partir des bureaux de circonscription des députés, ainsi que de tous les bureaux d'accès à l'information et de protection de la vie privée des organisations fédérales.

Avant de présenter une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, il pourrait être utile de déterminer si l'information que vous recherchez n'est pas déjà accessible sous la rubrique Divulgation proactive ou dans d'autres publications gouvernementales. Une demande peut être présentée au moyen du portail payez en ligne, par le formulaire prescrit ci-après ou dans une lettre indiquant qu'une information donnée est demandée en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Aussitôt que vous avez déterminé quelle est l'organisation qui possède l'information que vous recherchez, vous pouvez soumettre votre demande, accompagnée des frais prescrits de 5 $ (chèque ou mandat-poste payable au Receveur général du Canada) au bureau d'AIPRP concerné. Pour connaître la liste complète des coordonnateurs et bureau d'AIPRP, visitez le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Il est à noter que des frais supplémentaires peuvent être facturés par l'organisation avant la fin du traitement de votre demande.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/fra/h_00034.html#q1

haut de la page

Faut-il payer pour présenter une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

Chaque demande présentée en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information doit être accompagnée de 5 $ (chèque ou mandat-poste à l'ordre du receveur général du Canada). Cette somme vous donne droit à 5 heures de recherche et de préparation. Toutefois, des frais supplémentaires liés à la recherche, à la préparation, au traitement informatique, à la photocopie, etc., pourraient s'appliquer au cours du traitement de votre demande. Tous les frais possibles sont mentionnés dans le Règlement sur l'accès à l'information.

Il n'y a pas de frais pour les demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/fra/h_00034.html#q2

haut de la page

Quelle est l'information accessible en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information?

Quel que soit leur format, les documents dont dispose une organisation du gouvernement fédéral (figurant à l'annexe 1 de la Loi) sont visés par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Il y a quelques exceptions : les documents qui sont publiés ou qui peuvent être achetés et les documents confidentiels du Conseil privé de la Reine. Cette information étant exclue, la Loi ne s'y applique pas. En ce qui concerne tous les autres types de documents, il se peut qu'une partie de l'information ne puisse être divulgué en raison d'une exemption; par exemple l'information relative à la défense nationale et à la sécurité, les renseignements relative aux enquêtes pour faire respecter la loi, à l'administration de programmes économiques et sociaux et les renseignements personnels concernant d'autres personnes.

Formulaire de demande d'accès à l'information

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/fra/h_00034.html#q3

haut de la page

Comment dois-je procéder pour accéder à l'information qui me concerne en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

Pour avoir accès à de l'information gouvernementale en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, vous devez d'abord déterminer quelle est l'organisation gouvernementale qui est responsable de la gestion des renseignements personnels que vous cherchez à obtenir. Il incombe à chaque organisation du gouvernement fédéral visée par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels d'avoir son propre bureau d'accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) et de gérer les renseignements personnels qu'elle recueille. À titre indicatif, vous souhaiterez peut-être consulter Info Source, une publication annuelle qui sert d'annuaire des organisations fédérales, de leurs activités et de leurs documents. Info Source est accessible à partir du site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, et parfois, à partir des bureaux de circonscription des députés, ainsi que de tous les bureaux d'accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels des organisations fédérales.

Aussi tôt que vous avez déterminé quelle est l'organisation qui détient vos renseignements personnels, vous pouvez présenter votre demande au moyen du portail payez en ligne, du formulaire prescrit ci-après, ou dans une lettre indiquant que vous demandez certains renseignements personnels vous concernant en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Vérifiez que vous avez fourni suffisamment de détails pour aider l'organisation à retrouver vos renseignements personnels. Il n'y a aucun frais pour soumettre une demande en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Puis, transmettez votre demande au coordonnateur de l'AIPRP concerné. Pour obtenir la liste complète des coordonnateurs et des bureaux de l'AIPRP, consultez le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/fra/h_00034.html#q4

haut de la page

Quels sont les renseignements personnels auxquels j'ai accès en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

Les documents, peu importe leur forme, sous le contrôle d'une organisation du gouvernement fédéral (figurant dans l'annexe de la Loi) sont visés par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il existe quelques exceptions : les documents qui sont publiés ou qui peuvent être achetés et les documents confidentiels du Conseil privé de la Reine. Cette information étant exclue, la Loi ne s'y applique pas. Pour ce qui est de tous les autres types de documents, il se peut qu'une partie de l'information ne puisse être fournie en raison d'une exemption; par exemple l'information relative à la défense nationale et à la sécurité, les renseignements relative aux enquêtes pour faire respecter la loi, à l'administration de programmes économiques et sociaux, et les renseignements personnels concernant d'autres personnes.

Formule de demande d'accès à des renseignements personnels

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/fra/h_00034.html#q5

haut de la page

Quand puis-je m'attendre à une réponse à ma demande présentée en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

Les deux lois prévoient un délai de 30 jours civils à compter de la réception d'une demande officielle. Ces lois permettent également de prolonger ce premier délai de 30 jours civils.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels prévoit une prorogation d'au plus 30 jours, ce qui signifie qu'une organisation peut prendre jusqu'à 60 jours pour répondre. Une organisation peut proroger le délai prévue dans la Loi si le traitement de la demande nuisait de manière déraisonnable au fonctionnement de l'organisation ou pour consulter d'autres organisations gouvernementales, ou encore s'il fallait plus de temps pour la traduction ou pour convertir l'information sous une autre forme.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information prévoit aussi une prolongation raisonnable du temps de réponse si la demande nuisait de manière déraisonnable au fonctionnement de l'organisation, ou pour consulter d'autres organisations gouvernementales, ou encore si des consultations avec le secteur privé étaient nécessaires.

On vous avisera si le délai doit être repoussé en vertu de l'une ou l'autre loi.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/fra/h_00034.html#q6

haut de la page

Quand puis-je présenter une plainte en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

Le commissaire à l'information du Canada fait enquête sur les plaintes de quiconque présente une demande officielle d'information en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information à une organisation fédérale et n'est pas satisfait de la réponse ou de la manière dont la demande a été traitée. Par exemple, la plainte peut porter sur un accès refusé à l'information, le retard de la réponse, l'estimation des frais ou le fait que l'organisation n'a pas aidé comme elle l'aurait dû, etc. La plainte doit être présentée par écrit au commissaire à l'information dans les 60 jours qui suivent la réception d'un avis de la part de l'organisation comme quoi l'accès est refusé, ou la réception de la totalité ou d'une partie des documents.

Les plaintes doivent être présentées à l'adresse suivante :

Commissariat à l'information
30, rue Victoria
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 1H3

Téléphone 1-800-267-0441 (sans frais)
Télécopieur 819-994-1768
Site web : Commissariat à l'information du Canada

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels confère aux gens le droit fondamental de savoir pourquoi l'information les concernant est recueillie par le gouvernement, comme elle sera utilisée, combien de temps elle sera conservée et qui y aura accès. La Loi confère aussi aux gens le droit fondamental d'accès à tous les renseignements personnels les concernant, sous réserve d'exceptions limitées mentionnées dans la Loi. Si vous croyez qu'une organisation gouvernementale n'a pas protégé vos renseignements personnels, vous pouvez déposer une plainte en tout temps en écrivant à l'adresse suivante :

Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada
30, rue Victoria
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 1H3

Sans frais : 1-800-282-1376
Téléphone : 819-994-5444
Télécopieur : 819-994-5424
Site web : Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/fra/h_00034.html#q7

haut de la page

Faut-il payer lorsqu'on présente une plainte et qu'elle fait l'objet d'une enquête?

Les commissaires à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée sont des protecteurs du citoyen. Il ne vous en coûte donc rien pour l'enquête découlant d'une plainte.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/fra/h_00034.html#q8

haut de la page

Qu'est-ce que la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE)?

Les gens sont aussi protégés par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE) qui définit les règles de base applicables à la manière dont les organisations du secteur privé peuvent recueillir, utiliser ou communiquer des renseignements personnels dans le cadre de leurs activités personnelles. Cette loi donne aux gens le droit de consulter et de demander la correction des renseignements personnels que ces organisations ont pu recueillir à leur sujet.

Pour obtenir un exemplaire de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques, consultez le site Web du ministère de la Justice du Canada. Pour obtenir davantage d'information au sujet de la LPRPDE et du commerce électronique, visitez le site Web d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/atip-aiprp.nsf/fra/h_00034.html#q9
Date de modification :