10. Other issues

Table of contents


10.1 Use of the words "broadcasting", "radio", "television"

When must an applicant request consent from the Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) for a proposed name using the words "Broadcasting", "Radio" and "Television"?

CBCA gives Corporations Canada no authority to deny applicants the right to use these words. However, the CRTC will deny the applicant a licence to operate if the applicant is not qualified.

10.2 USA — Securities and exchange commission names

Nuans reports may cite corporate names which originate from the Securities & Exchange Commission in the United States. These companies are generally considered to be multi-national corporations doing business in Canada.

It has been the policy of Corporations Canada to consider such names in the name-granting process. If a proposed name is refused because it is confusing with a USA-SEC name, the applicant is advised but not required to find out from the available sources (see telephone and address below) whether or not the company is doing business in Canada. If the name is not checked, it may be granted with full assumption of risk in writing on the applicant's part.

Public Reference:

Securities & Exchange Commission
100 F. Street, NE
Washington, D.C. 20549

Telephone: 202-942-8088
Internet: http://www.sec.gov
Email: publicinfo@sec.gov

10.3 Number of corporate name search reports required

There will be cases where one name search will suffice for several different but related name requests.

This is more likely to be the case if the names requested are for proposed affiliated corporations distinguished only by the geographical location in brackets.

  • e.g. XYZ Tools (Ottawa) Inc.
  • XYZ Tools (Hamilton) Inc.
  • XYZ Tools (Toronto) Inc.

At the moment, however, there is no firm rule as to when only a single search report will be required. Each case should be referred to Corporations Canada for individual consideration.

With respect to Bilingual Names, see section 9 for guidelines concerning whether two searches are required for a bilingual name.

10.4 Where no complete Nuans search report is required

In the case of an application made pursuant to Regulation 22(2), a Nuans pre-search will be conducted by Corporations Canada in place of a complete Nuans search.

A complete Nuans search report will not be required if articles of continuance are filed at the same time as articles of amalgamation and if the certificate of amalgamation is to be issued in a name different from the name of the continued corporation and on the same day as the certificate of continuance.

If articles of continuance are filed at the same time as articles of amalgamation and if the certificate of amalgamation is to be issued in a name different from the name of the continued corporation and within a very short period of time (e.g., less than 24 hours) after the certificate of continuance. A Nuans search report will not be required, if the applicant undertakes:

  • to file a complete Nuans search immediately if the amalgamation does not take effect as planned, and change its name if Corporations Canada decides it is necessary; and
  • not to provide a consent under Regulation 24 for another entity to use its continued name, unless that name has been determined to be not confusing by Corporations Canada on the basis of a complete Nuans search report obtained by the entity at that time.

Depending on the length of time between the continuance and the amalgamation, the continued corporation may also be asked to undertake that it will not carry on business between the date of continuance and the date of amalgamation.

In the case of all other applications, a complete Nuans search is required.

10.5 Trade name

A corporation may carry on business under, or identify itself by a name other than its corporate name if that other name does not contain, either the word or expression "Limited", "Limitée", "Incorporated", "Incorporée", "Corporation" or "Société par actions de régime federal" or the corresponding abbreviation. Provincial law governs the registration of trade names.

10.6 Numbered name

If requested to do so by the incorporators of a corporation, Corporations Canada shall assign to the corporation as its name, a designating number followed by the word "Canada" and a legal element. If the applicant does not choose a legal element, then the numbered name will use "CANADA INC."

10.7 Internet domain names as corporate name

Suffixes like ".ca" or ".com" will not be treated as distinctive elements of a corporate name. The name will be treated as if it did not have the suffix. If the name has some distinctiveness without the suffix (e.g., "Doc Systems Inc.") and it is not confusing, it will be approved. If the name has no distinctiveness without the suffix, it will be rejected since the suffix does not add distinctiveness (e.g., "Cars.ca Inc."); would not be accepted because the name "Cars Inc." would not be accepted, being merely descriptive of the wares.

Date modified:

10. Autres questions

Table des matières


10.1 Emploi des mots « radiodiffusion/broadcasting », « radio », « télévision »

Dans quels cas le demandeur doit-il demander le consentement du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) à l'égard d'une dénomination proposée comportant les mots « radiodiffusion/broadcasting », « radio » et « télévision »?

La LCSA n'autorise pas Corporations Canada à refuser au demandeur le droit d'utiliser ces mots. Toutefois, le CRTC refusera d'accorder une licence d'exploitation au demandeur si celui-ci ne respecte pas les exigences prescrites à cette fin.

10.2 Dénominations provenant de la Securities and Exchange Commission des É.-U.

Les rapports de recherche Nuans peuvent faire état de dénominations provenant de la Securities and Exchange Commission des États-Unis. Ces sociétés sont généralement considérées comme des sociétés multinationales faisant affaires au Canada.

Corporations Canada a pour politique de tenir compte de ces dénominations au cours du processus d'approbation. Lorsqu'une dénomination proposée est refusée parce qu'elle risque de prêter à confusion avec une dénomination provenant de la SEC des É.-U., le demandeur est informé de ce fait, sans toutefois être tenu de déterminer à partir des sources de renseignements disponibles (voir l'adresse et le numéro de téléphone indiqués ci-après) si la société en question fait affaires au Canada ou non. Si la dénomination ne fait pas l'objet d'une vérification, elle pourra être accordée, pourvu que le demandeur indique PAR ÉCRIT qu'il accepte le risque.

Adresse et no de tél. à l'usage du public :

Securities & Exchange Commission
100 F Street, NE
Washington, D.C. 20549

Internet : http://www.sec.gov
Téléphone : 202-942-8088
Courriel : publicinfo@sec.gov

10.3 Nombre de rapports Nuans nécessaires

Dans certains cas, une seule recherche suffira à l'égard de plusieurs demandes de dénominations différentes, mais liées entre elles.

Cette situation risque de se produire le plus souvent si les dénominations demandées concernent des sociétés affiliées projetées qui ne sont différenciées que par le nom du lieu géographique indiqué entre parenthèses.

  • ex. Les Outils XYZ (Montréal) Inc.
  • Les Outils XYZ (Québec) Inc.
  • Les Outils XYZ (Hull) Inc.

Cependant, il n'existe actuellement aucune règle établie au sujet des cas dans lesquels un seul rapport Nuans sera nécessaire. Chaque cas devrait être soumis à Corporations Canada, qui l'examinera.

Voir la section 9, Dénominations bilingues, qui renferme des lignes directrices concernant les cas où deux rapports Nuans sont nécessaires à l'égard d'une dénomination bilingue

10.4 Cas où un rapport Nuans complet n'est pas nécessaire

En ce qui concerne la demande fondée sur le paragraphe 22(2) du Règlement, une recherche préalable dans la base de données Nuans sera effectuée par Corporations Canada en remplacement d'un rapport Nuans complet.

Un rapport complet Nuans ne sera pas nécessaire si les clauses de prorogation sont déposées en même temps que les statuts de fusion et si le certificat de fusion doit être délivré sous une dénomination différente de celle de la société prorogée et le même jour que le certificat de prorogation.

Si les clauses de prorogation sont déposées en même temps que les statuts de fusion et que le certificat de fusion doit être délivré sous une dénomination différente de celle de la société prorogée et dans un laps de temps très court (ex. en moins de 24 heures) après la délivrance du certificat de prorogation, un rapport de recherche Nuans ne sera pas nécessaire, pourvu que le demandeur s'engage à :

  • déposer un rapport Nuans complet immédiatement si la fusion n'est pas menée à bien comme prévu, et modifie sa dénomination si Corporations Canada le juge nécessaire;
  • s'abstenir de consentir, selon l'article 24 du Règlement, à ce qu'une autre entité utilise la dénomination visée par la prorogation, à moins que Corporations Canada n'ait décidé, à la lumière d'un rapport Nuans complet obtenu par l'entité à cette date, que la dénomination en question ne prête pas à confusion.

Selon le délai écoulé entre la prorogation et la fusion, il se peut que la société prorogée doive s'engager à s'abstenir d'exercer des activités commerciales entre la date de la prorogation et la date de la fusion.

Dans le cas de toutes les autres demandes, un rapport de recherche Nuans complet est nécessaire.

10.5 Dénomination commerciale

Une société peut exercer des activités ou s'identifier sous une dénomination autre que sa dénomination sociale si cette autre dénomination ne renferme pas le mot « Limitée », « Limited », « Incorporée », « Incorporated » ou « Corporation » ou l'expression « société par actions de régime fédéral » ou encore l'abréviation correspondante. L'enregistrement des dénominations commerciales est régi par les lois provinciales connexes.

10.6 Dénomination numérique

Si les fondateurs de la société le lui demandent, Corporations Canada attribuera à celle-ci, à titre de dénomination, un numéro suivi du mot « Canada » ainsi qu'un élément juridique. Si le demandeur ne choisit pas un élément juridique, la dénomination numérique comportera « CANADA INC. ».

10.7 Nom de domaine Internet à titre de dénomination sociale

Les suffixes comme « .ca » ou « .com » ne seront pas considérés comme des éléments distinctifs d'une dénomination sociale et celle-ci sera traitée comme si elle ne renfermait pas le suffixe en question. Si la dénomination possède un caractère distinctif en l'absence de suffixe (ex., « Systèmes Doc Inc. ») et ne prête pas à confusion, elle sera approuvée. Si elle ne possède aucun caractère distinctif sans le suffixe, elle sera rejetée, étant donné que le suffixe ne confère aucun caractère distinctif; ainsi, la dénomination « Automobiles.ca Inc. » ne serait pas acceptée, puisque la dénomination « Automobiles Inc. » serait inacceptable, au motif qu'elle ne fait que décrire les marchandises.

Date de modification :