Ministerial Appointment Opportunities (Anticipatory)

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following Ministerial positions:

Chairperson and members, Council on Science and Innovation (Part-time positions)
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

The Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development (ISED) and the Minister of Science and Sport are establishing the Council on Science and Innovation (CSI), as an independent advisory body mandated to provide the Ministers with expert advice on policy issues related to science and innovation. The CSI’s advice will support the Government of Canada’s efforts to strengthen the science and research ecosystem and stimulate innovation across the country’s economy. This advice will be made public, although the Ministers may choose to seek confidential advice under certain circumstances.

The Council will be mandated to:

The Council’s scope is expected to encompass the full range of disciplines across the natural sciences and engineering, life and health sciences, and social sciences and humanities, and cover the breadth of activity from fundamental research through applied research to successful commercialization of product/process innovations and the application of new insights to societal challenges.

The CSI membership will be appointed jointly by the Ministers, and is expected to be composed of a Chairperson and 11 other members drawn from the scientific and research community, the private sector, and civil society. In addition, the Chief Science Advisor will serve as ex-officio Vice-Chair, and the Deputy Minister of ISED and Deputy Minister of Health will serve as ex-officio members.  As deemed necessary, ex-officio appointments and/or cross-appointments with related bodies may be made at Ministerial discretion to facilitate an integrated, holistic approach to science and innovation governance.

The Chairperson will be responsible for: chairing meetings and providing leadership and guidance in the scoping and planning of the Council’s work; leading Council engagement and consultations with experts, stakeholders, and civil society, as well as collaboration and coordination as warranted with related organizations; ensuring that Council advice is independent and evidence-based, supported by rigorous research and analysis; serving as the liaison between the Council and the Ministers; representing the Council with stakeholders, other organizations, and civil society; and, performing other duties relevant to the Council’s mandate as requested by the Ministers from time to time.

Members will be responsible for actively contributing to Council meetings and activities such as: participating in CSI sub-committees or working groups of members to address specific areas, themes and/or issues referred by the Ministers; and providing open and respectful perspectives and ideas to Council discussions.

The Chairperson and members are expected to serve in their own right, not as representatives of any particular organization, area or special interest, and will be chosen based on their individual accomplishments and expertise in the science, research and innovation sphere. 

Remuneration:

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for these positions. You are therefore encouraged to specify in your application the level of your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups:  women, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, and members of a visible minority group.

How to Apply

Interested candidates must apply to the following email address: ic.csi.ic@canada.ca. A review of applications will begin on January 28, 2019. Candidates are strongly encouraged to submit their applications by this date. After this date, your application will be retained and may be considered up until appointments are made.

Candidates are requested to provide a cover letter of no more than three pages specifying:

To be considered, please ensure that the information provided in your curriculum vitae and cover letter clearly demonstrates how you meet the following requirements:

Education and Experience

Candidates interested in being considered for the Chairperson position must have:

Candidates interested in being considered for the member positions must have:

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

Candidates interested in being considered for the Chairperson position must have:

Candidates interested in being considered for the member positions must have:

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

Candidates interested in being considered for the Chairperson and/or member positions must have:

Candidates interested in being considered for the Chairperson position must additionally have:

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important to confirm that you meet the following requirements:

If you are appointed to one of these positions:

You will be expected to conduct yourself ethically and maintain high standards of honesty, judgment and integrity, consistent with the values of the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders, the Conflict of Interest Act, and the Lobbying Act.

Ministerial or government officials may conduct background and other checks, including for past political activities.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

We thank all those who apply. Please note that only candidates who are selected will be contacted.

This notice is not intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

Date modified:

Possibilités de nominations ministérielles (anticipatoires)

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui ont un intérêt pour les postes ministériels suivants :

Président du conseil et membres, Conseil des sciences et de l’innovation (postes à temps partiel)
Innovation, Science et Développement économique Canada

Le ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique (ISDE) et la ministre des Sciences et des Sports mettent sur pied le Conseil des sciences et de l’innovation (CSI), un organisme consultatif indépendant chargé de fournir aux ministres des conseils d’experts sur des questions de politique publique liées aux sciences et à l’innovation. Les conseils du CSI appuieront les efforts du gouvernement du Canada visant à renforcer l’écosystème des sciences et de la recherche et à stimuler l’innovation dans l’ensemble de l’économie du pays. Ces conseils seront rendus publics, mais les ministres pourront demander un avis confidentiel dans certaines circonstances.

Le Conseil aura pour mandat ce qui suit :

Il est prévu que la portée du CSI comprendra l’ensemble des disciplines des sciences naturelles et du génie, des sciences de la vie et de la santé, et des sciences sociales et humaines. Elle devrait également couvrir toute une gamme d’activités, allant de la recherche fondamentale et de la recherche appliquée à la commercialisation réussie d’innovations (produits et procédés) et à l’application de nouvelles connaissances aux défis sociétaux.

Les membres du CSI seront nommés conjointement par les ministres. Il est prévu que le Conseil sera composé d’un président et de 11 autres membres issus de la communauté scientifique et de la recherche, du secteur privé et de la société civile. De plus, la conseillère scientifique en chef sera vice-présidente d’office et les sous-ministres d’ISDE et de la Santé en seront membres d’office. Au besoin, des nominations d’office ou des nominations conjointes avec des organismes connexes pourront être organisées à la discrétion des ministres afin de faciliter une approche intégrée et globale dans la gouvernance des sciences et de l’innovation.

Le président du conseil aura les responsabilités suivantes : présider les réunions; diriger et orienter la détermination de la portée et la planification des travaux du Conseil; diriger les consultations du CSI avec des experts, des intervenants et la société civile, ainsi que la collaboration et la coordination, au besoin, avec des organisations connexes; veiller à ce que les conseils du CSI soient indépendants, fondés sur des données probantes et appuyés par des recherches et des analyses rigoureuses; assurer la liaison entre le CSI et les ministres; représenter le Conseil auprès des intervenants, d’autres organisations et de la société civile; et s’acquitter d’autres tâches liées au mandat du Conseil, à la demande des ministres de temps à autre.

Les membres seront chargés de contribuer activement aux réunions et aux activités du Conseil, par exemple en participant à des sous-comités ou à des groupes de travail  pour traiter de domaines, de thèmes ou de questions spécifiques soumis par les ministres, ou encore en exprimant des perspectives et des idées ouvertes et respectueuses lors des discussions du Conseil.

On s’attend à ce que le président et les membres servent en leur propre nom et non à titre de représentants d’une organisation, d’un domaine ou d’un intérêt particulier. Ils seront choisis en fonction de leurs réalisations personnelles et de leur expertise en sciences, en recherche et en innovation. 

Rémunération

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité dans l’évaluation des candidatures à ces postes. Nous vous encourageons donc à indiquer, dans votre demande, votre niveau de compréhension de la langue seconde et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l’un des groupes désignés suivants : femmes, Autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres d’un groupe de minorité visible.

Comment postuler

Les candidats intéressés doivent soumettre leur candidature par courriel à l’adresse suivante : ic.csi.ic@canada.ca. L'examen des demandes débutera le 28 janvier 2019. Nous encourageons fortement les candidats à présenter leur demande au plus tard à cette date. Les demandes soumises par la suite seront conservées et pourraient être examinées jusqu’à ce qu’il y a des nominations.

Les candidats sont priés de fournir une lettre de présentation de trois pages maximum avec les renseignements suivants :

Afin que votre candidature soit prise en considération, assurez-vous que les renseignements fournis dans votre curriculum vitæ et votre lettre de présentation démontrent clairement que vous répondez à chacun des critères suivants :

Études et expérience

Les personnes qui souhaitent poser leur candidature pour le poste de président du conseil doivent répondre aux critères suivants :

Les personnes qui souhaitent poser leur candidature pour un poste de membre doivent répondre aux critères suivants :

Si votre candidature est retenue pour un examen approfondi, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

Les personnes qui souhaitent poser leur candidature pour le poste de président du conseil doivent répondre aux critères suivants :

Les personnes qui souhaitent poser leur candidature pour un poste de membre doivent répondre aux critères suivants :

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature passe à l’étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références afin de valider que vous rencontrez les exigences relatives à l’expérience et avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, et que vous possédez les qualités personnelles suivantes :

Les personnes qui souhaitent poser leur candidature pour les postes de président du conseil ou de membres doivent posséder les qualités suivantes :

Les personnes qui souhaitent poser leur candidature pour le poste de président du conseil doivent aussi posséder :

Facteurs d’admissibilité et conditions d’emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous répondez aux exigences suivantes :

Si vous êtes nommé(e) à l’un de ces postes :

On s’attendra à ce que vous vous conduisiez de façon éthique et que vous respectiez des normes élevées d’honnêteté, de jugement et d’intégrité, conformément aux valeurs des Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques pour les titulaires de charge publique, de la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts et de la Loi sur le lobbying.

Des fonctionnaires ministériels ou gouvernementaux pourraient procéder à des vérifications des antécédents et à d’autres vérifications, y compris pour des activités politiques antérieures.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.

Nous remercions tous ceux et celles qui postulent. Veuillez noter que nous communiquerons uniquement avec les candidats retenus.

Le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Date de modification :