Coming into Force of Legislative Reform and Regulatory Amendments

The Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) is pleased to inform you that on September 18, 2009, the remaining amendments contained in chapter 36 of the Statutes of Canada, 2007, and chapter 47 of the Statutes of Canada, 2005 (c.36 and c.47) will come into force. The coming into force of these amendments to the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA) and the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act (CCAA) is the culmination of many years of diligent work on behalf of both staff and stakeholders toward modernizing and streamlining insolvency legislation.

Along with the legislative amendments to the BIA and the CCAA the Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules were amended and the new Companies' Creditors Arrangement Regulations were created in order to provide definitions and additional details that give effect to the new provisions in the legislation. The Companies' Creditors Arrangement Regulations also support the Superintendent's new mandate under the CCAA. Specifically, the Superintendent: is required to keep a public record of filings under the CCAA; may apply to the court to review the appointment or the conduct of a monitor; must keep a record of all complaints regarding the conduct of the monitor; and may make any inquiry or investigation regarding the monitor's conduct.

Many of the Superintendent's Directives and BIA Forms were also updated and modernized in keeping with the new provisions in the legislation as well as with a view toward streamlining the administration of insolvency estates where possible without compromising the integrity of the insolvency system.

Several publications required updating in keeping with the new provisions and will be re-published in September. These include "Dealing with Debt", "All About Bankruptcy Mediation", and the "Inspectors' Handbook".

The new legislative and regulatory amendments may be consulted at the following:

Coming into Force of c.47 and c.36 (Order in Council)

Companies' Creditors Arrangement Regulations (SOR/2009-219)

Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules (SOR/2009-218)

Directives and Circulars coming into force September 18, 2009

Forms coming into force September 18, 2009

The OSB has also prepared some information regarding its new mandate in CCAA matters.

Finally, I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who has been involved with this project over the past few years, dedicating valuable time reviewing documents and processes and providing helpful and insightful comments.

Yours truly,

James Callon
Superintendent of Bankruptcy

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Entrée en vigueur des modifications législatives et réglementaires

Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) est heureux de vous annoncer que les dernières modifications prévues au chapitre 36 des Lois du Canada (2007) et au chapitre 47 des Lois du Canada (2005) entreront en vigueur le 18 septembre 2009. L'entrée en vigueur de ces modifications à la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI) et à la Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies (LACC) est le résultat de plusieurs années de travail assidu, tant de la part de notre personnel que des intervenants du milieu, afin de moderniser et de rationaliser la législation sur l'insolvabilité.

En même temps que la LFI et la LACC, les Règles générales sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité ont aussi été modifiées et le Règlement sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies a été créé afin de fournir des définitions et des renseignements additionnels pour rendre exécutoires les nouvelles dispositions législatives. Le Règlement sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies appuie également le nouveau mandat dont le surintendant est investi en vertu de la LACC. De façon plus précise, le surintendant : doit tenir un registre public de tous les dossiers déposés sous le régime de la LACC; peut présenter une demande devant les tribunaux pour examiner la nomination ou la conduite d'un contrôleur; doit tenir un registre de toutes les plaintes ayant trait à la conduite du contrôleur; et peut présenter une demande ou mener une enquête sur la conduite du contrôleur.

De nombreuses instructions du surintendant et de nombreux formulaires de la LFI ont par ailleurs été mis à jour et modernisés afin de tenir compte des nouvelles dispositions législatives et de rationaliser l'administration des dossiers d'insolvabilité dans la mesure du possible, sans toutefois mettre en péril l'intégrité du système d'insolvabilité.

Plusieurs publications ont dû être mises à jour à la lumière des nouvelles dispositions, notamment Se sortir de l'endettement : guide pour les consommateurs, La médiation en matière de faillite et le Guide des inspecteurs. Une version à jour de ces publications sera publiée en septembre.

On peut prendre connaissance des nouvelles modifications législatives et réglementaires :

Entrée en vigueur des chapitres 47 et 36 (décret)

Règlement sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies (DORS/2009-219)

Règles générales sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (DORS/2009-218)

Instructions et circulaires entrant en vigueur le 18 septembre 2009

Formulaires de la LFI entrant en vigueur le 18 septembre 2009

Le BSF a aussi préparé un document d'information concernant son nouveau mandat en vertu de la LACC.

En terminant, j'aimerais profiter de l'occasion pour remercier tous ceux qui ont participé à ce projet au cours des dernières années, notamment en consacrant beaucoup de temps à revoir des documents et des procédures et à formuler des commentaires utiles et pertinents.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations les meilleures,

Le surintendant des faillites,
James Callon