Your reporting obligations under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act)

As a federal not-for-profit corporation you must...

Table of Contents

File an Annual Return every year

Please note that this is not your income tax return. This is your corporate Annual Return, and it provides up-to-date information about your not-for-profit corporation. This information is then made available to the public through the Corporations Canada website. Members of the public, financial institutions and many other interested parties rely on this information. You are required to file an Annual Return every year.

Obligations
What Filing an Annual Return
When Within the 60 days following the corporation's anniversary dateFootnote 1
How File through the Online Filing Centre or send your completed Form 4022 - Annual Return to Corporations Canada by email or mail
Fee $20 if you file online or $40 if not filed online

On your Annual Return form, you must provide the date of the corporation's last annual meeting of members.

Helpful tip

It may be more practical for not-for-profit corporations with only a few members to prepare a written resolution rather than to hold a formal meeting. A written resolution is a written record of decisions that is signed by all of the members who are entitled to vote.

File Any Change of Registered Office Address

Your registered office address is the official address for communicating with your not-for-profit corporation. Many people rely on this address. Corporations Canada also uses this address to remind you to file your Annual Returns. A change of registered office address is only effective once it has been accepted by Corporations Canada.

Obligations
What Filing a change of registered office address
When Immediately to effect the change
How File through the Online Filing Centre or send your completed Form 4003 – Change of Registered Office Address to Corporations Canada by email or mail
Fee No fee

Remember

  • Your registered office address cannot consist solely of a post office box;
  • Your registered office address must be within the province or territory that is set out in the articles of your not-for-profit corporation. If your registered office address changes to a place outside of that province or territory, you must first update your articles (see Keep Your Articles Up-to-Date).
  • If you prefer that unofficial documentation be sent somewhere else, you may provide an additional address (e.g., a law firm). If an additional address is needed, please submit the information in writing.

Report Changes Regarding Directors

The directors of your not-for-profit corporation have the power and the duty to manage the activities of the corporation. As a result, interested members of the public have a right to know who the current directors are and where they can be reached. You are required to report any changes regarding directors.

These changes include:

  • the election or appointment of a new director;
  • the resignation or removal of a director; and
  • any change in the address of a current director.
Obligations
What Reporting changes regarding directors
When Within 15 days of the change or, in the case of a change to a director's address, within 15 days of being notified of the change
How File through the Online Filing Centre or send your completed Form 4006 – Changes Regarding Directors to Corporations Canada by email or mail
Fee No fee

Remember

The number of directors must be the same as the fixed number or within the minimum/maximum number of directors that is set out in the articles of your not-for-profit corporation. If the number of directors differs from the fixed number or is not within the minimum/maximum number in the articles, you must first update your articles (see Keep Your Articles Up-to-Date).

File Financial Statements and Public Accountant's Report

This applies only to "soliciting" not-for-profit corporations, which are generally those that receive public donations and/or government grants in excess of $10,000 in a single financial year. Corporations Canada makes the financial documents of soliciting not-for-profit corporations available to the public. You are required to send financial documents every year.

Obligations
Who Soliciting not-for-profit corporations
What Filing copies of financial statements and reports of a public accountant, if any
When Not less than 21 days before each annual meeting of members or as soon as possible after a written resolution is signed
How File through the Online Filing Centre, mail or email
Fee No fee

Keep Your Articles Up-to-Date

Your articles set out basic information about your not-for-profit corporation which is then made available to the public through the Corporations Canada website. You are required to amend your articles if you make changes to the following:

  • the corporation's name;
  • the province or territory in which your registered office is located;
  • the fixed, minimum or maximum number of directors;
  • the classes, or regional or other groups, of members;
  • the restrictions on the activities the not-for-profit corporation may carry on;
  • the statement of the purpose of the not-for-profit corporation;
  • the statement regarding the distribution of property remaining on liquidation; and
  • any other provision included in your articles.
Obligations
What Filing Articles of Amendment
When As soon as the amendment has been adopted by members
How Mail or email your completed Form 4004 - Articles of Amendment to Corporations Canada
Fee $200

Remember

Amendments to articles become effective on the date shown on the Certificate of Amendment that you receive from Corporations Canada.

Send Copies of By-Laws

By-laws set out valuable information about your not-for-profit corporation. Corporations Canada does not review your by-laws but does make them available to the public. In most cases, a by-law is created, changed or repealed by the directors of the corporation and then submitted to the members for confirmation. You are required to send copies of:

  • all new by-laws;
  • any changes to by-laws; and
  • any repeal of by-laws.
Obligations
What Sending copies of by-laws and by-law amendments
When Within 12 months of confirmation by members
How File through the Online Filing Centre, mail or email
Fee No fee

Note

These obligations are all required by the NFP Act. Any not-for-profit corporation that defaults for a period of one year in sending any fee, notice or document required by the NFP Act could be dissolved. Dissolution terminates the existence of a corporation and can have serious legal repercussions, particularly if the corporation is a registered charity under the Income Tax Act.

  • Email
  • Rate
  • Share
Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Vos obligations de déclaration en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL)

En tant qu’organisation à but non lucratif de régime fédéral, vous devez :

Table des matières

Déposer un rapport annuel chaque année

Veuillez noter qu'il ne s'agit pas de votre déclaration de revenus, mais plutôt du rapport annuel de votre organisation, dans lequel vous fournissez les renseignements à jour concernant votre organisation à but non lucratif. L'information recueillie est ensuite mise à la disposition du public dans le site Web de Corporations Canada. La population, les institutions financières et de nombreuses autres parties intéressées se fondent sur ces renseignements. Vous êtes tenu de déposer un rapport annuel chaque année.

Obligations
Quoi Déposer un rapport annuel
Quand Dans les 60 jours suivant la date anniversaireNote de bas de page 1 de l'organisation
Comment Faire le dépôt par l’entremise du Centre de dépôt en ligne ou faire parvenir le Formulaire 4022 - Rapport annuel complété à Corporations Canada par courriel ou par la poste
Frais 20 $ pour le dépôt en ligne ou 40 $ pour le dépôt autrement qu’en ligne

Dans le rapport annuel, vous devez nous fournir la date de la dernière assemblée annuelle des membres de votre organisation.

Conseil pratique

En ce qui concerne les organisations à but non lucratif qui ne comptent que quelques membres, il serait peut-être plus pratique de préparer une résolution écrite plutôt que de tenir une assemblée officielle. Une résolution est un compte rendu écrit des décisions prises et signé par tous les membres ayant droit de vote.

Déposer tout changement de l'adresse du siège

L'adresse du siège de votre organisation est l'adresse officielle utilisée pour communiquer avec votre organisation à but non lucratif. De nombreuses personnes se fient à cette adresse. Corporations Canada se sert aussi de cette adresse pour vous rappeler de déposer vos rapports annuels. Un changement d'adresse du siège entre en vigueur à la date à laquelle Corporations Canada l'accepte.

Obligations
Quoi Déposer tout changement de l'adresse du siège
Quand Aussitôt qu'il y a un changement
Comment Faire le dépôt par l’entremise du Centre de dépôt en ligne ou faire parvenir le Formulaire 4003 – Changement d’adresse du siège complété à Corporations Canada par courriel ou par la poste
Frais Aucuns

Rappel

  • L'adresse du siège de votre organisation ne peut être constituée que d'une case postale;
  • L'adresse du siège de votre organisation doit se trouver dans les limites de la province ou du territoire indiqué dans les statuts de votre organisation à but non lucratif. Si l'adresse de votre siège change pour un endroit situé hors de la province ou du territoire indiqué dans les statuts, vous devez au préalable modifier les statuts de l'organisation (voir la section Maintenir vos statuts à jour);
  • Si vous préférez que la documentation non officielle soit envoyée ailleurs, vous pouvez fournir une autre adresse (p. ex. un cabinet d'avocat). Si une autre adresse est nécessaire, veuillez fournir l'information par écrit.

Déclarer tous changements concernant les administrateurs

Les administrateurs de votre organisation à but non lucratif ont le pouvoir et le devoir de gérer les activités de votre organisation. Conséquemment, la population a le droit de savoir qui sont les administrateurs actuels et comment les joindre. Vous devez déclarer tous changements concernant les administrateurs.

Il peut s'agir de :

  • l'élection ou la nomination d'un nouvel administrateur;
  • la démission ou le retrait d'un administrateur; ou
  • tout changement à l'adresse d'un administrateur actuel.
Obligations
Quoi Déclarer tous changements concernant les administrateurs
Quand Dans les 15 jours suivant le changement ou, lorsqu'il s'agit du changement de l'adresse d'un administrateur, dans les 15 jours après en avoir été avisé
Comment Faire le dépôt par l’entremise du Centre de dépôt en ligne ou faire parvenir le Formulaire 4006 – Changements concernant les administrateurs complété à Corporations Canada par courriel ou par la poste
Frais Aucuns

Rappel

  • Le nombre d'administrateurs doit refléter le nombre fixe ou se situer dans les limites des nombres minimal et maximal d'administrateurs indiqués dans les statuts de votre organisation à but non lucratif. Si le nombre d'administrateurs est différent du nombre fixe ou ne se situe pas dans les limites des nombres minimal et maximal d'administrateurs indiqués dans les statuts de votre organisation, vous devez au préalable modifier les statuts de votre organisation (voir la section Maintenir vos statuts à jour).

Déposer les états financiers et le rapport de l'expert-comptable

Ceci ne s'applique qu'aux organisations ayant recours à la sollicitation, c'est-à-dire les organisations qui reçoivent des donations du public et/ou des subventions d'organismes gouvernementaux excédant les 10 000 $ dans une même année financière. Corporations Canada met à la disposition du public aux fins d'examen les états financiers des organisations à but non lucratif ayant recours à la sollicitation. Vous devez envoyer les documents financiers chaque année.

Obligations
Qui Organisations à but non lucratif ayant recours à la sollicitation
Quoi Déposer les copies des états financiers et les rapports de l'expert-comptable, s'il y a lieu
Quand Pas moins de 21 jours avant chaque assemblée annuelle des membres ou le plus tôt possible après la signature d'une résolution écrite
Comment Faire le dépôt par l’entremise du Centre de dépôt en ligne, par la poste, ou par courriel
Frais Aucuns

Maintenir vos statuts à jour

Vos statuts contiennent l'information de base de votre organisation à but non lucratif, qui est aussi mise à la disposition du public dans le site Web de Corporations Canada. Vous devez modifier vos statuts si vous apportez des changements à l'information suivante :

  • la dénomination de l'organisation;
  • la province ou le territoire où est maintenu le siège;
  • le nombre fixe ou les nombres minimal ou maximal d'administrateurs;
  • les catégories, groupes régionaux ou autres groupes de membres;
  • les limites imposées aux activités que peut exercer l'organisation à but non lucratif;
  • la déclaration d'intention de l'organisation à but non lucratif;
  • la déclaration relative à la répartition du reliquat des biens lors de la liquidation; ou
  • toute autre disposition incluse dans vos statuts.
Obligations
Quoi Déposer des clauses modificatrices
Quand Aussitôt que la modification a été adoptée par les membres
Comment Remplir le formulaire 4004 - Clauses modificatrices et faites le parvenir à Corporations Canada par la poste ou par courriel
Frais 200 $

Rappel

  • Les modifications apportées aux statuts prennent effet à la date précisée dans le Certificat de modification que vous recevez de Corporations Canada.

Envoyer une copie des règlements administratifs

Les règlements administratifs contiennent des renseignements importants au sujet de votre organisation à but non lucratif. Corporations Canada n'examine pas vos règlements administratifs, mais les met à la disposition du public aux fins d'inspection. Dans la plupart des cas, les règlements administratifs sont créés, modifiés ou révoqués par les administrateurs pour ensuite être soumis aux membres dans le but d'obtenir leurs confirmations. Vous devez envoyer une copie de :

  • tous les nouveaux règlements administratifs;
  • toutes les modifications apportées aux règlements administratifs; et
  • toutes les abrogations des règlements administratifs.
Obligations
Quoi Envoyer une copie des règlements administratifs et des modifications apportées aux règlements administratifs
Quand Dans les 12 mois suivant la confirmation par les membres
Comment Faire le dépôt par l’entremise du Centre de dépôt en ligne, par la poste ou par courriel une copie des règlements administratifs
Frais Aucuns

Veuillez prendre note

Ces obligations sont toutes exigées en vertu de la Loi BNL. Toute organisation à but non lucratif qui omet pendant une période d'un an d'envoyer les droits, avis ou tous autres documents requis par la Loi BNL peut être dissoute. La dissolution met fin à l'existence d'une organisation et peut entraîner de sérieuses conséquences légales, particulièrement si l'organisation est un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

  • Courriel
  • Évaluer
  • Partager
Date de modification :