Policy on cancellation of articles or certificates – Canada Business Corporations Act

You will find in this policy, explanations on how to apply to cancel a certificate and articles of your business corporation.

Note

This policy is intended to provide information and set out guidelines. It is not a binding statement of what decision will be made on a particular application. It is also not intended to replace legal advice. You may wish to consult a lawyer or other professional to ensure that the specific needs of your corporation are taken into consideration when making an application.

Table of contents

What is a cancellation?

The cancellation of the certificate and articles returns the corporation to the situation it was in before the certificate and articles were issued, as if they had never been in effect.

All documents filed with Corporations Canada, even those that have been cancelled, are part of the corporate records held by Corporations Canada. No articles, certificates or other documents, even those cancelled, will be removed from these records.

If the cancellation request is accepted, the corporation must make the necessary changes in its corporate records and must inform third parties who may have relied on the cancelled certificate and articles.

The fee paid for the cancelled certificate and articles will not be refunded.

Under what circumstance will Corporations Canada approve the cancellation of a certificate and articles of my corporation?

Corporations Canada will approve the cancellation of my corporation's articles or certificates under the following circumstances:

1. Court order

Corporations Canada will cancel the certificate and articles if it receives a court order.

A court order is appropriate where the cancellation may prejudice shareholders or creditors. The corporation or any other interested person may ask a court to order the cancellation of the certificate and articles. The court can determine the rights of the parties when considering whether to issue a cancellation order.

In the following situations, Corporations Canada is of the opinion that the cancellation could prejudice shareholders or creditors and strongly recommends that the corporation obtain an order from the Court to cancel the certificate or articles:

  • Fundamental changes were made after the issuance of the certificate for which cancellation is requested.
  • The original intention cannot be clearly demonstrated.
  • There was an error in judgment (see example below).

2. Cancellation under circumstances prescribed by subsection 265.1 (1) of the CBCA

Corporations Canada may approve a request for cancellation under the following circumstances, if it is satisfied that the cancellation will not prejudice the shareholders or creditors of your corporation:

  1. Corporations Canada made an error in the certificate or articles

    Example:

    • An application for incorporation was submitted online and the computer system issued two certificates of incorporation in error instead of just one. The second certificate of incorporation may be cancelled.
  2. Corporations Canada did not have the authority required to issue the certificate or articles

    Examples:

    • Corporations Canada administratively dissolved a corporation for failing to file its annual returns, yet the annual returns had been filed. The Certificate of Dissolution may be cancelled.
    • Corporations Canada issued a Certificate of Amalgamation, and one of the amalgamating corporations was incorporated under a provincial law. Corporations Canada did not have the authority to issue the Certificate of Amalgamation. The Certificate of Amalgamation may be cancelled.
  3. There is an obvious error in the certificate or articles.

    An obvious error is one that appears on the face of the certificate or articles, requiring the certificate or articles be cancelled. This situation would occur infrequently, as generally an application for correction is filed to correct an obvious error.

3. Cancellation in other circumstances (other than the circumstances prescribed by subsection 265.1(1) of the CBCA)

Corporations Canada may in its sole discretion cancel articles and certificates for any circumstances that meet the following conditions:

  • the cancellation must be authorized by a resolution of the corporation's directors
  • the cancellation must reflect the original intention of the corporation
  • the cancellation must not prejudice the shareholders or creditors of the corporation
  • there must be no dispute between the directors and shareholders regarding the circumstances surrounding the request for cancellation
  • the corporation must not have used the certificate or articles. If it has, anyone dealing with the corporation on the basis of the certificate or articles must consent to the cancellation

Can Corporations Canada request that my corporation's certificate and articles be cancelled?

Corporations Canada can cancel certificates and articles that have been incorrectly issued. For example, Corporation Canada might cancel a certificate issued to a dissolved corporation or to a financial corporation that is not allowed to be incorporated under the Act. In this case, Corporations Canada will contact your corporation and indicate the steps to be taken and documents to be provided to cancel the certificate and articles.

Can Corporations Canada refuse to cancel articles or a certificate?

Corporations Canada can refuse to cancel the certificate and articles if it is not satisfied that all the conditions for the cancellation are met.

When all the conditions for the cancellation are not met, an amendment to the articles could be more appropriate (see Amending your articles).

If it is difficult to meet all of the conditions or if the cancellation could prejudice shareholders or creditors, it is strongly suggested that you obtain a court order to cancel the certificate and articles.

Corporations Canada will refuse to cancel the certificate and articles due to errors in judgement.

Examples:

  • Two corporations were amalgamated so that the corporation resulting from the amalgamation could be involved in a future transaction. The anticipated transaction did not occur. Corporations Canada will refuse to cancel the certificate of amalgamation and articles to reinstate the situation prior to their issuance. In this case, it would be preferable to obtain an order from the court to cancel the certificate of amalgamation and to reinstate the situation of both corporations prior to the amalgamation.
  • A corporation was created to carry on business activities. However, the corporation has not started carrying on business and will not do so. Corporations Canada will refuse to cancel the certificate of incorporation for this reason. In this case, it would be preferable to end the corporation's existence by applying for dissolution (see Guide on dissolving a business corporation).
  • A federal corporation was incorporated. Later, it is decided that a federal incorporation is not appropriate and it would be preferable that the corporation be governed by a provincial legislation. Corporations Canada will refuse to cancel the certificate of incorporation for this reason. In this case, it would be preferable that the corporation continue under a provincial legislation (see Policy on continuance (export) of a federal corporation).

How do I file a request to cancel articles or a certificate?

You must submit the request to Corporations Canada with the information and documentary evidence required by the circumstances.

What happens after I submit my request?

The review of a request for cancellation will be based on the information and documentary evidence provided to satisfy the conditions for cancellation are met.

If Corporations Canada determines that the request does not meet all the conditions, then Corporations Canada will return you the request with a letter indicating that additional information or evidence should be provided.

Corporations Canada may ask you for additional information or documentary evidence at any time.

Can I appeal Corporations Canada's decision with the Court?

Any person who believes he or she has been prejudiced by the decision Corporations Canada to cancel or to refuse to cancel a certificate or articles may appeal the decision with the Court.

Related information

Date modified:

Politique sur l'annulation d'un certificat et statuts d'une société par actions – Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions

Vous trouverez dans cette politique les renseignements nécessaires pour préparer une demande d'annulation d'un certificat et statuts de votre société par actions.

Note

Ce document fournit des renseignements et lignes directrices. Il ne s'agit pas d'une déclaration contraignante de la décision qui sera prise à l'égard d'un cas précis. Il ne vise pas non plus à remplacer l'avis d'un conseiller juridique. Vous voudrez peut-être consulter un avocat ou un autre conseiller professionnel pour vous assurer que les besoins spécifiques de votre société ont été considérés.

Table des matières

Qu'est-ce qu'une annulation?

L'annulation du certificat et statuts fait en sorte de remettre la société dans la situation où elle se trouvait avant l'émission du certificat et statuts comme s'ils n'avaient jamais été en vigueur.

Tous les statuts déposés auprès de Corporations Canada, même ceux ayant été annulés, font partis des livres tenus par Corporations Canada. Aucuns statuts ou certificats, même ceux annulés, ne seront retirés de ces livres.

Si la demande d'annulation est acceptée, la société doit apporter les changements nécessaires à ses livres corporatifs ainsi qu'informer les tiers qui pourraient avoir traités avec la société sur la base du certificat et statuts annulés.

Les frais payés pour le certificat et les statuts annulés ne sont pas remboursés.

Dans quelles circonstances Corporations Canada pourrait permettre d'annuler un certificat et statuts de ma société?

Corporations Canada peut permettre l'annulation des statuts ou du certificat de votre société dans les circonstances suivantes :

1. Ordonnance du tribunal

Corporations Canada annulera le certificat et statuts sur réception d'une ordonnance du tribunal.

Une ordonnance du tribunal est appropriée lorsque l'annulation pourrait porter préjudice aux actionnaires ou aux créanciers. Votre société ou toute autre personne intéressée pourrait demander au tribunal d'annuler un certificat et statuts. Le tribunal peut établir les droits des parties lorsqu'il considérera s'il y lieu ou non d'émettre une ordonnance d'annulation.

Dans les situations suivantes, Corporations Canada est d'avis que l'annulation pourrait porter préjudice aux actionnaires ou aux créanciers et recommande fortement que votre société s'adresse au tribunal pour obtenir une ordonnance pour faire annuler un certificat et statuts :

  • il y a eu des modifications de structure ultérieures à l'émission du certificat pour lequel vous demandez l'annulation.
  • l'intention d'origine ne peut pas être démontrée clairement.
  • il s'agit d'une erreur de jugement (voir exemple plus bas).

2. Circonstances spécifique prévues par le paragraphe 265.1 (1) de la LCSA

Dans les circonstances suivantes, Corporations Canada pourrait approuver une demande d'annulation s'il est convaincu que l'annulation ne porterait pas préjudice aux actionnaires ou créanciers de votre société :

  1. Une erreur a été commise par Corporations Canada dans le certificat ou statuts

    Exemples :

    • Une demande de constitution a été soumise en ligne pour constituer une société par actions et le système informatique a émis par erreur deux certificats de constitution au lieu d'un seul. Le deuxième certificat de constitution pourrait être annulé.
  2. Corporations Canada n'avait pas la compétence voulue pour émettre le certificat et statuts

    Exemple :

    • Corporations Canada a dissous administrativement une société pour défaut de déposer ses rapports annuels alors que les rapports annuels avaient été déposés. Le certificat de dissolution pourrait être annulé.
    • Corporations Canada a émis un certificat de fusion et une des sociétés fusionnantes était constituée en vertu d'une loi provinciale. Corporations Canada n'avait pas l'autorité pour émettre le certificat de fusion. Le certificat de fusion pourrait être annulé.
  3. Une erreur évidente apparait dans le certificat ou les statuts

    L'erreur évidente est celle qui parait à la face même du certificat ou des statuts faisant en sorte que le certificat et les statuts doivent être annulés. Cette situation est peu fréquente. Généralement, une demande de rectification est déposée pour rectifier une erreur évidente.

3. Annulation pour toute autre circonstance que celles prévues par la loi

Corporations Canada peut à son entière discrétion, annuler le certificat et statuts de votre société pour toute autre circonstance que celles prévues par la loi. La demande d'annulation doit satisfaire les conditions suivantes :

  • elle doit être autorisée par une résolution des administrateurs de votre société
  • elle doit refléter l'intention d'origine de votre société
  • elle ne doit pas porter préjudice aux actionnaires ni aux créanciers de votre société
  • il ne doit pas y avoir de différend entre les administrateurs ni les actionnaires quant aux circonstances entourant la demande d'annulation
  • votre société ne doit pas s'être prévalue du certificat et statuts. Si elle s'en est prévalue, quiconque traite avec la société aux termes du certificat et statuts doit avoir consenti à leur annulation.

Est-ce que Corporations Canada pourrait annuler de son propre chef le certificat et statuts de ma société?

Corporations Canada peut annuler un certificat et statuts qui ont été émis par erreur. Par exemple, Corporations Canada pourrait annuler un certificat émis à une société dissoute ou à une société financière qui n'est pas autorisée à se constituer en vertu de la LCSA. Dans ce cas, Corporations Canada communiquera avec votre société et indiquera les démarches et documents à fournir pour annuler le certificat et statuts.

Est-ce que Corporations Canada peut refuser d'annuler un certificat et statuts?

Corporations Canada pourrait refuser d'annuler le certificat et les statuts s'il n'est pas convaincu que toutes les conditions pour permettre l'annulation sont satisfaites.

Lorsque les conditions pour permettre l'annulation ne sont pas toutes satisfaites, une modification aux statuts pourrait être plus appropriée (voir Modification de vos statuts constitutifs).

Dans les cas où il est difficile de satisfaire toutes les conditions ou que l'annulation pourrait porter préjudice aux actionnaires ou aux créanciers, il est fortement suggéré que vous obteniez une ordonnance du tribunal pour annuler le certificat et les statuts.

Corporations Canada refusera d'annuler le certificat et les statuts en raison d'une erreur de jugement.

Exemples :

  • Deux sociétés ont été fusionnées afin que la société issue de la fusion soit impliquée dans une transaction ultérieure. La transaction prévue ne se réalise pas. Corporations Canada refusera d'annuler le certificat de fusion et les statuts pour rétablir la situation existante avant son émission. Dans ce cas, il serait préférable d'obtenir une ordonnance du tribunal pour annuler le certificat de fusion et rétablir la situation existante des deux sociétés avant la fusion.
  • Une société par actions a été constituée afin d'exercer des activités commerciales. Toutefois, la société n'a pas entamé ses activités commerciales et ne prévoit pas le faire. Corporations Canada refusera d'annuler le certificat de constitution pour cette raison. Dans ce cas, il serait préférable de mettre fin à l'existence de la société par actions en déposant une demande de dissolution (voir Guide sur la dissolution d'une société par actions).
  • Une société par actions de régime fédéral a été constituée. Après quelques temps, il a été déterminé que le régime fédéral ne soit pas approprié et qu'il serait préférable que la société par actions soit régie par une loi provinciale. Corporations Canada refusera d'annuler le certificat de constitution pour ce motif. Dans ce cas, il serait préférable que la société se proroge (exportation) en vertu d'une loi provinciale (voir Politique sur la prorogation (exportation) d'une société par actions de régime fédéral.

Comment faire une demande d'annulation d'un certificat et des statuts?

Vous devez déposer une demande à Corporations Canada incluant les renseignements et preuves documentaires exigés selon les circonstances.

Qu'advient-il de ma demande après que je l'ai soumise?

L'examen de votre demande d'annulation est basé sur les renseignements et les preuves documentaires déposées pour satisfaire les conditions pour permettre l'annulation.

Si Corporations Canada détermine que votre demande ne satisfait pas toutes les conditions, Corporations Canada vous retournera la demande accompagnée d'une lettre indiquant de soumettre plus de renseignements ou de preuve à l'appui de la demande.

Corporations Canada peut en tout temps demander des renseignements ou des preuves documentaires supplémentaires.

Est-ce que je peux faire appel de la décision de Corporations Canada au tribunal?

Toute personne qui estime avoir subi un préjudice en raison de la décision de Corporations Canada d'annuler, ou de refuser d'annuler le certificat et statuts, peut faire appel de la décision de Corporations Canada au tribunal.

Renseignements complémentaires

Date de modification :