Canada Corporations Act part II - Application for supplementary letters patent - Change of name

Table of contents


Why use this policy?

The purpose of this policy is to help you submit an application for Supplementary Letters Patent to change the name of a not-for-profit corporation under Part II of the Canada Corporations Act (CCA). By ensuring that you provide all the required information with your initial application, you can help Corporations Canada process your application swiftly. If the amendments include changes to other provisions in the Letters Patent, please see the "Application for Supplementary Letters Patent to Amend Provisions of Letters Patent Policy" for information specific to those types of changes.

Caution

This policy is not intended to replace legal advice. You may want to consult with legal counsel or other professional advisors prior to making an application for Supplementary Letters Patent to consider other features that might be desirable in your corporate structure, in your by-laws or to advise you on choosing a name for your corporation.

What does Corporations Canada do?

Corporations Canada will check that your documents comply with the CCA and other requirements, are in proper form, and that the proposed name is acceptable. If so, Corporations Canada will issue Supplementary Letters Patent showing the date of receipt of your application as the effective date. If you prefer, you may instead request a later effective date.

A notice setting out your corporation's amended name and other information will be published in Part I of the Canada Gazette. In addition, Corporations Canada will publish your corporation's amended name on our website in the section "Corporations Canada's Monthly Transactions".

What happens when an application for Supplementary Letters Patent is deficient or incomplete?

Applications that are deficient or incomplete will be returned to the applicant with a notice stating the nature of the deficiency.

What documents must be filed in order to obtain Supplementary Letters Patent?

An application for Supplementary Letters Patent must include a covering letter (see sample in Annex 1) together with the following documents:

  1. Two (2) original signed copies of an application for Supplementary Letters Patent (see sample in Annex 2);
  2. Two (2) certified copies of the supporting special resolution of the members (see sample in Annex 3);
  3. A statutory declaration of an authorized officer, sworn before a commissioner for takings oaths, attesting to the due passage of the resolution (by the directors and the members) (see sample in Annex 4);
  4. A Canada-biased NuansFootnote 1 name search report not more than 90 days old, of the proposed name. Alternatively, Corporations Canada can obtain a name search report for you for $15 per search report. A bilingual name normally requires two (2) searches. If you requested prior approval of your name, attach a copy of the letter from Corporations Canada approving your name with the copy of the Nuans report;
  5. Payment of the $50 filing fee. No fee is payable on an application for Supplementary Letters Patent issued under section 29 of the CCA if the purpose of the change of name is to add an English or French version to the corporation's name.

Nuans Report

You must provide a Nuans search report that will assist Corporations Canada in determining whether the name you are proposing is available. A Nuans report is a five-page document setting out the business names (3 pages) and trade-marks registered in Canada (2 pages) that sound or look similar to the name you are proposing. The list is drawn from a national data bank of existing and reserved trade names as well as trade-marks that have been registered and applied for in Canada.

A Nuans report may be obtained in three ways:

  1. A Nuans report may be requested from a private company known as a search house. You can find a list of these firms on Corporations Canada's website by following the links "Choosing A Name" and "Nuans Registered Search Houses" or in the Yellow Pages of your telephone directory under incorporating companies, incorporation name search, searchers of records or trade-mark agents – registered. There is a fee for this service.
  2. A Nuans report may be ordered online at Corporations Canada's website by following the links "Choosing a Name" and "Nuans Real Time System (RTS)". The system provides direct access to the Nuans search service. Applicants should note that a Nuans report that is generated may be rejected if the proposed name does not meet the requirements of the CCA.
  3. The applicant may request Corporations Canada to obtain the necessary Nuans reports for the proposed name. The fee for this service is $15 a search. Bilingual names normally require two (2) searches.

When you order a Nuans report, that report has a life of 90 days from the date it is requested. A search house can advise you whether your proposed name is likely to be accepted by the Director. The final decision, however, always rests with the Director.

Bilingual Name

If your proposed corporation intends to carry on business in a region or regions where both English and French are spoken, you may wish to consider adopting a bilingual corporate name.

The procedure is the same as for a unilingual name, except that one Nuans report is required for each name or variation requested. For example, two Nuans reports must be filed in order to verify that the phonetically dissimilar English and French forms of a name are both distinctive.

Annex 1

Sample Letter to Corporations Canada for Supplementary Letters Patent Changing the Corporate Name

Date:

Corporate Number:

To: Corporations Canada
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5

Enclosed are:

  1. Two (2) executed copies of an application for Supplementary Letters Patent for space to insert full corporate name(corporate name).
  2. Two certified copies of the special resolution effecting the change.
  3. A statutory declaration of an officer, sworn before a commissioner for taking oaths, attesting to the due passage of the special resolution.
  4. A Nuans name search report not more than 90 days old (please indicate which situation applies):
    • If you requested prior approval of your name: the letter from Corporations Canada approving your name space to insert full corporate name.

      OR

    • If you did not request prior approval of your name: a Nuans® report not more than 90 days old as well as information pertinent to the name space to insert full corporate name.

      OR

    • A cheque payable to the Receiver General for Canada in the amount of $15.00 being the filing fee for searching the proposed name space to insert full corporate name. (Bilingual names normally require 2 searches.)
  5. A cheque made out to the Receiver General for Canada in the amount of $50.00 (except if the purpose of the Supplementary Letters Patent is to add a French or English version to the name).

Signed: space to insert signature

Name: space to insert full name

Address: space to insert address

Telephone Number: space to insert telephone number

Annex 2

Application For Supplementary Letters Patent Changing The Corporate Name

To the Minister of Industry:

The application of space to insert full corporate name(corporate name)

Shows That:

  1. The applicant was incorporated under the Canada Corporations Act by Letters Patent dated the space to insert day day of space to insert month, 20space to insert year.
  2. On the space to insert day day of space to insert month, 20space to insert year, a special resolution was passed by the directors of the corporation changing the corporate name of the applicant to space to insert full corporate name and authorizing an application for Supplementary Letters Patent to confirm this change of name.
  3. On the space to insert day day of space to insert month, 20space to insert year, this special resolution was sanctioned at a special general meeting of the members of the Corporation duly called for the purpose of considering the special resolution.
  4. The proposed change of name is not for any improper purpose and is not otherwise objectionable and is in the interest of the applicant.
  5. The new name is not that of any known corporation or association incorporated or unincorporated or of any partnership or individual or any name under which any known business is being carried on or so nearly resembling the same as to be calculated to deceive (* and, where required by the circumstances: "except that of space to insert full corporate name which has signified its consent to the use of the name").

The applicant therefore requests that Supplementary Letters Patent be granted changing the corporate name of the applicant to space to insert full corporate name.

Dated at space to insert city this space to insert day day of space to insert month, 20space to insert year.

I hereby certify that I have the relevant knowledge of the corporation and that I am authorized to sign and submit this application.

per space to insert full name
Authorized officer (e.g., President)

(Corporate Seal)

Annex 3

Special Resolution

A special resolution changing the corporate name and authorizing application for the issuance of Supplementary Letters Patent to confirm the proposed changes to the provisions of the corporation's Letters Patent.

Be it enacted and it is hereby enacted as a special resolution of space to insert full corporate name(corporate name) (herein called "the corporation") that:

  1. Subject to confirmation by Supplementary Letters Patent, the name of the corporation is hereby changed to space to insert full corporate name.
  2. The Corporation be and is hereby authorized to make application to the Minister of Industry for the issue of Supplementary Letters Patent confirming this special resolution insofar as it relates to changing the name of the corporation to space to insert full corporate name.
  3. The directors and officers are hereby authorized and directed to do, sign and execute all things, deeds and documents necessary or desirable for the due carrying out of the foregoing.

Enacted this space to insert day day of space to insert month, 20space to insert year.

space to insert full name
Authorized officer (e.g., President)

space to insert full name
Authorized officer (e.g., Secretary)

(Corporate Seal)

Certified a true copy of the special resolution of space to insert full corporate name(corporate name) enacted by the directors the space to insert day day of space to insert month, 20 space to insert year and sanctioned by at least 2/3 of the votes cast in favour of the resolution at a special general meeting of the corporation held space to insert date.

space to insert full name
Authorized officer (e.g., Secretary)

(Corporate Seal)

Annex 4

IN THE MATTER OF THE
CANADA CORPORATIONS ACT

AND

IN THE MATTER OF AN APPLICATION
FOR SUPPLEMENTARY LETTERS PATENT

(Name of Applicant Corporation)

Statutory Declaration of Officer

Canada
Province of space to insert province
County of Champ de saisie de la ville

IN THE MATTER OF the application of space to insert full corporate name (name of the applicant corporation) for Supplementary Letters Patent changing the corporate name.

I, space to insert signature, of the City of space to insert city, in the Province of space to insert province, Canada, do solemnly declare that:

  1. I am the space to insert title (title) of space to insert full corporate name(corporate name) and as such have knowledge of the matters herein declared.
  2. At a meeting of the directors of this corporation held at the City of space to insert city, on the space to insert day day of space to insert month, 20space to insert year, the special resolution approving a change of the corporation's name from space to insert full name to space to insert full name, two certified copies of which are hereto annexed was duly passed.
  3. This special resolution was sanctioned by at least 2/3 of the votes cast in favour of the resolution at a special general meeting of the members of this corporation called for the purpose of consideration of the resolution, held at the City of space to insert city on the space to insert day day of space to insert month, 20space to insert year.
  4. The statements in the annexed application are true in substance and in fact and the proposed change of name is bona fide and is considered to be in the best interest of the corporation.

AND I make this solemn declaration conscientiously believing it to be true and knowing that it is of the same force and effect as if made under oath and by virtue of the Canada Evidence Act.

DECLARED before me at the
City of space to insert city,
in the Province of space to insert province,
this space to insert day day of space to insert month, 20space to insert year.

space to insert full name
Authorized officer

space to insert full name
A Commissioner, etc.

Date modified:

Partie II de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes - Demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires - Changement de dénomination

Table des matières


Pourquoi utiliser cette politique?

La présente politique vise à vous aider à présenter une demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires pour modifier la dénomination d'une corporation à but non lucratif en vertu de la Partie II de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes (LCC). En fournissant tous les renseignements requis dans votre demande, vous aiderez Corporations Canada à traiter votre demande rapidement. Si les modifications incluent des changements autres qu'un changement à la dénomination, veuillez consulter la politique « Demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires pour modifier les dispositions des lettres patentes » afin d'obtenir de l'information précise sur ce sujet.

Mise en garde

Cette politique ne vise pas à remplacer les conseils juridiques. Nous vous suggérons de consulter un conseiller juridique ou d'autres conseillers professionnels avant de faire une demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires pour examiner d'autres caractéristiques qu'il pourrait ê tre souhaitable d'inclure dans la structure de votre corporation ou vos règlements. Ces personnes pourraient aussi vous conseiller sur le choix d'une dénomination pour votre corporation.

Que fait Corporations Canada?

Corporations Canada vérifie si vos documents sont conformes à la LCC et à d'autres exigences, s'ils sont présentés en bonne et due forme et si la dénomination proposée est acceptable. Dans l'affirmative, Corporations Canada émet des lettres patentes supplémentaires indiquant comme date d'entrée en vigueur la date de réception de votre demande. Si vous préférez, il est possible de demander une date ultérieure à la date de réception des lettres patentes par Corporations Canada comme date d'entrée en vigueur.

Un avis indiquant la dénomination modifiée ou nouvelle dénomination de votre corporation et d'autres informations sera publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada. De plus, Corporations Canada publiera la nouvelle dénomination de votre corporation dans son site Web dans la section « Transactions mensuelles de Corporations Canada ».

Qu'arrive-t-il lorsqu'une demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires comporte des erreurs ou est incomplète?

Les demandes de lettres patentes supplémentaires comportant des erreurs ou étant incomplètes sont retournées au requérant accompagné d'un avis précisant la nature de l'erreur.

Quels documents doit-on déposer afin d'obtenir des lettres patentes supplémentaires?

Une demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires doit comprendre une lettre de présentation (voir modèle à l'annexe 1), ainsi que les documents suivants :

  1. Deux (2) copies originales signées d'une demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires (voir modèle à l'annexe 2);
  2. Deux (2) copies certifiées de la résolution spéciale des membres à l'appui de la demande (voir modèle à l'annexe 3);
  3. Une déclaration solennelle d'un dirigeant autorisé, faite devant un commissaire à l'assermentation et attestant l'adoption de la résolution (par les administrateurs et les membres) (voir modèle à l'annexe 4);
  4. Un rapport de recherche NuansNote de bas de page 1 sur la dénomination proposée couvrant tout le Canada dont la date ne remonte pas à plus de 90 jours. Il est à noter que Corporations Canada peut effectuer une recherche et obtenir un rapport de recherche Nuans pour vous, moyennant des frais de 15 $ par rapport de recherche. Normalement, une dénomination bilingue requiert deux (2) recherches. Si vous avez fait une demande d'approbation préalable de la dénomination, annexez une copie de la lettre de Corporations Canada approuvant la dénomination ainsi que la copie du rapport Nuans;
  5. Le paiement du droit de dépôt de 50 $. Aucun droit n'est payable pour la demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires émises en vertu de l'article 29 de la LCC si le seul but est d'ajouter une version anglaise ou française à la dénomination de la corporation.

Rapport de recherche Nuans

Vous devez fournir un rapport de recherche Nuans afin d'aider Corporations Canada à déterminer si la dénomination que vous proposez est disponible. Un rapport Nuans est un document de cinq pages qui comprend une liste des dénominations (trois pages) et des marques de commerce enregistrées au Canada (deux pages) qui ressemblent à la dénomination proposée. La liste est établie à partir d'une base de données nationale des dénominations actuelles et réservées ainsi que des marques de commerce enregistrées et demandées au Canada.

Un rapport Nuans peut ê tre obtenu de trois façons :

  1. Un rapport Nuans peut ê tre obtenu en s'adressant à des entreprises privées connues sous le nom de maisons de recherche. Vous pouvez consulter une liste de ces entreprises dans le site Web de Corporations Canada en suivant les hyperliens « Choisir une dénomination » et « Maisons de recherche inscrites à Nuans », ou dans les Pages Jaunes de votre annuaire téléphonique sous les rubriques « corporations, constitution, recherches juridiques, de titres et archives ou marques de commerce - agents agréés «. Des frais sont exigés pour ce service.
  2. Il est possible de commander en ligne un rapport Nuans dans le site Web de Corporations Canada en suivant les hyperliens « Choisir une dénomination et Système en temps réel Nuans (STR) ». Le système fournit un accès direct au service de recherche Nuans. Les requérants doivent savoir que le rapport Nuans généré pourrait être rejeté si la dénomination proposée ne rencontre pas les exigences de la LCC.
  3. Le requérant peut demander à Corporations Canada d'obtenir le rapport Nuans nécessaire pour la dénomination proposée. Les frais de service sont de 15 $ par recherche. Les dénominations bilingues exigent normalement deux (2) recherches.

Lorsque vous commandez un rapport Nuans, ce rapport est valide pour une durée de 90 jours à compter de la date de demande. Une maison de recherche peut vous renseigner sur les probabilités que la dénomination soit acceptée par le directeur. La décision finale repose toutefois en tout temps sur le directeur.

Dénomination bilingue

Si votre corporation envisage de se livrer à des activités dans une ou plusieurs régions où l'on parle tant le français que l'anglais, vous songerez peut-ê tre à adopter une dénomination bilingue.

La procédure est la mê me que pour une dénomination unilingue. Toutefois, il faut produire un rapport Nuans pour chaque dénomination ou variation demandée. Ainsi, il est nécessaire de produire deux rapports Nuans pour vérifier le caractère distinctif des versions française et anglaise d'une dénomination qui sont dissemblables au plan phonétique.

Annexe 1

Modèle de lettre à Corporations Canada pour demander des lettres patentes supplémentaires - Changement de dénomination

Date :

Numéro de corporation :

À : Corporations Canada
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5

Veuillez trouver ci-joint :

  1. Deux (2) copies originales signées d'une demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires pour Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète.(dénomination)
  2. Deux copies certifiées de la résolution spéciale portant sur la modification.
  3. Une déclaration solennelle d'un dirigeant, faite devant un commissaire à l'assermentation et attestant l'adoption de la résolution.
  4. Un rapport de recherche de dénomination Nuans dont la date du rapport ne remonte pas à plus de 90 jours (veuillez indiquer quelle situation s'applique à votre cas) :
    • Si vous avez demandé une approbation préalable de la dénomination : la lettre de Corporations Canada approuvant votre dénomination Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète.

      OU
    • Si vous n'avez pas demandé une approbation préalable de la dénomination : un rapport Nuans qui ne remonte pas à plus de 90 jours ainsi que les renseignements pertinents concernant la dénomination Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète.

      OU
    • Un chèque au montant de 15,00 $ libellé à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada, pour les frais de recherche sur la dénomination proposée Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète. Généralement, les dénominations bilingues exigent deux (2) rapports de recherche.
  5. Un chèque pour les frais de 50,00 $ (en sus des frais de recherche de dénomination NuansMD si la recherche est effectuée par Corporations Canada) libellé à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada (sauf si l'objectif de la demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires est d'ajouter une version française ou anglaise à la dénomination).

Signé : Champ de saisie de la signature

Nom : Champ de saisie du prénom et du nom de famille

Adressse : Champ de saisie de l'adresse

Numéro de téléphone : Champ de saisie du numéro de téléphone

Annexe 2

Demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires - Changement de la dénomination de la corporation

Au ministre de l'Industrie :

La demande de Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète(dénomination)

Expose ce qui suit :

  1. La requérante a été constituée en corporation par lettres patentes en vertu de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes en date du Champ de saisie de la date 20Champ de saisie de l'année.
  2. En date du Champ de saisie de la date 20Champ de saisie de l'année, une résolution spéciale a été adoptée par les administrateurs de la corporation, prévoyant le changement de la dénomination de la corporation pour Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète et autorisant une demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires confirmant ce changement de dénomination.
  3. Le Champ de saisie de la date 20Champ de saisie de l'année, cette résolution spéciale a été adoptée lors d'une assemblée générale spéciale des membres de la corporation convoquée en vue d'examiner la résolution spéciale.
  4. Le changement proposé de la dénomination ne vise aucun but illégal et est de bonne foi et dans l'intérêt de la requérante.
  5. La nouvelle dénomination n'est pas le nom d'aucune compagnie ou association connue, constituée ou non constituée en corporation, société ou particulier ni un nom tel qu'on puisse le confondre avec quelque autre dénomination (*ajouter lorsque les circonstances l'exigent : « sauf celle de Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète qui a signifié son consentement à l'usage de ladite dénomination. »)

C'est pourquoi le requérant demande que des lettres patentes supplémentaires lui soient accordées pour changer la dénomination pour Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète.

Datée à Champ de saisie de la ville en ce Champ de saisie du jour de la semainejour de Champ de saisie du mois20Champ de saisie de l'année.

J'atteste par la présente que j'ai une connaissance suffisante de la corporation et que je suis autorisé à signer et à soumettre la présente demande.

par Champ de saisie du prénom et du nom de famille
Dirigeant autorisé (p. ex., président)

(Sceau de la corporation)

Annexe 3

Résolution spécial

Une résolution spéciale pour changer la dénomination et autoriser la demande d'octroi de lettres patentes supplémentaires pour confirmer les modifications proposées aux dispositions des lettres patentes de la corporation.

Il est adopté comme résolution spéciale de Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète(indiquer la dénomination de la corporation)
(ci-après appelée « la corporation ») ce qui suit :

  1. Que, sujet à confirmation par l'octroi de lettres patentes supplémentaires, la dénomination de la corporation est, par les présentes, modifiée pour Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète.
  2. Que la corporation soit, et elle est par la présente, autorisée à présenter une demande au ministre de l'Industrie pour l'obtention desdites lettres patentes supplémentaires confirmant la présente résolution en ce qui a trait à la modification de la dénomination de la corporation à Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète.
  3. Que les administrateurs et dirigeants de la corporation sont, par les présentes, autorisés à signer, exécuter et faire tous actes, documents et choses nécessaires ou opportuns pour donner effet à la présente résolution.

Adoptée en ce french: Champ de saisie du jour de la semainejour de Champ de saisie du mois 20Champ de saisie de l'année.

Champ de saisie du prénom et du nom de famille
Dirigeant autorisé (p. ex., président)

Champ de saisie du prénom et du nom de famille
Dirigeant autorisé (p. ex., secrétaire)

(Sceau de la corporation)

Attestation de la véracité de la copie de la résolution spéciale de Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète(indiquer la dénomination de la corporation) adoptée par les administrateurs, le Champ de saisie de la date 20Champ de saisie de l'année et ratifiée par au moins les 2/3 des votes en faveur de la résolution lors d'une assemblée générale spéciale de la corporation tenue le Champ de saisie de la date.

Champ de saisie du prénom et du nom de famille
Dirigeant autorisé (p. ex., secrétaire)

(Sceau de la corporation)

Annexe 4

DANS L'AFFAIRE DE LA
LOI SUR LES CORPORATIONS CANADIENNES

ET

DANS L'AFFAIRE D'UNE DEMANDE DE
LETTRES PATENTES SUPPLÉMENTAIRES

(Nom de la corporation requérante)

DÉCLARATION SOLENNELLE DU DIRIGEANT

Canada
Province de Champ de saisie de la province
District de Champ de saisie de l'adresse

DANS L'AFFAIRE de la demande de Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète (nom de la corporation requérante) pour l'émission de lettres patentes supplémentaires relativement à un changement de la dénomination.

Je soussigné, Champ de saisie du prénom et du nom de famille, de la ville de Champ de saisie de la ville dans la province de Champ de saisie de la province, déclare solennellement ce qui suit :

  1. Je suis le Champ de saisie du titre(indiquer le titre) de Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète (indiquer la dénomination de la corporation) et je déclare avoir une connaissance personnelle de la présente affaire.
  2. À une assemblée des administrateurs de ladite corporation, tenue dans la ville de Champ de saisie de la ville le Champ de saisie du jour de la semaine jour de Champ de saisie du mois 20Champ de saisie de l'année, la résolution spéciale approuvant le changement de la dénomination de la corporation, dont deux copies certifiées sont annexées à la présente demande, a été dûment adoptée.
  3. Ladite résolution spéciale a été ratifiée par au moins les 2/3 des votes en faveur de la résolution lors d'une assemblée générale spéciale des membres de la corporation convoquée en vue d'examiner la résolution, tenue dans la ville de Champ de saisie de la ville, le Champ de saisie du jour de la semaine jour de Champ de saisie du mois20Champ de saisie de l'année.
  4. Les déclarations dans la demande ci-jointe sont vraies en substance et en fait et le changement proposé aux lettres patentes est de bonne foi et est considéré dans les meilleurs intérêts de la corporation.

ET je fais la présente déclaration la croyant vraie en conscience et sachant qu'elle a même force et même effet que si elle était faite sous serment et en vertu de la Loi sur la preuve au Canada.

DÉCLARATION faite devant moi
dans la municipalité de Champ de saisie de la ville,
dans la province de Champ de saisie de la province
ce Champ de saisie du jour de la semaine jour de Champ de saisie du mois20Champ de saisie de l'année.

Champ de saisie du prénom et du nom de famille
Dirigeant autorisé

Champ de saisie du prénom et du nom de famille
Commissaire à l'assermentation

Date de modification :