General Overview of the Canada Corporations Act Part II

Policy Statement 13.1
October 17, 2011

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. For Your Information
  3. Types of Applications
  4. For Your Information

1. Introduction

Corporations Canada is charged with administering the Canada Business Corporations Act, the Canada Corporations Act, the Boards of Trade Act, the Canada Cooperatives Act and several other corporate laws governing federal companies, except for financial intermediaries. These statutes provide the legal framework for the creation and governance of federal corporate entities, so that they can engage in marketplace activities on a for-profit and not-for-profit basis.

At Corporations Canada, our role with respect to Part II of the Canada Corporations Act (CCA) is to:

  • ensure that the requirements of the CCA have been met, and
  • assist those involved with a federal not-for-profit corporation during the corporation's existence, including its creation, amendment and dissolution.

However, the vagueness of the CCA presents difficulties. For example, Part II of the CCA provides few answers as to whether particular by-law provisions are acceptable. Historically, this has led to a body of ad hoc, unwritten policy that developed over the years. This was addressed several years ago by developing written policies to provide guidance on what is acceptable or unacceptable when the Act is unclear or silent on a question. The policies reflect past practice and include information on the types of provisions that are acceptable for by-laws. Corporations Canada has also developed a set of model by-laws, which, if adopted for use by the applicant and properly identified on filing, will speed the processing of an application for by-law changes.

Caution:

This or any other policy is not intended to replace legal advice. While the policies discuss certain by-law provisions that are not specifically dealt with (neither explicitly permitted nor prohibited) in Part II of the CCA, Corporations Canada can give no assurance that a court would find any of the particular provisions to be valid under the Act. Accordingly, you may want to consult with legal counsel or other professional advisors prior to making any application under the CCA.

top of page

2. For Your Information

What is a Corporation?

A corporation is a legal entity that can sue or be sued or hold property in its own name. A corporation provides a permanent structure through which individual persons or other corporations can act together for a common purpose generally without incurring personal liability for the corporation's debts and obligations.

What is a Not-for-profit Corporation?

Unlike a business, or more specifically a share corporation where certain shareholders will be entitled to participate in the profits of the company (e.g., by receiving dividends), a not-for-profit corporation, also known as a non-share corporation, has members who are prohibited by the CCA from receiving any pecuniary gain. The purpose of these corporations is not to make money for members, but rather to carry on some activity of a national, patriotic, religious, philanthropic, charitable, scientific, artistic, social, professional or sporting character, or the like.

What is the Basic Structure of a Not-for-profit Corporation?

The two basic components of a not-for-profit corporation are the board of directors and the membership.

Under the terms of the general by-laws of the corporation, the board of directors is given the responsibility to manage the affairs of the corporation. In order to do this, they meet together as often as necessary and may delegate certain responsibilities to specified officers (e.g., President or Treasurer) so that routine matters can be taken care of between their meetings.

Under the federal CCA, the membership must meet at least once a year to review the financial statements and associated report of the auditor and to appoint an auditor for the coming year.

Certain actions of the board must be confirmed by the membership (e.g. amendment of the Letters Patent or the by-laws). In many corporations, the membership will have the power to elect or re-elect directors on a regular basis and to remove existing directors, if necessary, in order that the management of the corporation reflects the wishes of the membership.

top of page

3. Types Of Applications

Incorporation

On October 17, 2011, the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act) came into force. As of that date applications for incorporation under Part II of the CCA are prohibited. Applications to incorporate a not-for-profit must be made under the NFP Act. See the Corporations Canada website for information.

Amendment of Letters Patent (Supplementary Letters Patent)

There may be a need for you to change the corporation's Letters Patent. This is done by applying for Supplementary Letters Patent. The changes can be: (1) a change in the name of the corporation listed in the Letters Patent; or (2) a change to any other provisions of the Letters Patent. The procedure varies slightly between these two types of changes.

The submission includes an application for Supplementary Letters Patent and a copy of the special resolution approved by at least 2/3 of the votes cast by the members of the corporation.

Corporations Canada will check that the documents comply with the CCA and other requirements. If acceptable, Corporations Canada will issue the Supplementary Letters Patent. The change to the corporation's Letters Patent is effective on the date set out in the Supplementary Letters Patent.

Further information on completing an application for Supplementary Letters Patent is available in the "Application for Supplementary Letters Patent Change of Name Policy" and "Application for Supplementary Letters Patent to Amend Provisions of Letters Patent Policy".

Amendment of General By-Laws

By-law amendments relating to the requirements of subsection 155(2) of the CCA must be submitted to Corporations Canada for approval by the Minister. Such amendments must be approved by the membership before the application is made to the Minister for approval. Further information on completing an application for amendment of by-laws is available in the "Amendment of General By-Laws Policy". Also, see the "Model By-laws Policy".

Amendment to the Place of the Corporation's Head Office

There are two situations that apply to a corporation changing the location of its head office. First, a corporation may wish to change the place within Canada where the head office is situated. This requires an application to Corporations Canada and must be supported by a by-law, duly sanctioned by at least 2/3 votes of members cast at a special general meeting of members.

The second situation is when there is a change of street address within the same place described in the Letters Patent. This type of change requires only a resolution of the board of directors. For example, a corporation might move from 123 Main Street, Ottawa to 123 Bank Street, Ottawa, with Ottawa as the place in the Letters Patent. This does not require an application to Corporations Canada. Instead the next Annual Summary that is filed must record the change. The Annual Summary must be filed by June 1 of each year and must set out the corporation's information, e.g. head office address, names and addresses of directors, as of March 31st. In the meantime, a letter to Corporations Canada providing the new address will suffice. If the street address in Corporations Canada's database is not accurate, Corporations Canada will not be able to contact the corporation nor send any reminder notices to file the Annual Summary. Failure to file Annual Summaries for two consecutive years can result in the dissolution of the corporation (section 133 of the CCA).

Further information on changing the place where the head office is situated is available in the "Amendment to the Place of Head Office Policy".

Surrender of Charter and Dissolution

A not-for-profit corporation may cease to exist and dissolve by surrendering its charter. This is done under section 32 of the CCA. Subsection 32(1) applies to a corporation that has been active. Subsection 32(2) applies to a corporation that has not gone into bona fide operation or has been inoperative for three or more consecutive years. Further information on completing an application for surrender of charter is available in the "Surrender of Charter and Dissolution pursuant to subsection 32(1) Policy" and the "Surrender of Charter and Dissolution pursuant to subsection 32(2) Policy".

top of page

4. For Your Information

Registered Charity Status under the Income Taxt Act

The Income Tax Act allows corporations that are established and operated for charitable purposes to register with the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) as charities. Registration with CRA allows a corporation to issue official tax-deductible receipts to those who contribute to their cause and, in many cases, is necessary to qualify for exemption from tax on its income. Being incorporated as a not-for-profit corporation under the CCA is not sufficient by itself to be considered a registered charity for the purposes of the Income Tax Act.

Information on, and the application form for, charitable registration can be found on the CRA website or may be obtained by contacting:

Charities Directorate
Canada Revenue Agency
320 Queen Street, Place de Ville, Tower A
Ottawa, ON K1A 0L5
Tel.: 613-954-0410
Toll Free: 1-800-267-2384

If your corporation intends to become a registered charity, it is suggested that you make your application to become a registered charity prior to or at the same time as you file your application for incorporation. Otherwise, the corporation may have to make an application for Supplementary Letters Patent if CRA requires changes during the charitable registration process.

Keeping Your Corporation in Good Standing

Annual Meeting

All corporations, both large and small, must hold at least one annual meeting of members every calendar year and not more than 15 months after its previous annual meetingFootnote 1. The directors may also call special general meetings of members. While any topic affecting the corporation can be discussed, the annual meeting must at least address the following:

  • presentation of the financial statements;
  • consideration of the auditor's report;
  • appointment of the auditor; and
  • election of directors, if applicable.

Annual Financial Statements

Each corporation is required to prepare annual financial statements for examination by the auditor. These statements will be presented to the members at the annual meeting along with the report of the auditor.

Auditor

All corporations are required to have an auditor. The auditor must be appointed by the members at each annual meeting. Unless all of the members agree otherwise, the auditor must be independent of the corporation and therefore cannot be a director, an officer or an employee of the corporation or any of its affiliates.

The auditor is required to make an examination of the accounting records and the financial statements. The auditor must report to the members on the examination at the annual meeting. The auditor must state whether the financial statements fairly present the financial position of the corporation and the results of its operations during the past year.

Annual Summary

A not-for-profit corporation must file an Annual Summary, along with the $30 filing fee, with Corporations Canada. It must be filed between March 31st and June 1st of each year, containing information regarding the corporation as of March 31st in the same year. A blank Annual Summary form can be obtained from Corporations Canada's website. Failure to file for two consecutive years can result in the dissolution of the corporation (section 133 of the CCA).

Failure to submit the $30 filing fee will result in a notation being placed on Corporations Canada's website indicating that the Annual Summary for the particular year was filed without the fee. Corporations Canada will also forward a Notice of Default to you stating that until you pay the filing fee, the corporation has not fulfilled its obligation. Failure to file and/or to pay the filing fee for two consecutive years can result in the dissolution of the corporation (section 133 of the CCA).

Record Keeping

The corporation is to keep the following records in the custody of the secretary or another officer specially charged with that duty (sections 109 and 112 of the CCA):

  1. a copy of the Letters Patent, any Supplementary Letters Patent and all by-laws of the corporation;
  2. the names of all persons who are or have been members;
  3. the address and occupation of each such person while he/she is a member, as far as can be ascertained;
  4. the names, addresses and occupations of all persons who are or have been directors, and the dates upon which each became or ceased to be a director; and
  5. minutes of all members' and directors' meetings.

The corporation is also required to keep adequate accounting records at its head office (section 117 of the CCA).

top of page

Investigations by Corporations Canada

Corporations Canada can investigate alleged contraventions of the Act by a not-for-profit corporation. Decisions about whether to investigate will be guided by the following:

  1. The CCA, which is fundamentally unchanged since 1917, does not provide access to many of the remedies that are available in other more modern corporate statutes. Please recognize therefore that Corporation Canada's abilities to remedy contraventions of the Act are limited.
  2. Private disputes that are primarily between members, directors and their corporation are encouraged to be resolved privately. The CCA provides aggrieved parties with the ability to seek redress from the courts. For example, section 157.1 of the CCA incorporates by reference section 229 of the Canada Business Corporations Act that allows members of a corporation to apply to court for an order directing an investigation into the affairs of the corporation. In these situations, complainants are encouraged to consult a lawyer in order to determine their options.
  3. While an alleged contravention of a statutory provision is considered a serious matter, Corporations Canada has a responsibility to the Canadian public to ensure that public resources are used appropriately. The decision to pursue an allegation of non-compliance will be made in accordance with this responsibility.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The first annual meeting of members be held within eighteen (18) months of incorporations

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Rate this page

The content of this page was useful to me.

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:
  • More

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

Aperçu général de la partie II de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Pour votre information
  3. Types de demandes
  4. À titre d'information

1. Introduction

Corporations Canada est chargé d'administrer la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions, la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes, la Loi sur les chambres de commerce, la Loi sur les coopératives du Canada et plusieurs autres lois régissant les sociétés de régime fédéral, à l'exception des institutions financières. Ces lois fournissent le cadre légal nécessaire à la création et à la régie des personnes morales fédérales, afin de permettre à ces dernières de s'engager dans des activités commerciales sur le marché, à des fins lucratives et non lucratives.

Le rôle de Corporations Canada en ce qui concerne la Partie II de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes est le suivant :

  • veiller au respect des exigences de la LCC,
  • assister les parties impliquées dans une corporation de régime fédéral à but non lucratif durant l'existence de cette dernière, notamment au moment de sa création, de la modification de sa structure et de sa dissolution.

Malheureusement, le caractère flou de la LCC pose un problème. Par exemple, la LCC est très peu explicite sur les critères d'acceptabilité des règlements, ce qui s'est traduit au fil des années par une accumulation de décisions de principe ponctuelles et non écrites. Pour trouver solution à ce problème, Corporations Canada a élaboré au cours des années des politiques pour tenter de définir les types de dispositions admissibles ou inacceptables quand la loi est imprécise ou muette sur une question. Les politiques reflètent l'usage et contiennent des renseignements sur les types de dispositions qui sont acceptables pour les règlements généraux. De plus, Corporations Canada a élaboré des modèles de règlements généraux qui, s'ils sont utilisés par les demandeurs et clairement identifiés lors du dépôt, permettront d'accélérer le traitement des demandes de modification aux règlements généraux.

Mise en garde

La présente politique ainsi que toutes les autres politiques ne visent aucunement à remplacer des conseils juridiques. Bien que la présente politique traite de certaines dispositions réglementaires qui ne sont pas particulièrement abordées (ni expressément permises ou interdites) dans la LCC, Corporations Canada ne peut garantir en aucun cas qu'un tribunal jugerait valide une des dispositions particulières en vertu de la loi. Par conséquent, vous devriez peut-être avoir recours à un conseiller juridique ou à tout autre conseiller professionnel avant de présenter une demande en vertu de la LCC.

2. Pour Votre Information

Qu'est-ce qu'une corporation (aussi appellé société)?

Une corporation est une personne morale qui peut poursuivre ou être poursuivie en justice, ou détenir des biens en son nom propre. Elle forme une structure permanente qui permet à des personnes physiques ou morales de s'unir dans un but commun sans engager leur responsabilité personnelle à l'égard des dettes et des obligations de la corporation.

Qu'est-ce qu'une corporation à but non lucratif?

Contrairement à une société commerciale aussi appelée « société avec capital-actions » qui permet à certains actionnaires de participer aux bénéfices de l'entreprise, en percevant des dividendes, une corporation à but non lucratif, aussi appelée « corporation sans capital-actions », a des membres à qui la LCC interdit de recevoir, de par leur statut, un avantage pécuniaire. L'objectif de ces corporations n'est pas de générer des profits pour les membres mais plutôt d'exercer une activité à caractère national, patriotique, religieux, philanthropique, charitable, scientifique, artistique, social, professionnel, sportif ou autre du même ordre.

Quelle est la structure de base d'une corporation à but non lucratif?

La corporation à but non lucratif est constituée de deux éléments principaux : le conseil d'administration et les membres.

Le conseil d'administration, en vertu des règlements généraux de la corporation, gère les affaires de la corporation. À cette fin, il se réunit aussi souvent que écessaire et peut déléguer certaines responsabilités à des dirigeants désignés (p. ex., le président ou le trésorier) pour permettre de traiter des affaires courantes entre leurs réunions.

Les membres, aux termes de la LCC, doivent se réunir au moins une fois l'an pour examiner les états financiers et le rapport du vérificateur et nommer un vérificateur pour le prochain exercice.

Certains actes du conseil doivent recevoir l'approbation des membres, comme par exemple la modification des lettres patentes. Dans beaucoup de corporations à but non lucratif, afin de s'assurer que la gestion de la corporation est conforme à la volonté des membres, ces derniers ont le pouvoir d'élire ou de réélire les administrateurs à intervalles réguliers et de les destituer, le cas échéant.

3. Types De Demandes

Constitution en corporation à but non lucratif

Le 17 octobre 2011, la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL) est entrée en vigueur. Depuis cette date, il n'est plus possible de constituer une corporation en vertu de la partie II de la LCC. Les demandes pour constituer une organisation à but non lucratif doivent être faites en vertu de la Loi BNL.

Modification des lettres patentes (lettres patentes supplémentaires)

Il est possible que vous deviez modifier ses lettres patentes. Pour ce faire, vous devrez présenter une demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires. Les modifications peuvent consister en (1) une modification de la dénomination de la corporation, ou (2) une modification à toute autre disposition des lettres patentes. La procédure varie sensiblement entre ces deux types de modification.

Vous devrez présenter une demande de lettres patentes accompagnée d'une copie de la résolution spéciale approuvée par au moins deux tiers des voix exprimées par les membres de la corporation.

Corporations Canada s'assurera que les documents sont conformes à la LCC et respectent les autres exigences. Le cas échéant, Corporations Canada émettra les lettres patentes supplémentaires. Les modifications aux lettres patentes de la corporation prennent effet à la date indiquée dans les lettres patentes supplémentaires.

Vous pouvez obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de présenter une demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires en consultant la politique « Demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires changement de dénomination » et la politique laquo; Demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires pour modifier les dispositions des lettres patentes ».

Modification aux règlements généraux

Les modifications aux règlements généraux relatives au paragraphe 155(2) de la LCC doivent être présentées à Corporations Canada en vue de les faire approuver par le ministre. De telles modifications doivent être approuvées par les membres avant que la demande d'approbation soit présentée au ministre. Veuillez consulter la politique « Modification des règlements généraux « et la politique « Modèle de règlements généraux » pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de remplir une demande de modification aux règlements.

Modification du lieu du siège de la corporation

Il y a deux situations qui s'appliquent à une corporation qui modifie le lieu où se situe son siège.

Tout d'abord, une corporation peut désirer modifier le lieu où se situe son siège au Canada. Cette situation nécessite qu'une demande soit envoyée à Corporations Canada et doit être appuyée par un règlement à but unique, dûment ratifié par au moins deux tiers des voix exprimées au cours d'une assemblée générale annuelle des membres.

La seconde situation prévaut lorsqu'il y a un changement de l'adresse municipale et que l'adresse demeure dans le même lieu indiqué dans les lettres patentes. Ce type de changement requiert uniquement une résolution du conseil d'administration. Par exemple, une corporation peut déménager du 123, rue Principale, Ottawa, au 123, rue Bank, Ottawa, Ottawa étant le lieu désigné dans les lettres patentes. Pour cela, il n'est pas nécessaire de présenter une demande de modification du lieu du siège à Corporations Canada. Par contre, la modification doit être indiquée dans le prochain sommaire annuel. Le sommaire annuel doit être déposé au plus tard le 1er juin de chaque année et doit énoncer, en date du 31 mars, les renseignements relatifs à la corporation, notamment l'adresse du siège, les noms et adresses des administrateurs. Entre-temps, une lettre adressée à Corporations Canada indiquant la nouvelle adresse est suffisante. Si l'adresse municipale indiquée dans la base de données de Corporations Canada n'est pas exacte, Corporations Canada ne sera pas en mesure de communiquer avec la corporation ni de lui envoyer un avis de rappel pour le dépôt de son sommaire annuel. Tout manquement de déposer les sommaires annuels pendant deux années consécutives peut entraîner la dissolution de la corporation (article 133 de la LCC).

Vous pouvez obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la modification du lieu où se situe le siège en consultant la politique « Modification du lieu où se situe le siège ».

Abandon d'une charte et dissolution

Une corporation à but non lucratif peut cesser d'exercer ses activités et se dissoudre en abandonnant sa charte, conformément à l'article 32 de la LCC. Le paragraphe 32(1) s'applique à une corporation qui a été active. Le paragraphe 32(2), quant à lui, s'applique à une corporation qui n'est pas entrée en exploitation de bonne foi ou qui a été inactive pendant trois années consécutives ou plus. Vous pouvez obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de remplir une demande d'abandon de charte en consultant la politique « Abandon de la charte et dissolution en vertu du paragraphe 32(1) » et la politique « Abandon de la charte et dissolution en vertu du paragraphe 32(2) ».

4. À Titre D'Information

Désignation à titre d'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (LIR)

La Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (LIR) permet aux corporations qui sont créées pour poursuivre des fins de bienfaisance de s'enregistrer auprès de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) à titre d'organismes de bienfaisance. L'enregistrement auprès de l'ARC permet à une corporation de délivrer des reçus officiels pour les dons qu'elle reçoit, et ce statut peut aussi être nécessaire afin de bénéficier d'exemptions de payer l'impôt sur le revenu. Le fait d'être constitué en corporation à but non lucratif en vertu de la LCC n'est pas suffisant pour être reconnu à titre d'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré aux termes de la LIR.

Les renseignements et les formulaires de demande d'enregistrement à titre d'organisme de bienfaisance peuvent être consultés sur le site Web de l'ARC, ou ils peuvent être obtenus en communiquant avec :

Direction des organismes de bienfaisance
Agence du revenu du Canada
320, rue Queen, Place de Ville, Tour A
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L5
Téléphone : 613-954-0410
Sans frais : 1-800-267-2384

Si votre corporation prévoit s'enregistrer à titre d'organisme de bienfaisance, il est recommandé de le faire avant, ou en même temps que vous déposez votre demande de lettres patentes. Autrement, la corporation pourrait devoir faire une demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires si l'ARC exige des modifications pour pouvoir octroyer le statut d'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré.

Maintenir votre corporation en conformité

Assemblées annuelles des membres

Toutes les corporations, grandes et petites, doivent tenir au moins une assemblée annuelle des membres chaque année et pas plus de 15 mois après leur réunion annuelle précédenteNote de bas de page 1. Les administrateurs peuvent également convoquer des assemblées extraordinaires des membres. Bien que n'importe quel sujet puisse y être discuté, les assemblées annuelles doivent au moins porter sur les points suivants :

  • la présentation des états financiers;
  • l'examen du rapport du vérificateur;
  • la nomination du vérificateur;
  • l'élection d'administrateurs, s'il y a lieu.

États financiers annuels

Chaque corporation est tenue de préparer des états financiers annuels qui seront soumis au vérificateur pour examen. Ces états seront présentés aux membres au cours de l'assemblée annuelle, de même que le rapport du vérificateur.

Vérificateur

Toutes les corporations sont tenues de nommer un vérificateur. Ce dernier doit être nommé par les membres lors de l'assemblée annuelle. À moins que tous les membres n'en conviennent autrement, le vérificateur doit être indépendant de la corporation et, de ce fait même, ne peut être administrateur, dirigeant ou employé de la corporation ni d'aucune de ses corporations affiliées.

Le vérificateur doit effectuer un examen des livres comptables et des états financiers. Durant l'assemblée annuelle, il doit présenter aux membres un rapport sur l'examen effectué. Le vérificateur doit indiquer si les états financiers présentent de façon juste la position financière de la corporation et les résultats des activités qu'il a menées au cours de l'année qui s'est écoulée.

Sommaire annuel

Une corporation à but non lucratif doit présenter à Corporations Canada un sommaire annuel et payer les droits de dépôt de 30 $. Le dépôt doit se faire entre le 31 mars et le 1er juin de chaque année et contenir les renseignements relatifs à la corporation en date du 31 mars de la même année. Un formulaire de sommaire annuel peut être obtenu sur le site Web de Corporations Canada. Tout manquement de déposer le sommaire annuel pendant deux années consécutives peut entraîner la dissolution de la corporation (article 133 de la LCC).

Si une corporation omet de déposer les droits de 30 $, Corporations Canada inscrira un avis sur son site Web pour indiquer que le sommaire annuel de l'année en question a été déposé sans que les droits aient été acquittés. Par la suite, Corporations Canada fera parvenir à la corporation concernée un avis indiquant que tant que les droits ne seront pas acquittés, celle-ci est considérée comme n'ayant pas rempli ses obligations. Tout manquement de dépôt ou de paiement des droits pendant deux années consécutives peut entraîner la dissolution de la corporation (article 133 de la LCC).

Tenue des registres

La corporation doit confier la garde des documents suivants à son secrétaire ou à un autre dirigeant spécialement chargé de cette fonction (articles 109 et 112 de la LCC) :

  1. une copie des lettres patentes et des lettres patentes supplémentaires et de tous les èglements de la corporation;
  2. le nom de toutes les personnes qui sont ou qui ont été membres de la corporation;
  3. l'adresse et la qualité de ces personnes, pendant qu'ils étaient membres, en autant qu'elles peuvent être déterminées;
  4. les noms, adresses et professions de toutes les personnes qui occupent ou qui ont occupé un poste d'administrateur ainsi que les dates de début et de cessation des fonctions à ce poste;
  5. les procès-verbaux de toutes les réunions des membres et des administrateurs.

La corporation doit également tenir les documents comptables appropriés à son siège (article 117 de la LCC).

Enquêtes menées par corporations canada

Corporations Canada a le pouvoir d'enquêter sur les infractions présumées à la LCC dont s'est rendue coupable une corporation à but non lucratif. Les points suivants détermineront les décisions relatives aux enquêtes :

  1. La LCC, qui n'a pas changé substantiellement depuis 1917, n'offre pas les recours offerts par d'autres lois corporatives plus modernes. Nous vous prions donc de prendre note que les capacités de Corporations Canada pour remédier aux infractions à la loi sont limitées.
  2. Nous vous encourageons à résoudre par voie de conciliation les différends privés qu'il pourrait y avoir principalement entre les membres, les administrateurs et la corporation. La LCC permet aux parties lésées d'exiger une réparation par la voie des tribunaux. Par exemple, l'article 157.1 de la LCC inclut par renvoi l'article 229 de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions qui autorise les membres d'une corporation à obtenir une ordonnance auprès d'un tribunal pour exiger la tenue d'une enquête dans les affaires internes de la corporation. Dans de tels cas, nous encourageons les plaignants à consulter un avocat qui les aidera à déterminer leurs options.
  3. Bien qu'une infraction présumée à une disposition législative soit jugée sérieuse, Corporations Canada a une responsabilité envers le public canadien de s'assurer que les ressources publiques sont utilisées adéquatement. La décision d'approfondir une allégation de non-conformité sera prise conformément à cette responsabilité.
Date de modification :