Policy on exempting a corporation from the financial disclosure requirements – Canada Business Corporations Act, section 156

Table of contents

  1. Statement of general principles
  2. Legislative framework
  3. Guidelines for making an application
  4. Other information
  5. Making the application
  6. Annex A - Example of documents to submit when making an application under Subsection 156 of the CBCA

1. Statement of general principles

  • 1.01 The September 22, 2004 exemption policy is repealed and replaced with this policy.
  • 1.02 This policy sets out information to facilitate an application to the Director appointed under the CBCA for an exemption authorizing a corporation to omit prescribed items from, or dispense with publication of, prescribed financial statements.
  • 1.03 The financial disclosure rules prescribed in the Regulations are designed to provide a corporation's shareholders with relevant information about the financial position of the corporation. The Director will only grant an exemption if satisfied that disclosure of the prescribed information would be detrimental to the corporation.
  • 1.04 Nothing in this policy is intended to constitute a binding statement of what position the Director will take with respect to a particular application. This policy is intended to reflect the Director's understanding of the Director's role in processing an application under section 156 of the CBCA.

2. Legislative framework

  • 2.01 Section 155 of the Act generally states the obligation of a corporation to present certain financial statements on an annual basis. The items and contents of these statements are prescribed in sections 70 and 72 of the Regulations.
  • 2.02 Section 70 of the Regulations stipulates that the financial statements referred to in paragraph 155(1)(a) of the Act shall, except as otherwise provided by this Part, be prepared in accordance with generally-accepted principles as set out in the Handbook of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants (CICA).
  • 2.03 Section 72 of the Regulations further stipulates in subsection 72(1) that the financial statements referred to in section 155 of the Act shall include at least:
    1. a balance sheet;
    2. a statement of retained earnings;
    3. an income statement; and
    4. a statement of changes in financial position.
  • 2.04 Section 156 of the CBCA provides that the Director may, on application of a corporation, authorize the corporation to omit from its financial statements any item prescribed, or to dispense with the publication of any particular financial statement prescribed, and the Director may, if the Director reasonably believes that disclosure of the information contained in the statements would be detrimental to the corporation, permit the omission on any reasonable conditions that the Director thinks fit.
  • 2.05 A corporation that does not comply with the financial disclosure rules prescribed in the Regulations and that fails to obtain an exemption from the Director is in contravention of the CBCA which can result in civil and/or criminal liability.

3. Guidelines for making an application

  1. General considerations
    • 3.01 The general test used by the Director consists in determining whether the disclosure of information would be detrimental to the corporation if the exemption is not granted.
  2. Factors considered in reviewing an application
    • 3.02 In determining whether there would be a detriment to the corporation, the Director may consider the following circumstances, among others:
      1. the corporation would be at a disadvantage with suppliers, customers or others;
      2. the corporation would be at a disadvantage because it deals only in one line of products or services and its competitors:
        1. are not required to make similar disclosure; or
        2. deal in several lines of products or services and disclose information in a form that prevents identification of financial information in respect of any particular product or service;
      3. a competitor, who does not disclose, could calculate the profit margin on a specific product or service sold by the corporation and place the latter in a disadvantageous position by reducing its price for this product or service;
      4. a supplier could increase the selling price of raw materials sold to the corporation making the disclosure, on the basis of its knowledge of the profitability of a product sold by the latter;
      5. an important customer could demand a reduction in the sale price on the basis of its knowledge of the profit made on a product or
      6. the corporation's only public shares are exchangeable shares whose dividend and dissolution entitlements are determined only by reference to the financial performance of the sole parent corporation and the parent corporation will send to all shareholders of exchangeable shares the same documentation that it sends to its own shareholders, and will make all necessary filings with the appropriate securities regulatory authorities.
    • 3.03 In determining whether the circumstances justify granting an exemption, the Director may weigh the detriment of disclosure to the corporation against the potential prejudice of non-disclosure to shareholders who would otherwise benefit from the information. The Director will look at factors such as:
      1. the content of the information;
      2. the shareholdings of the corporation (closely-held versus public corporation);
      3. whether all the shareholders consent to the exemption;
      4. the knowledge the shareholders would have about the financial position of the corporation notwithstanding the lack of exempted information.
      It should be noted that, except in certain limited circumstances, the fact that the corporation will have to spend a certain amount of money to prepare financial statements cannot be considered a financial detriment caused by the disclosure of information.
  3. Conditions for issuing an exemption
    • 3.04 In exempting a corporation, the Director may find it appropriate under the circumstances to include one or more conditions in the exemption.
    • 3.05 The Director may also require the applicant to forward a copy of the exemption to shareholders and all securities regulators concerned.

4. Other information

  1. Additional information required
    • 4.01 The Director may require other information not provided in the application in order to decide whether or not to exempt the corporation.
    • 4.02 Under section 91 of the CBCR, the Director has the authority to seek additional information from the applicant or third parties. With respect to information requested from third parties, section 92 of the CBCR provides that the applicant shall be given a copy of the information obtained and be given a reasonable opportunity to respond.
    • 4.03 There is no statutory obligation on the Director, however, to seek information at the request of third parties nor to allow third parties to make representations regarding an application.
  2. Access to information contained in an application
    • 4.04 Pursuant to section 266 of the CBCA, a person who has paid the required fee is entitled to examine, make copies or extracts of any document required by the CBCA to be sent to the Director. The information filed with the Director in support of an exemption application is not confidential since such information is required to be filed in order to obtain an exemption. Consequently, an application for exemption is public information.
  3. Offences
    • 4.05 Section 250 of the Act creates an offence with respect to documents required by the Act or Regulations to be sent to the Director, or any other person, that contains a false or misleading statement about material fact or omits to state a material fact.

5. Making the application

  1. Format
    • 5.01 Along with a cover letter indicating the name of the applicant corporation, the application must provide information under three distinct headings: description and details of the exemption sought, statement of facts, and argument. These are described briefly below with further elaboration contained in the attached Annex A. We recommend the use of Annex A as a model.
  2. The documents
    • 5.02 Detailed below is a brief description of the three major documents that comprise the submission:
      1. Description and Details of the ExemptionSought: The applicant must describe the exemption sought and note that this is an application for an exemption under section 156 of the Canada Business Corporations Act (see attached Annex A, Schedule A).
      2. Statement of Facts: The applicant must include sufficient facts and all material information which might effect the Director's decision (see attached Annex A, Schedule B). The applicant should specifically speak about the business of the corporation, about the affected shareholders, and about the prescribed items or statements to be excluded (i.e. their function and importance).
      3. Argument: Following the statements of facts, the applicant must provide convincing reasons that the disclosure of the prescribed items or statements in question would be detrimental to the corporation (see attached Annex A, Schedule C).
  3. Renewals
    • 5.03 If the applicant seeks to renew an exemption that has been granted and the circumstances have not substantially changed, it is not necessary to complete a detailed application. Instead, a letter identifying the previous exemption, requesting for a renewal of the exemption, and stating that the circumstances have not substantially changed is accepted. Note that if the applicant wishes to change the wording of the decision, the applicant must refer to the changes and provide reasons for these changes in the letter.
  4. Effective date of the exemption
    • 5.04 An exemption will bear the date on which it was granted.
    • 5.05 Pursuant to paragraph 89(1)(e) of the CBCR, an application shall be made 60 days before the documents in respect of which the exemption is requested are to be sent to the Director. Nevertheless, subsection 89(2) provides that despite subsection (1), the Director shall extend the time for making an application for an exemption if the applicant establishes that no prejudice will result from the extension.
  5. Duration
    • 5.06 An exemption generally takes effect on the date it is granted and is applicable for 1 financial year ending on or after the effective date of the exemption.
  6. Revocation
    • 5.07 The Director will generally not revoke an exemption before providing notice to the applicant and the opportunity to respond by submitting new facts and arguments to support the exemption.
    • 5.08 A revoked exemption ceases to carry effect from the date of revocation.
  7. Fees and number of copies to file
    • 5.09 The prescribed fee for an exemption application is $250.00.
    • 5.10 Only one set of documents is required.
  8. Time for processing an application
    • 5.11 Section 90 of the CBCR provides that the Director shall, within 30 days after receipt of an application for an exemption, grant the exemption requested or send to the applicant written notice of the Director's refusal, together with reasons for the refusal.
    • 5.12 An application duly completed and filed, with no outstanding issue or concern, will usually receive a response from the Director within 15 working days after receipt of the application.
    • 5.13 An applicant requiring that the Director review the application on an expedited basis should bring the request immediately to the attention of the Director's staff, providing reasons for the urgency.
  9. Publication
  10. Appeal of Director's decision
    • 5.15 An applicant who feels aggrieved by a decision of the Director to grant, or to refuse to grant, an exemption may apply to the court, pursuant to paragraph 246(c) of the Act, for an order requiring the Director to change the decision.

Annex A

Example of documents to submit when making an application under Subsection 156 of the CBCA


Schedule A

In the Matter Concerning the Duirector Appointed Under the Canada Business Corporations Act

And

The Application of

(Name of the corporation)

(hereinafter called the "Corporation")

Description and Details of the Exemption Sought

  1. This application is for an exemption under section 156 of the Canada Business Corporations Act authorizing the corporation to omit from its financial statements any item prescribed, or to dispense with the publication of any particular financial statement prescribed, for the financial year ending (see 5.06 of the policy).
  2. The item(s) to be omitted or the statement(s) that will not be published are: (items or statements as prescribed in the Regulations)

Schedule B

Statement of facts

  1. The following statement provides sufficient facts and all material information in order to enable the Director to make an informed decision about the exemption sought:
    1. Generally, where applicable, provide details about:
      1. the business of the corporation;
      2. the prescribed items or statements to be excluded (their function, importance);
      3. the shareholders affected (prejudice ifinformation not disclosed);
      And/Or
    2. Specifically, the following list suggests possible facts that, according to the circumstances of the application, may be relevant in determining whether or not there is a detriment of the corporation. Indicate the facts that apply, providing the necessary details:
      1. The names of competitors, customers and suppliers.
      2. The fact that the corporation manufactures and sells only one line of products or services and a description of such products or services.
      3. The estimated value of gross revenues and total assets of the corporation for the financial year that would be covered by the exemption, if granted.
      4. The percentage of the market held by the corporation and each of its competitors.
      5. The name and place of incorporation of each competitor required to disclose the same financial information as the corporation.
      6. The way in which the competitors can calculate the profitability (profit margin) of a specific product or service sold by the corporation. Give a precise method of calculation.
      7. The names of customers contributing a substantial proportion (25 per cent or more) of the net profits of the disclosing corporation.
      8. The percentage of this portion of the profits and details of the impact disclosure would have on sales to this customer and the corresponding effect on the financial situation of the corporation.
      9. Financial data on which to base an assessment of the economic detriment which would be caused to the corporation.

Schedule C

Arguments

  1. This application is made pursuant to section 156 of the Canada Business Corporations Act which empowers the Director to authorize the corporation to omit from its financial statements any item prescribed, or to dispense with the publication of any particular financial statement prescribed, if the Director reasonably believes that their disclosure would be detrimental to the corporation.
  2. The disclosure of the prescribed item(s) or statement(s) described in this application would be detrimental for the corporation.
  3. The exemption would ("not be prejudicial" or "be prejudicial") to the affected shareholders.
  4. The exemption should be granted for the following reason(s): For instance,
    1. the corporation would be at a disadvantage with suppliers, customers or others;
    2. the corporation would be at a disadvantage because it deals in only in one line of products or services and its competitors:
      1. are not required to make similar disclosure;
      2. deal in several lines of products or services and disclose information in a form that prevents identification on financial information in respect of any particular product or service;
    3. a competitor, who does not disclose, could calculate the profit margin on a specific product or service sold by the corporation and place the latter in a disadvantageous position by reducing its price for this product or service;
    4. a supplier could increase the selling price of raw materials sold to the corporation making the disclosure, on the basis of its knowledge of the profitability of a product sold by the latter;
    5. an important customer could demand a reduction in the sale price on the basis of its knowledge of the profit made on a product or service by the disclosing corporation;
    6. the corporation's only public shares are exchangeable shares whose dividend and dissolution entitlements are determined only by reference to the financial performance of the sole parent corporation and the parent corporation will send to all shareholders of exchangeable shares the same documentation that it sends to its own shareholders, and will make all necessary filings with the appropriate securities regulatory authorities.

Dated this space to insert day day of space to insert month, 20space to insert year, at the City of space to insert city, Province of space to insert province.

space to insert signature
Signature - Capacity of space to insert full name.


Schedule D

Model of a decision

In the Matter Concerning the Director Appointed Under the Canada Business Corporations Act

And

The Application of

Name of the corporation)

(hereinafter called the "Corporation")

For an Exemption Under Section 156 of the Canada Business Corporations Act

Exemption

Upon Application by the Corporation under section 156 of the Canada Business Corporations Act (the "Act") to exempt the Corporation from disclosing (indicate which items or statements prescribed in the Regulations), for the financial year ending on or about the (see 5.07 of the policy),

And Upon reading the application documents and being satisfied that the disclosure of such information would be detrimental to the Corporation;

It is Hereby Determined that (name of the corporation) is authorized to ("omit such items from its financial statements" and/ or "dispense with the publication of such prescribed statements"), for the financial year ending on or about the (see 5.07 of the policy).

Dated, this space to insert day day of space to insert month, 20space to insert year.

space to insert full name
Deputy Director

Date modified:

Politique sur la dispense d'une société des exigences relatives à la présentation de renseignements d'ordre financier – Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions, article 156

Table des matières

  1. Énoncé des principes généraux
  2. Cadre législatif
  3. Directives concernant la présentation d'une demande
  4. Information additionnelle
  5. Présentation de la demande
  6. Annexe A - Exemple de documents à déposer au moment de la présentation d'une demande fondée sur l'article 156 de la LCSA

1. Énoncé des principes généraux

  • 1.01 La politique de dispense du 22 septembre 2004 est abrogée et remplacée par la présente politique.
  • 1.02 La présente politique fournit des renseignements dans le but de faciliter la présentation d'une demande au directeur nommé en vertu de la LCSA afin qu'une société soit autorisée à ne pas présenter dans ses états financiers certains postes prescrits ou soit dispensée de présenter certains états financiers prescrits.
  • 1.03 Les exigences prescrites au Règlement concernant la présentation de renseignements d'ordre financier tiennent à ce que les actionnaires d'une société aient accès aux renseignements pertinents à propos de la situation financière de celle-ci. Le directeur accordera une dispense à la société seulement s'il est convaincu que la divulgation des renseignements prescrits serait préjudiciable à la société.
  • 1.04 La présente politique ne lie aucunement le directeur quant à la position qu'il pourra adopter à l'égard d'une demande en particulier. Elle a pour but de décrire la façon dont le directeur voit son rôle relativement au traitement d'une demande fondée sur l'article 156 de la LCSA.

2. Cadre législatif

  • 2.01 L'article 155 de la Loi prévoit en termes généraux l'obligation d'une société de présenter certains états financiers à chaque année. Les postes et la teneur de ces états financiers sont décrits aux articles 70 et 72 du Règlement.
  • 2.02 L'article 70 du Règlement prévoit que les états financiers mentionnés à l'alinéa 155(1)a) de la Loi doivent, sauf disposition contraire de la présente partie, être établis suivant les principes comptables généralement reconnus qui sont énoncés dans le Manuel de l'Institut canadien des comptables agréés.
  • 2.03 Aux termes de l'article 72 du Règlement, les états financiers mentionnés à l'article 155 de la Loi doivent comprendre au moins ce qui suit :
    1. un bilan;
    2. un état des bénéfices non répartis;
    3. un état des résultats;
    4. un état de l'évolution de la situation financière.
  • 2.04 L'article 156 de la LCSA prévoit que le directeur peut, sur demande de la société, autoriser celle-ci, aux conditions raisonnables qu'il estime pertinentes, à ne pas présenter dans ses états financiers certains postes prescrits ou la dispenser de présenter certains états financiers prescrits, s'il a de bonnes raisons de croire que la divulgation des renseignements en cause serait préjudiciable à la société.
  • 2.05 Une société qui ne se conforme pas aux dispositions du Règlement relatives à la présentation de renseignements d'ordre financier et qui n'obtient pas une dispense du directeur contrevient à la LCSA et peut être tenue civilement ou criminellement responsable.

3. Directives concernant la présentation d'une demande

  1. Généralités
    • 3.01 Le critère général utilisé par le directeur consiste à déterminer si la divulgation des renseignements serait préjudiciable à la société si la dispense n'est pas accordée.
  2. Facteurs pris en compte dans l'examen de la demande
    • 3.02 Pour décider si la divulgation serait préjudiciable à la société, le directeur peut prendre en compte les circonstances suivantes, entre autres :
      1. la société se trouverait dans une position désavantageuse dans ses relations avec ses fournisseurs, ses clients ou d'autres personnes;
      2. la société se trouverait dans une position désavantageuse parce qu'elle fait le commerce d'une seule catégorie de produits ou de services et que ses concurrents :
        1. soit ne sont pas tenus de faire une telle divulgation;
        2. soit font le commerce de plusieurs catégories de produits ou de services et divulguent des renseignements d'une manière qui empêche l'identification des renseignements d'ordre financier concernant un produit ou un service particulier;
      3. un concurrent qui ne divulgue pas de renseignements d'ordre financier pourrait calculer la marge bénéficiaire d'un produit ou d'un service vendu par la société et placer cette dernière dans une position désavantageuse en diminuant le prix de son propre produit ou service;
      4. connaissant la rentabilité d'un produit vendu par la société, un fournisseur pourrait augmenter le prix de vente des matières premières vendues à cette dernière;
      5. un client important pourrait demander à la société de baisser son prix de vente sachant combien lui rapporte ce produit;
      6. les seules actions publiques de la société sont des actions échangeables dont le droit à un dividende et les droits en cas de dissolution dépendent uniquement du rendement financier de la société mère unique, et celle-ci envoie à tous les détenteurs d'actions échangeables les mêmes documents qu'à ses propres actionnaires et dépose tous les documents nécessaires auprès des autorités de réglementation des valeurs mobilières compétentes.
    • 3.03 Pour décider si les circonstances justifient l'octroi d'une dispense, le directeur peut soupeser le préjudice que la divulgation causerait à la société et le préjudice que la non-divulgation pourrait causer aux actionnaires qui autrement bénéficieraient des renseignements. Le directeur prend alors en compte de certains facteurs comme :
      1. la teneur des renseignements;
      2. le type d'actionnaires de la société(société fermée / société ouverte);
      3. la question de savoir si tous les actionnaires consentent à la dispense;
      4. la connaissance que les actionnaires auraient de la situation financière de la société malgré la dispense.

        Il convient de souligner que, sauf dans certaines circonstances limitées, le fait que la société doit consacrer une certaine somme à la préparation de ses états financiers ne peut être considéré comme un préjudice causé par la divulgation des renseignements.
  3. Conditions d'octroi d'une dispense
    • 3.04 S'il l'estime indiqué, le directeur peut imposer une ou plusieurs conditions à la société à qui il accorde une dispense.
    • 3.05 Le directeur peut aussi exiger du demandeur qu'il transmette une copie de la dispense aux actionnaires et aux autorités de réglementation des valeurs mobilières concernées.

4. Information additionnelle

  1. Renseignements supplémentaires
    • 4.01 Le directeur peut exiger d'autresrenseignements que ceux qui figurent dans la demande afin d'être en mesure de décider s'il y a lieu ou non d'accorder la dispense à la société.
    • 4.02 Aux termes de l'article 91 du RSARF, le directeur a le pouvoir de demander des renseignements supplémentaires au demandeur ou à des tiers. Dans ce dernier cas, l'article 92 du RSARF prévoit que le demandeur doit recevoir copie des renseignements obtenus et avoir la possibilité de répondre.
    • 4.03 Le directeur n'a cependant pas l'obligation légale de demander des renseignements à la demande de tiers ou de permettre à des tiers de présenter des observations au sujet d'une demande.
  2. Accès aux renseignements contenus dans la demande
    • 4.04 Aux termes de l'article 266 de la Loi, une personne qui a payé les droits requis peut consulter les documents dont l'envoi au directeur est requis par la LCSA, en faire des copies et en tirer des extraits. Les renseignements fournis au directeur au soutien d'une demande de dispense ne sont pas confidentiels puisqu'ils doivent être déposés pour qu'une dispense puisse être obtenue. En conséquence, une demande de dispense est du domaine public.
  3. Infractions
    • 4.05 L'article 250 de la Loi crée une infraction relativement aux documents qui doivent, aux termes de la Loi ou du Règlement, être envoyés au directeur ou à une autre personne et qui renferment des renseignements faux ou trompeurs sur un fait important ou qui omettent d'énoncer un fait important.

5. Présentation de la demande

  1. Format
    • 5.01 La demande doit être accompagnée d'une lettre indiquant la dénomination sociale de la société demanderesse. La demande doit aussi comprendre les renseignements qui sont décrits dans les trois rubriques suivantes : description et détails de la dispense demandée, exposé des faits et exposé des motifs. Ces rubriques sont décrites brièvement ci-dessous ainsi qu'à l'annexe A ci-jointe, dont nous recommandons l'utilisation comme modèle.
  2. Documents
    • 5.02 Voici une brève description des trois principaux documents à fournir :
      1. Description et détails de la dispense demandée : Le demandeur doit décrire la dispense demandée et indiquer qu'il s'agit d'une demande fondée sur l'article 156 de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions (voir le document A de l'annexe A ci-jointe).
      2. Exposé des faits : Le demandeur doit exposer suffisamment de faits et tous renseignements importants qui pourraient influer sur la décision du directeur (voir le document B de l'annexe A ci-jointe). Il devrait particulièrement fournir des détails au sujet des affaires de la société, des actionnaires atteints et des postes ou des états financiers visés par la dispense (c-à-d. leur fonction et importance).
      3. Exposé des motifs : Suivant l'exposé des faits, le demandeur doit fournir des motifs convainquant à l'effet que la divulgation des postes ou des états prescrits en cause serait préjudiciable à la société (voir le document C de l'annexe A ci-jointe).
  3. Renouvellements
    • 5.03 Si le demandeur désire renouveler une dispense qui a été accordée et que les circonstances n'ont pas changé de façon substantielle, il n'est pas nécessaire de remplir une demande détaillée. Une lettre indiquant la dispense qui a été accordée, faisant état du renouvellement et de l'absence de changements substantielles sera acceptée. Si le demandeur souhaite modifier le libellé de la dispense, il devra préciser les changements ainsi que les motifs à l'appui de cette demande.
  4. Date d'entrée en vigueur de la dispense
    • 5.04 La dispense est datée du jour où elle est accordée.
    • 5.05 Aux termes de l'alinéa 89(1)e) du Règlement, la demande de dispense doit être présentée au moins 60 jours avant la date à laquelle les documents relatifs à la dispense demandée doivent être envoyés au directeur. Le paragraphe 89(2) prévoit cependant que, malgré le paragraphe (1), le directeur proroge le délai de présentation de la demande de dispense si le demandeur établit que la prorogation ne causera aucun préjudice.
  5. Durée
    • 5.06 La dispense entre généralement en vigueur le jour où elle est accordée et s'applique pendant un exercice financier terminant à la date de l'entrée en vigueur de la dispense ou à une date ultérieure.
  6. Révocation
    • 5.07 Le directeur ne révoque habituellement pas une dispense sans en aviser le demandeur et lui donner la possibilité de présenter de nouveaux faits et motifs à l'appui de la dispense.
    • 5.08 Une dispense révoquée cesse d'avoir effet à compter de la date de la révocation.
  7. Droits et nombre de copies à déposer
    • 5.09 Les droits prescrits pour une demande de dispense sont de 250 $.
    • 5.10 Un seul ensemble de documents doit être déposé.
  8. Délai de traitement de la demande

    • 5.11 Aux termes de l'article 90 du RSARF, le directeur accorde, dans les 30 jours suivant la réception d'une demande de dispense, la dispense demandée ou envoie au demandeur un avis écrit motivé de son refus.
    • 5.12 Le directeur rend habituellement une décision à l'égard d'une demande dûment remplie et déposée, qui ne soulève aucune question, dans les 15 jours ouvrables suivant la réception de la demande.
    • 5.13 Le demandeur qui souhaite que le directeur examine sa demande de façon accélérée devrait soumettre immédiatement celle-ci à l'attention du personnel du directeur, en expliquant la nature de l'urgence.
  9. Publication
  10. Appel de la décision du directeur
    • 5.15 Le demandeur qui estime avoir subi un préjudice en raison de la décision du directeur d'accorder ou de refuser d'accorder une dispense peut demander au tribunal, en vertu de l'alinéa 246(c) de la LCSA, de rendre une ordonnance enjoignant au directeur de modifier sa décision.

Annexe A

Exemple de documents à déposer au moment de la présentation d'une demande fondée sur l'article 156 de la LCSA


Document A

Affaire concernant le directeur nommé en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions

Et

La demande de

(nom de la société)

(ci-après la « Société »)

Description et détails de la dispense demandée

  1. Il s'agit d'une demande de dispense présentée conformément à l'article 156 de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions afin que la société soit autorisée à ne pas présenter dans ses états financiers certains postes prescrits ou soit dispensée de présenter certains états financiers prescrits, pour l'exercice financier se terminant le (voir 5.06 de la politique).
  2. Les postes ou les états financiers qui, si la dispense est accordée, ne seront divulgués aux actionnaires sont : (postes ou états prescrits par le Règlement).

Document B

Exposé des faits

  1. Le présent exposé fournit suffisamment de faits et tous renseignements importants afin de permettre le directeur de prendre une décision éclairée quant à la dispense demandée :
    1. En général, le cas échéant, des renseignement au sujet :
      1. des affaires de la société;
      2. des postes ou des états prescrits visés par la demande (leurs fonctions et importances);
      3. des actionnaires touchés.
      Et/Ou
    2. En particulier, la liste suivante énumère des faits qui, le cas échant, pourrait être pertinents afin de déterminer si la société subit un préjudice. Indiquez les faits qui s'appliquent, en fournissant les détails nécessaires :
      1. le nom des concurrents, des fournisseurs et desclients;
      2. le fait que la société fabrique ou vend une seule catégorie de produits ou de services et une description de ces produits ou services;
      3. la valeur estimée des revenus bruts et de l'ensemble des actifs de la société pour l'exercice financier qui serait visé par la dispense;
      4. la part de marché détenue par la société et par chacun de ses concurrents;
      5. le nom de chaque concurrent tenu de présenter les mêmes renseignements d'ordre financier que la société et le lieu de sa constitution en société;
      6. la façon dont les concurrents peuvent calculer la rentabilité (marge bénéficiaire) d'un produit ou d'un service vendu par la société (décrire la méthode de calcul avec précision);
      7. le nom des clients qui contribuent de manière importante (au moins 25 p. 100) aux bénéfices nets de la société;
      8. le pourcentage représenté par cette partie des bénéfices, les détails des répercussions que la divulgation aurait sur les ventes à ces clients et l'effet correspondant sur la situation financière de la société;
      9. les données financières à l'aide desquelles le préjudice économique qui serait causé à la société peut être évalué.

Document C

Exposé des motifs

  1. La présente demande est fondée sur l'article 156 de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions, qui permet au directeur d'autoriser la société à ne pas présenter dans ses états financiers certains postes prescrits ou de la dispenser de présenter certains états financiers prescrits, s'il a de bonnes raisons de croire que leur divulgation serait préjudiciable à la société.
  2. La présentation du (des) poste(s) ou état(s) prescrit(s) décrient dans cette demande serait préjudiciable à la société.
  3. La dispense (« ne causerait pas de préjudice » ou « causerait un préjudice ») aux actionnaires.
  4. La dispense devrait être accordée pour les motifs suivants : Notamment,

    1. la société se trouverait dans une position désavantageuse dans ses relations avec ses fournisseurs, ses clients ou d'autres personnes;
    2. la société se trouverait dans une position désavantageuse parce qu'elle fait le commerce d'une seule catégorie de produits ou de services et que ses concurrents :
      1. soit ne sont pas tenus de faire une telle divulgation;
      2. soit font le commerce de plusieurs catégories de produits ou de services et divulguent des renseignements d'une manière qui empêche l'identification des renseignements d'ordre financier concernant un produit ou un service particulier;
    3. un concurrent qui ne divulgue pas de renseignements d'ordre financier pourrait calculer la marge bénéficiaire d'un produit ou d'un service vendu par la société et placer cette dernière dans une position désavantageuse en réduisant le prix de son propre produit ou service;
    4. connaissant la rentabilité d'un produit vendu par la société, un fournisseur pourrait augmenter le prix de vente des matières premières vendues à cette dernière;
    5. un client important pourrait demander à la société de baisser son prix de vente sachant combien lui rapporte ce produit;
    6. les seules actions publiques de la société sont des actions échangeables dont le droit à un dividende et les droits en cas de dissolution dépendent uniquement du rendement financier de la société mère unique, et celle-ci envoie à tous les détenteurs d'actions échangeables les mêmes documents qu'à ses propres actionnaires et dépose tous les documents nécessaires auprès des autorités de réglementation des valeurs mobilières compétentes.

Fait le Champ de saisie de la date 20Champ de saisie de l'année dans la ville de Champ de saisie de la ville, dans la province de Champ de saisie de la province.

Champ de saisie de la signature
Signature - à titre de Champ de saisie du prénom et du nom de famille.


Document D

Modèle d'une décision

Affaire concernant le directeur nommé en vertu de la

Et

La demande de

(nom de la société)

(ci-après la « Société »)

Afin d'obtenir une dispense fondée sur l'article 156 de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions

Dispense

Vu la demande présentée par la société conformément à l'article 156 de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions ( la « Loi ») afin d'être dispensée de présenter (indiquer les postes ou les états prescrits par le Règlement) pour l'exercice financier terminant le (voir 5.06 de la politique),

Et après lecture des documents déposés à l'appui de la demande et étant convaincu que la divulgation des renseignements serait préjudiciable à la société;

Il est décidé que (nom de la société) (« est autorisée à ne pas présenter dans ses états financiers certains postes prescrits » et/ou « est dispensée de présenter certains états financiers prescrits ») pour l'exercice financier terminant le (voir 5.06 de la politique).

Fait le Champ de saisie de la date 20Champ de saisie de l'année.

Champ de saisie du prénom et du nom de famille
Directeur adjoint

Date de modification :