6. Lacking distinctiveness

Table of contents



Reg. 30. (1) For the purpose of paragraph 12(1)(a) of the Act, a corporate name is prohibited if it

  1. is only descriptive, in any language, of the business of the corporation, of the goods and services in which the corporation deals or intends to deal, or of the quality, function or other characteristic of those goods and services;
  2. is primarily or only the name or family name, used alone, of an individual who is living or has died within 30 years before the day on which the Director receives any of the documents referred to in subsection 8(1), section 178 or subsection 185(4), 187(4), 191(5), 192(7) or 209(3) of the Act or a request to reserve a name under subsection 11(1) of the Act; or
  3. is primarily or only a geographic name that is used alone.

(2) Subsection (1) does not apply if a person proposing to use the corporate name establishes that it has been used in Canada or elsewhere by them or by their predecessors so as to have become distinctive in Canada on the day referred to in paragraph (1)(b).

6.1 Definition of distinctiveness (Regulation 17)

"Distinctive" is defined in section 17 of the regulations as:

"distinctive", in relation to a trade-name, considered as a whole and by its separate elements, means a trade-name that distinguishes the business in association with which it is used or intended to be used by its owner from any other business or that is adapted to so distinguish them.

Distinctiveness can be inherent or acquired (secondary meaning).

Generally speaking, the most inherently unique names have distinctive features which are composed of letters or figures which have no generic meaning.

  • e.g. XLYK
  • DWIDAG

In addition, unusual combinations of generic words can be distinctive.

e.g. Jean Junction

Words composed of parts of other words, surnames, family names, initials, numbers, geographic location and arbitrary dictionary words make a less inherently distinctive but acceptable name.

  • e.g. Suncraft Shoes Ltd.
  • Smith Shoes Ltd.
  • Ottawa Shoes Ltd.
  • I.I.L. ShoesLtd.
  • Star ShoesLtd.

6.2 Only descriptive (Regulation 30(1)(a))

Examples of names lacking distinctiveness are "Software Inc." and "Car Sales Inc." An acceptable distinctive element would need to be added before such a corporate name could be granted (e.g., "Turner Software Inc." or "Greymark Car Sales Inc.").

Some names that are merely suggestive of the industry, product or service, however, would be acceptable. An example of a merely suggestive name is "Tires and Wheels Ltd." for a car sales business. The name "Tires and Wheels Ltd." does not describe the business nor the product produced. It simply suggests the corporation's"field of activity. If the corporation manufactured or sold tires and wheels, however, this name would be unacceptable because, in this context, it would be only descriptive.

As a general rule, Corporations Canada will not accept names that only describe a quality of the corporation's business or its goods or services (e.g., "Faster Consulting Services Inc.").

However, Corporations Canada will accept such names if:

  • alliteration gives the name an acceptable level of distinctiveness (e.g., "Better Business Boardrooms Inc.").
  • the Nuans report demonstrates that the word describing a quality is commonly used as a distinctive feature in business names (e.g., "Superior" in "Superior Machinery Ltd." or "Advanced" in "Advanced Technology Solutions Ltd.").
  • the descriptive word sounds unusual if used to describe the business of the proposed corporation (for example "Endless Furniture Inc." is acceptable, whereas "Long Lasting Furniture Ltd." is not).

Although these names are descriptive of a quality of the business, they are not merely descriptive but have some distinctiveness. By reason of alliteration or being unusual, these names are distinguishable from others. Also, if the Nuans search reports show that a descriptive word is extensively used as a distinctive element, Corporations Canada will tend to accept the name.

Please note that the approval of certain words as a corporate name does not necessarily mean that those words could be registered as a trade-mark.

6.3 Name or surname of individual (Regulation 30(1)(b))

Corporations Canada determines whether a name is a surname by asking whether one would reasonably think of this word or words as a name or surname rather than as something else (e.g., a coined word). If it appears to be a name or surname, then that word or words cannot be used alone unless there is secondary meaning.

e.g. The following proposed corporate names are unacceptable:

  • Legault Inc.
  • S. V. Lee Ltd.
  • Sarah Legault Inc.
  • S&R Wolfe Inc.

Corporate names in which a name or surname (as determined in the paragraph above) is not used alone would be acceptable.

e.g. The following proposed corporate names are acceptable:

  1. Wilson & Myers Ltd. (two names, not one name used alone)
    Bob & Carol Harris Inc.
  2. Legault Gardening Enterprises Ltd.
    Thomas Construction Inc.

Note: If the added descriptive word is not specific and gives no indication of the nature of the proposed business the name may be refused for creating a likelihood of confusion with existing similarly named corporations. Other such non-specific descriptors are: "agency", "associates", "brothers", "distributions", "enterprises", "industries", "group", "products", "services", "sons", "Canada" and "International".

e.g. If Thomas Construction Inc.already exists, then the proposed corporate names are unacceptable:

  • Thomas Enterprises Ltd.
  • G. W. Thomas Enterprises Ltd.

The applicant must either provide information to show that there is in fact no likelihood (based on differences of products, territory, clientele) of confusion with existing companies, or, the applicant should add a more specific descriptive word,

e.g. The following proposed corporate names are acceptable:

  • Thomas Landscaping Inc. (or, add a more specific name or surname)
  • George W. Thomas Enterprises Ltd.

Note 1: "Associates" or "and Associates" can be used in combination with a name or surname. Although "Associates" is acceptable with a coined word, "and Associates" is not because it could mislead one into assuming that the distinctive element is a surname

e.g. XYLX & Associates — not acceptable

Note 2: The Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy prefers that trustees who incorporate use only the name(s) of the principal partner(s) in the corporate name. However, if only one person is involved, then a surname used alone may not be acceptable (see surname formats above). The addition of a descriptive term like "Insolvency Trustee" or "Bankruptcy" would overcome any such objection.

6.4 Use of family name (Regulation 28)

Reg. 28. For the purpose of paragraph 12(1)(a) of the Act, a corporate name is prohibited if an element of the name is the family name of an individual, whether or not preceded by their given name or initials, unless the individual or their heir or personal representative consents in writing to the use of their name and the individual has or had a material interest in the corporation.

Regulation 28 appears to state that every word that is in fact a family name of an individual requires a consent in writing regardless of whether the reasonable person would think of it as a family name. Any applicant not providing such a consent would be in contravention of this regulation. Corporations Canada will consider if a reasonable person would look upon that word as a family name. If so, a consent will be required; otherwise a consent will not be required.

  • e.g. Ran Shoes Inc. — no consent required
  • Ran Smith ShoesInc. — consent of Ran Smith
  • Ran, Smith Shoes Inc. — consent of Ran and consent of Smith

A sample letter of consent is available.

Punctuation such as a comma (,), ampersand (&) or hyphen (-) is necessary in a proposed name if the use of two surnames could wrongly connote the name of one individual (e.g., "Robert Simpson" should become "Robert, Simpson", "Robert & Simpson", "Robert-Simpson" if two surnames are intended).

A consent is not required if the word is a dictionary word or a Christian name unless it is used in such way as to connote a family name to a reasonable person.

  • e.g. Star Shoes Ltd. — no consent
  • Star, Smith Shoes Ltd. — consents of Star & Smith
  • Star Smith Shoes Ltd. — consent of Star Smith
  • Starsmith Shoes Ltd. — no consent
  • Star Associated Ltd. — no consent
  • Star & Associates Ltd. — consent of Star
  • Star Associates Ltd. — no consent
  • Rose Green's Tools Ltd. — consent of Rose Green

Consents are not required if the word or words are obviously the name of an historical person, literary or fictional character.

  • e.g. Dorian Grey Fashions Inc. — acceptable
  • Lady Macbeth Cosmetics Inc. — acceptable
  • Bonaparte Shirts Inc. — acceptable

If the proposed corporate name contains a fictitious name, it will be necessary to file a statutory declaration or an affidavit signed by the incorporator or principal shareholder of the proposed corporation stating that he or she has ensured that:

  1. it is a fictitious name and is not the name of an individual who is well-known or known to him or her personally; and
  2. it is not the name of an individual already established or associated with the line of business of the proposed corporation in Canada or internationally.

A consent is not required if the family name is the name of the incorporator of the business applying for the name.

A consent is not required if the family name is the name of a street on which the business is located.

For the CBCA, the consenting person must have or must have had a material interest in the corporation as required by section 28 of the regulations.

6.5 Use of geographic terms (Regulation 30(1)(c))

e.g. Red Lake Inc. is not acceptable because "Red Lake" is primarily or only a geographic name.

There should be no prohibition against the use of a geographic reference in the granting of a corporate name if a descriptive feature is added. Substantiation for the use of a geographic location is not required.

e.g. Red Lake Gold Mines Inc. would be acceptable provided that it is not confusing.

A street address used alone is considered primarily a geographic name and is not available unless a descriptive term is added.

  • e.g. 235 St. Catherine Street Inc. — unacceptable
  • 235 St. Catherine Street Enterprises Inc. — acceptable

6.6 Definition of "secondary meaning" (Regulation 30(2))

The applicant can escape the prohibitions of subsection 30(1) of the regulations as long as the applicant can show that the trade name has been used in Canada or anywhere else by them or their predecessors to such an extent that persons in that trade would, on hearing the name, think of the business, rather than the primary meaning of the words in its name.

In order to convince the Director appointed under the CBCA of secondary meaning, the applicant must produce in writing, evidence showing how large and widespread the business is and, if necessary, include written statements from others in the trade.

Evidence to support a claim for secondary meaning must be in the form of an affidavit or statutory declaration and must attest to use of the name across Canada, either for significant periods of time or with great intensity.

6.7 Lack of distinctiveness

If Corporations Canada were to approve names that lacked distinctiveness, the task of preventing confusion among business names would be rendered more difficult. The only way the name attached to business "X" will not be confused with the name attached to business "Y" is if there is something in the names to distinguish them. The stronger the distinguishing feature, the less likely confusion will occur.

Based on this reasoning, the corporate name regulations require that corporate names have a distinguishing feature. These regulations also impose rules to indicate where distinctiveness is insufficient or lacking. According to these rules, a name lacks distinctiveness and is therefore unavailable when it is only descriptive, or when it is only an individual's name or a geographic name.

A corporate name that only describes the business of the corporation, industry, goods or services, or the quality or function of those goods and services is unavailable (e.g., "Car Sales Inc."). A name will also be unavailable for being "only descriptive" when it merely describes the quality of the corporation's business or its products (e.g., Faster Consulting Services Inc.).

A proposed name which appears to lack any distinctiveness may have, in fact, acquired distinctiveness through extensive use. If this distinctiveness is demonstrated in writing, the name will be available.

Otherwise, the best way to overcome the objection of lacking distinctiveness is:

  1. Only descriptive — add a distinctive word
    e.g. a coined word like "Spillex" (Spillex Cleaning Services Corp.)
    e.g. a dictionary word, that does not describe like "Star" (Star Theatres Inc.)
    e.g. an individual's name like "Turner" (Turner Shoes Ltd.)
  2. Primarily a name — add a descriptive word like "Manufacturing" e.g. Wilson Manufacturing Ltd.
  3. Primarily a place — add a descriptive word like "Enterprises" e.g. Red Lake Enterprises Inc.
Date modified:

6. Dénominations sociales qui manquent de caractère distinctif

Table des matières


Art. 30. (1) Pour l'application de l'alinéa 12(1)a) de la Loi, est prohibée la dénomination sociale qui :

  1. soit ne fait que décrire, en n'importe quelle langue, les activités commerciales de la société, les biens ou les services que la société offre ou compte offrir, ou la qualité, la fonction ou une autre caractéristique de ces biens et services;
  2. soit se compose principalement ou uniquement du nom — ou du nom de famille utilisé seul — d'un particulier vivant ou décédé au cours des trente années précédant la date à laquelle le directeur a reçu les documents visés au paragraphe 8(1), à l'article 178 ou aux paragraphes 185(4), 187(4), 191(5), 192(7) ou 209(3) de la Loi ou la demande de réservation de dénomination prévue au paragraphe 11(1) de la Loi;
  3. soit se compose principalement ou uniquement d'un nom géographique utilisé seul.

(2) Le paragraphe (1) ne s'applique pas si la personne qui projette d'employer la dénomination établit que celle-ci a été employée au Canada ou ailleurs par elle ou ses prédécesseurs au point d'être distinctive au Canada, et qu'elle continue de l'être à la date visée à l'alinéa (1)b).

6.1 Définition du mot « distinctive » (l'article 17 du Règlement)

L'article 17 du Règlement, définit le terme distinctive comme suit :

« distinctive » À l'égard d'une dénomination commerciale, qualifie celle qui, dans son ensemble ainsi qu'à l'égard de ses divers éléments, permet de distinguer les activités commerciales pour lesquelles son propriétaire l'emploie ou compte l'employer de toute autre activité commerciale ou qui est adaptée de façon à les distinguer les unes des autres.

Une dénomination sociale peut être foncièrement distinctive ou le devenir ultérieurement (sens dérivé).

En général, les dénominations foncièrement uniques comportent des éléments distinctifs qui sont composés de lettres ou de chiffres n'ayant aucun sens générique.

  • ex. XLYK
  • DWIDAG

En outre, les combinaisons inhabituelles de mots génériques peuvent être distinctives.

ex. Dépôt de peaux

Les mots composés de parties d'autres mots, de noms de famille, de prénoms, d'initiales, de chiffres, de lieux géographiques et de mots du dictionnaire choisis de façon arbitraire constituent une dénomination moins distinctive, mais acceptable.

  • ex. Les chaussures Solair Ltée
  • Les chaussures Leduc Ltée
  • Les chaussures Hull Ltée
  • Les chaussures I.I.L. Ltée
  • Les chaussures Étoile Ltée

6.2 Dénominations renfermant uniquement une description (alinéa 30(1)a) du Règlement)

Les dénominations comme « Logiciels Inc. » et « Vente d'automobiles » ne sont pas distinctives et il faudrait y ajouter un élément distinctif acceptable, comme « Logiciels Leblanc Inc. » ou « Vente d'automobiles Legris Inc. » avant que la dénomination en question puisse être approuvée.

Certaines dénominations seraient acceptables malgré le fait qu'elles suggèrent simplement le type d'industrie, de produit ou de service concerné. Ainsi, la dénomination « Pneus et roues Ltée » employée pour une entreprise qui vend des automobiles ne décrit ni l'entreprise ni le bien produit. Elle suggère simplement le domaine d'activités de la société. Cependant, si celle-ci fabriquait ou vendait des pneus et des roues, la dénomination serait inacceptable parce que, dans ce contexte, elle ne ferait que décrire les activités de la société.

En général, Corporations Canada n'acceptera pas les dénominations qui décrivent simplement une qualité de l'entreprise ou des biens ou services qu'elle offre (ex., « Services de consultation rapides Inc. »).

Cependant, Corporations Canada acceptera ces dénominations dans les cas suivants :

  • cas où la dénomination comporte une allitération qui la rend suffisamment distinctive (ex., « Services sanitaires sans souci »);
  • cas où le rapport de recherche Nuans indique que le mot décrivant une qualité est couramment employé comme élément distinctif dans une dénomination sociale (ex., le mot « supérieur » dans « Équipement supérieur Ltée » ou le mot « avancée » dans la dénomination « Solutions de technologie de pointe Ltée »);
  • le mot descriptif semble inhabituel s'il est employé pour décrire les activités de la société projetée (ex., la dénomination « Meubles éternels Inc. » serait acceptable, tandis que la dénomination « Meubles durables Inc.» ne l'est pas).

Même si ces dénominations décrivent une qualité de l'entreprise, elles ne sont pas simplement descriptives, mais comportent également des éléments distinctifs. En raison de l'allitération employée ou de leur caractère inhabituel, ces dénominations peuvent être distinguées des autres. De plus, si le rapport Nuans indique qu'un mot descriptif est fréquemment employé comme élément distinctif, Corporations Canada aura tendance à accepter la dénomination.

Veuillez noter que l'approbation de certains mots à titre de dénominations sociales ne signifie pas nécessairement que ces mots pourraient être enregistrés comme marques de commerce.

6.3 Nom ou prénom d'un particulier (alinéa 30(1)b) du Règlement)

Corporations Canada détermine si une dénomination est un nom de famille ou un prénom en se demandant s'il serait raisonnable de considérer le ou les mots en question comme un nom de famille ou un prénom plutôt qu'autre chose, comme un mot inventé. Si la dénomination proposée semble être un nom de famille ou un prénom, elle ne pourra être utilisée seule, à moins qu'elle ne comporte un sens dérivé :

ex. Les dénominations sociales proposées suivantes sont inacceptables :

  • Legault Inc.
  • Sarah Legault Inc.
  • S.V. Lee Ltée
  • S & R Wolfe Inc.

Les dénominations sociales comportant un nom de famille ou un prénom (selon la détermination découlant du paragraphe qui précède) qui n'est pas employé seul seraient acceptables :

ex. les dénominations proposées suivantes sont acceptables :

  1. Desjardins et Deschamps Ltée (deux noms de famille sont employés
    plutôt qu'un seul)
    Jean et Marc Deschamps Inc.
  2. Les entreprises d'urbanisme Legault Ltée
    La société de construction Martin Inc.

Remarque : Si le terme descriptif ajouté n'est pas précis et ne donne aucune indication de la nature des activités envisagées, la dénomination peut être refusée au motif qu'elle créerait un risque de confusion avec des sociétés existantes ayant des noms similaires. Voici d'autres exemples de mots descriptifs imprécis : « agence », « associés », « frères », « distributions », « entreprises », « industries », « groupe », « produits », « services », « fils », « Canada » et « international ».

ex. Si la dénomination « Les Constructions Martin Inc. » existe déjà, les dénominations suivantes seront inacceptables :

  • Les Entreprises Martin Ltée
  • Les Entreprises J.P. Martin Ltée

Le demandeur doit soit fournir les renseignements nécessaires pour établir qu'il n'existe aucun risque de confusion (en raison des différences touchant les produits, les territoires ou la clientèle) avec des sociétés déjà existantes, soit ajouter un terme descriptif plus précis :

ex. la dénomination proposée suivante est acceptable :

  • Urbanisme Martin Inc. (ou encore ajouter un prénom ou nom de famille plus précis) :
  • Les Entreprises Jean P. Martin Ltée.

Remarque 1 : Les termes « associés » ou « et associés » peuvent être utilisés conjointement avec un prénom ou un nom de famille. Le mot « associés » peut être utilisé avec un mot inventé; l'emploi similaire de l'expression « et associés » est toutefois interdit, puisqu'il porterait à croire à tort que l'élément distinctif est un nom de famille :

ex. XYLX & associés — dénomination inacceptable

Remarque 2 : Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites préfère que les syndics qui constituent une entreprise en société n'utilisent que les noms des principaux associés dans la dénomination sociale. Cependant, s'il s'agit d'une seule personne, l'emploi du nom de famille seul ne sera pas nécessairement acceptable (voir les commentaires qui précèdent au sujet de l'emploi des noms de famille). L'ajout d'un terme descriptif comme « syndic de faillite » ou « faillite » permettrait d'éliminer cette objection.

6.4 Emploi d'un nom de famille (l'article 28 du Règlement)

Art. 28. Pour l'application de l'alinéa 12(1)a) de la Loi, une dénomination sociale est prohibée si un de ses éléments est le nom d'un particulier, qu'il soit ou non précédé de son prénom ou de ses initiales, à moins que le particulier, son héritier ou son représentant personnel ne consente par écrit à l'emploi de son nom et que le particulier n'ait ou n'ait eu un intérêt important dans la société.

L'article 28 du Règlement semble énoncer qu'aucun mot qui est en fait le nom de famille d'un particulier ne peut être utilisé sans le consentement écrit de celui-ci, indépendamment de la question de savoir si une personne raisonnable le considérerait ou non comme un nom de famille. Tout demandeur qui omet de fournir ce consentement contreviendrait au Règlement. Corporations Canada considérera autoriser l'emploi du nom si une personne raisonnable considérerait ce mot comme un nom de famille. Le cas échéant, le consentement sera exigé. Sinon, le consentement ne sera pas nécessaire.

  • ex. Les Chaussures Ran Ltée. — aucun consentement requis
  • Les Chaussures Ran Martin Ltée — consentement de Ran Martin
  • Les Chaussures Ran, Martin Ltée — consentement de Ran et de Martin.

Voir le modèle de lettre de consentement.

Il est nécessaire d'utiliser des signes de ponctuation comme la virgule (,), l'esperluette (&) ou le trait d'union (-) dans une dénomination proposée lorsque l'emploi de deux noms de famille pourrait laisser croire à tort qu'il s'agit du nom d'un seul particulier (par exemple, « Jean Martin » devrait s'écrire « Jean, Martin »; « Jean & Martin » ou « Jean-Martin » s'il s'agit de deux noms de famille).

Aucun consentement n'est requis s'il s'agit de mots du dictionnaire ou de noms de baptême à moins que ceux-ci ne soient employés de façon à évoquer un nom de famille dans l'esprit d'une personne raisonnable :

  • ex. Les Chaussures Rose Ltée — aucun consentement requis
  • Les Chaussures Rose, Brun Ltée — consentement de Rose et Brun
  • Les Chaussures Rose Brun Ltée — consentement de Rose Brun
  • Les Chaussures Rosebrun Ltée — aucun consentement requis
  • Les Associés Rose Ltée — aucun consentement requis
  • Rose & Associés Ltée — consentement de Rose
  • Les Outils Rose Leblanc Ltée — onsentement de Rose Leblanc

Aucun consentement n'est requis s'il s'agit manifestement du nom d'un personnage historique, littéraire ou fictif :

  • ex. LES Cosmétiques Marie-Antoinette Inc. — dénomination acceptable
  • Les Modes Jeanne D'arc Ltée — dénomination acceptable
  • Les Chemises Bonaparte Inc. — dénomination acceptable

Si la dénomination sociale proposée renferme un nom fictif, il sera nécessaire de produire une déclaration ou un affidavit signé par le fondateur ou le principal actionnaire de la société projetée déclarant que la dénomination en question :

  1. constitue un nom fictif et ne correspond pas au nom d'un particulier qui est célèbre ou qu'il connaît lui-même personnellement;
  2. ne constitue pas le nom d'une personne déjà établie ou associée au secteur d'activités de la société projetée au Canada ou à l'étranger.

Aucun consentement n'est nécessaire si le nom de famille est le nom du fondateur de l'entreprise qui demande l'approbation de la dénomination.

Aucun consentement n'est nécessaire si le nom de famille correspond au nom de la rue où se trouve l'établissement de l'entreprise.

Aux termes de la LCSA, le particulier qui donne son consentement doit posséder ou avoir possédé un intérêt important dans la société, tel que requis par l'article 28 du Règlement.

6.5 Emploi de noms géographiques (alinéa 30(1)c) du Règlement)

Ainsi, la dénomination Rouyn-Noranda Inc. est inacceptable, parce que « Rouyn-Noranda » constitue principalement ou uniquement un nom géographique.

Aucune restriction concernant l'emploi d'une désignation géographique ne devrait exister lorsqu'un élément descriptif est ajouté. Aucune justification de l'emploi du lieu géographique n'est nécessaire.

Ainsi, la dénomination Hydro Rouyn-Noranda Inc. serait acceptable, pourvu qu'elle ne prête pas à confusion.

Une adresse civique utilisée seule est considérée principalement comme un nom géographique et ne peut donc être employée, à moins qu'un mot descriptif n'y soit ajouté.

Ainsi, la dénomination « 235, rue Ste-Catherine Inc. » est inacceptable, mais la dénomination « Les entreprises du 235, rue Ste-Catherine Inc. » serait acceptable.

6.6 Définition de « sens dérivé » (paragraphe 30(2) du Règlement)

Le demandeur peut contourner les interdictions énoncées au paragraphe 30(1) du Règlement, pourvu qu'il démontre que la dénomination commerciale a été employée au Canada ou ailleurs par lui-même ou ses prédécesseurs à un point tel que les personnes œuvrant dans ce domaine songeraient à l'entreprise en entendant la dénomination plutôt qu'au sens habituel des mots qu'elle comporte.

Afin de convaincre le directeur nommé en vertu de la LCSA qu'une dénomination a acquis un sens dérivé, le demandeur doit produire par écrit une preuve indiquant à quel point les activités en question sont répandues et importantes et, au besoin, joindre des déclarations écrites formulées par des dirigeants d'autres entreprises œuvrant dans le même domaine.

La preuve produite au soutien d'une allégation relative à l'existence d'un sens dérivé doit être présentée sous forme d'affidavit ou de déclaration faisant état de l'emploi du nom dans l'ensemble du Canada pendant des périodes prolongées ou d'un emploi d'une grande intensité.

6.7 Dénomination sociale non distinctive

Si Corporations Canada devait approuver les dénominations qui ne sont pas suffisamment distinctives, il serait plus difficile d'empêcher la confusion entre les différentes dénominations. La dénomination proposée à l'égard de l'entreprise X ne prêtera pas à confusion avec celle qui existe à l'égard de l'entreprise Y en autant que les noms comportent des éléments permettant de les distinguer. Plus la différence sera accentuée, moins les risques de confusion seront importants.

Compte tenu de ce raisonnement, les dispositions réglementaires applicables aux dénominations sociales exigent que les dénominations comportent un élément distinctif. Elles renferment également des règles indiquant les cas dans lesquels le caractère distinctif est insuffisant. Selon ces règles, une dénomination n'est pas suffisamment distinctive et ne peut donc être employée lorsqu'elle ne fait que décrire les activités ou qu'elle est constituée simplement du nom d'un particulier ou d'un nom géographique.

La dénomination qui ne fait que décrire les activités de la société ou les biens ou services qu'elle compte offrir, comme « Vente d'automobiles Inc. » ne peut être employée. La dénomination sera également refusée lorsqu'elle ne fait « que décrire » la qualité des biens ou des services de la société, ex., « Services de consultation plus rapides Inc. ».

La dénomination proposée qui ne semble pas distinctive peut avoir acquis un caractère distinctif à la suite d'un emploi prolongé. Si ce caractère distinctif est démontré par écrit, la dénomination pourra être disponible.

Dans les autres cas, pour éliminer l'objection fondée sur le caractère distinctif suffisant, la meilleure façon de procéder sera la suivante :

  1. dans le cas d'une dénomination qui ne fait que décrire les activités, ajouter un mot distinctif,
    ex. un mot fabriqué comme « Spillex » (Service de nettoyage Spillex Ltée)
    un mot du dictionnaire qui n'est pas descriptif, comme « Étoile » (Théâtres Étoile Inc.)
    le nom d'un particulier comme « Leblanc » (Chaussures Leblanc Ltée)
  2. dans le cas d'une dénomination composée principalement d'un nom de famille, ajouter un mot descriptif comme « Fabrication »,
    ex. Fabrication Meunier Ltée
  3. dans le cas d'une dénomination qui constitue essentiellement un nom de lieu, ajouter un mot descriptif comme « Hydro »,
Date de modification :