Language selection

Search

Financial goals and their purpose

Financial goals make managing your money easier

Financial goals are targets

Financial goals are targets
Description

The infographic shows two people standing on a grassy field to the right and in front of a red and white dart board that reads “Financial Goals”. The two people are standing together to the right of the image, one is a dark haired man and the other is a blonde haired woman. The man is wearing jeans and a dark t-shirt, and he is holding a dart in his right hand and aiming for the target that reads “Financial Goals”. The woman is wearing jeans and a pink t-shirt, and she is clasping her hands excitedly to cheer him on. Text floats in the middle of the infographic, in the turquoise background colour, between the people and their target. The dark blue text reads: “Financial goals are targets” and the word “targets” is bolded.

Your financial goals are generally based on a specific future want or need. This may include:

  • a family vacation;
  • having a comfortable retirement; or,
  • being able to deal with a financial shock like a loss of income.

When setting your financial goals, it’s important to always cover your needs before your wants.

A need is a necessity, something that is essential for living. Examples include shelter, groceries and basic clothing.

A want is a desire, something that is non-essential for living but that you would like to have. Examples include vacations, restaurants meals and non-basic clothing.

Setting financial goals is an important step toward post-insolvency financial success. Achieving a goal can be very rewarding, personally satisfying and motivating. It can be a great confidence builder.

Throughout this module you will learn about why you should set financial goals. Later in the module, you will work through an exercise to set your own personal financial goals.

Financial stability and security

Let’s take a moment to review some background material before moving on to setting your financial goals.

Financial stability and security are crucial elements for financial well-being and a positive financial future. Many financial goals are guided by the priority of financial stability and security. As you are completing the module, make sure to thoroughly consider these priorities. The module will discuss strategies to help you achieve and maintain financial security and stability.

Financial stability is the ability to manage financial risks and absorb financial shocks. It provides you with the ability to bounce back from, or withstand, pressure, change or stress related to your finances.

Financial security is the peacefulness you feel when your income is enough to cover all of your expenses. It suggests that you have enough money coming in to cover emergencies and your future financial goals.

Financial stability and financial security are foundational pieces required to have a healthy relationship with money. In this section, you will learn how to evaluate your financial situation and review situations that could pose risks to your financial stability and security.

Please take a moment to review the common risk factors listed below and think about how they affect you:

  • whether you are a one- or two-income family,
  • whether you or your partner have a long-term illness,
  • whether or not your income is predictable or stable,
  • whether you have job stability or a lack thereof,
  • whether or not you have paid sick leave,
  • whether or not you have workplace disability insurance; or,
  • whether or not you have the ability to skip mortgage payments.

Understanding your financial risk factors is the first step in reducing the impact of unfortunate and unforeseen events. Setting financial goals can help you to protect your financial well-being against certain financial risk factors. The next section will teach you about some common ways to reduce these risks.

image of debtor with counsellor

If you have questions, write them down and bring them to your in-person counselling session.

top of page

Date modified:

Objectifs financiers et leur finalité

Les objectifs financiers facilitent la gestion de votre argent

Les objectifs sont des cibles

Les objectifs sont des cibles
Description de la figure

L’infographie montre deux personnes, debout dans un champ herbeux en face d’une cible rouge et blanche sur laquelle figurent les mots « Objectifs financiers ». Les deux personnes sont debout, côte à côte, du côté droit de l’infographie. L’une des personnes est un homme aux cheveux foncés, et l’autre est une femme aux cheveux blonds. L’homme porte des jeans et un maillot foncé; il tient une flèche dans la main droite et vise la cible qui comporte les mots « Objectifs financiers ». La femme porte des jeans et un maillot rose, et elle se serre les mains avec enthousiasme pour encourager son compagnon. Un texte flotte au milieu de l’infographie, contre le fond de couleur turquoise, entre les deux personnes et la cible. En bleu foncé, le texte indique : « Les objectifs financiers sont des cibles ». Le mot « cibles » est en caractères gras.

Vos objectifs financiers sont généralement fondés sur un désir ou un besoin précis futur. Il peut s’agir de :

Lorsque vous établissez vos objectifs financiers, il est important de toujours répondre à vos besoins avant vos désirs.

Un besoin est une nécessité, quelque chose qui est essentiel pour vivre. Par exemple, un logement, des provisions et des vêtements de base.

Un désir est un souhait, quelque chose qui n’est pas essentiel pour vivre, mais que vous voulez avoir. Par exemple, des vacances, des repas au restaurant et des vêtements superflus.

L’établissement d’objectifs financiers est une étape importante vers la réussite financière après l’insolvabilité. Il peut être gratifiant, satisfaisant et motivant d’atteindre un objectif financier. Cela peut être une excellente façon de bâtir sa confiance en soi.

Tout au long du présent module, vous apprendrez pourquoi vous devriez établir des objectifs financiers. Plus loin dans le module, vous ferez un exercice visant à établir vos objectifs financiers personnels.

Stabilité financière et sécurité financière

Prenons quelques instants pour examiner quelques renseignements généraux avant de passer à l’établissement de vos objectifs financiers.

La stabilité financière et la sécurité financière sont des éléments essentiels au bien-être financier et à un avenir financier positif. De nombreux objectifs financiers sont déterminés en fonction de la priorité de la stabilité et de la sécurité financières. À mesure que vous avancez dans le module, assurez-vous de réfléchir soigneusement à ces priorités. Le module abordera des stratégies visant à vous aider à atteindre une sécurité et une stabilité financières et à les maintenir.

La stabilité financière est la capacité de gérer des risques financiers et d’absorber des chocs financiers. Elle vous donne la capacité de vous remettre ou de résister aux pressions, aux changements ou au stress liés à vos finances.

La sécurité financière est la quiétude que vous ressentez lorsque votre revenu est suffisant pour couvrir toutes vos dépenses. Cela suppose que vos entrées d’argent sont suffisantes pour couvrir les urgences et vos objectifs financiers futurs.

La stabilité financière et la sécurité financière sont les éléments fondamentaux requis pour avoir une relation saine avec l’argent. Dans cette section, vous examinerez des situations qui risqueraient de compromettre votre stabilité et votre sécurité financières, ainsi que des moyens pour réduire ces risques le cas échéant.

Veuillez prendre quelques instants pour examiner les facteurs de risque communs énumérés ci-dessous et réfléchissez à la façon dont ils vous touchent :

Comprendre les facteurs de risque financier constitue la première étape pour réduire les répercussions d’événements malheureux et imprévus. La prochaine section vous renseignera sur des moyens courants utilisés pour réduire ces risques.

image d'un débiteur avec leur conseiller

Si vous avez des questions, notez-les et apportez-les à votre séance de consultation en personne.

haut de la page

Date de modification :