Information for special act of parliament corporations without share capital regarding the new Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act

Introduction

Corporations without share capital that were incorporated by a Special Act of Parliament are subject to the provisions of Part 19 of the new Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act) even though they are not incorporated under the NFP Act.

Note

This document is not intended to replace legal advice.  While it explains the provisions of Part 19 of the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act, Corporations Canada cannot advise you on whether you are subject to Part 19 of the Act or on the interpretation of the Act. Accordingly, you may wish to consult legal counsel or other professional advisors for additional information.

To whom does part 19 apply?

Part 19 of the NFP Act applies to a corporation created by a Special Act of Parliament that does not have share capital (i.e. it is a not-for-profit corporation).

Part 19 of the NFP Act

One of the changes introduced by Part 19 is that a Special Act corporation has all the powers of a natural person. This means that the law treats the corporation for some purposes as if it were a person distinct from its members or owners.

The other provisions of Part 19 require a Special Act corporation to hold annual meetings and to file annual returns with Corporations Canada. Part 19 allows a Special Act corporation to:

  • continue into the NFP Act so that it is no longer governed by the Special Act (i.e., it becomes a NFP Act corporation);
  • change its corporate name without amending its governing Special Act; and
  • voluntarily liquidate and dissolve.

Annual meetings of members

Meetings of members are to be held annually. The annual meeting must be scheduled no later than 15 months after the last preceding annual meeting, but no later than six months after the end of the corporation's preceding financial year.

Annual returns

Annual Returns must be filed with Corporations Canada between March 31st and June 1st each year. Please note that this is not your income tax return; it is your corporate Annual Return (Form 4033 - Annual Return – Special Act of Parliament). The Annual Return updates information on the Special Act corporation, such as its registered office address and the members of the board of directors.

The fee for filing an Annual Return is $40.

Continuing into the NFP Act

A corporation without share capital that was created by a Special Act of Parliament can choose to continue (or "re-incorporate") into the NFP Act and become a NFP Act corporation. Once continued, it will no longer be governed by its Special Act. The advantage of being a NFP Act corporation is that changes can be effected more easily since there are specific rules for amending a corporation's articles and by-laws and for effecting fundamental changes. In comparison, as a Special Act corporation, amending legislation would need to be passed by Parliament to amend any provisions of the corporation's special Act.

Information about continuing into the NFP Act is available from Corporations Canada.

Your corporate name

A corporation may wish to change its name. Part 19 of the NFP Act allows Corporations Canada to issue a Certificate of Change of Name to a Special Act corporation, without the need for legislation to amend the Special Act. The members of the corporation must approve the change of name before such a request can be sent to Corporations Canada. The new name must meet the name requirements under the NFP Act (e.g., a Nuans Name Search Report for the proposed name is required).

Adding the French or English version of the existing corporate name can also be effected with a Certificate of Change of Name.

Liquidating and dissolving

The members of a Special Act corporation can choose to voluntarily liquidate and dissolve the corporation. Dissolution is the legal termination of a corporation or, in other words, the act of ending the existence of a corporation.

To voluntarily dissolve a corporation, the rules in the NFP Act must be followed to obtain a Certificate of Dissolution. The corporation is dissolved as of the effective date of the Certificate of Dissolution.

For more information on how to liquidate and dissolve a corporation, consult the Corporations Canada publication called Dissolving a Not-for-profit Corporation.

Date modified:

Renseignements à l'intention des corporations sans capital-actions constituées par une loi spéciale du Parlement relativement à la nouvelle Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif

Introduction

Une corporation sans capital-actions qui a été constituée par une loi spéciale du Parlement est assujettie aux dispositions de la Partie 19 de la nouvelle Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL) même si elle n'est pas constituée en vertu de la Loi BNL.

Note

Ce document ne vise pas à remplacer les conseils juridiques. Même s'il explique les dispositions de la Partie 19 de la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif, Corporations Canada ne peut vous indiquer si votre corporation est assujettie à la Partie 19 de la Loi ni vous conseiller sur l'interprétation de la Loi. Par conséquent, vous voudrez peut-être consulter un conseiller juridique ou un autre professionnel pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

À qui s'applique la Partie 19 ?

La Partie 19 de la Loi BNL s'applique à une corporation constituée par une loi spéciale du Parlement et qui n'a pas de capital-actions (c.-à-d. une organisation à but non lucratif).

Partie 19 de la Loi BNL

L'un des changements à la Partie 19 porte sur le fait qu'une corporation constituée par une loi spéciale a tous les pouvoirs d'une personne physique. Cela signifie que la loi s'applique à la corporation à certaines fins comme s'il s'agissait d'une personne distincte de ses membres ou de ses propriétaires.

Les autres dispositions de la Partie 19 prévoient qu'une corporation constituée par une loi spéciale tienne des assemblées annuelles et qu'elle dépose des rapports annuels auprès de Corporations Canada. La Partie 19 permet à une corporation constituée par une loi spéciale de :

  • se proroger en vertu de la Loi BNL de telle sorte qu'elle ne soit plus régie par la loi spéciale (c.-à-d., qu'elle devient une organisation en vertu de la Loi BNL);
  • changer sa dénomination sans modifier la loi spéciale qui la régit;
  • se liquider ou se dissoudre volontairement.

Assemblées annuelles des membres

Les assemblées des membres doivent se tenir chaque année. L'assemblée annuelle doit être prévue pas plus de 15 mois après l'assemblée annuelle précédente, mais pas plus de six mois après la fin de l'année financière précédente de l'organisation.

Rapports annuels

Les rapports annuels doivent être déposés à Corporations Canada entre le 31 mars et le 1er juin de chaque année. Il faut noter qu'il ne s'agit pas de la déclaration d'impôt sur le revenu; il s'agit du rapport annuel de la corporations (Formulaire 4033 - Rapport annuel – Loi spéciale du Parlement). Le rapport annuel permet de mettre à jour l'information relative à la corporation constituée par une loi spéciale, comme l'adresse de son siège et les membres du conseil d'administration.

Les droits de dépôt du rapport annuel sont de 40 $.

Prorogation en vertu de la Loi BNL

Une corporation sans capital-actions qui a été constituée par une loi spéciale du Parlement peut choisir de se proroger (ou de se « constituer de nouveau ») en vertu de la Loi BNL et de devenir une organisation en vertu de la Loi BNL. Une fois prorogée, elle ne sera plus régie par sa loi spéciale. L'avantage de devenir une organisation en vertu de la Loi BNL réside dans le fait qu'il existe des règles spécifiques permettant de modifier plus facilement les statuts et les règlements d'une organisation et d'apporter des modifications de structure. En comparaison, une corporation constituée par une loi spéciale doit avoir recours à une loi modificative pour modifier les dispositions de la loi spéciale la régissant.

D'autres renseignements au sujet de la prorogation en vertu de la Loi BNL peuvent être obtenus auprès de Corporations Canada.

Votre dénomination

Une corporation pourrait vouloir changer sa dénomination. La Partie 19 de la Loi BNL permet à Corporations Canada de délivrer un certificat de changement de dénomination à une corporation constituée par une loi spéciale, sans avoir recours à une loi modifiant la loi spéciale. Les membres de l'organisation doivent approuver le changement de dénomination avant qu'une telle demande puisse être envoyée à Corporations Canada. La nouvelle dénomination doit respecter les exigences de la Loi BNL relatives aux dénominations (par ex. un rapport Nuans de recherche de dénominations pour la dénomination proposée est nécessaire).

L'ajout d'une version française ou anglaise de la dénomination existante de l'organisation peut aussi être effectué au moyen d'un certificat de changement de dénomination.

Liquidation et dissolution

Les membres d'une corporation constituée par une loi spéciale peuvent choisir de liquider ou de dissoudre la corporation. La dissolution est la fin légale d'une corporation ou, autrement dit, le fait de mettre fin à l'existence d'une corporation.

Pour dissoudre volontairement une corporation, les règles de la Loi BNL doivent être suivies pour obtenir un certificat de dissolution. La corporation est dissoute à compter de la date d'entrée en vigueur du certificat de dissolution.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur la façon de liquider et de dissoudre une corporation, veuillez consulter la publication de Corporations Canada intitulée Dissolution d'une organisation à but non lucratif.

Date de modification :