Frequently asked questions

  1. What happened to the Community Access Program (CAP)?
  2. Why did the Government of Canada end federal funding for CAP?
  3. What happens to the Youth Employment Strategy funding that was allocated to the CAP Youth Initiative (CAP-YI)?
  4. If my local CAP site closes, how can I still get public Internet access?
  5. What other related Government of Canada programs are available to help individual CAP sites access technology?
  6. What will happen to existing CAP sites?

Question 1. What happened to the Community Access Program (CAP)?

Answer: Federal funding for CAP ended on March 31, 2012, as scheduled. CAP was launched in 1995 and has met its objectives. The majority of Canadians are now connected to the Internet at home, while many more have access through their mobile devices.

Question 2. Why did the Government of Canada end federal funding for CAP?

Answer: CAP was launched in 1995 when the Internet was in its infancy. It was then increasingly evident that the Internet would be critical to Canada's future competitiveness. The objective of the program was to encourage participation in the knowledge-based economy by maximizing the accessibility of computers and the Internet at public access points, such as public libraries, across Canada.

In 1995, only 40 percent of Canadian households had a computer and only about 10 percent of these households had Internet access. By contrast, in 2010 about 79 percent of Canadians had access to the Internet at home. Today, with the advent of smart phones, many Canadians have access to the Internet in their hands.

In addition, following the completion of the Broadband Canada: Connecting Rural Canadians program in the summer of 2012—and taking into account other provincial and private sector initiatives—fewer than 2 percent of Canadian households will be without access to basic broadband service of 1.5 megabits per second.

Question 3. What happens to the Youth Employment Strategy funding that was allocated to the CAP Youth Initiative (CAP-YI)?

Answer: Federal funding will continue to support up to 1,300 youth internships at community Internet sites per year. This will provide young Canadians with the vital skills and work experience needed to make a successful transition to the workplace while contributing to job creation. Former CAP-supported sites will continue to be eligible for youth internship funding.

Question 4. If my local CAP site closes, how can I still get public Internet access?

Answer: Most CAP sites are not dependent exclusively on federal funding and it is expected that certain sites may continue to stay open. If your local CAP site closes, and you have been using the site to access government services and are seeking an alternative, Service Canada offers single-window access to a wide range of Government of Canada programs and services through more than 600 points of service located across the country. To find locations in your area, please visit the Service Canada website. The Government of Canada has a number of programs available to specifically help individuals to find a job and improve their skills. For more information on these services, please call 1-800-O-CANADA.

Many public libraries across the country also provide Internet access as part of their regular core service offering, and local colleges, schools and community centres may also continue to provide public Internet access.

Question 5. What other related Government of Canada programs are available to help individual CAP sites access technology?

Answer: Schools, libraries and not-for-profit learning organizations will continue to benefit from other federal initiatives such as the Computers for Schools Program, which collects, repairs and refurbishes donated surplus computers from government and private sector sources and distributes them to schools, public libraries and not-for-profit learning organization throughout Canada. The Government of Canada will continue to support youth internships at community Internet sites.

Question 6. What will happen to existing CAP sites?

Answer: Most CAP sites are not dependent exclusively on federal funding, and it is possible that certain sites may continue to stay open. Equipment, such as computers, which was obtained by the site, or by a CAP recipient through CAP funding, will remain the property of the CAP site.

Date modified:

Foire aux questions

  1. Qu'est-il arrivé au Programme d'accès communautaire (PAC)?
  2. Pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada a-t-il mis un terme au financement du PAC?
  3. Qu'adviendra-t-il du financement de la Stratégie emploi jeunesse qui était alloué à l'Initiative jeunesse du PAC?
  4. Si mon centre local du PAC ferme, comment pourrai-je continuer de profiter d'un accès public à Internet?
  5. Quels autres programmes connexes du gouvernement du Canada pourront aider les centres du PAC à accéder aux technologies?
  6. Qu'adviendra-t-il des centres du PAC?

Question 1. Qu'est-il arrivé au Programme d'accès communautaire (PAC)?

Réponse : Le financement fédéral versé au PAC a pris fin, comme prévu, le 31 mars 2012. Le PAC a été lancé en 1995 et il a atteint ses objectifs. La vaste majorité des Canadiens sont branchés à Internet à la maison, et bon nombre d'entre eux y ont également accès à l'aide d'appareils mobiles.

Question 2. Pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada a-t-il mis un terme au financement du PAC?

Réponse : Le PAC a été lancé en 1995 alors qu'Internet en était à ses débuts. À cette époque, il devenait de plus en plus évident qu'Internet serait essentiel à la compétitivité future du Canada. L'objectif du Programme était donc d'encourager la population à participer à l'économie du savoir en maximisant l'accessibilité à des ordinateurs et à Internet par l'intermédiaire de points d'accès public, comme les bibliothèques publiques, partout au Canada.

En 1995, seulement 40 % des foyers canadiens avaient un ordinateur et environ 10 % à peine de ces foyers avaient un accès à Internet. En revanche, environ 79 % des Canadiens avaient accès à Internet à la maison en 2010. Aujourd'hui, avec l'arrivée des téléphones intelligents, de nombreux Canadiens profitent d'un accès mobile à Internet.

Par ailleurs, à la suite de l'achèvement du programme Large bande Canada : Un milieu rural branché, à l'été 2012 — et si l'on tient compte d'autres initiatives des gouvernements provinciaux et du secteur privé —, moins de 2 % des foyers canadiens n'auront pas accès aux services de base à large bande de 1,5 mégabit par seconde.

Question 3. Qu'adviendra-t-il du financement de la Stratégie emploi jeunesse qui était alloué à l'Initiative jeunesse du PAC?

Réponse : Le gouvernement fédéral continuera de verser du financement afin d'appuyer jusqu'à 1 300 stages pour les jeunes par année dans les centres communautaires d'accès à Internet. Les jeunes Canadiens pourront ainsi acquérir les compétences et l'expérience essentielles afin de faire leur entrée sur le marché du travail, tout en contribuant à la création d'emplois. Les anciens centres du PAC continueront d'être admissibles à ce financement.

Question 4. Si mon centre local du PAC ferme, comment pourrai-je continuer de profiter d'un accès public à Internet?

Réponse : La plupart des centres du PAC ne dépendent pas exclusivement du financement fédéral et il est attendu que certains centres resteront ouverts. Si le centre local où vous aviez l'habitude de vous rendre pour accéder aux services gouvernementaux ferme ses portes et que vous êtes à la recherche d'une solution de rechange, Service Canada met à votre disposition, dans près de 600 points de service, un guichet unique donnant accès à une vaste gamme de programmes et de services du gouvernement du Canada. Pour trouver un centre dans votre région, veuillez consulter le site Web de Service Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada offre un certain nombre de programmes qui visent précisément à aider les personnes à trouver un emploi et à améliorer leurs compétences. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ces services, veuillez composer le 1 800 O-CANADA.

De nombreuses bibliothèques publiques du pays proposent aussi un accès à Internet dans le cadre de leurs services de base. Par ailleurs, plusieurs collèges, écoles et centres communautaires continueront d'offrir un accès public à Internet.

Question 5. Quels autres programmes connexes du gouvernement du Canada pourront aider les centres du PAC à accéder aux technologies?

Réponse : Les écoles, les bibliothèques et les organismes d'apprentissage sans but lucratif continueront à profiter d'autres initiatives fédérales comme le Programme des ordinateurs pour les écoles. Ce dernier recueille, répare et remet à neuf des ordinateurs excédentaires provenant des administrations publiques et du secteur privé, puis les distribue à des écoles, à des bibliothèques publiques et à des organismes d'apprentissage sans but lucratif d'un bout à l'autre du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada continuera également à offrir un appui financier en ce qui concerne les stages pour les jeunes dans les centres communautaires d'accès à Internet.

Question 6. Qu'adviendra-t-il des centres du PAC?

Réponse : La plupart des centres du PAC ne dépendent pas exclusivement du financement fédéral. Certains d'entre eux pourraient demeurer ouverts. Les centres demeureront propriétaires du matériel, comme les ordinateurs, qu'ils auront obtenu ou que d'autres bénéficiaires auront obtenu grâce au financement du PAC.

Date de modification :