OSB News November 2011

OSB News - November 2011

A word from the Superintendent

As the incoming Superintendent of Bankruptcy, it is a pleasure to present you with the latest edition of OSB News, a publication designed to keep insolvency professionals informed about initiatives underway at the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

In my first days at the OSB, I've had the opportunity to participate in a mid-year review of the organization's progress and priorities. I have come to appreciate the commitment of OSB staff to their mandate as well as the crucial role that insolvency professionals play in the efficient, effective and fair operation of the bankruptcy and insolvency system.

As a newcomer to the field of insolvency, I have much to become familiar with and I look forward to opportunities to meet with members of the insolvency community and to benefit from your insights and knowledge during the months ahead. As OSB's management team begins the business planning process for the year ahead, I welcome your input on priorities and issues of importance in ensuring that we may continue to strengthen the Canadian insolvency system.

Bill James
Superintendent of Bankruptcy


Improving mandatory counselling

A new initiative has been launched to conduct a review of the mandatory counselling program introduced under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act in 1992. Various aspects will be considered through the review, including the information being delivered, its consistency, the various tools used to deliver the information as well as the outcomes from the counselling provided. The review is being conducted jointly by the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) and the Canadian Association of Insolvency and Restructuring Professionals (CAIRP).

Bankrupts and consumers filing a proposal are required to undergo mandatory counselling to assist and educate them on good financial management and on developing successful strategies for achieving financial goals and overcoming financial setbacks.

The evaluation will include roundtables, a look at the content of the counsellor training program (which individuals must pass before they can provide counselling), and a review of the literature in Canada and elsewhere.

This review will lead to recommendations on how to improve and modernize the mandatory counselling process while ensuring that consumers receive consistent information.

In addition, Directive No. 1R3, Counselling in Insolvency Matters, which explains the content and goals of mandatory counselling, may be revised and updated to reflect the results of the review process.

Implementation plans for the licensing framework

The OSB is in the process of implementing the results of its review of the regulatory framework for trustee licensing.

The framework, which had not been looked at substantively since 2000, was reviewed to determine what needed to be changed in order to ensure the framework reflects today's environment, to ensure that the licensing process is comprehensive and transparent, and to ensure that it respects public interests.

The process began in 2010, when the OSB held consultations with stakeholders. The results of this consultation process, including the Superintendent's subsequent decisions on what changes to make or consider, were published in July 2011.

The changes will be implemented in two phases.

In Phase 1, which is underway, straightforward or technical amendments will be made to the Directive on Trustee Licensing (Directive No. 13R2) and supporting process or policy documents. Drafts of these documents will be pre-published on the OSB website in the next few months for stakeholder review and comment.

Phase 2 will involve many steps, beginning with the gathering of feedback from major stakeholders on the proposed amendments to ensure that potential risks are identified and addressed before changes are implemented.

Between now and March 2012, the OSB will arrange conference calls or meetings with diverse stakeholder groups to solicit their views and obtain nominations for participation in a multi-stakeholder roundtable to be held in late winter or early spring.

The OSB would like to remind stakeholders that none of the changes considered in the decision document have been implemented at this time and that the existing directives and policies remain in force.

Any questions about the implementation process can be emailed to the OSB at osb-licensing-review_revue-licences-bsf@ic.gc.ca.

More debtor misconduct identified thanks to trustees

As of October 31, trustees had referred 114 potential cases of debtor misconduct to the OSB since it launched the Debtor Compliance Referral Program last June. Most of these referrals have resulted in the conduct of examinations by the OSB.

Trustees can refer files to the OSB through the E-Filing system by uploading the electronic copy of the "Debtor Compliance Referral Form" and choosing "Debtor Compliance Referral" from the drop-down list.

There are four main criteria a trustee may use in determining if a file should be referred to the OSB: inappropriate disposition of assets, inappropriate delivery and disclosure, lack of cooperation on the part of the debtor, or inappropriate behaviour by the debtor.

The OSB may contact trustees to discuss the program, to get their feedback on it, and to answer any questions that they have.

The OSB is encouraged by the progress made, with the support of its stakeholders, to address debtor misconduct.

New forms, new pilot test for Remittance Advice submissions

New forms

This past September, two new Remittance Advice forms were included in the updates of the two most commonly used insolvency practice management software programs: Ascend and UBERbase.

All trustees must switch to the new forms by . After that date, the OSB will not accept submissions using the old Remittance Advice form.

Pilot testing of electronic remittance underway

The OSB is pilot testing the sending of Remittance Advice forms electronically through the E-Filing system. (Trustees will still need to continue mailing the payment cheques to the OSB.) The move is part of an effort to improve the accuracy and timeliness of information flowing between the OSB and trustees. Once the testing is completed, trustees will be invited to start transmitting the remittance forms electronically. In the meantime, only the paper format is available.

New levy deadline reminder

Trustees are reminded that there is now a deadline for the final levy payment. The deadline came into effect with the creation of the new online Trustee Statement of Outstanding Balances.

Of course, trustees must pay the levy at the same time as they issue dividends to creditors. Furthermore, trustees must now pay the final levy no later than 45 calendar days (including the objection period) after they file form 11, 15 or 58 with the OSB.

The new deadline does not affect the due date for the payment of registration fees. Note that the OSB allows until the 15th of the month following the filing of an estate for the payment of the registration fees to be received. Trustees should mail payments far enough in advance of the 15th to allow them to arrive by the deadline.

Photo of Bill James, Superintendent of Bankruptcy
 

Positive feedback for online trustee statement

So far, reviews received from trustees of the new online-only Trustee Statement have been very positive. Launched in June and available through E-Filing, the new statement provides up-to-date estate-level information on amounts owed to the OSB in fees and levy payments.
 

Changes to administration of trustee training

The Canadian Association of Insolvency and Restructuring Professionals (CAIRP) has taken over sole responsibility for the training of those who want to become a licensed trustee in bankruptcy.

The Chartered Insolvency and Restructuring Professional Qualification Program (CIRP Qualification Program) (CQP) is the official qualification process for an individual seeking to become a chartered insolvency and restructuring professional (CIRP). It is replacing the National Insolvency Qualification Program, which was administered jointly by the CAIRP and the OSB.

The CIRP Qualification Program was developed and is managed by a committee that includes representatives from the CAIRP, as well as an ex officio member from the OSB who is assigned by the Superintendent.

For more information on the CQP, visit the CAIRP website.
footnote bar

Nouvelles du BSF novembre 2011

Nouvelles du BSF - Novembre 2011

Mot du surintendant

En ma qualité de nouveau surintendant des faillites, j'ai le plaisir de vous présenter le plus récent numéro de Nouvelles du BSF. Cette publication a pour but de faire connaître aux professionnels de l'insolvabilité les initiatives en cours au Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF).

Au cours de mes premiers jours au BSF, j'ai eu l'occasion de participer à un examen semestriel des progrès et des priorités de l'organisation. J'ai alors pu constater l'engagement du personnel du BSF à l'égard de son mandat ainsi que le rôle de premier plan que jouent les professionnels de l'insolvabilité afin d'assurer le fonctionnement efficace, efficient et équitable du système de faillite et d'insolvabilité.

En tant que nouveau venu au sein du domaine de l'insolvabilité, j'ai beaucoup à faire pour me familiariser avec celui-ci et j'attends avec intérêt les occasions de rencontrer les représentants du milieu et de profiter de votre expérience et de vos connaissances au cours des mois à venir. Tandis que l'équipe de gestion du BSF amorce le processus de planification pour l'année qui vient, je vous invite à me faire part de vos commentaires sur les priorités et les enjeux d'importance, afin que nous puissions continuer de veiller à l'amélioration constante du système canadien d'insolvabilité.

Bill James
Surintendant des faillites


Initiative visant l'amélioration de la consultation obligatoire

Une nouvelle initiative a vu le jour dans le but d'effectuer un examen du programme de consultation obligatoire adopté en 1992 sous le régime de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI). Cet examen se penchera sur divers aspects, notamment l'information qui est présentée, sa cohérence, les divers outils utilisés pour transmettre l'information ainsi que les résultats des séances de consultation. L'examen est effectué conjointement par le BSF et l'Association canadienne des professionnels de l'insolvabilité et de la réorganisation (ACPIR).

Les faillis et les consommateurs qui déposent une proposition doivent participer à des séances de consultation obligatoire pour apprendre les principes d'une bonne gestion financière et les aider à bien gérer leurs finances et à élaborer des stratégies fructueuses afin d'atteindre leurs objectifs et de surmonter leurs difficultés sur le plan financier.

L'examen comprendra des tables rondes, un examen du contenu du programme de formation des conseillers (qu'il faut suivre avant de pouvoir diriger des séances de consultation) et un examen de la documentation à ce sujet publiée au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde.

L'examen débouchera sur des recommandations quant à la façon d'améliorer et de moderniser le processus de consultation obligatoire tout en s'assurant que les consommateurs reçoivent de l'information cohérente.

De plus, l'instruction no 1R3, Consultations en matière d'insolvabilité, qui explique le contenu et les objectifs de la consultation obligatoire, pourrait être révisée et mise à jour en fonction des résultats du processus d'examen.

Plans de mise en œuvre du cadre de réglementation des licences de syndic

Le BSF travaille actuellement à la mise en œuvre des résultats de son examen du cadre de réglementation des licences de syndic.

Le cadre, dont le dernier examen approfondi remontait à 2000, a été passé en revue afin de déterminer les modifications à apporter pour l'adapter au contexte actuel, et s'assurer d'un processus de délivrance des licences complet et transparent et d'un processus qui protège l'intérêt public.

Le processus a été lancé en 2010, lorsque le BSF a tenu des consultations avec ses intervenants. Les résultats de ce processus de consultation, y compris les décisions subséquentes du surintendant sur les modifications à effectuer ou à envisager, ont été publiés en juillet 2011.

La mise en application des décisions se déroulera en deux étapes.

Au cours de la première étape (en cours), le BSF apportera des modifications simples ou de nature technique à l'instruction no 13R2, Délivrance des licences de syndic, de même qu'aux énoncés de politique et aux documents administratifs connexes. Une version préliminaire de ces documents sera publiée sur le site Web du BSF au cours des prochains mois afin que les intervenants puissent en prendre connaissance et formuler des commentaires.

La deuxième étape, qui comportera plusieurs volets, débutera par la collecte de commentaires auprès des principaux intervenants relativement aux modifications proposées, afin de s'assurer que les risques sont identifiés et atténués ou éliminés avant la mise en œuvre des modifications.

D'ici mars 2012, le BSF organisera des conférences téléphoniques ou des réunions avec divers groupes d'intervenants afin de connaître leur point de vue et d'obtenir des candidatures de participants en vue d'une table ronde regroupant différents intervenants prévue pour la fin de l'hiver ou le début du printemps.

Le BSF tient à rappeler aux intervenants qu'aucune des modifications envisagées dans le document de décision n'a encore été mise en œuvre et que les instructions et les politiques existantes demeurent en vigueur.

Les questions portant sur le processus de mise en œuvre peuvent être envoyées par courriel au BSF, à l'adresse osb-licensing-review_revue-licences-bsf@ic.gc.ca.

Plus de cas de mauvaise conduite chez les débiteurs mis au jour grâce aux syndics

Au 31 octobre, les syndics avaient acheminé au BSF 114 cas possibles de mauvaise conduite de la part des débiteurs et ce, depuis le lancement du Programme de renvoi sur la conformité des débiteurs en juin dernier. La majorité des renvois ont donné lieu à la tenue d'interrogatoires par le BSF.

Les syndics peuvent acheminer des dossiers au BSF en utilisant le système de dépôt électronique. Il leur suffit de télécharger la version électronique du formulaire de renvoi sur la conformité des débiteurs et de sélectionner « Renvoi sur la conformité des débiteurs » à partir de la liste déroulante.

Il existe quatre grands critères qu'un syndic peut utiliser pour déterminer si un dossier devrait être porté à l'attention du BSF : aliénation inappropriée des actifs; remise et divulgation fausses ou incomplètes; manque de collaboration de la part du débiteur; et comportement inadéquat du débiteur.

Le BSF peut communiquer avec les syndics pour discuter du programme, obtenir leurs commentaires à son sujet ou répondre à leurs questions.

Le BSF se réjouit des progrès réalisés, avec l'aide des intervenants, en matière de lutte contre les comportements inadéquats des débiteurs.

De nouveaux formulaires et un essai pilote pour le dépôt d'avis de paiement

Nouveaux formulaires

En septembre dernier, deux nouveaux formulaires d'avis de paiement ont été ajoutés dans les mises à jour des deux programmes logiciels de gestion les plus fréquemment utilisés par les praticiens en matière d'insolvabilité : Ascend et UBERbase.

Tous les syndics doivent adopter les nouveaux formulaires d'ici le 1er décembre 2011. Après cette date, le BSF n'acceptera plus les remises effectuées au moyen de l'ancien formulaire d'avis de paiement.

Essai pilote en cours

Le BSF effectue un essai pilote pour l'envoi des formulaires d'avis de paiement par voie électronique au moyen du système de dépôt électronique. (Les syndics devront continuer d'envoyer par la poste au BSF les chèques de paiement.) Le changement s'inscrit dans le cadre d'un effort visant à améliorer l'exactitude et la rapidité de diffusion de l'information qui circule entre le BSF et les syndics. Une fois l'essai terminé, on invitera les syndics à faire parvenir les formulaires d'avis de paiement par voie électronique. D'ici là, ils ne pourront le faire que sur support papier.

Rappel : nouvelle date limite pour le paiement des prélèvements

On rappelle aux syndics qu'il y a dorénavant une date limite pour le paiement final des prélèvements. La date limite est entrée en vigueur dans la foulée de la création du nouveau relevé en ligne des soldes impayés des syndics.

Bien évidemment, les syndics doivent payer le montant du prélèvement en même temps qu'ils émettent les dividendes aux créanciers. De plus, ils doivent dorénavant remettre les prélèvements au BSF dans les 45 jours civils suivant la date de dépôt du formulaire 11, 15 ou 58. Ce délai comprend la période d'opposition.

Cette nouvelle date limite ne modifie pas la date de paiement des frais d'enregistrement au BSF. Veuillez noter que le BSF donne jusqu'au 15 du mois suivant le dépôt d'un dossier pour la réception du paiement des frais d'enregistrement. Les syndics devraient faire parvenir leur paiement par la poste suffisamment à l'avance afin de permettre au BSF de le recevoir avant la date limite.

Photo de Bill James, surintendant des faillites
 
 

Accueil favorable du relevé en ligne des syndics

Jusqu'à maintenant, les commentaires des syndics sur le nouveau relevé en ligne sont très positifs. Lancé en juin et accessible à partir du système de dépôt électronique, le nouveau relevé fournit pour chaque dossier des renseignements à jour sur les montants dus au BSF au titre des frais et des prélèvements.
 
 

Modifications à l'administration de la formation des syndics

L'Association canadienne des professionnels de l'insolvabilité et de la réorganisation (ACPIR) assume désormais l'entière responsabilité de la formation des personnes désirant obtenir une licence de syndic de faillite.

Le Programme de qualification des CIRP/PAIR est le processus officiel de qualification pour toute personne désirant devenir un professionnel agréé de l'insolvabilité et de la réorganisation (PAIR). Il remplace le Programme national de reconnaissance professionnelle en insolvabilité, qui était administré conjointement par l'ACPIR et le BSF.

Le Programme de qualification des CIRP/PAIR a été élaboré par un comité comprenant des représentants de l'ACPIR ainsi qu'un membre d'office du BSF désigné par le surintendant. Ce comité assure également la gestion du programme.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le programme, visitez le site Web de l'ACPIR.
 
footnote bar