Canada Corporations Act part II - Amendment of general by-Laws

Table of contents


Why use this policy?

The purpose of this policy is to help you submit a request for Ministerial approval to amend the general by-laws of a not-for-profit corporation under Part II of the Canada Corporations Act (CCA). By ensuring that you provide all the required information with your initial request, you can help Corporations Canada process your request swiftly. For additional information on provisions for your general by-laws, please see the "Incorporating a Not-for-profit Corporation Policy" and the "Model By-laws Policy".

Caution

This policy is not intended to replace legal advice. While this policy discusses certain by-law provisions that are not specifically dealt with (neither explicitly permitted nor prohibited) in Part II of the CCA, Corporations Canada can give no assurance that a court would find those particular provisions to be valid under the CCA. Accordingly, you may want to consult with legal counsel or other professional advisors prior to amending your general by-laws.

What does Corporations Canada do?

Corporations Canada will check that your documents comply with the CCA and other requirements and are in proper form. If so, Corporations Canada will issue a letter giving Ministerial approval showing the date of receipt of your request as the effective date. If you prefer, you may instead request a later effective date.

What happens when a request for Ministerial approval of general by-laws is deficient or incomplete?

Requests that are deficient or incomplete will be returned to the applicant with a notice stating the nature of the deficiency. You will receive:

  1. a form letter explaining that upon return of the corrected documentation, Ministerial approval will normally be effective as of the date of receipt which follows the necessary membership approval; and
  2. a checklist identifying the unacceptable provisions with an "X"; and
  3. the original pages to be corrected.

What documents must be filed in order to obtain Ministerial approval?

A request for Ministerial approval of general by-law amendments of a not-for-profit corporation must be in the form of a letter (see sample in Annex 1) specifying:

  1. the exact changes which have been made to the existing general by-laws, or attaching a copy of the amending by-law (see below);
  2. the date on which the amendments were sanctioned by the members in accordance with the existing general by-laws; and
  3. a request for Ministerial approval.

The letter must also attach a consolidation of the existing general by-laws if a number of amendments have been made to the provisions that are now being amended again. There is no fee associated with a request for Ministerial approval of general by-law amendments.

Exact changes to the by-laws

To avoid having the entire set of general by-laws reviewed, it is necessary to send Corporations Canada a set of your general by-laws with the proposed changes clearly highlighted. Alternatively, you may send Corporations Canada the amending by-law to review. This will help Corporations Canada process your request swiftly. If the changes are not clearly indicated or the amending by-law is not provided, then the entire set of general by-laws will be reviewed according to the current policy. This could lead to Corporations Canada discovering a deficiency in the general by-laws in an area that is not part of the proposed changes. In such cases, the deficiency must be corrected before Corporations Canada will issue a letter giving Ministerial approval.

Annex 1

Sample letter to Corporations Canada for requesting Ministerial approval of general by-law amendments

Date:

Corporate Number:

To: Corporations Canada
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5

Option 1

space to insert full corporate name(name of corporation) (the Corporation) has made certain changes to its general by-laws, specifically:

[Insert Changes to general by-laws exactly as set out in the by-law amendment, including section references]

The amendment(s) was / were sanctioned by the members of the Corporation in accordance with the existing by-laws on space to insert date, 20space to insert year.

The Corporation requests Ministerial approval of the above changes, effective (the date of receipt by Corporations Canada of this letter / space to insert date, 20space to insert year).

Option 2

space to insert full name(name of corporation) (the Corporation) has made certain changes to its general by-laws.

Enclosed is copy of By-law No.space to insert number setting out the amendments to the Corporation's general by-laws.

By-law No.space to insert number was sanctioned by the members of the Corporation in accordance with the existing general by-laws on space to insert date, 20Champ de saisie de l'année.

The Corporation requests Ministerial approval of By-law No.space to insert number, effective (the date of receipt by Corporations Canada of this letter / space to insert date, 20Champ de saisie de l'année).

Option 3

space to insert full corporate name(name of corporation) (the Corporation) has made certain changes to its general by-laws.

Enclosed is a copy of By-law No.space to insert number setting out the amendments to the Corporation's general by-laws. Also enclosed is a consolidation of the existing general by-laws of the Corporation, for your files.

By-law No.space to insert number was sanctioned by the members of the Corporation in accordance with the existing general by-laws on space to insert date, 20space to insert year.

The Corporation requests Ministerial approval of By-law No.space to insert number, effective (the date of receipt by Corporations Canada of this letter / space to insert date, 20space to insert year).

I hereby certify that I have the relevant knowledge of the corporation and that I am authorized to sign and submit this application.

Signed: space to insert signature
Authorized officer (e.g., President)

Name:

Address:

Telephone Number:

(Corporate Seal)

Date modified:

Partie II de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes - Modification aux règlements généraux

Table des matières


Pourquoi utiliser cette politique?

La présente politique vise à vous aider à présenter une demande en vue d'obtenir une approbation ministérielle pour la modification des règlements généraux d'une corporation à but non lucratif constituée en vertu de la Partie II de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes (LCC). En fournissant tous les renseignements requis avec votre demande, vous pouvez aider Corporations Canada à traiter rapidement votre demande. Pour en savoir plus sur les règlements généraux d'une corporation à but non lucratif, vous pouvez consulter la politique « Constitution d'une corporation à but non lucratif » et la politique « Modèle de règlements généraux ».

Mise en garde

La présente politique ne vise pas à remplacer les conseils juridiques. Bien que cette politique traite de certaines dispositions réglementaires qui ne sont pas particulièrement abordées (ni expressément permises ou interdites) dans la Partie II de la LCC, Corporations Canada ne peut garantir en aucun cas qu'un tribunal jugerait valide une des dispositions particulières en vertu de la loi. Par conséquent, vous devriez peut-être avoir recours à un conseiller juridique ou à tout autre conseiller professionnel avant d'apporter des modifications à vos règlements généraux.

Que fait Corporations Canada?

Corporations Canada vérifie si vos documents sont conformes à la LCC et aux autres exigences et s'ils sont en bonne et due forme. Dans l'affirmative, Corporations Canada délivre une lettre accordant l'approbation ministérielle, dans laquelle la date d'entrée en vigueur correspond à la date de réception de votre lettre par Corporations Canada. Si vous préférez, il est possible de demander une date ultérieure comme date d'entrée en vigueur.

Qu'arrive-t-il lorsqu'une demande d'approbation ministérielle des règlements généraux comporte des erreurs ou est incomplète?

Une demande comportant des erreurs ou étant incomplète est retournée au requérant, accompagnée d'un avis précisant la nature de l'erreur. Vous recevrez :

  1. une lettre expliquant que l'approbation ministérielle sera émise dès réception des documents / renseignements exigés. L'approbation ministérielle entrera en vigueur à la date de réception des documents / renseignements exigés qui suit l'approbation nécessaire des membres;
  2. une liste de vérification indiquant avec un « x » les dispositions inacceptables;
  3. les pages devant être modifiées.

Quels sont les documents à présenter pour obtenir une approbation ministérielle?

Pour obtenir une approbation ministérielle pour des modifications apportées aux règlements généraux d'une corporation à but non lucratif, vous devez présenter une lettre (voir un exemple à l'Annexe 1) précisant :

  1. les changements exacts apportés aux règlements généraux existants ou une copie des règlements modificatifs (voir plus bas);
  2. la date à laquelle les modifications ont reçu l'approbation des membres conformément aux règlements existants;
  3. une demande d'approbation ministérielle.

La lettre doit également contenir une refonte des règlements généraux existants si un certain nombre de modifications ont été apportées aux dispositions depuis le dépôt de la dernière refonte. Aucun droit n'est perçu pour les demandes d'approbation ministérielle en vue de la modification des règlements généraux.

Modifications exactes apportées aux règlements généraux

Pour éviter que l'ensemble des règlements généraux soit révisé, il est essentiel que vous fassiez parvenir à Corporations Canada une copie de vos règlements généraux; les modifications proposées doivent y être clairement mis en surbrillance. Vous pouvez également choisir d'envoyer à Corporations Canada les règlements généraux modificatifs pour examen. Ainsi, vous aiderez Corporations Canada à traiter rapidement votre demande. Si les modifications ne sont pas clairement indiquées ou si les règlements généraux modificatifs ne sont pas fournis, alors l'ensemble des règlements généraux sera examiné, conformément à la politique actuelle. Cette situation pourrait entraîner la découverte, par Corporations Canada, d'erreurs dans une section des règlements généraux ne faisant pas partie des modifications proposées. En pareil cas, l'erreur devra être corrigée avant que Corporations Canada ne délivre une lettre accordant l'approbation ministérielle.

Annexe 1

Modèle de lettre à Corporations Canada, en vue de demander
une approbation ministérielle pour la modification des règlements généraux

Date :

Numéro de corporation :

À : Corporations Canada
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5

Option 1

Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète(indiquer la dénomination de la corporation) « la corporation » a apporté des modifications à ses règlements généraux, particulièrement :

[Insérer les modifications apportées aux règlements généraux, exactement comme elles sont énoncées dans la demande de modifications aux règlements généraux, ne pas oublier de mentionner les numéros d'articles]

La ou les modifications ont été approuvé(es) par les membres de la corporation le Champ de saisie de la date, 20Champ de saisie de l'année conformément aux règlements généraux existants.

La corporation demande une approbation ministérielle pour les modifications susmentionnées, ayant comme date d'entrée en vigueur le (la date de réception de la présente lettre par Corporations Canada ou Champ de saisie de la date, 20Champ de saisie de l'année).

Option 2

Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète(indiquer la dénomination de la corporation) « la corporation » a apporté certaines modifications à ses règlements généraux.

Ci-joint, vous trouverez une copie des règlements généraux NoChamp de saisie d'un nombre énonçant les modifications qui ont été apportées aux règlements généraux de la corporation.

Les règlements généraux NoChamp de saisie d'un nombre ont été approuvés par les membres de la corporation en conformité avec les règlements généraux existants, en date du Champ de saisie de la date, 20Champ de saisie de l'année.

La corporation demande une approbation ministérielle pour les règlements généraux NoChamp de saisie d'un nombre, ayant comme date d'entrée en vigueur le (la date de réception de la présente lettre par Corporations Canada ou Champ de saisie de la date, 20Champ de saisie de l'année).

Option 3

Champ de saisie de la dénomination sociale complète(indiquer la dénomination de la corporation) « la corporation » a apporté des modifications à ses règlements généraux.

Ci-joint, vous trouverez une copie des règlements généraux No Champ de saisie d'un nombre énonçant les modifications qui ont été apportées aux règlements généraux de la corporation.

La corporation demande une approbation ministérielle pour les règlements généraux NoChamp de saisie d'un nombre ayant comme date d'entrée en vigueur le (la date de réception de la présente lettre par Corporations Canada ou Champ de saisie de la date, 20Champ de saisie de l'année.

J'atteste par la présente que je possède une connaissance suffisante de la corporation et que je suis autorisé à signer et à soumettre la présente demande.

Signature: Champ de saisie de la signature
Dirigeant autorisé (p. ex., le président)

Nom :

Adresse :

Numéro de téléphone :

(Sceau de la corporation)

Date de modification :