Canada Corporations Act part II – Adding bilingual corporate name

After a corporation is created, you may want to change the corporation's name to include the name in the other official language. An application for Supplementary Letters Patent must be filed to effect such a change. Use the "Application for Supplementary Letters Patent Change of Name Policy" to prepare the application.

A full application for Supplementary Letters Patent is required, including the relevant Nuans search(es) for the new version of the name. However, there is no fee for an application for Supplementary Letters Patent if the purpose of the change is to add an English or French version to the corporation's name. Any fee for Corporations Canada to do the Nuans name search(es) would still be applicable.

It is also possible for a corporation created by a Special Act of Parliament to change its corporate name to include the name in the other official language. Under section 216 of the Canada Corporations Act, the Minister has the authority to provide such a corporation with an English or French form of its name or to alter the English or French form of its corporate name.

Date modified:

Partie II de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes – Modification de la dénomination pour ajouter une version en anglais ou en français selon le cas

Après la création d'une corporation à but non lucratif, vous voudrez peut-être modifier la dénomination pour y ajouter une version anglaise ou française, selon le cas. Pour effectuer cette modification, vous devez préparer une demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires. Veuillez consulter la politique « Demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires – changement de dénomination » pour vous aider à préparer la demande.

En plus de la demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires, vous devez aussi soumettre un rapport de recherche Nuans concernant la nouvelle version de la dénomination. Lorsque la demande de lettres patentes supplémentaires consiste uniquement à ajouter à la dénomination existante une version anglaise ou française, selon le cas, il n'y a aucun droit à payer. Toutefois, les droits pour que Corporations Canada obtienne le rapport Nuans sont exigés.

Il est aussi possible pour une corporation constituée en vertu d'une loi spéciale de modifier son nom pour ajouter une version anglaise ou française, selon le cas. En vertu de l'article 216 de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes, le ministre peut accorder à la corporation une appellation anglaise ou française du nom ou modifier le nom, selon le cas.

Date de modification :