Extending the time for calling an annual meeting of members

This policy sets out information about applying to the Director appointed under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act) to extend the time for calling an annual meeting of members. It will help you:

  • understand when your corporation must call its annual meeting
  • decide if your corporation should apply to extend the time for calling the meeting.

Note

This policy provides information and sets out guidelines. It is not intended to be a binding statement of the decision that will be made in any particular case nor is it meant to replace legal advice. Consider consulting a lawyer or another professional to ensure that your particular needs are being addressed when applying.

Annual meetings

A corporation must call an annual meeting of members every year. The NFP Act and the Canada Not-for-profit Regulations (NFP Regulations) set out the time frames within which a corporation must call an annual meeting.

It is important that a corporation call an annual meeting every year and in a timely manner because it will:

  • ensure that members can make governance decisions based on current information
  • ensure transparency and disclosure
  • give members the confidence to continue to support the corporation.

A corporation is required to call an annual meeting within 18 months of the date the corporation comes into existence. After that, an annual meeting must be called no later than 15 months after the previous annual meeting and no later than 6 months after the corporation’s preceding financial year-end.

There may be circumstances where it would be detrimental to a corporation to call an annual meeting of members within the time frames mentioned above. In such cases, the corporation can apply to extend the time for calling the meeting (refer to paragraph 160(2) of the NFP Act).

The Director has the power to extend the time for calling the meeting, as long as the Director reasonably believes that members will not be prejudiced. However, the Director does not have the power to exempt a corporation from the obligation of calling an annual meeting of members altogether.

Why a corporation would apply for this exemption

A corporation may consider applying for this exemption when it would be detrimental to a corporation to call an annual meeting of members within the prescribed time frames. This detriment can relate to one financial year or multiple financial years. The Director evaluates the detriment on a case-by-case basis.

For example, it could be impractical for a corporation that is about to go through an internal reorganization to call the annual meeting of members within the prescribed time frames before the reorganization is complete.

Another example where it may be detrimental to a corporation to call an annual meeting of members within the prescribed time frames is when its annual meeting has historically been scheduled after the annual meetings of related corporations have been held. This accommodation results in the annual meeting falling outside of the prescribed time frames.

When a corporation can apply for this exemption

A corporation must apply at least 30 days before the day on which the notice of the time and place of the meeting is to be given to members (refer to paragraph 89(2)(b) of the NFP Regulations). All applications are reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

How long an exemption is effective

An exemption to extend the time for calling an annual meeting of members is typically effective for one financial year. However, there may be circumstances where a multi-year exemption is warranted. In those cases, the exemption is effective for the period indicated on the exemption.

Review of an application

When evaluating an application to extend the time for calling an annual meeting of members, the Director will assess the reasons for the application and the potential prejudice to members. The potential prejudice is assessed by asking the following question:

  • Would extending the time for calling an annual meeting of members be prejudicial to members?

The Director will consider there to be little or no prejudice to members in situations where:

  • members still have access to the required current information; for example, a corporation provides its annual financial statements (refer to paragraph 172(1) of the NFP Act) to members within 6 months of its previous financial year-end, as well as its interim financial statements for the particular ongoing financial year
  • the corporation gives sufficient disclosure to its members of the extension and how it affects their rights under the NFP Act; for example, a corporation informs its members of the exemption as soon as possible after its issuance, and
  • members support extending the time for calling an annual meeting by passing a special resolution before applying and, for multi-year extensions, at annual meetings for each year that is covered by the exemption.

What information must be included in the application

An application must clearly set out:

  • when the annual meeting is required to be called according to the NFP Act and NFP Regulations
  • when the corporation proposes to call the annual meeting
  • why the meeting cannot be called within the required time frames and the nature of the detriment to the corporation if the meeting were called within the required time frames, and
  • how extending the time for calling an annual meeting would cause little or no prejudice to the members of the corporation.

Issuing an exemption

If the exemption is issued, the corporation will receive an exemption to extend the time for calling an annual meeting of members on any terms that the Director thinks fit.

Renewing an exemption

There could be circumstances where a renewal is required. Renewal applications are reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

Additional information about decisions made by the Director appointed under the NFP Act

Date modified:

Prolongation des délais pour convoquer une assemblée annuelle des membres

Note

L’alinéa 160(2) de la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL) utilise le terme « proroger ». Toutefois, par souci de clarté dans la présente politique, nous utilisons les termes « prolonger » et « prolongation ». Cet usage ne modifie en rien, cependant, les effets de la dispense telle que décrite dans la Loi BNL.

Cette politique présente les renseignements requis quant aux demandes soumises au directeur nommé en vertu de la Loi BNL de prolonger les délais prévus pour convoquer une assemblée annuelle des membres. Elle vous permettra de faire ce qui suit :

  • comprendre quand votre organisation doit convoquer une assemblée annuelle
  • décider si votre organisation devrait faire une demande de prolongation des délais pour convoquer l’assemblée.

Note

Cette politique fournit des renseignements et établit des lignes directrices. Elle n’est pas une déclaration contraignante à l’égard d’une décision qui sera prise dans tout cas particulier, ni n’a-t-elle la prétention de remplacer des conseils juridiques. Songez à consulter un avocat ou un autre professionnel pour vous assurer que vos besoins particuliers sont pris en compte lorsque vous soumettez une demande.

Assemblées annuelles

Une organisation doit convoquer une assemblée annuelle des membres chaque année. La Loi BNL et le Règlement sur les organisations à but non lucratif de régime fédéral (Règlement BNL) précisent les délais dans lesquels une organisation doit convoquer une assemblée annuelle.

Il importe qu’une organisation convoque une assemblée annuelle chaque année et en temps opportun, parce que cela permet d’assurer ce qui suit :

  • assurer que les membres peuvent prendre des décisions sur la gouvernance en se fondant sur des renseignements à jour
  • assurer la transparence et la divulgation
  • donner confiance aux membres pour qu’ils continuent d’appuyer l’organisation.

Une organisation doit convoquer une assemblée annuelle dans les 18 mois suivant la date de sa création. Après cette date, une assemblée annuelle doit être convoquée au plus tard 15 mois après l’assemblée annuelle précédente, et au plus tard 6 mois après la fin de l’exercice financier précédent de l’organisation.

Il peut y avoir des circonstances où il serait désavantageux pour une organisation de convoquer une assemblée annuelle des membres dans les délais indiqués plus haut. Dans de tels cas, l’organisation peut faire une demande pour prolonger le délai de convocation de l’assemblée (se reporter à l’alinéa 160(2) de la Loi BNL).

Le directeur a le pouvoir de prolonger le délai pour convoquer l’assemblée, pourvu qu’il ait des motifs raisonnables de croire que les membres ne subiront pas de préjudice. Toutefois, le directeur n’a pas le pouvoir de dispenser totalement une organisation de son obligation de convoquer une assemblée annuelle des membres.

Raisons pour lesquelles une organisation demanderait cette dispense

Une organisation peut songer à demander cette dispense lorsqu’il lui serait désavantageux de convoquer une assemblée annuelle des membres dans les délais prescrits. Ce désavantage peut se rapporter à un exercice financier ou de multiples exercices. Le directeur évalue le désavantage au cas par cas.

Par exemple, il serait peu pratique pour une organisation qui est sur le point de se réorganiser de convoquer une assemblée annuelle des membres dans les délais prescrits avant de compléter la réorganisation.

Un autre exemple où il pourrait être désavantageux pour une organisation de convoquer une assemblée annuelle des membres dans les délais prescrits concerne le cas où son assemblée annuelle a été fixée historiquement après la tenue des assemblées annuelles d’organisations apparentées. Cet accommodement fait en sorte que l’assemblée annuelle est tenue en dehors des délais prescrits.

Période pendant laquelle une organisation peut faire une demande pour cette dispense

Une organisation doit soumettre une demande au moins 30 jours avant la date où l’avis de l’heure et du lieu de l’assemblée doit être donné aux membres (se reporter à l’alinéa 89(2)b) du Règlement BNL). Toutes les demandes sont examinées au cas par cas.

Période de temps durant laquelle une dispense demeure en vigueur

Une dispense pour prolonger le délai de convocation d’une assemblée annuelle des membres demeure normalement en vigueur pendant un exercice financier. Toutefois, il peut y avoir des circonstances où une dispense pluriannuelle est justifiée. Dans ces cas, la dispense demeure en vigueur pour la période indiquée.

Examen d’une demande

Lors de l’examen d’une demande de prolongation du délai de convocation d’une assemblée annuelle des membres, le directeur évaluera les motifs de la demande et le préjudice potentiel aux membres. Le préjudice potentiel est évalué en posant la question suivante :

  • Serait-il préjudiciable aux membres de prolonger le délai de convocation d’une assemblée annuelle des membres?

Le directeur estimera qu’il y a peu ou pas de préjudice aux membres dans les situations suivantes :

  • les membres ont encore accès aux renseignements actuels requis; par exemple, une organisation fournit ses états financiers annuels (se reporter à l’alinéa 172(1) de la Loi BNL) aux membres dans les 6 mois de la fin de l’exercice financier précédent, ainsi que ses états financiers intérimaires pour l’exercice financier en cours
  • l’organisation communique suffisamment à ses membres la prolongation du délai pour convoquer une assemblée et la manière dont celle-ci influence leurs droits en vertu de la Loi BNL; par exemple, une organisation informe ses membres de la dispense dès que possible après son émission
  • les membres appuient la prolongation du délai pour convoquer une assemblée annuelle en passant une résolution extraordinaire avant de faire la demande et, pour des prolongations pluriannuelles, lors d’assemblées annuelles pour chaque année visée par la dispense.

Renseignements qui doivent être inclus dans la demande

Une demande doit clairement préciser ce qui suit :

  • à quel moment l’assemblée annuelle doit être convoquée selon la Loi BNL et le Règlement BNL
  • quand l’organisation entend convoquer l’assemblée annuelle
  • pourquoi l’assemblée ne peut pas être tenue dans les délais prescrits et la nature du désavantage pour l’organisation si l’assemblée se tenait dans les délais prescrits
  • comment le fait de prolonger le délai pour convoquer une assemblée annuelle ne causerait peu ou pas de préjudice aux membres de l’organisation.

Émission d’une dispense

Si la dispense est accordée, l’organisation recevra une dispense autorisant la prolongation du délai pour convoquer une assemblée annuelle des membres selon les modalités que le directeur juge appropriées.

Renouvellement d’une dispense

Il peut y avoir des circonstances où un renouvellement est requis. Les demandes de renouvellement sont examinées au cas par cas.

Information supplémentaire concernant des décisions prises par le directeur nommé en vertu de la Loi BNL

Date de modification :