Information on NFP Act exemptions

The Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act) contains some exemptions that can affect the way a corporation fulfills its obligations.

An exemption is an official decision made by the Director appointed under the NFP Act that frees a corporation from having to comply with a particular requirement of the Act.

A corporation can only be exempted...

  • from specific requirements, and
  • only if it meets the required criteria of the exemption.

There are nine exemptions in the NFP Act:

  1. Deeming a corporation non-soliciting

    Consult the Deeming a Corporation Non-soliciting policy for further information.

  2. Restricting access to corporate records

    Consult the Exemption to Restrict Access to Corporate Documents policy for further information.

  3. Authorization to extend the time for calling an annual meeting

    Section 61 of the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Regulations (the “Regulations”) requires annual meetings of members to be called within specific time frames. The directors of a corporation must call an annual meeting of members within 18 months of becoming an NFP Act corporation. After its first annual meeting, a corporation must call annual meetings no later than 15 months after the last annual meeting and no later than 6 months after its financial year-end.

    There may be situations when allowing a corporation to have more time to call a meeting would be acceptable. In these cases, section 160(2) of the NFP Act states that the Director may authorize a corporation to extend the time for calling an annual meeting as long as the members will not be prejudiced.

  4. Authorization relating to method of giving notice of annual meetings

    Before a members’ meeting, a corporation has to notify members who are entitled to vote of the time and place of the meeting. The method for giving notice has to be set out in the corporation’s by-laws. Methods are limited to those listed in section 63 of the Regulations (for ex., by mail, by telephone, etc.).

    There may be times when allowing a corporation to give notice to members in a way that is not listed in the Regulations, or in a way that is not set out in its by-laws, is acceptable. In these cases, section 162(5) of the NFP Act states that the Director may authorize a corporation to give notice of the meeting to members in another manner as long as the members will not be prejudiced.

  5. Authorization relating to absentee voting methods

    A corporation’s by-laws can state how members who are not attending a members’ meeting can vote. Voting methods are limited to the choices listed in section 74 of the Regulations (for ex., voting by proxy or mailed-in ballot).

    There may be other methods of absentee voting that would be acceptable. In these cases, section 171(2) of the NFP Act states that the Director may authorize a corporation to permit members to vote by another method as long as the members and the corporation will not be prejudiced.

  6. Exemption from financial disclosure requirements

    Part 11 of the NFP Act contains the different requirements that relate to a corporation’s financial disclosure. For example, section 175 requires a corporation to send annual financial statements to members.

    There may be times when allowing a corporation to disregard one of these requirements is acceptable. In these cases, section 173 of the NFP Act states that the Director may exempt a corporation from any requirement in Part 11 when the detriment caused to the corporation by that requirement outweighs the benefit.

  7. Deeming the gross annual revenues of a soliciting corporation

    Consult the Deeming the Gross Annual Revenues of a Soliciting Corporation policy for further information.

  8. Exemption from electronic document requirements

    There are various requirements in Part 17 of the NFP Act relating to a corporation’s use of electronic documents to communicate with members, directors and creditors. For example, section 266 states that a person must consent to receive information electronically.

    There may be situations when allowing a corporation to be freed from one of these requirements is acceptable. In these cases, section 271 of the NFP Act states that the Director may exempt a corporation from any electronic document requirement as long as the members will not be prejudiced.

  9. Exemption from trust indenture requirements

    A corporation can issue debt obligations (for ex., a bond or a debenture) under a trust indenture. If those debt obligations are part of a distribution to the public, the trust indenture has to comply with certain requirements (for ex., who can act as trustee, a trustee’s duties, etc.). The requirements for trust indentures are found in Part 7 of the NFP Act.

    There may be another law with requirements for trust indentures similar to those of the NFP Act that would make complying with the requirements of the NFP Act duplicative. In cases where a trust indenture, the debt obligations issued under it, and the security interests effected by it are subject to a law of a province or country that is largely the same as the NFP Act, section 104(3) states that the Director may exempt the trust indenture from the NFP Act requirements.

Before applying for an exemption

Date modified:

Information sur les dispenses relatives à la Loi BNL

La Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL) contient certaines dispenses pouvant influer sur la façon dont une organisation assume ses obligations.

Une dispense est une décision officielle prise par le directeur nommé aux termes de la Loi BNL qui dispense une organisation d’avoir à respecter une exigence déterminée de la Loi BNL.

Une organisation ne peut être dispensée…

  • que d’exigences déterminées,
  • et seulement si elle satisfait aux critères pour la dispense.

La Loi BNL contient neuf dispenses :

  1. Décision pour qu’une organisation ne soit pas considérée comme ayant recours à la sollicitation

    Consulter la politique sur la Décision pour qu’une organisation ne soit pas considérée comme ayant recours à la sollicitation pour plus d’information.

  2. Autorisation pour limiter l’accès aux livres d’une organisation

    Consulter la politique sur l’Autorisation pour limiter l’accès aux livres d’une organisation pour plus d’information.

  3. Autorisation pour proroger les délais pour convoquer l’assemblée annuelle

    L’article 61 du Règlement sur les organisations à but non lucratif de régime fédéral (le « Règlement ») exige que les assemblées annuelles soient convoquées dans des délais déterminés. Les administrateurs d’une organisation doivent convoquer une assemblée annuelle dans un délai de 18 mois après qu’elle soit devenue une organisation au titre de la Loi BNL. Après sa première assemblée annuelle, une organisation doit convoquer les assemblées annuelles au plus tard 15 mois après la dernière assemblée annuelle et au plus tard 6 mois après la fin de son dernier exercice financier.

    Il peut cependant advenir des situations où il est acceptable de permettre à une organisation de disposer de plus de temps pour convoquer une assemblée. En pareils cas, le paragraphe 160(2) de la Loi BNL stipule que le directeur peut autoriser une organisation à proroger le délai pour convoquer une assemblée annuelle, s’il estime que cela ne portera pas préjudice aux membres.

  4. Autorisation relativement à la méthode pour aviser les membres de l’assemblée annuelle

    Avant une assemblée des membres, une organisation doit aviser les membres habiles à voter de l’heure et du lieu de l’assemblée. La méthode pour aviser les membres doit être décrite dans les règlements administratifs de l’organisation. Ces méthodes se limitent à celles énumérées à l’article 63 du Règlement (p. ex. par la poste, par téléphone, etc.).

    Il peut advenir des situations où il est acceptable de permettre à une organisation d’aviser les membres d’une manière non énumérée dans le Règlement, ou d’une manière non établie dans les règlements administratifs de l’organisation. En pareils cas, le paragraphe 162(5) de Loi BNL précise que le directeur peut autoriser une organisation à aviser les membres d’une assemblée annuelle de quelque façon que ce soit, s’il estime que cela ne leur portera pas préjudice.

  5. Autorisation relativement aux méthodes de vote pour les membres absents

    Les règlements administratifs d’une organisation peuvent préciser la façon dont les membres non présents à une assemblée peuvent voter. Ces méthodes de vote se limitent à celles énumérées à l’article 74 du Règlement (p. ex. vote par procuration ou vote par la poste).

    Il se pourrait que d’autres méthodes de vote pour les membres absents soient acceptables. En pareils cas, le paragraphe 171(2) de la Loi BNL stipule que le directeur peut autoriser une organisation à permettre aux membres de voter par une autre méthode, s’il estime que cela ne portera pas préjudice ni aux membres ni à l’organisation.

  6. Dispense des exigences relevant de la divulgation financière

    La partie 11 de la Loi BNL contient diverses obligations d’une organisation concernant la divulgation financière. Par exemple, l’article 175 exige qu’une organisation envoie des états financiers annuels aux membres.

    Il peut cependant advenir des situations où il est acceptable pour une organisation de ne pas respecter l’une de ces obligations. En pareils cas, l’article 173 de la Loi BNL précise que le directeur peut dispenser une organisation de toute exigence de la partie 11 s’il a de bonnes raisons de croire que les inconvénients pour l’organisation qui découlent du respect de l’obligation l’emportent sur les avantages.

  7. Décision concernant les revenus annuels bruts d’une organisation ayant recours à la sollicitation

    Consulter la politique sur la Décision concernant les revenus bruts d’une organisation ayant recours à la sollicitation pour plus d’information.

  8. Dispense des exigences liées aux documents électroniques

    La partie 17 de la Loi BNL contient diverses exigences liées à l’utilisation des documents électroniques par une organisation pour communiquer avec les membres, les administrateurs et les créanciers. Par exemple, l’article 266 stipule qu’une personne doit consentir à recevoir l’information de manière électronique.

    Il peut cependant advenir des situations où il est acceptable de permettre à une organisation de ne pas respecter l’une de ces obligations. En pareils cas, l’article 271 de la Loi BNL précise que le directeur peut dispenser une organisation de toute exigence liée aux documents électroniques, s’il estime que cela ne portera pas préjudice aux membres.
  9. Dispense des exigences liées aux actes de fiducie

    Une organisation peut émettre des titres de créance (p. ex. une obligation ou débenture) en vertu d’un acte de fiducie. Si ces titres de créance sont émis au public, l’acte de fiducie doit respecter certaines exigences (p. ex. qui assumera le rôle de fiduciaire, les fonctions du fiduciaire, etc.). Les obligations relatives aux actes de fiducie figurent à la partie 7 de la Loi BNL.

    Il peut exister une autre loi contenant des exigences en matière d’acte de fiducie semblables à celles de la Loi BNL, qui feraient en sorte qu’il serait redondant de satisfaire aux exigences de la Loi BNL. Lorsque, pour un acte de fiducie, les titres de créance connexes et la réalisation de la sécurité constituée au titre de cet acte sont assujettis à une loi d’une province ou d’un État qui est en majeure partie la même que la Loi BNL, le paragraphe 104(3) stipule que le directeur peut dispenser l’acte de fiducie des exigences de la Loi BNL.

Avant de demander une dispense

Date de modification :