Dissolving a not-for-profit corporation

Learn how to prepare a request to dissolve a not-for-profit corporation under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act).

Note

Although the information provided here will assist you in completing the dissolution process quickly and accurately, it is not intended to replace legal advice. You may wish to consult a lawyer or other professional advisor to ensure that the specific needs of your not-for-profit corporation are met.

What is dissolution?

Dissolution is the legal termination of a corporation. In other words, dissolution is the act of ending the existence of a corporation. A corporation is dissolved when a Certificate of Dissolution is issued by Corporations Canada. The effective date is shown on the Certificate of Dissolution.

When can a corporation apply for dissolution?

A corporation can apply to dissolve when it has no property or liabilities. The exception is a bankrupt corporation. Bankruptcy does not end a corporation's existence. A bankrupt corporation can only apply to dissolve three years after the trustee or interim receiver has been discharged.

If the corporation owns property or has liabilities, refer to How can a corporation dissolve if it owns property or has any liabilities?

Do members need to approve the dissolution?

If the corporation has members but no property or liabilities, members can approve the dissolution by special resolution. If there is more than one class or group of members, each class or group must pass a special resolution to authorize the dissolution even if these members are not otherwise entitled to vote.

If the corporation has no members because no memberships were issued, the directors can pass a resolution to authorize its dissolution.

How can a corporation dissolve if it owns property or has any liabilities?

A corporation can be dissolved only when its property has been distributed and its liabilities have been discharged.

There are two ways to proceed:

  1. Liquidation before starting the dissolution process
    The members can pass a special resolution authorizing the directors to distribute any property and discharge any liabilities in accordance with the articles of the corporation and the requirements under the NFP Act. If there is more than one class or group of members, each class or group must pass a special resolution to authorize the dissolution even if these members are not otherwise entitled to vote. The directors must then dispose of any property and liabilities before applying for a Certificate of Dissolution.
  2. Starting the dissolution process before the liquidation process
    If the corporation will cease carrying on business while it is in the process of liquidation, it may wish to apply for a Certificate of Intent to Dissolve. Members must authorize the liquidation and dissolution of the corporation by special resolution. If there is more than one class or group of members, each class or group must pass a special resolution to authorize the dissolution even if these members are not otherwise entitled to vote. The Certificate of Intent to Dissolve serves as public notice that the corporation is no longer carrying on its activities, except to the extent necessary for the liquidation.

    When a Certificate of Intent to Dissolve is issued, the corporation must cease to carry on its activities except to the extent needed for the liquidation. It must also:
    1. notify creditors of its intent to dissolve;
    2. give notice of the intent to dissolve in each province in Canada where the corporation was carrying on activities at the time it sent the Statement of Intent to Dissolve to Corporations Canada;
    3. do all the acts required for the liquidation of property in accordance with the NFP Act and to discharge all the corporation's liabilities; and
    4. distribute the corporation's remaining property among the members according to the articles or the provisions of the NFP Act.
    Once the liquidation process is completed, an application can be made for a Certificate of Dissolution.

Can a corporation decide not to dissolve once a Certificate of Intent to Dissolve is issued?

Yes. The corporation would have to apply for a Certificate of Revocation of Intent to Dissolve by submitting a completed and signed Form 4020 – Statement of Revocation of Intent to Dissolve. (See available instructions.) There is a filing fee.

Once the Certificate of Revocation of Intent to Dissolve is issued, the corporation can resume carrying on its activities.

If the Certificate of Dissolution has been issued, the Certificate of Intent to Dissolve cannot be revoked. However, it is possible to revive the corporation. Please see the document titled Reviving a Not-for-profit Corporation for more information

What documents must be filed to dissolve a corporation?

To obtain a Certificate of Dissolution, a completed and signed copy of Form 4017 – Articles of Dissolution must be submitted to Corporations Canada. (See available instructions.) There is no filing fee.

To obtain a Certificate of Intent to Dissolve, a completed and signed copy of Form 4019 – Statement of Intent to Dissolve must be submitted to Corporations Canada. (See available instructions.) There is no filing fee.

Copies of the directors' resolution or members' special resolution should not be submitted with the application.

Related information

Date modified:

Dissolution d'une organisation à but non lucratif

Apprenez comment préparer une demande de dissolution d'une organisation régie par la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL).

Note

Vous trouverez les renseignement nécessaire pour vous aider à compléter rapidement et correctement une demande de dissolution. Toutefois, ces renseignements ne visent pas à remplacer les conseils juridiques. Vous voudrez peut-être consulter un avocat ou un autre professionnel pour être certain que les besoins spécifiques de votre organisation à but non lucratif ont été considérés.

Qu'est-ce qu'une dissolution?

La dissolution est la cessation légale d'une organisation. Autrement dit, la dissolution met fin à l'existence d'une organisation. Une organisation est dissoute lorsqu'un certificat de dissolution est émis par Corporations Canada. La date d'entrée en vigueur de la dissolution est indiquée sur le certificat de dissolution.

Quand une organisation peut-elle faire une demande de dissolution?

Une organisation peut faire une demande de dissolution lorsqu'elle n'a ni biens ni dettes, sauf s'il s'agit d'une organisation en faillite. La faillite ne met pas fin à l'existence d'une organisation. Une organisation en faillite peut faire une demande de dissolution seulement trois ans après que le syndic ou le séquestre intérimaire aura été libéré de ses fonctions.

Si l'organisation a des biens ou des dettes, voir Comment une organisation peut se dissoudre si elle a des biens ou des dettes?

Les membres doivent-ils approuver la dissolution?

Si l'organisation a des membres mais qu'elle n'a ni biens ni dettes, les membres peuvent approuver la dissolution par voie de résolution extraordinaire. S'il y a plus d'une catégorie ou plus d'un groupe de membres, chaque catégorie ou chaque groupe doit adopter une résolution extraordinaire autorisant la dissolution même si par ailleurs ces membres ne sont pas habiles à voter.

Si l'organisation n'a pas de membres parce qu'aucune adhésion n'a été émise, les administrateurs peuvent adopter une résolution autorisant sa dissolution.

Comment une organisation peut se dissoudre si elle a des biens ou des dettes?

Une organisation ne peut être dissoute seulement lorsque ses biens sont répartis et que ses dettes sont réglées.

Il y a deux façons de procéder :

  1. Liquidation avant de commencer le processus de dissolution
    Les membres peuvent adopter une résolution extraordinaire autorisant les administrateurs à répartir les biens et à régler les dettes en conformité avec les statuts de l'organisation et les exigences de la Loi BNL. S'il y a plus d'une catégorie ou plus d'un groupe de membres, chaque catégorie ou chaque groupe doit adopter une résolution extraordinaire autorisant la dissolution même si par ailleurs ces membres ne sont pas habiles à voter. Les administrateurs doivent alors répartir les biens et régler les dettes avant de demander un certificat de dissolution.
  2. Commencer le processus de dissolution avant le processus de liquidation
    Si l'organisation prévoit cesser ses activités tout en procédant à la liquidation, elle pourrait vouloir faire une demande de certificat d'intention de dissolution. Les membres doivent autoriser la liquidation et la dissolution de l'organisation par voie de résolution extraordinaire. S'il y a plus d'une catégorie ou plus d'un groupe de membres, chaque catégorie ou chaque groupe doit adopter une résolution extraordinaire autorisant la dissolution même si par ailleurs ces membres ne sont pas habiles à voter. Le certificat d'intention de dissolution sert d'avis public à l'effet que l'organisation a cessé ses activités, sauf celles requises dans le cadre de la liquidation.

    Lorsqu'un certificat d'intention de dissolution est émis, l'organisation doit cesser ses activités sauf celles requises dans le cadre de la liquidation. Elle doit aussi :
    1. aviser les créanciers de son intention de dissolution;
    2. donner avis de son intention de dissolution dans chaque province canadienne où elle exerce ses activités au moment où elle a envoyé une déclaration d'intention de dissolution à Corporations Canada;
    3. accomplir tous actes utiles à la liquidation des biens en conformité avec la Loi BNL et régler toutes les dettes de l'organisation;
    4. répartir le reliquat des biens entre les membres en conformité avec les articles ou les dispositions de la Loi BNL.
    Lorsque le processus de liquidation est terminé, une demande de certificat de dissolution peut être faite.

Est-ce qu'une organisation peut décider de ne pas se dissoudre lorsqu'un certificat d'intention de dissolution a été émis?

Oui. L'organisation devra faire une demande de certificat de renonciation à dissolution en soumettant un Formulaire 4020 – Déclaration de renonciation à la dissolution rempli et signé (voir les instructions). Des frais sont applicables.

Lorsque le certificat de renonciation à dissolution est émis, l'organisation peut reprendre ses activités.

Si le certificat de dissolution a été émis, le certificat d'intention de dissolution ne peut être révoqué. Toutefois, il est possible de reconstituer l'organisation. Veuillez consulter le document intitulé Reconstitution d'une organisation à but non lucratif pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Quels documents doivent être déposés pour dissoudre une organisation?

Pour obtenir un certificat de dissolution, un Formulaire 4017 – Clauses de dissolution rempli et signé doit être soumis à Corporations Canada (voir les instructions). Il n'y a aucun frais à payer.

Pour obtenir un certificat d'intention de dissolution, un Formulaire 4019 – Déclaration d'intention de dissolution rempli et signé doit être soumis à Corporations Canada (voir les instructions). Il n'y a aucun frais.

Les copies de la résolution des administrateurs ou de la résolution extraordinaire des membres n'ont pas à être soumises avec la demande.

Renseignements complémentaires

Date de modification :