Directive No. 20

Coming into force September 18, 2009

Bankruptcy Assistance Program

PDF version

Directive No. 20

2.5 MB, 7 pages

Issued:

(Supersedes Directive No. 11 issued on , on the same topic)

Interpretation

  1. In this Directive,
    • "Act" means the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;
    • "BAP" means the Bankruptcy Assistance Program;
    • "OSB" means the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy;
    • "Out-of-pocket expenses" refers to the expenses delineated in subsection 128(2) of the Rules;
    • "Rules" means the Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules.

Authority and Purpose

  1. This Directive is issued pursuant to the authority of paragraph 5(4)(c) of the Act.
  2. The purpose of this Directive is to set out the framework of a program that will permit a debtor who has insufficient funds to cover the cost of an administration of a bankruptcy to have access to the bankruptcy system. This Directive sets out the procedure and criteria for eligibility.

Procedure

  1. Debtors initially contacting the OSB for advice relative to their financial affairs will be provided with a list of trustees participating in the BAP.
  2. If unable to obtain the services of a trustee after consulting at least two (2) trustees, or the sole trustee in the area where there is only one trustee, the debtor may again contact the OSB if the debtor considers that bankruptcy remains a potential solution. At such time, a registration form detailing the debtor's name, address and telephone number and the name(s) of trustee(s) previously contacted will be prepared.
  3. On a rotational basis, the designated Bankruptcy Analyst will deliver the registration form to a participating trustee, who becomes the designated trustee to administer the assignment.
  4. The debtor will contact the trustee designated by the designated Bankruptcy Analyst in order to fully discuss the alternatives to bankruptcy and the consequences of declaring bankruptcy or making a proposal.
  5. Provided that the debtor is eligible for the BAP pursuant to sections 14 and 15 below, and decides to declare bankruptcy, the designated trustee will prepare the necessary documentation for the filing of the assignment.
  6. If the assignment is not filed within thirty (30) days of the debtor's assessment, the trustee is obliged to report this fact to the designated Bankruptcy Analyst. In remote geographical areas, a slightly longer period of time may be acceptable, subject to the approval of the designated Bankruptcy Analyst.
  7. Trustees must be available for service throughout the entire year and agree to ensure that files accepted under the BAP will receive the same level of service as similar files accepted outside of the program.
  8. The application for a bankrupt's discharge is not to be delayed due to the lack of full payment of a trustee's fee. Trustees, however, are entitled to payment in full of their out-of-pocket expenses.
  9. In cases where third-party deposits or guarantees are taken by the trustee, such arrangements must be made in accordance with Directive No. 16, Third-Party Deposits and Guarantees.
  10. If the debtor does not meet with the trustee at the trustee's office or does not proceed with an assignment after the assessment, the designated trustee will return the registration form indicating the reasons for the non-assignment to the OSB.

Eligible Debtors

  1. Following attempts to secure the services of a trustee, insolvent individuals wishing to make an assignment in bankruptcy and who contact the OSB may be accepted into the BAP, except individuals:
    • (a) who are incarcerated;
    • (b) who were previously or are currently involved in commercial activities where the administration of the bankruptcy could give rise to an appreciable amount of administrative or investigative work for the trustee; or
    • (c) who are required to make surplus income payments in accordance with the Directive No. 11R2, Surplus Income.
  2. Where a debtor’s income increases after being accepted into theBAP, the debtor will be required to make payments on the surplus income where required pursuant to the Directive No. 11R2, Surplus Income.

Eligible Trustees

  1. A participating trustee, once designated, must agree to accept and process assigned eligible debtors except in those situations where the trustee will be in a conflict of interest. For the purpose of this Directive, conflicts of interest shall be governed by the applicable provisions of the Act and the Rules.
  2. All trustees requesting to participate in the BAP will be eligible to do so subject to the following provisions:
    • (a) they fully agree to adhere to all the requirements of the BAP;
    • (b) new trustees requesting to participate in the BAP will be added to the list of participating trustees every January 1 and July 1;
    • (c) any trustee withdrawing from the BAP, either voluntarily or involuntarily, will not be permitted to return to the program for a period of two (2) years from the withdrawal date. Subsequent readmittance into the program would be at the discretion of the designated Assistant Superintendent; and
    • (d) should any trustee withdraw from the program due to exceptional circumstances (e.g. sickness), the designated Assistant Superintendent would decide as to when the trustee would be admitted back into the BAP.
  3. To prevent undue advantage to any participating trustee, periodic rearrangement of the trustee list will be made by the OSB.
  4. Trustees participating in the program, subject to section 21 of this Directive, shall be resident trustees having a principal office unless bankruptcy service is otherwise unavailable in a particular area.
  5. Only one name for each trustee office will be permitted in the listing. A non-resident trustee may be listed as a participating trustee in areas not served by a resident trustee.
  6. Trustees not complying with the spirit or conditions of the BAP may see their name deleted from the list of participating trustees by the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Coming into Force

  1. This Directive comes into force on .

Enquiries

  1. For any questions pertaining to this Directive, please contact your local OSB office.

James Callon
Superintendent of Bankruptcy

Important notice:

The HTML version of this Directive is not the official version. In the event of an inconsistency between the HTML and PDF versions of this Directive, the PDF version prevails. Users are required to exercise due diligence with respect to the HTML version.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Instruction no 20
Entrée en vigueur le 18 septembre 2009

Programme d'accès à la faillite


Date d'émission : le 14 août 2009

(La présente instruction remplace et annule l'instruction no 11 sur le même sujet émise le 23 juillet 1993.)

Interprétation

  1. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent à la présente instruction :
    • « BSF » désigne le Bureau du surintendant des faillites;
    • « débours » renvoie aux débours tels que définis au paragraphe 128(2) des Règles;
    • « Loi » renvoie à la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;
    • « PAF » s'entend du Programme d'accès à la faillite;
    • « Règles » s'entend des Règles générales sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité.

Autorité et objet

  1. La présente instruction est émise en vertu de l'autorité conférée par l'alinéa 5(4)c) de la Loi.
  2. La présente instruction a pour objet de présenter le cadre du programme qui permet aux débiteurs n'ayant pas les fonds suffisants pour couvrir les frais d'administration d'une faillite d'avoir accès au système de faillite. Elle énonce les modalités et les critères d'admissibilité à ce programme.

Modalités

  1. Un débiteur demandant initialement conseil au BSF parce qu'il ne peut faire face à ses obligations se verra remettre une liste de syndics qui se sont engagés à rencontrer les exigences du PAF.
  2. Si le débiteur est dans l'impossibilité d'obtenir les services requis après avoir consulté deux (2) syndics, ou le syndic lorsqu'il y en a un seul dans le secteur, le débiteur pourra recommuniquer avec le BSF s'il estime que la faillite demeure une solution envisageable. Un formulaire renfermant le nom, l'adresse, le numéro de téléphone du débiteur et le nom des syndics contactés sera alors préparé.
  3. Sur une base rotative, l'analyste des faillites désigné transmettra le formulaire d'enregistrement à un syndic participant qui deviendra de fait le syndic désigné pour administrer la cession.
  4. Le débiteur communiquera avec le syndic désigné par l'analyste des faillites désigné afin de discuter pleinement des solutions de rechange à la faillite et des conséquences de la faillite ou du dépôt d'une proposition.
  5. Si le débiteur est admissible au PAF aux termes des paragraphes 14 et 15 ci-après et s'il décide de faire faillite, le syndic désigné devra préparer la documentation nécessaire en vue de déposer la cession.
  6. Si la cession n'est pas déposée dans les trente (30) jours suivant l'évaluation du débiteur, le syndic devra en faire rapport à l'analyste des faillites désigné. Dans les régions éloignées, une période de temps plus longue pourrait être acceptable, sous réserve de l'approbation de l'analyste des faillites désigné.
  7. Les syndics doivent pouvoir offrir le service tout au long de l'année et doivent s'assurer que tous les dossiers acceptés en vertu du PAF seront traités de la même manière que les autres dossiers similaires acceptés par les syndics hors du programme.
  8. La demande de libération du failli ne doit pas être retardée parce que les honoraires du syndic n'ont pas été entièrement versés. Toutefois, les syndics ont droit au paiement intégral de leurs débours personnels.
  9. Dans les cas où des dépôts ou garanties de tierces personnes sont acceptés par le syndic, il faut que l'instruction 16, Dépôts et garanties de tierces personnes, soit respectée.
  10. Si le débiteur ne se présente pas au bureau du syndic ou s'il décide de ne pas faire cession de ses biens suite à l'évaluation, le syndic désigné retournera le formulaire d'enregistrement en donnant les raisons du désistement au BSF.

Débiteurs admissibles

  1. Après avoir essayé d'obtenir les services d'un syndic, toute personne insolvable qui désire faire une cession et qui communique avec le BSF pourra être admissible au PAF, sauf les personnes :

    a) qui sont incarcérées;

    b) qui participaient ou participent à des activités commerciales dans le cadre desquelles l'administration de la faillite pourrait entraîner un travail de gestion ou d'enquête important pour le syndic; ou

    c) qui sont tenues de faire des paiements au titre du revenu excédentaire conformément à l'instruction 11R2, Revenu excédentaire.

  2. Lorsqu'un débiteur voit ses revenus augmenter après son admission au PAF, le débiteur doit effectuer des paiements au titre du revenu excédentaire lorsqu'il est tenu de le faire en vertu de l'instruction 11R2, Revenu excédentaire.

Syndics admissibles

  1. Un syndic participant au programme, lorsque désigné, doit accepter tous les débiteurs admissibles demandant de l'aide en matière de faillite, sauf lorsque l'acceptation placerait le syndic dans une situation de conflit d'intérêt. Aux fin de la présente instruction, les situations de conflit d'intérêt seront régies selon les dispositions applicables de la Loi et des Règles.
  2. Tous les syndics demandant de participer au PAF seront admissibles, sous réserve des dispositions suivantes :

    a) ils conviennent de se conformer à toutes les exigences du PAF;

    b) les nouveaux syndics demandant de participer au PAF verront leur nom ajouté à la liste des participants le 1er janvier et le 1er juillet de chaque année;

    c) tout syndic se retirant du PAF, de façon volontaire ou non, ne pourra être réadmis au programme avant l'expiration d'un délai de deux (2) ans. Sa réadmission à l'intérieur du programme sera laissée à la discrétion du surintendant adjoint désigné; et

    d) advenant que le syndic se retire du programme en raison de circonstances exceptionnelles (p. ex., maladie), il reviendra au surintendant adjoint désigné de déterminer quand celui-ci pourra être admis de nouveau au PAF.

  3. Afin d'éviter un avantage indu en raison de l'ordre des syndics sur la liste, ladite liste sera réaménagée périodiquement par le BSF.
  4. Les syndics participant au programme devront, sous réserve de l'article 21 de la présente instruction, être des syndics locaux possédant un bureau principal, à moins que les services d'un syndic ne puissent être retenus dans une région particulière.
  5. Un seul nom de syndic par bureau sera inscrit sur la liste. Le nom d'un syndic possédant un bureau secondaire peut être inscrit sur la liste des syndics participants lorsque la région où est situé ce bureau n'est desservie par aucun autre syndic.
  6. Les syndics ne se conformant pas au exigences et à l'esprit du PAF pourront voir leur nom retiré de la liste par le surintendant des faillites.

Entrée en vigueur

  1. La présente instruction entre en vigueur le 18 septembre 2009.

Demandes de renseignements

  1. Pour toute question se rapportant à la présente instruction, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau du BSF le plus proche.

James Callon
Surintendant des faillites


Avis important : La version XHTML de la présente instruction ne constitue pas la version officielle. En cas de divergence entre les versions XHTML et PDF, c’est la version PDF qui prévaut. Les utilisateurs doivent faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en ce qui a trait au format XHTML.