Reviving a not-for-profit corporation

Learn how to prepare a request to revive a not-for-profit corporation under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act).

Note

Although the information provided here will assist you in completing the revival process quickly and accurately, it is not intended to replace legal advice. You may wish to consult a lawyer or other professional advisor to ensure that the specific needs of your not-for-profit corporation are met.

What is a revival?

A revival allows a corporation dissolved under the NFP Act to be restored to its previous legal position in the same manner and to the same extent as if it had not been dissolved. A corporation is revived on the date appearing on the Certificate of Revival.

A dissolved corporation that is insolvent or bankrupt within the meaning of subsection 2(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA) may be revived. A revival, however, does not change its status under the BIA.

Who can apply for a revival?

Any interested person may apply for the revival of a dissolved corporation. An interested person is:

  • a member, director, officer, employee or creditor of the dissolved corporation, or anyone who, although not one of those listed at the time of dissolution, would be such a person if the corporation were revived;
  • any person having a contractual relationship with the dissolved corporation; and
  • any person with a valid reason for applying for a revival, for example, a trustee in bankruptcy or a liquidator.

Can there be conditions put on the revival?

Corporations Canada may impose conditions when issuing a Certificate of Revival, especially if the applicant is not a director or officer of the dissolved corporation.

Examples of such conditions are:

  • to notify the corporation, its directors and officers and members that the corporation has been revived; or
  • to advise the corporation and its directors and officers to contact Corporation Canada to determine whether the corporation is up-to-date with its reporting obligations under the NFP Act.

If the corporation is not up-to-date with its reporting obligation under the NFP Act and does not remedy the situation, Corporations Canada can dissolve the corporation as early as 120 days after the date the Certificate of Revival was issued. Corporations Canada may consider delaying the dissolution of a corporation upon receipt of a written request with detailed reasons from an interested person.

What process must I follow to revive my corporation?

An application for revival must include:

  1. a completed and signed copy of Form 4015 – Articles of Revival (See available instructions);
  2. a valid Nuans Name Search Report for the corporate name. The Nuans report is not required if the corporation has been dissolved for less than 2 years or had a numbered name;
  3. the filing fee.

Date of revival

The corporation is revived as of the date on the Certificate of Revival. This is usually the date on which Form 4015 – Articles of Revival is received by Corporations Canada. You can request a later date when making an application for revival.

Related information

What happens to the corporation when it's revived?

What is the effect of revival on the corporation?

When a corporation is revived, the rights, liabilities and obligations arising before and after the dissolution are restored to the revived corporation. The corporation is put in the same position as though it was never dissolved. The corporation benefits from, is bound to and is liable for, all acts taken while the corporation was dissolved. Also, any changes to the internal affairs of the corporation are deemed valid. Rights, liabilities and obligations arising before the dissolution are restored to the revived corporation.

Any legal actions dealing with the internal affairs of a revived corporation taken between the time of its dissolution and its revival are valid.

What happens to the corporation's articles when it is revived?

When a corporation is revived, its articles are exactly as they were at the time of its dissolution. Corporations Canada does not accept any documents filed relating to a corporation while it was dissolved. You can obtain a copy of the articles of the corporation as they existed at the time of dissolution by contacting Corporations Canada. There is a fee for copies.

If changes were made to the information contained in the articles of the corporation, this information can be updated by first reviving the corporation and then filing Form 4004 – Articles of Amendment. Please see the document titled Amending the Articles of a Not-for-profit Corporation for more information.

What happens to the corporation's name when it is revived?

The corporation must submit Articles of Revival using the same corporate name it had at the time of its dissolution. If the corporation has been dissolved for more than 2 years, Corporations Canada will review the name again to ensure that it is not likely to cause confusion with a corporate name acquired by another corporation between the date of the dissolution and the date of revival. If this is the case, the Director will assign a numbered name to the revived corporation and the Certificate of Revival will use that numbered name. The corporation can change this name by amending its articles.

Is the corporation number still valid?

The corporation number identifies the corporation in Corporations Canada's system and does not change on revival. This number can be found on the certificate of incorporation, amalgamation, or continuance. It can also be found in the Corporations Canada online database.

What is the status of the corporation's directors when the corporation is revived?

The public record will show the directors of the revived corporation exactly as they were at the time of the dissolution. If changes have been made to the board of directors while the corporation was dissolved, this information must be updated by filing Form 4006 – Changes Regarding Directors after the Certificate of Revival has been issued.

What is the anniversary date for a revived corporation?

The anniversary date of the corporation is important because, the corporation must file its annual return within the 60 days following its anniversary date. The anniversary date of a revived corporation is the date of its incorporation, amalgamation, or continuance. It is not the revival date. The anniversary date can be found on the certificate of incorporation, amalgamation or continuance issued before the dissolution or in the Corporations Canada online database. Please consult the document titled Deadline for Filing of Annual Returns for more information.

Property that became property of the Crown as a result of the dissolution

On the date of a corporation's dissolution, property that had not previously been disposed of (e.g., money, moveable and real property) becomes property of the Crown. When the corporation is revived, that property will be returned to the corporation. However, if some or all of the property received on dissolution has been disposed of by the Crown, the corporation will receive an amount equal to the lesser of:

  • the value of the property at the date it became vested in the Crown, and
  • the amount realized by the Crown from the disposition of the property.

If it is believed that money or property should be returned to a revived corporation, a letter requesting its return must be included with the application for revival. Please note that the request for the return of property or money will not be processed until after the revival of the corporation. The request must include a description of the property in question and any supporting evidence that it was owned by the corporation at the time of its dissolution. In the case of money or moveable property, the request should indicate whether actual possession of it was ever transferred to Her Majesty in Right of Canada.

The request must also enclose a statutory declaration by the applicant stating that:

  1. the applicant is authorized to request the return of the property;
  2. the property was owned by the corporation at the time of the dissolution;
  3. no other person has rights to claim against the property; and
  4. the revived corporation has the right to receive the whole or a part of the property.

If the request is for the return of money, Corporations Canada will determine whether the money should be returned to the revived corporation. If moveable property is involved, Corporations Canada will contact the relevant government department in order to arrange a process for returning any property. The revived corporation is responsible for following up with the appropriate departments.

According to the Department of Public Works and Government Services Act, the Minister of Public Works and Government Services administers federal real property and, accordingly, has the authority to return real property to the revived corporation. A request for the return of such property should be made to Corporations Canada, attaching evidence that establishes that the land was owned by the corporation at the time of its dissolution and has not been disposed of by Her Majesty or otherwise. Corporations Canada will ask the Department of Public Works and Government Services to arrange for the appropriate document returning the property to the revived corporation.

Note that there can be no return of property where possession by Her Majesty was never taken. Instead, Corporations Canada will send a letter waiving any rights to the personal property in question.

What are my obligations after I revive my corporation?

Since it was not possible to file updates while your corporation was dissolved, you will likely need to update your corporation's information with Corporations Canada following the revival. This will ensure that your corporation is in good standing. If it is found not to be in good standing, your corporations may be dissolved by Corporations Canada for non-compliance as early as 120 days after the date on the Certificate of Revival.

Do I need to file an annual return?

To be in good standing, you must file with Corporations Canada, at minimum, the last two outstanding Form 4022 – Annual Returns, along with the filing fee for each year. More information is available in the policy on Deadline for Filing Annual Returns.

What if the registered office address of my corporation has changed?

If there has been a change to the registered office address of your corporation, you must file Form 4003 – Change of Registered Office Address (See available instructions).

If the new registered office address is not within the province or territory set out in the corporation's articles, you must amend the articles of your corporation using Form 4004 – Articles of Amendment. More information is available in the policy on Amending the Articles of a Not-for-profit Corporation.

Do I need to file changes regarding directors?

If there has been a change in the directors or a change in the residential address of a director, you must file Form 4006 – Changes Regarding Directors (See available instructions).

If the number of directors is not within the minimum and maximum range set out in your corporations' articles, you must also amend the articles of your corporation using Form 4004 – Articles of Amendment. More information is available in the policy on Amending the Articles of a Not-for-profit Corporation.

Do I need to file articles of amendment?

You can only file Form 4004 – Articles of Amendment with Corporations Canada after a Certificate of Revival has been issued. You will need to file Articles of Amendment, along with the required fee if you make changes to any of the following:

  • the name of the corporation;
  • the province or territory in Canada where the registered office is situated;
  • the fixed number or minimum and/or maximum number of directors;
  • the statement of the purpose of the corporation;
  • any restrictions on the activities that the corporation may carry on,
  • the classes, or regional or other groups, of members that the corporation is authorized to establish;
  • the statement regarding the distribution of property remaining on liquidation; and
  • any additional provisions set out in the articles.

Can the decision of the director be appealed?

If you are not satisfied with a decision made by Corporations Canada, you may request that the decision be reviewed. This request will need to be supported by a letter providing the reasons for requesting a review, along with any new information. If, following the review, you continue to feel aggrieved by the decision to issue or reject the application or to impose conditions on the revival, you may make an appeal to a court under section 258 of the NFP Act.

Date modified:

Reconstitution d'une organisation à but non lucratif

Apprenez comment préparer une demande de reconstitution d'une organisation en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL).

Note

Vous trouverez les renseignement nécessaire pour vous aider à compléter rapidement et correctement une demande de reconstitution. Toutefois, ces renseignements ne visent pas à remplacer les conseils juridiques. Vous voudrez peut-être consulter un avocat ou un autre professionnel pour être certain que les besoins spécifiques de votre organisation à but non lucratif ont été considérés.

Qu'est-ce qu'une reconstitution?

Une reconstitution permet à une organisation dissoute en vertu de la Loi BNL de recouvrer la situation juridique qu'elle avait précédemment comme si elle n'avait jamais été dissoute. Une organisation est reconstituée à la date qui apparaît sur le certificat de reconstitution.

Une organisation dissoute qui est insolvable ou en faillite selon la définition du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI) peut être reconstituée. Toutefois, une reconstitution ne change pas son statut en vertu de la LFI.

Qui peut faire une demande de reconstitution?

Toute personne intéressée peut faire une demande de reconstitution d'une organisation dissoute. Une personne intéressée est :

  • un membre, un administrateur, un dirigeant, un employé ou un créancier de l'organisation dissoute, ou toute personne qui, bien que n'étant pas l'un des susmentionnés au moment de la dissolution, le deviendrait si l'organisation était reconstituée
  • toute personne liée par un contrat conclu avec l'organisation dissoute
  • toute personne ayant une raison valable de demander la reconstitution, par exemple, un syndic de faillite ou un liquidateur

Est-ce que des conditions peuvent être imposées lors de la reconstitution?

Corporations Canada peut imposer des conditions au moment de l'émission d'un certificat de reconstitution, en particulier si le demandeur n'est ni un administrateur ni un dirigeant de l'organisation dissoute.

Voici des exemples de telles conditions :

  • aviser l'organisation, ses administrateurs, ses dirigeants et ses membres que l'organisation à été reconstituée
  • aviser l'organisation, ses administrateurs et ses dirigeants de communiquer avec Corporation Canada afin de déterminer si l'organisation s'est acquittée de ses obligations en matière de présentation de rapports en vertu de la Loi BNL.

Si l'organisation ne s'acquitte pas de ses obligations en matière de présentation de rapports en vertu de la Loi BNL et qu'elle ne remédie pas à la situation, Corporations Canada peut dissoudre l'organisation aussi tôt que 120 jours après la date de l'émission du certificat de reconstitution. Corporations Canada peut retarder la dissolution d'une organisation sur réception, de la part d'une personne intéressée, d'une demande écrite expliquant en détail les raisons

Quel est le processus pour reconstituer une organisation?

Une demande de reconstitution doit inclure :

  1. un Formulaire 4015 – Statuts de reconstitution rempli et signé (voir les instructions)
  2. un Rapport Nuans de recherche de dénominations valide concernant la dénomination de la société. Il n'est pas requis d'inclure un Rapport Nuans si la société est dissoute depuis moins de 2 ans ou que la société avait une dénomination numérique
  3. les frais.

Date de la reconstitution

L'organisation est reconstituée à la date qui apparaît sur le certificat de reconstitution. Habituellement, il s'agit de la date à laquelle Corporations Canada reçoit le Formulaire 4015 – Statuts de reconstitution. Vous pouvez demander une date ultérieure à la date de réception au moment de faire la demande de reconstitution.

Renseignements complémentaires

Qu'advient-il de l'organisation lorsqu'elle est reconstituée?

Quelles sont les répercussions de la reconstitution pour l'organisation?

Lorsqu'une organisation est reconstituée, celle-ci recouvre les droits, les dettes et les obligations qu'elle avait avant ou après la dissolution. L'organisation se retrouve dans la même situation juridique comme si elle n'avait jamais été dissoute. L'organisation bénéficie, est responsable et est liée par toutes les activités entreprises durant la période où elle était dissoute. Aussi, tout changement dans les affaires internes de l'organisation est réputé valide. Les droits, responsabilités et les obligations acquis avant la dissolution sont restitués à l'organisation reconstituée.

Toute action en justice concernant les affaires internes de l'organisation reconstituée intentée entre le moment de la dissolution et celui de sa reconstitution est valide.

Qu'advient-il des statuts de l'organisation lorsqu'elle est reconstituée?

Lorsqu'une organisation est reconstituée, ses statuts sont exactement les mêmes qu'au moment de sa dissolution. Corporations Canada n'accepte pas le dépôt de documents relatifs à l'organisation lorsque celle-ci est dissoute. Vous pouvez obtenir une copie des statuts de l'organisation tels qu'ils existaient au moment de la dissolution, moyennant certains frais, en communiquant avec Corporations Canada.

Si des changements ont été apportés aux renseignements contenus dans les statuts de l'organisation, ces renseignements peuvent être mis à jour en reconstituant d'abord l'organisation et en déposant ensuite le Formulaire 4004 – Clauses modificatrices. Veuillez consulter le document intitulé Modification des statuts d'une organisation à but non lucratif pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Qu'advient-il de la dénomination de l'organisation lorsqu'elle est reconstituée?

L'organisation doit soumettre les statuts de reconstitution en utilisant la même dénomination que celle qu'elle avait au moment de sa dissolution. Si la société est dissoute depuis plus de 2 ans, Corporations Canada réexaminera la dénomination pour s'assurer qu'elle ne risque pas de porter à confusion avec la dénomination acquise par une autre organisation entre la date de la dissolution et la date de la reconstitution. Si tel est le cas, le directeur attribuera une dénomination numérique à l'organisation reconstituée et le certificat de reconstitution portera cette dénomination numérique. L'organisation peut changer cette dénomination en modifiant ses statuts.

Le numéro de l'organisation est-il encore valide?

Le numéro de l'organisation identifie l'organisation dans le système de Corporations Canada et il ne change pas au moment de la reconstitution. Ce numéro se trouve sur le certificat de constitution, de fusion ou de prorogation. Il se trouve également dans la base de données en ligne de Corporations Canada.

Quel est le statut des administrateurs de l'organisation lorsque l'organisation est reconstituée?

Le livre public contiendra la liste des administrateurs de l'organisation reconstituée exactement telle qu'elle était au moment de la dissolution. Si des changements ont été apportés au conseil d'administration pendant que l'organisation était dissoute, les renseignements doivent être mis à jour en déposant le Formulaire 4006 – Changements concernant les administrateurs, après que le certificat de reconstitution aura été émis.

Quelle est la date anniversaire d'une organisation reconstituée?

La date anniversaire de l'organisation est importante puisque l'organisation doit déposer son rapport annuel dans les 60 jours suivant sa date anniversaire. La date anniversaire d'une organisation reconstituée est la date de sa constitution, de sa fusion ou de sa prorogation. Il ne s'agit pas de la date de reconstitution. La date anniversaire se trouve sur le certificat de constitution, de fusion ou de prorogation émis avant la dissolution ou dans la base de données en ligne de Corporations Canada. Veuillez consulter le document intitulé Date limite pour le dépôt du rapport annuel pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Biens dévolus à la Couronne à la suite de la dissolution

À la date de la dissolution d'une organisation, les biens qui n'ont pas déjà été répartis (par ex., de l'argent, des biens meubles et des biens immobiliers) sont dévolus à la Couronne. Lorsque l'organisation est reconstituée, ces biens seront restitués à l'organisation. Toutefois, si une partie ou la totalité des biens reçus au moment de la dissolution a été répartie par la Couronne, l'organisation recevra une somme correspondant au moins élevé des montants suivants :

  • la valeur de ces biens à la date de leur dévolution à la Couronne,
  • le produit tiré par la Couronne de la disposition des biens.

S'il y a raison de croire que des sommes d'argent ou des biens devraient être restitués à une organisation reconstituée, une lettre demandant la restitution doit accompagner la demande de reconstitution. Veuillez noter que la demande de restitution de biens ou de sommes d'argent ne sera traitée qu'après la reconstitution de l'organisation. La demande doit comprendre une description des biens en question avec preuve à l'appui qu'ils étaient la propriété de l'organisation au moment de sa dissolution. Dans le cas de sommes d'argent ou de biens meubles, il faut indiquer dans la demande si la possession effective de ceux-ci a été, à un moment donné, transférée à Sa Majesté du chef du Canada.

La demande doit aussi inclure une déclaration solennelle du demandeur à l'effet que :

  1. le demandeur est autorisé à demander la restitution des biens;
  2. les biens étaient la propriété de l'organisation au moment de sa dissolution;
  3. aucune autre personne ne peut réclamer les biens;
  4. l'organisation reconstituée est en droit de recevoir une partie ou la totalité des biens.

S'il s'agit de sommes d'argent, Corporations Canada déterminera si elles doivent être restituées à l'organisation reconstituée. S'il est question de biens meubles, Corporations Canada communiquera avec le ministère approprié afin d'enclencher le processus de restitution de quelque bien que ce soit. L'organisation reconstituée est responsable de faire le suivi avec les ministères appropriés.

Selon la Loi sur le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux, le ministre des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux gère les biens immobiliers fédéraux et, par conséquent, il a l'autorité de restituer les biens immobiliers à l'organisation reconstituée. Une demande de restitution de tels biens devrait être faite à Corporations Canada, accompagnée de la preuve démontrant que le terrain était la propriété de l'organisation au moment de sa dissolution et qu'il n'a pas fait l'objet de disposition par Sa Majesté ou autrement. Corporations Canada demandera au ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux de préparer les documents appropriés pour assurer la restitution des biens à l'organisation reconstituée.

Il est à noter que Sa Majesté ne peut restituer des biens dont elle n'a jamais eu la possession effective. Corporations Canada enverra plutôt une lettre faisant état de la renonciation aux droits sur le bien personnel en question.

Quelles sont les obligations de l'organisation après sa reconstitution ?

Étant donné qu'il est impossible de déposer des mises à jour lorsque l'organisation est dissoute, vous aurez vraisemblablement à mettre à jour les renseignements relatifs à l'organisation auprès de Corporations Canada à la suite de la reconstitution. Vous pourrez ainsi vous assurer que l'organisation est en conformité. Si elle n'est pas en conformité, votre organisation peut être dissoute par Corporations Canada pour des raisons de non conformité aussi tôt que 120 jours après la date de l'émission du certificat de reconstitution.

Dois-je déposer un rapport annuel?

Pour être en conformité, l'organisation doit déposer auprès de Corporations Canada, au minimum, les deux derniers formulaires 4022 – Rapport annuel qui n'ont pas été déposés, accompagnés des frais pour chaque année. Vous trouverez plus de renseignements dans la politique sur la Date limite pour le dépôt du rapport annuel.

Qu'advient-il si l'adresse du siège de l'organisation a changé?

Si l'adresse du siège de l'organisation a changé, vous devez déposer le Formulaire 4003 – Changement d'adresse du siège (voir les instructions).

Si la nouvelle adresse du siège n'est pas dans la province ou le territoire indiqué dans les statuts de l'organisation, vous devez modifier les statuts de l'organisation en utilisant le Formulaire 4004 – Clauses modificatrices. Vous trouverez plus de renseignements dans la politique sur les Modification des statuts d'une organisation à but non lucratif.

Dois-je déposer les changements concernant les administrateurs?

Si des changements concernant les administrateurs ou l'adresse résidentielle d'un administrateur ont été apportés, vous devez déposer le Formulaire 4006 – Changements concernant les administrateurs (voir les instructions).

Si le nombre d'administrateurs ne se situe pas entre le minimum et le maximum établis dans les statuts de votre organisation, vous devez aussi modifier les statuts de votre organisation en utilisant le Formulaire 4004 – Clauses modificatrices. Vous trouverez plus de renseignements dans la politique sur les Modification des statuts d'une organisation à but non lucratif.

Dois-je déposer les Clauses modificatrices?

Vous ne pouvez déposer le Formulaire 4004 – Clauses modificatrices auprès de Corporations Canada qu'après l'émission d'un certificat de reconstitution. Vous devrez déposer les clauses modificatrices, accompagnées des frais si vous apportez des changements à l'un des éléments suivants :

  • la dénomination de l'organisation;
  • la province ou le territoire au Canada où est maintenu le siège de l'organisation;
  • le nombre fixe ou le nombre minimal et / ou le nombre maximal d'administrateurs;
  • la déclaration d'intention de l'organisation;
  • les limites imposées aux activités de l'organisation;
  • les catégories, groupes régionaux ou autres groupes de membres que l'organisation est autorisée à établir;
  • la déclaration relative à la répartition du reliquat des biens lors de la liquidation;
  • toutes autres dispositions incluses dans les statuts de l'organisation.

La décision du directeur peut-elle être révisée?

Si vous n'êtes pas satisfait de la décision prise par Corporations Canada, vous pouvez demander que la décision soit révisée. Vous devez présenter une lettre exposant vos motifs et fournissant tous nouveaux renseignements. Si, à la suite de la révision, vous continuez de vous estimer lésé par la décision d'acquiescer ou non à la demande ou d'imposer des conditions à la reconstitution, vous pouvez demander au tribunal, en vertu de l'article 258 de la Loi BNL, de revoir la décision du directeur.

Date de modification :