Insolvency Counselling Program

The Insolvency Counselling Program is divided into two stages. Each stage has an online component followed by an in-person session. The online and in-person counselling components are designed to complement each other. Your in-person sessions will be delivered by a Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA) Insolvency Counsellor (counsellor) or a Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT). These online modules are always available, so you can access them whenever is most convenient for you.

Although the modules are presented in a certain order, it is important to remember that everyone is different, so your BIA Insolvency Counsellor can adjust your counselling to suit your needs. This may include changing the order of the online modules.

Budgeting stage

Introduction
Find out what you can expect from this counselling process.

Budgeting module
Take control of your finances. Learn how to create and maintain a budget.

Planning for the future stage

Setting and achieving financial goals module
Prepare yourself for post-insolvency success! Learn how to set and achieve your future financial goals.

Spending habits module
Learn the spending strategies that will help you meet your financial goals.

Responsible use of credit module
Using credit will let you achieve certain financial goals, and using it responsibly lets you stay in control.



The Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) thanks the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) for the use of some of their financial literacy information in these modules. FCAC is the federal government body responsible for strengthening financial literacy in Canada. For further information on a wide variety of financial literacy topics please see FCAC’s website.

Date modified:

Programme de consultation en insolvabilité

Le Programme de consultations en insolvabilité est divisé en deux étapes. Chaque étape comprend un volet en ligne suivi d’une séance en personne. Le volet en ligne et les consultations en personne se complètent l’un l’autre. Les séances en personne seront animées par un conseiller en insolvabilité au titre de la LFI (conseiller) ou un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI). Ces modules en ligne sont toujours accessibles, ce qui signifie que vous pouvez y accéder au moment qui vous convient le mieux.

Bien que les modules soient présentés dans un certain ordre, il est important de se rappeler que chaque personne est unique. Par conséquent, votre conseiller en insolvabilité au titre de la LFI peut adapter la consultation à vos besoins, notamment en changeant l’ordre de présentation des modules en ligne.

Étape d'établissement d'un budget

Introduction
Découvrez ce à quoi vous pouvez vous attendre de ce processus de consultation.

Module sur l’établissement d’un budget
Prenez le contrôle de vos finances. Apprenez comment établir et gérer un budget.

Étape de la planification pour l'avenir

Module sur l’établissement et l’atteinte des objectifs financiers
Préparez-vous à réussir l’étape suivant la procédure d’insolvabilité! Apprenez comment établir et atteindre vos objectifs financiers futurs.

Module sur les habitudes de dépenses
Renseignez-vous au sujet des stratégies de dépenses qui vous aideront à atteindre vos objectifs financiers.

Module sur l’utilisation responsable du crédit
L’utilisation du crédit vous permettra d’atteindre certains objectifs financiers, et l’utilisation responsable du crédit vous permettra de garder le contrôle.



Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) remercie l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada (ACFC) de lui avoir permis d’utiliser certains de ses renseignements relatifs à la littératie financière dans les modules. L’ACFC est l’organisme fédéral qui a la responsabilité de renforcer la littératie financière au Canada. Pour en savoir davantage sur une grande variété de sujets relatifs à la littératie financière, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'ACFC.

Date de modification :