4. Qualifiedly prohibited

Table of Contents


Reg. 26. For the purpose of paragraph 12(1)(a) of the Act, a corporate name is prohibited if it connotes that the corporation

  1. carries on business under royal, vice-regal or governmental patronage, approval or authority, unless Her Majesty or a person, society, authority or organization referred to in paragraph 9(2)(a) of the Trade-marks Act consents in writing to the use of the name;
  2. is sponsored or controlled by or is connected with the Government of Canada, the government of a province, the government of a country other than Canada or a political subdivision or agency of any such government, unless the appropriate government, political subdivision or agency consents in writing to the use of the name;
  3. is sponsored or controlled by or is connected with a university or an association of accountants, architects, engineers, lawyers, physicians or surgeons or another professional association recognized by the laws of Canada or a province, unless the appropriate university or professional association consents in writing to the use of the name;
  4. carries on the business of a bank, loan company, insurance company, trust company or another financial intermediary that is regulated by the laws of Canada, unless the Superintendent of Financial Institutions consents in writing to the use of the name; or
  5. carries on the business of a stock exchange that is regulated by the laws of a province, unless the relevant provincial securities regulator consents in writing to the use of the name.

4.1 Names which connote government sponsorship and control

Examples of names which connote government patronage or sponsorship and control:

  • Sports Canada
  • Canadian Association of Postmasters
  • Health & Welfare Programmers Association
  • Canadian Armed Forces
  • Canadian Forces
  • Canadian Labelling Standards Council
  • Royal Canadian Mint

4.2 Abbreviations for government departments (Regulation 26(b))

Care should be taken if using initials that could connote government sponsorship or control in a proposed name. For example: The abbreviation "IC" for Industry Canada would be available with a descriptive feature like "shoes". The same distinctive element with a descriptive feature like "Corporate Information Services" would be unavailable because it implies government sponsorship and control.

Provincial or territorial names or abbreviations (Regulation 26(b))

Care should be taken if using the name or the abbreviation of one of Canada's provinces or territories. Use of certain provincial names and abbreviations in federal corporate names is prohibited. At the request of some provincial or territorial governments, Corporations Canada does not allow the use of the names or abbreviations in a federal corporate name. If an applicant has strong objections, he or she may wish to contact the appropriate government to try to obtain consent for use.

Alberta

The terms "(ALTA)" and "(Alberta)" in federal corporate names is prohibited. At the request of the Alberta Government, Corporations Canada does not allow the use of these terms. These terms are reserved for bodies corporate incorporated in Alberta as affiliates of an extra-provincial company of the same or similar name. If an applicant has strong objections, he or she may wish to contact the Alberta Companies Branch to obtain consent for use of the term.

The terms "ALTA", "Alberta" and "Of Alberta" will be available unless they give a government connotation to the name in which case consent of the relevant government authority will be necessary. The Alberta Companies Branch leaves it up to Corporations Canada to determine if there is governmental connotation.

Ministry of Service Alberta
Corporate Registry
Box 1007, Station Main
Edmonton AB T5J 4W6

Phone: 780-427-7013
For toll-free access within Alberta first dial 310-0000
Email: cr@gov.ab.ca
Internet: www.servicealberta.ca

British Columbia

The terms "B.C."/"C.-B.", "(B.C.)"/"(C.-B.)", "British Columbia"/"Colombie-Britannique", "(British Columbia)"/"(Colombie-Britannique)" and "Of British Columbia"/"de la Colombie-Britannique" will not be available without the approval of the British Columbia Registrar of Companies. The British Columbia Registrar of Companies wishes all names of this nature to be referred to its office for that determination to be made.

B.C. Registrar of Companies
The Waddington Bldg.
940 Blanshard St., 2nd Floor
Victoria, B.C. V8W 3E6

Telephone: 250-387-7848
Internet: www.bcregistry.ca

Nova Scotia

"Nova Scotia"/"Nouvelle-Écosse" cannot be used as the first word in a corporate name without consent from the Nova Scotia Registrar of Joint Stock Companies.

Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations
Registrar of Joint Stock Companies
Maritime Centre, 9th floor, Box 1529
1505 Barrington Street
Halifax, N.S. B3J 2Y4

Telephone: 902-424-7770
Fax: 902-424-4633
Email: iomt-stocks@gov.ns.ca
Internet: http://novascotia.ca/sns/access/business/registry-joint-stock-companies.asp

Manitoba

"Manitoba" cannot be used in the name of a proposed federal corporation without consent from the Companies Office of Manitoba.

Director
Companies Office
Manitoba Consumer and Corporate Affairs
1010, Woodsworth Building, 10th Floor
405 Broadway Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 3L6

Telephone: 204-945-2500
Fax: 204-945-1459
Email: companies@gov.mb.ca
Internet: www.companiesoffice.gov.mb.ca/index.html

Saskatchewan

"Sask..", "Saskatchewan", "(Sask..)", "(Saskatchewan)", or any other term which denotes affiliation with the Government of Saskatchewan, can be used in a federal corporation name only if the Director of Corporations in Saskatchewan has given consent.

In your application, you must include a letter from the Information Services Corporation (ISC) that confirms that the name is available and reserved. This letter is sufficient to demonstrate consent.

Corporate Registry
Information Services Corporation (ISC)
1301 1st Avenue
Regina SK S4R 8H2

Telephone: 306-787-2962
Fax: 306-787-8999
Email: corporateregistry@isc.ca 
Internet: Information Services Corporation

Newfoundland and Labrador

"Newfoundland and Labrador"/"Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador" or "N.L."/"T.-N.-L." are not permitted in a name proposed for a federal corporation without consent from the Registry of Companies of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Registry of Companies
Commercial Registrations Division
P.O. Box 8700, Confederation Building
Ground Floor, East Block
St. John's, NL A1B 4J6

Telephone: 709-729-3317
Fax: 709-729-0232
Email: gsinfo@gov.nl.va
Internet: http://www.gs.gov.nl.ca/registries/

New Brunswick

"New Brunswick"/"Nouveau-Branswick" cannot be used at the beginning of a corporate name without consent from the Director, Corporate Affairs Registry of New Brunswick.

Director
Corporate Affairs Branch
Service New Brunswick
P.O. Box 1998
Fredericton, N.B. E3B 5G4

Telephone: 506-453-2703 or 888-762-8600
Fax: 506-453-2613
Email: snb@snb.ca
Internet: www.snb.ca

The physical address is:

City Centre
462 Queen St
Fredericton, N.B. E3B 1B6

Foreign countries

A name such as XYZ (Switzerland) Inc. would be available without consent of the Swiss government.

4.3 Names Connoting a Connection with a University or Professional Association (Regulation 26(c))

4.3.1 Professional associations

Corporations Canada does not require the consent of the professional organization just because a proposed name makes reference to a member or members of that profession.

The test is whether it could reasonably be assumed that the business is sponsored, controlled by, or connected with the organization.

e.g. No consent required for:

  • Heritage Lawyers' Association
  • John Brown Accounting Services Ltd.
  • Black & White Engineers or
  • Engineering & Consulting Ltd.

However, consent will be required if the proposed name is confusingly similar with a particular university or professional association.

e.g. Consent required for:

  • University of Montreal Debating Society
  • Upper Canada Lawyers' Debating Society (Law Society of Upper Canada — the professional association)
  • Certified General Accountants Debating Society

Since Corporations Canada may not be aware of the names of all professional bodies, in each case, if a proposed name refers to an existing profession, the applicant should inform us whether this name is likely to be confusing with any existing professional association. The applicant may wish to contact the appropriate authorities for more information before using the name. Please note that the various provincial professional bodies have their own remedies against misuse of their professional titles. Furthermore, a provincial legislature has the power to legislate to prevent a federal professional association from carrying on operations in its province.

If no professional regulating body exists in a particular field, a body purporting to be such a professional association may be incorporated. The use of the word "professional" in the name is not prohibited.

e.g. North American Professional Shoemakers' Association

  • Note: We would also incorporate another body purporting to offer the same professional services (i.e. shoemakers association) providing that the name proposed for that corporation is not confusing with the existing association name.
    • e.g. North American Professional Shoemakers' Association — existing Uniso Professional Shoemakers' Society — acceptable
  • Exception: The name of a professional association bearing the words "Corporation professionnelle du Québec" will be refused, unless it is accompanied by the consent of the Office des professions du Québec, since it connotes an organization approved by the professional code of Quebec.

4.3.2 Use of the term "university"

If the name of a proposed corporation uses the term "university" in a fashion that suggests that the corporation is a degree-granting institution, the name will be rejected as being misleading unless it can be established that the corporation has been authorized by the relevant federal or provincial authority to grant degrees.

e.g. University Painters Inc. — acceptable
e.g. Northern University Inc. — misleading

4.3.3 Use of terms connoting a degree-granting institution such as "college", "school", "institute", "adult education". "research" or "applied research"

An applicant's name will be rejected for being misleading if the name of a proposed corporation uses the terms "academy", "college", "school", "institute", "adult education", "research", "applied research" or a similar term, and it appears either from the name itself, or from other information we have, that the proposed corporation will grant bachelors, masters or doctorate degrees or a licentiate without the authorization of a relevant authority.

e.g. Sudbury Typing College (Inc) — acceptable, since no bachelors, masters, doctorate degree or licentiate will result

e.g. Northwest Applied Research (Inc) — unacceptable, if it grants degrees without authorization

If an application is received for the incorporation of a post-secondary educational institution, which has the aim of granting a bachelor, masters or doctorate degree or a licentiate (as a university or college), the application will be referred for comment to:

Universities Canada
1710-350 Albert Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1R 1B1, CANADA
Tel.: (613) 563-1236
Fax: (613) 563-9745
Email: info@univcan.ca

4.4 Names connoting a financial intermediary (Regulation 26(d))

In cases where it is not clear whether a particular proposed corporate name connotes the business of loan, trust, insurance, banking, or stock exchange, Corporations Canada will depend on the advice of the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI). OSFI staff will provide this advice to applicants. The following are the guidelines that should be followed for these types of corporate names:

  1. If a proposed name intended for a CBCA corporation appears to connote a loan company, a trust company, an insurance company or a subsidiary of a bank, the applicant should refer to:
    Senior Director, Compliance Division
    Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI)
    121 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 3T9

    Telephone: 416-973-6662
    Fax: 416-954-3169
    email: useofname@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
    Internet: http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca

    For example, the following cases should be referred to OSFI if a name uses a descriptive term like "guaranty", "warranty", "surety", "life", "casualty", "assurance" or "indemnity".

    When applying to OSFI for an opinion that the name is acceptable, the applicant should provide a description of the proposed business of the applicant corporation in sufficient detail to enable OSFI to understand how the proposed name supports the anticipated activities of the applicant corporation. If applicable, the applicant should also indicate to OSFI the exemption under the legislation administered by OSFI which, in the opinion of the applicant, permits the applicant corporation to use the descriptive elements contained in the proposed name. If OSFI requires further information, it will contact the applicant directly.

    When OSFI is satisfied that the referred name does not connote a loan, trust or insurance company, a bank or other financial intermediary, it will issue a letter indicating that the name is acceptable, addressed to the applicant.

  2. If a proposed name, intended for a CBCA corporation, clearly connotes that the applicant business is a financial intermediary, it will be rejected. Corporations bearing such names may be incorporated only under one of the statutes administered by OSFI or provincial financial regulators. For example, subject to Section C, the following types of descriptive terms clearly connote a financial intermediary:
    1. If a descriptive term like "fiduciary", "trustco", "trust", "loanco", "loan", "savings", "insurance", "annuity", "lifeco", "fiduciaire", "fiducie, "prêt", "épargne", "assurance", "rente" or "vie" is used. These terms are reserved for companies incorporated under the Trust and Loan Companies Act or the Insurance Companies Act administered by OSFI.
    2. If the descriptive term "mortgage"/"hypothèque" is used and the corporation is a mortgage lending business and not a mortgage brokerage business (in the latter case, the word "mortgage"/"hypothèque" would be acceptable).
    3. If a term like "bank", "banker" or "banking" is used alone or in combination with certain other words (e.g., "Bancorp", "banco" or "bankco") in connection with financial activities. These terms are reserved for banks regulated by the Bank Act administered by OSFI and are not permitted for CBCA corporations or provincial corporations.
  3. If a proposed name clearly does not connote a financial intermediary, it does not need to be referred to OSFI. For example, the following situations do not need to be referred:
    1. If any of the terms that normally connote the business of a financial intermediary are used in a fanciful way. Examples are "Once in a Life Time Bridal Boutique Inc.", "Time Savings Household Cleaner Inc." and "Sam's Trustworthy Contracting Services Ltd..
    2. If the terms "finance"/"finances", "acceptance"/"acceptation", "credit"/"credit", "fund"/"fonds", "fidelity"/"cautionnement" and "underwriters"/"souscripteurs" are used.
    3. If a term such as "broker"/"courtier", "agent", "agency"/"agence" or "service(s)"/"service" is used in a name in such a way as to connote an insurance or mortgage-related agency or brokerage business (e.g., "Cartier Insurance Brokers Inc.").
    4. If the terms "trust foundation"/"fondation fiduciaire" or "trust society"/"société de fiducie" are used by not-for-profit corporations.
    5. If the term "mortgage investment corporation"/"société de placement hypothécaire" is used.

Note

Provincial Restrictions on Businesses Offering Insurance-Related Services

For the purposes of licensing, some provincial jurisdictions (e.g., Quebec and Ontario) have restrictions on the type of names allowed for companies offering insurance-related services. Since the use of a name granted is subject to the laws of the jurisdiction where the corporation intends to carry on business, the applicant may wish to contact the appropriate authorities before applying for the proposed name.

Date modified:

4. Dénomination sociale prohibée dans certains cas

Table des matières


Art. 26. Pour l'application de l'alinéa 12(1)a) de la Loi, une dénomination sociale est prohibée si elle porte à croire que la société se trouve dans l'une ou l'autre des situations suivantes »

  1. elle exerce des activités commerciales avec la protection, l'approbation ou l'appui royal, vice-royal ou gouvernemental, à moins que, selon le cas, Sa Majesté ou telle autre personne, société, autorité ou organisation visées à l'alinéa 9(2)a) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce ne consente par écrit à l'emploi de la dénomination;
  2. elle est parrainée ou contrôlée par le gouvernement du Canada ou d'une province, le gouvernement d'un pays étranger ou par une subdivision politique ou un organisme d'un tel gouvernement, ou y est affiliée, à moins que le gouvernement, la subdivision politique ou l'organisme compétent ne consente par écrit à l'emploi de cette dénomination;
  3. elle est parrainée ou contrôlée par une université ou une association de comptables, d'architectes, d'ingénieurs, d'avocats, de médecins, de chirurgiens ou toute autre association professionnelle reconnue par les lois du Canada ou d'une province, ou y est affiliée, à moins que l'université ou l'association professionnelle en cause ne consente par écrit à l'emploi de cette dénomination;
  4. elle exerce les activités commerciales d'une banque, d'une société de prêt, d'une société d'assurances, d'une société de fiducie ou d'un autre intermédiaire financier réglementé par les lois du Canada à moins que le surintendant des institutions financières ne consente par écrit à l'emploi de cette dénomination;
  5. elle exerce les activités d'une bourse réglementée par des lois provinciales, à moins que l'organisme de réglementation des valeurs mobilières provincial en cause ne consente par écrit à l'emploi de cette dénomination.

4.1 Dénominations portant à croire que la société est parrainée ou contrôlée par le gouvernement

Voici des exemples de dénominations portant à croire que la société est parrainée ou contrôlée par l'État :

  • Sport Canada
  • Association Canadienne des Maîtres de Poste
  • Health And Welfare Programmers Association (Association des programmeurs de santé nationale et bien-être social)
  • Forces Armées Canadiennes
  • Forces Canadiennes
  • Canadian Labelling Standards Council (Conseil Canadien des normes d'étiquetage)
  • Monnaie Royale Canadienne

4.2 Abréviations du nom des ministères gouvernementaux (alinéa 26(b) du Règlement)

Il faut faire preuve de prudence si on utilise, dans une dénomination proposée, des initiales qui pourraient porter à croire qu'il s'agit d'une société parrainée ou contrôlée par le gouvernement. À titre d'exemple, il serait possible d'employer l'abréviation « IC », qui désigne Industrie Canada, avec un élément descriptif comme « chaussures ». Cependant, le même élément distinctif ne pourrait être employé avec un élément descriptif comme « services d'information ministériels », parce que cette dénomination sous-entend une forme de parrainage et de contrôle gouvernemental.

Noms ou abréviations de provinces ou de territoires (alinéa 26(b) du Règlement

Il faut faire preuve de prudence si on utilise le nom ou l'abréviation d'une province ou d'un territoire canadien. L'emploi de certains noms de provinces et d'abréviations des noms dans les dénominations de sociétés fédérales est prohibé. À la demande des gouvernements de certaines provinces et de certains territoires, Corporations Canada ne permet pas l'emploi de noms ou d'abréviations dans les dénominations sociales de sociétés fédérales. Le demandeur qui a des objections valables pourra s'adresser au gouvernement approprié afin de tenter d'obtenir le consentement nécessaire.

Alberta

Les mentions « (ALTA) » et « (Alberta) » dans les dénominations sociales de sociétés fédérales sont prohibées. À la demande du gouvernement de l'Alberta, Corporations Canada ne permet pas l'emploi de ces mentions car elles sont réservées aux sociétés constituées en Alberta comme affiliées d'une société extraprovinciale ayant un nom identique ou similaire. Le demandeur qui a des objections valables pourra s'adresser à la direction des sociétés de l'Alberta afin d'obtenir le consentement pour utiliser une telle mention.

Les mentions « ALTA », « Alberta » et « de l'Alberta » pourront être employées, à moins qu'elles ne portent à croire à une association avec le gouvernement, auquel cas le consentement de l'autorité gouvernementale concernée sera nécessaire. La direction des sociétés de l'Alberta laisse à Corporations Canada le soin de décider si tel est le cas.

Ministry of Service Alberta
Corporate Registry
Box 1007, Station Main
Edmonton (Alberta) T5J 4W6

Tél : 780-427-7013
Pour obtenir le numéro sans frais, composez le 310-0000.
Courriel : cr@gov.ab.ca
Internet : www.servicealberta.ca (anglais seulement)

Colombie-Britannique

L'abréviation « C.-B. »/« B.C. » ainsi que les mots « (C.-B.) »/« (B.C.) », « Colombie-Britannique »/« British Columbia », « (Colombie-Britannique) »/« (British Columbia) » et « de la Colombie-Britannique »/« Of British Columbia » ne pourront être utilisés sans l'approbation du registraire des sociétés de cette province. Le registraire désire que toutes les dénominations de cette nature soient soumises à son bureau afin qu'une décision puisse être rendue à ce sujet.

B.C. Registrar of Companies
The Waddington Bldg.
940 Blanshard St., 2nd Floor
Victoria (C.-B.) V8W 3E6

Tél : 250-387-7848
Internet : www.bcregistry.ca (anglais seulement)

Nouvelle-Écosse

Le nom « Nouvelle-Écosse »/« Nova Scotia » ne peut servir de premier mot dans une dénomination sociale sans le consentement du registraire des sociétés par actions de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations
Registrar of Joint Stock Companies
Maritime Centre, 9th Floor, C.P. 1529
1505 Barrington Street
Halifax (N.-É.) B3J 2Y4

Tél. : 902-424-7770
Téléc. : 902-424-4633
Courriel : joint-stocks@gov.ns.ca
Internet : Registre des sociétés de capitaux

Manitoba

Le nom « Manitoba » ne peut figurer dans la dénomination d'une société fédérale projetée sans le consentement de l'Office des compagnies du Manitoba

Directeur de l'Office des compagnies
Consommation et Corporations du Manitoba
1010, édifice Woodsworth, 10e étage
405, avenue Broadway
Winnipeg (Man.) R3C 3L6

Tél. : 204-945-2500
Téléc. : 204-945-1459
Courriel : companies@gv.mb.ca
Internet : Office des compagnies

Saskatchewan

Les termes « SASK », « Saskatchewan », « (Sask.) », « (Saskatchewan) » ou d'autres mentions dénotant une affiliation avec le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan peuvent seulement être utilisés dans une dénomination proposée pour une société fédérale si le directeur des sociétés de la Saskatchewan donne son consentement.

Dans votre demande, vous devez inclure une lettre émise par l'Information Services Corporation (ISC) confirmant que le nom est disponible et réservé. Cette lettre suffit pour démontrer le consentement.

Corporate Registry
Information Services Corporation (ISC)
1301 1st Avenue
Regina SK S4R 8H2

Tél. : 306-787-2962
Téléc.. : 306-787-8999
Courriel : corporateregistry@isc.ca
Internet : Information Services Corporation (en anglais seulement)

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Le nom « Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador »/« Newfoundland and Labrador » ou l'abréviation « T.-N.-L. »/« N.L. » ne peut figurer dans la dénomination proposée d'une société fédérale sans le consentement du bureau d'enregistrement des sociétés de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Registry of Companies
Commercial Registrations Division
C. P. 8700, Confederation Building
Ground Floor, East Block
St. John's (T.-N.) A1B 4J6

Tél. : 709-729-3317
Téléc. : 709-729-0232
Courriel : gsinfo@gov.nl.ca
Internet : http://www.gs.gov.nl.ca/registries/ (anglais seulement)

Nouveau-Brunswick

Le nom « Nouveau-Brunswick »/« New Brunswick » ne peut être utilisé au début de la dénomination d'une société sans le consentement du directeur de la Direction des affaires corporatives du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Directeur
Direction des affaires corporatives
Services Nouveau-Brunswick
C.P. 1998
Fredericton (N.-B.) E3B 5G4

Tél. : 506-453-2703 ou 888-762-8600
Téléc. : 506-453-2613
Courriel : snb@snb.ca
Internet : http://www.snb.ca/f/0001f.asp

Adresse municipale :

City Centre
432 QueenSt
Fredericton, N.B., E3B 1B6

Pays étrangers

Une dénomination sociale comme XYZ (Suisse) Inc. serait disponible sans qu'il soit nécessaire d'obtenir le consentement du gouvernement suisse.

4.3 Dénominations laissant croire à un lien avec une université ou une association professionnelle (alinéa 26(c) du Règlement)

4.3.1 Associations professionnelles

Corporations Canada n'exige pas le consentement de l'organisation professionnelle donnée pour le simple motif que la dénomination proposée renvoie à un membre de cette profession.

Le critère appliqué est la question de savoir s'il serait raisonnable de présumer que l'entreprise est parrainée ou contrôlée par l'organisation ou liée à celle-ci.

ex. Aucun consentement n'est obligatoire pour les dénominations suivantes :

  • Association des notaires Héritage Inc.
  • Les services comptables Jean Rivard Inc.
  • Les ingénieurs Leblanc et Lebrun, ou
  • Génie & Consultation Ltée.

Par contre, le consentement sera exigé si la dénomination proposée est semblable à celle d'une université ou d'une association professionnelle au point de prêter à confusion avec celle-ci.

ex. Le consentement sera exigé pour les dénominations suivantes :

  • Société de conférence de l'Université de Montréal
  • Société de conférence des avocats du Haut-Canada (Barreau du Haut-Canada — l'association professionnelle)
  • Société de conférence des comptables généraux licenciés

Étant donné que Corporations Canada ne connaît pas le nom de toutes les organisations professionnelles, le demandeur devrait, chaque fois qu'une dénomination proposée renvoie à une profession existante, nous faire savoir si cette dénomination est susceptible de prêter à confusion avec une association professionnelle existante. Le demandeur souhaitera peut-être communiquer avec les autorités concernées afin d'obtenir des renseignements plus détaillés avant d'employer la dénomination. Veuillez noter que les différents organismes professionnels provinciaux possèdent leur propres recours à l'encontre de l'emploi abusif de leurs titres professionnels. De plus, les assemblées législatives provinciales ont le pouvoir de légiférer afin d'empêcher une association professionnelle fédérale d'exercer des activités dans leur province.

Si aucun organisme de réglementation professionnel n'existe dans un domaine donné, l'organisme qui se présente comme une association professionnelle de cette nature peut être constitué en société. En pareil cas, l'emploi du mot « professionnel » dans la dénomination n'est pas prohibé.

ex. Association des cordonniers professionnels de l'Amérique du Nord

Remarque : Nous pourrions aussi constituer en société un autre organisme offrant les mêmes services (c.-à-d. association des cordonniers), pourvu que la dénomination proposée pour cette entité ne prête pas à confusion avec celle de l'association existante.

  • ex. Association des cordonniers professionnels de l'Amérique du Nord — dénomination existante
    Société des cordonniers professionnels d'Uniso — dénomination acceptable

Exception : À moins que le consentement de l'Office des professions du Québec ne soit joint à la demande, le nom d'une association professionnelle comportant les mots « Corporation professionnelle du Québec » sera refusé, parce qu'il porte à croire qu'il s'agit d'une organisation approuvée par le Code des professions du Québec.

4.3.2 Emploi du mot « Université »

Si le mot « Université » est employé dans une dénomination sociale proposée de manière à laisser croire que la société sera un établissement décernant des grades ou des diplômes, la demande sera rejetée au motif qu'elle est trompeuse, à moins qu'il ne soit établi que la société en question a obtenu des autorités fédérales ou provinciales concernées l'autorisation nécessaire à cette fin.

ex. Peintres de l'Université Inc. — dénomination acceptable
ex. Université du Nord Inc. — dénomination trompeuse

4.3.3 Emploi de mots semblant désigner un établissement qui décerne des grades ou diplômes comme « collège », « école », « institut », « éducation des adultes », « recherche » ou « recherche appliquée »

La dénomination proposée sera rejetée au motif qu'elle est trompeuse si elle comporte les mots « académie », « collège », « école », « institut », « éducation des adultes », « recherche », « recherche appliquée » ou une expression similaire et s'il semble, que ce soit à l'examen de la dénomination elle-même ou à la lumière d'autres renseignements que nous possédons, que ladite société décernera des baccalauréats, maîtrises, doctorats ou licences sans l'approbation de l'autorité concernée.

ex. Collège de secrétariat de Trois-Rivières (Inc.) — dénomination acceptable, étant donné qu'aucun baccalauréat, maîtrise, doctorat ou licence ne sera décerné

ex. Recherche appliquée du Nord-Ouest (Inc.) — dénomination inacceptable, s'il s'agit d'une entité qui décernera des diplômes ou des grades sans l'autorisation nécessaire.

Si la demande reçue concerne la constitution en société d'un établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire ayant pour but de décerner des baccalauréats, maîtrises, doctorats ou licences (comme une université ou un collège), elle sera soumise à des fins de commentaires à l'association suivante :

Universités Canada
1710-350, rue Albert
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1R 1B1
Téléphone : 613 563-1236
Télécopieur : 613 563-9745
Courriel : info@univcan.ca

4.4 Dénominations qui évoquent un intermédiaire financier (alinéa 26(d) du Règlement)

Dans les cas où il est difficile de savoir si une dénomination sociale proposée porte à croire que la nouvelle société exercera les activités d'une société de prêt, d'assurances ou de fiducie ou encore d'une banque ou d'une bourse, Corporations Canada se fondera sur l'avis que les demandeurs recevront du personnel du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF). Voici les critères qui devraient être appliqués à l'égard de ces types de dénominations sociales :

  1. Si la dénomination proposée à l'égard d'une société constituée sous le régime de la LCSA semble évoquer une société de prêt, de fiducie ou d'assurances ou une filiale d'une banque, le demandeur devrait s'adresser au
    Directeur principal
    Division de la conformité
    Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières
    121 King Street West
    Toronto (Ont.) M5H 3T9

    Tél. : 416-973-6662
    Téléc. : 416-954-3169
    courriel: useofname@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
    Internet http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca

    Ainsi, les cas suivants devraient être soumis au BSIF si le nom comporte un mot descriptif comme « garantie », « caution », « vie », « risque », « assurance » ou « indemnité ».

    S'il demande au BSIF de fournir une opinion, à savoir que la dénomination est acceptable ou non, le demandeur devrait fournir une description suffisamment détaillée des activités que compte exercer la société projetée afin de permettre au BSIF de comprendre en quoi la dénomination en question appuie les activités envisagées en question. Si elle est acceptable, le demandeur devrait également indiquer au BSIF la disposition législative applicable qui, à son avis, permet à la société d'employer les éléments descriptifs que renferme la dénomination proposée. Si le BSIF a besoin de renseignements supplémentaires, il communiquera directement avec le demandeur.

    Si le BSIF est convaincu que la dénomination soumise n'évoque pas une société de prêt, de fiducie ou d'assurances, une banque ou un autre intermédiaire financier, il fera parvenir au demandeur une lettre indiquant qu'il consent à l'emploi de cette dénomination.

  2. Si la dénomination proposée à l'égard d'une société constituée sous le régime de la LCSA indique clairement que les activités envisagées sont celles d'un intermédiaire financier, elle sera rejetée. Les sociétés portant ce type de dénomination ne peuvent être constituées que sous le régime d'une loi qu'administre le BSIF ou un organisme de réglementation provincial correspondant. Ainsi, sous réserve de la section C, les types suivants de mots descriptifs évoquent clairement un intermédiaire financier :
    1. si un mot descriptif comme « fiduciaire », « fiducie », « prêt », « épargne », « assurance », « rente », « vie » « fiduciary », « trustco », « trust », « loanco », « loan », « savings », « insurance », « annuity » ou « lifeco » est employé. Ces mots sont réservés aux sociétés constituées sous le régime de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt ou de la Loi sur les sociétés d'assurances, qu'administre le BSIF;
    2. si le mot descriptif « hypothèque »/« mortgage » est employé et la société est une entreprise de crédit hypothécaire et non une entreprise de courtage hypothécaire (dans ce dernier cas, le mot « hypothèque »/« mortgage » serait acceptable);
    3. si une expression comme « banque »/« bank », « banquier »/« banker » ou « opérations bancaires »/« banking » est utilisé seul ou avec certains autres mots relativement à des activités financières. Ces mots sont réservés aux banques régies par la Loi sur les banques, qu'administre le BSIF, et ne peuvent être employés par les sociétés constituées sous le régime de la LCSA ou les sociétés provinciales.
  3. Si une dénomination proposée n'évoque manifestement pas un intermédiaire financier, il n'est pas nécessaire de la soumettre au BSIF. Ainsi, il n'est pas nécessaire de soumettre au BSIF les cas suivants :
    1. si une expression évoquant habituellement le secteur d'activités d'un intermédiaire financier est employé d'une façon fantaisiste, par exemple, « Boutique de la mariée pour la vie Inc. », « Banque d'alimentation du Berger Inc. », « Services de nettoyage écono-temps Inc. », « Denis, Services de sous-traitance garantis Inc. » ou « Banque de données ABC »;
    2. si les mots « finances »/« finance », « acceptation »/« acceptance », « crédit »/« credit », « fonds »/« fund », « cautionnement »/« fidelity » et « souscripteurs »/« underwriters » sont employés;
    3. si un mot comme « courtier »/« broker », « agent », « agence »/« agency » ou « service »/« service(s) » est employé dans une dénomination d'une façon qui évoque une agence ou une entreprise de courtage liée au domaine des assurances ou des hypothèques, par exemple, « Courtiers d'assurances Cartier Inc. »;
    4. si les expressions « fondation fiduciaire »/« trust foundation » ou « société de fiducie »/« trust society » sont employées par une société à but non lucratif;
    5. si l'expression « société de placement hypothécaire »/« mortgage investment corporation » est employée.

Note

Restrictions provinciales concernant les entreprises qui offrent des services liés aux assurances

Aux fins de la délivrance des licences, certaines juridictions provinciales (comme le Québec et l'Ontario) imposent des restrictions touchant les types de dénominations autorisées pour les sociétés offrant des services en matière d'assurance. Étant donné que l'emploi d'une dénomination autorisée est assujetti aux lois du ressort où la société compte exercer ses activités, le demandeur aurait peut-être intérêt à communiquer avec les autorités compétentes avant de demander la dénomination proposée.

Date de modification :