Overview of trustee professional conduct proceedings

This document provides an overview of the process followed by the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) when conducting an investigation into the professional conduct of a trustee and when making a decision concerning a trustee's licence. More specific information can be found in the associated Directive No. 31, Procedure Governing Trustee Professional Conduct Proceedings.

Objective

The primary objective of the OSB is to promote and ensure compliance with professional standards that apply to the trustee profession. The OSB is committed to effectively investigating and resolving allegations and concerns of professional misconduct by trustees through a fair, expeditious, transparent, interactive and efficient process. The OSB will place priority on resolving professional conduct matters informally where appropriate, in a mutually agreeable manner, at the earliest stage possible during the process.

Background

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy (the Superintendent) has the authority under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA) to:

  • issue a licence to a trustee once satisfied that the applicant is qualified (section 13 of the BIA)
  • investigate the conduct of a trustee (paragraph 5(3)(e) of the BIA); and
  • make a decision affecting a trustee's licence (cancel, suspend, impose conditions or limitations pursuant to subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)

Note that where the Superintendent suspends or cancels a trustee's licence pursuant to subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA, such matters are not subject to a hearing and are decided under subsection 13.2(6) of the BIA.

The Superintendent may appoint any person to make any inquiry or investigation of estates or other matters to which the BIA applies pursuant to paragraph 5(3)(e) of the BIA. Consistent with the OSB's professional conduct investigation process, the Superintendent assigns his roles of inquiry, investigation and prosecution to the Deputy Superintendent to ensure the Superintendent's impartiality when adjudicating a trustee professional conduct proceeding. Detailed information regarding a trustee professional conduct investigation is not shared with the Superintendent until disclosed prior to the pre-hearing.

Professional conduct investigation

An investigation into a trustee's professional conduct is initiated by an OSB employee (the investigator) when, for example, there is information to suggest that the trustee has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the BIA, the Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules or Directives issued by the Superintendent.

As part of the investigation, the investigator:

  • informs the trustee in writing that an investigation is being undertaken
  • gathers and assesses evidence in relation to the allegations against the trustee (fact-finding)
  • provides a status report to the trustee at least every 6 months
  • reviews the investigation results with the trustee; and
  • determines, in consultation with the Deputy Superintendent, if the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the trustee's licence

Following the fact-finding process and related analysis, the investigator may conclude that the evidence does not warrant any sanctions against the trustee's licence. In these circumstances, the trustee is informed that the investigation will not proceed any further.

If the investigator concludes that the evidence warrants sanctions against the trustee's licence, the investigator will then prepare a draft professional conduct report.

The draft report will be considered at an investigation review committee meeting chaired by the Deputy Superintendent, in order to validate findings and identify possible terms for resolution of the matter. The Deputy Superintendent may decide to forego this meeting when it is warranted by circumstances.

At various stages during the investigative process, the investigator will communicate with the trustee in an effort to resolve the matter under investigation in a mutually agreeable manner. The occasions for resolution may include, but are not limited to:

  • the inception of the investigation
  • the conclusion of fact-finding; or
  • after review of a draft professional conduct report

If it is possible to reach an agreement that may bring the matter or elements of it to a close, the proposed agreement will be forwarded to the Superintendent for consideration.

Mediation by a third party

Following the investigation, if there is no agreement to conclude the matter, the parties will have the opportunity to participate in mediation by a third party. If both parties agree to mediation, a mediator will be named from a roster maintained by the OSB Registry.

If mediation is declined, or does not resolve the matter, the notice to trustee is prepared and delivered to the trustee and to the Superintendent.

Notice to trustee

The notice to trustee pursuant to section 14.02(1) of the BIA sets out the powers that the Superintendent may exercise, with reasons identifying the relevant issues, the nature of the evidence against the trustee, the potential consequences to the trustee, and affords the trustee a reasonable opportunity for a hearing. The trustee must advise the Superintendent in writing if he/she would like a hearing and whether he/she intends to make oral or written submissions. If a trustee fails to request a hearing, the adjudicator may proceed without further notification to the trustee.

OSB Registry

All documents and correspondence regarding professional conduct proceedings shall be sent to the registry at the following address:

Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy Registry (Headquarters)
via 235 Queen Street
Ottawa ON K1A 0H5
Telephone: 613-941-2694
Facsimile: 613-941-2868
Teletypewriter: 1-866-694-8389
Email: ic.osbregistry-greffebsf.ic@canada.ca

Delegation

The Superintendent may decide to adjudicate the matter or may delegate that authority pursuant to subsection 14.01(2) of the BIA. For the purposes of this document, all references to the "adjudicator" refer to the Superintendent or the individual/panel to whom that authority has been delegated.

Hearing process

The process for conducting a hearing is determined by the adjudicator and is set out in sections 14.01 and 14.02 of the BIA and in Directive No. 31, Procedure Governing Trustee Professional Conduct Proceedings. A hearing is normally preceded by a pre-hearing or case-management discussion. The disclosure of all relevant documents is provided in advance of the pre-hearing as directed by the adjudicator. At a pre-hearing, the adjudicator seeks to narrow the issues to be decided, ensure all relevant information has been prepared and shared by both parties, ensure expectations for the hearing process are well understood, and establish timelines.

Where the trustee has requested a hearing and intends to make oral representations, a notification of the hearing is posted on the OSB's website and in each division office of the OSB naming the parties, the date, time and location of the hearing.

As per paragraph 14.02(2)(c) of the BIA, the adjudicator shall deal with the matters set out in the notification of hearing as informally and expeditiously as the circumstances and a consideration of fairness permit. The investigator has the burden of proving the allegations on a balance of probabilities.

Record

In accordance with subsection 14.02(3) of the BIA, the notification of hearing, any summary of oral evidence, and the documentary evidence received, form the record of the hearing. The record is public, except where the adjudicator determines that there will be no disclosure on certain matters if the interests of a third party or the public interest outweigh public access. The record is maintained by the OSB Registry.

Publication of the decision

The decision of the adjudicator, with reasons, will be provided to the trustee no later than three months after the conclusion of the hearing, in accordance with subsection 14.02(4) of the BIA. The decision will be posted on the OSB's website and in each division office of the OSB.

Review by the Federal Court

Pursuant to subsection 14.02(5) of the BIA, the decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the Federal Court.

Date modified:

Conduite professionnelle des syndics : survol de la procédure

Le présent document donne un aperçu de la procédure suivie par le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) lorsqu'il mène une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic et prend une décision ayant trait à la licence de ce syndic. On trouvera des renseignements plus détaillés à ce sujet dans l'instruction no 31, Procédure régissant les instances sur la conduite professionnelle des syndics.

Objectif

Le BSF a pour principal objectif de promouvoir les normes professionnelles qui s'appliquent aux syndics et d'assurer la conformité de ces normes. Il s'engage à faire enquête sur les allégations et préoccupations concernant l'inconduite professionnelle des syndics et à les régler de manière efficace au moyen d'un processus équitable, expéditif, transparent, interactif et efficient. Le BSF s'efforce de résoudre les questions de conduite professionnelle sans formalisme, s'il y a lieu, et de façon mutuellement acceptable le plus tôt possible au cours du processus.

Contexte

Le surintendant des faillites (le surintendant) est investi des pouvoirs suivants en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI) :

  • délivrer une licence de syndic, après avoir déterminé que le demandeur a les qualités requises (article 13 de la LFI)
  • mener une enquête sur la conduite d'un syndic (alinéa 5(3)e) de la LFI)
  • prendre une décision concernant la licence d'un syndic (annulation, suspension, imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI)

Il est à noter que, lorsque le surintendant suspend ou annule la licence d'un syndic en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5) de la LFI, l'affaire ne fait pas l'objet d'une audition mais d'une décision en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(6) de la LFI.

Le surintendant peut nommer toute personne pour effectuer une investigation ou une enquête sur les dossiers ou toute autre affaire à laquelle s'applique la LFI en vertu de l'alinéa 5(3)e) de la LFI. Conformément à la procédure d'enquête sur la conduite professionnelle au BSF, le surintendant attribue ses rôles d'investigation, d'enquête et de poursuite au surintendant associé afin d'assurer l'impartialité du surintendant dans le cadre d'une instance sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic. L'information détaillée ayant trait à l'enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic n'est pas communiquée au surintendant avant la conférence préparatoire.

Enquête sur la conduite professionnelle

L'employé du BSF (l'enquêteur) ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic, par exemple lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant entendre que le syndic n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré l'actif comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la LFI, les Règles générales sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité ou les instructions émises par le surintendant.

Dans le cadre de son enquête, l'enquêteur :

  • informe le syndic par écrit qu'il fait l'objet d'une enquête
  • recueille et évalue des éléments de preuve ayant trait aux allégations formulées contre le syndic (recherche des faits)
  • remet un rapport d'étape au syndic au moins tous les six mois
  • passe en revue les conclusions de l'enquête avec le syndic
  • en consultation avec le surintendant associé, détermine si les conclusions sont suffisamment sérieuses pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence du syndic

Par suite de la recherche des faits et de l'analyse connexe, l'enquêteur peut conclure que les éléments de preuve recueillis ne justifient pas une sanction visant la licence du syndic. En pareil cas, le syndic est informé que l'enquête n'ira pas plus loin.

Si l'enquêteur conclut que les éléments de preuve justifient la prise de sanctions visant la licence du syndic, il prépare une ébauche de rapport sur la conduite professionnelle.

Un comité d'examen des enquêtes étudie l'ébauche de rapport dans le cadre d'une réunion présidée par le surintendant associé afin de valider les conclusions et de trouver des moyens possibles de régler l'affaire. Le surintendant associé peut décider de ne pas convoquer cette réunion lorsque les circonstances le justifient.

À diverses étapes au cours du processus d'enquête, l'enquêteur communique avec le syndic dans le but de résoudre de façon mutuellement acceptable l'affaire faisant l'objet d'une enquête. Il peut le faire, par exemple :

  • au moment du lancement de l'enquête
  • à la conclusion de la recherche des faits
  • après l'examen de l'ébauche de rapport sur la conduite professionnelle

S'il est possible de parvenir à une entente qui permettrait de clore l'affaire ou certains enjeux, l'entente proposée sera transmise au surintendant pour qu'il l'étudie.

Médiation par un tiers

Après l'enquête, si les parties n'arrivent pas à s'entendre, elles peuvent avoir recours à la médiation par un tiers. Si les deux parties acceptent d'aller en médiation, un médiateur est nommé à partir d'une liste tenue par le greffe du BSF.

Si la médiation est refusée ou ne permet pas de régler l'affaire, un avis au syndic est préparé et remis au syndic et au surintendant.

Avis au syndic

L'avis au syndic en vertu du paragraphe 14.02(1) de la LFI énonce les mesures que le surintendant peut prendre, avec les motifs indiquant les enjeux pertinents, la nature des preuves contre le syndic et les conséquences potentielles pour le syndic, qui a la possibilité de se faire entendre. Le syndic doit indiquer par écrit au surintendant s'il veut se faire entendre et s'il a l'intention de faire des représentations orales ou écrites. Si le syndic ne demande pas d'audition, le juge administratif peut aller de l'avant sans autre préavis au syndic.

Greffe du BSF

Tous les documents et toute la correspondance ayant trait à l'instance sur la conduite professionnelle doivent être envoyés au greffe du BSF à l'adresse suivante :

Greffe du Bureau du surintendant des faillites (Administration centrale)
via 235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5
Téléphone : 613-941-2694
Télécopieur : 613-941-2868
Téléimprimeur : 1-866-694-8389
Courriel : ic.osbregistry-greffebsf.ic@canada.ca

Délégation

Le surintendant peut décider de trancher la question ou de déléguer ses pouvoirs en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la LFI. Aux fins du présent document, toutes les références au « juge administratif » renvoient au surintendant ou à la personne ou au groupe de personnes à qui le pouvoir a été délégué.

Procédure d'audition

La procédure régissant la conduite des auditions est déterminée par le juge administratif et est décrite aux articles 14.01 et 14.02 de la LFI et dans l'instruction no 31, Procédure régissant les instances sur la conduite professionnelle des syndics. L'audition est généralement précédée d'une conférence préparatoire ou d'une discussion sur la gestion du cas. Tous les documents pertinents sont divulgués avant la conférence préparatoire, conformément aux directives du juge administratif. Au cours de la conférence préparatoire, le juge administratif cherche à circonscrire les questions sur lesquelles il devra se prononcer, à s'assurer que toute l'information pertinente a été préparée et communiquée par les deux parties et que les attentes relatives à la procédure d'audition sont bien comprises et à établir un calendrier.

Lorsque le syndic a demandé à être entendu et a l'intention de faire des représentations orales, un préavis d'audition mentionnant les parties en cause, la date, l'heure et le lieu de l'audition est publié sur le site Web et dans chaque bureau de division du BSF.

En vertu de l'alinéa 14.02(2)c) de la LFI, le juge administratif doit régler les questions soulevées dans le préavis d'audition avec célérité et sans formalisme, eu égard aux circonstances et à l'équité. Le fardeau de la preuve incombe à l'enquêteur, qui doit prouver les allégations selon la prépondérance des probabilités.

Dossier de l'audition

En vertu du paragraphe 14.02(3) de la LFI, le dossier de l'audition comprend le préavis d'audition, tout résumé de la preuve orale et toute preuve documentaire reçue. Le dossier est public, sauf si le juge administratif détermine que certaines questions ne doivent pas être divulguées parce que les intérêts d'un tiers ou l'intérêt public l'emportent sur le droit d'accès du public. Le dossier est tenu par le greffe du BSF.

Publication de la décision

La décision du juge administratif et les raisons qui la justifient sont communiquées au syndic dans les trois mois suivant la clôture de l'audition, conformément au paragraphe 14.02(4) de la LFI. La décision sera publiée sur le site Web et dans chaque bureau de division du BSF.

Examen de la Cour fédérale

En vertu du paragraphe 14.02(5) de la LFI, la décision rendue est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Date de modification :