Guide on dissolving a business corporation

A corporation can apply to dissolve when it has no property or liabilities. The exception is a bankrupt corporation. Bankruptcy does not end a corporation's existence. A bankrupt corporation cannot request to be dissolved under the Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA). For more information, see Bankrupt and insolvent corporations.

There are some steps to dissolve a corporation with property or liabilities.

Note

Although the information provided here will assist you in completing the dissolution process, it is not intended to replace legal advice. Consider consulting a lawyer or another professional advisor to ensure that the specific needs of your corporation are met.

Approval of the dissolution when the corporation has shareholders but no property or liabilities

If the corporation has shareholders but no property or liabilities, shareholders can approve the dissolution by special resolution. If there is more than one class or group of shareholders, each class or group must pass a special resolution to authorize the dissolution even if these shareholders are not otherwise entitled to vote.

Approval when the corporation has no shareholders

If the corporation has no shareholders because no shares were issued, the directors can pass a resolution to authorize its dissolution.

Steps to dissolve a corporation with property or liabilities

A corporation can be dissolved only when its property has been distributed and its liabilities have been discharged.

There are two ways to proceed.

  1. Liquidation before starting the dissolution process: The shareholders can pass a special resolution authorizing the directors to distribute any property and discharge any liabilities in accordance with the articles of the corporation and the requirements under the CBCA. If there is more than one class or group of shareholders, each class or group must pass a special resolution to authorize the dissolution even if these shareholders are not otherwise entitled to vote. The directors must then dispose of any property and liabilities before applying for a certificate of dissolution.
  2. Starting the dissolution process before the liquidation process: If the corporation will cease carrying on business while it is in the process of liquidation, it can apply for a certificate of intent to dissolve. Shareholders must authorize the liquidation and dissolution of the corporation by special resolution. If there is more than one class or group of shareholders, each class or group must pass a special resolution to authorize the dissolution even if these shareholders are not otherwise entitled to vote. The certificate of intent to dissolve serves as public notice that the corporation is no longer carrying on its activities, except to the extent necessary for the liquidation.

    When a certificate of intent to dissolve is issued, the corporation must cease to carry on its activities except to the extent needed for the liquidation. It must also:
    • notify creditors of its intent to dissolve
    • give notice of the intent to dissolve in each province in Canada where the corporation is carrying on activities at the time it sends the statement of intent to dissolve to Corporations Canada
    • perform all the acts required for the dissolution; for example, collect the corporation's property, dispose of the property that is not to be distributed in kind to shareholders and discharge all the corporation's obligations
    • distribute the corporation's remaining property among the shareholders according to their respective rights and the provisions of the CBCA.

Once the liquidation process is completed, you can apply for a certificate of dissolution.

Reversing a decision to dissolve after a certificate of intent to dissolve is issued

A corporation can decide not to dissolve once a Certificate of Intent to dissolve is issued. To stop the dissolution process, the corporation has to apply for a certificate of revocation of intent to dissolve by submitting a completed and signed Form 20 – Statement of Revocation of Intent to Dissolve (see Federal incorporation forms). There is a filing fee (see Services, fees and turnaround times – CBCA).

Once the certificate of revocation of intent to dissolve has been issued, the corporation can resume carrying on its activities.

If the certificate of dissolution has already been issued, Corporations Canada cannot revoke the certificate of intent to dissolve. However, reviving the corporation is possible.

Documents to file to dissolve or provide notice to dissolve a corporation

To obtain a certificate of dissolution, complete and sign Form 17 – Articles of Dissolution (see Federal incorporation forms) and submit it to Corporations Canada.

To obtain a certificate of intent to dissolve, complete and sign Form 19 – Statement of Intent to Dissolve (see Federal incorporation forms) and submit it to Corporations Canada.

Do not submit copies of the directors' resolution or shareholders' special resolution with the applications.

Corporations Canada offers several methods of filing requests for certificates (see How do I file my application under the Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA)?). There is no filing fee for either certificate.

Bankrupt and insolvent corporations

A corporation that is bankrupt, that has a trustee under a proposal, or that has an interim receiver under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA) cannot voluntarily dissolve.

A corporation is bankrupt under the BIA if it has made an assignment into bankruptcy or if a bankruptcy order has been made against it.

A corporation is insolvent under the BIA if:

  • it is unable to meet its obligations as they generally become due
  • it has ceased paying current obligations in the ordinary course of activities as they become due, or
  • the corporation's property is not sufficient, at a fair valuation, to allow payment of all obligations (meaning that even if all of the property was to be disposed of, there would not be sufficient cash to allow payment of all obligations, whether they are due or will soon become due).
Date modified:

Guide sur la dissolution d'une société par actions

Une société, sauf si elle est en faillite, peut faire une demande de dissolution lorsqu'elle n'a ni biens ni dettes. La faillite ne met pas fin à l'existence d'une société. Une société en faillite ne peut pas faire une demande de dissolution en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions (LCSA). Pour plus d'information, voir Société par actions en faillite ou insolvable.

Il y a des étapes à suivre pour dissoudre une société qui a des biens ou des dettes.

Note

Les renseignements fournis vous aideront à effecteur rapidement et correctement une demande de dissolution. Ces renseignements ne visent pas à remplacer l'avis d'un conseiller juridique. Songez à consulter un avocat ou un autre conseiller professionnel pour vous assurer que les besoins spécifiques de votre société ont été considérés.

Approbation d'une société qui a des actionnaires mais n'a pas de biens ni de dettes

Si la société a des actionnaires, mais qu'elle n'a ni biens ni dettes, les actionnaires peuvent approuver la dissolution par voie de résolution spéciale. S'il y a plus d'une catégorie ou plus d'un groupe d'actionnaires, chaque catégorie ou chaque groupe doit adopter une résolution spéciale autorisant la dissolution même si par ailleurs ces actionnaires ne sont pas habiles à voter.

Approbation d'une société qui n'a pas d'actionnaires

Si la société n'a pas d'actionnaires parce qu'aucune action n'a été émise, les administrateurs peuvent adopter une résolution autorisant sa dissolution.

Étapes à suivre pour dissoudre une société qui a des biens ou des dettes

Une société peut être dissoute seulement lorsque ses biens sont répartis et que ses dettes sont réglées.

Il y a deux façons de procéder.

  1. Liquidation avant de commencer le processus de dissolution : Les actionnaires peuvent adopter une résolution spéciale autorisant les administrateurs à répartir les biens et à régler les dettes en conformité avec les statuts de la société et les exigences de la LCSA. S'il y a plus d'une catégorie ou plus d'un groupe d'actionnaires, chaque catégorie ou chaque groupe doit adopter une résolution spéciale autorisant la dissolution même si par ailleurs ces actionnaires ne sont pas habiles à voter. Les administrateurs doivent alors répartir les biens et régler les dettes avant de demander un certificat de dissolution.
  2. Commencer le processus de dissolution avant le processus de liquidation : Si la société prévoit cesser ses activités tout en procédant à la liquidation, elle pourrait vouloir faire une demande de certificat d'intention de dissolution. Les actionnaires doivent autoriser la liquidation et la dissolution de la société par voie de résolution spéciale. S'il y a plus d'une catégorie ou plus d'un groupe d'actionnaires, chaque catégorie ou chaque groupe doit adopter une résolution spéciale autorisant la dissolution même si par ailleurs ces actionnaires ne sont pas habiles à voter. Le certificat d'intention de dissolution sert d'avis public indiquant que la société a cessé ses activités, sauf celles requises dans le cadre de la liquidation.

    Lorsqu'un certificat d'intention de dissolution est émis, la société doit cesser ses activités sauf celles requises dans le cadre de la liquidation. Elle doit aussi :
    • aviser les créanciers de son intention de dissolution
    • donner avis de son intention de dissolution dans chaque province canadienne où elle exerce ses activités au moment où elle a envoyé une déclaration d'intention de dissolution à Corporations Canada
    • accomplir tous actes utiles à la dissolution, par exemple, recouvrer ses biens, disposer des biens non destinés à être répartis en nature entre les actionnaires et honorer ses obligations
    • répartir le reliquat de l'actif entre les actionnaires, selon leurs droits respectifs et les dispositions de la LCSA.

Lorsque le processus de liquidation est terminé, vous pouvez soumettre une demande de certificat de dissolution.

Renverser la décision de se dissoudre après qu'un certificat d'intention de dissolution est émis

Une société peut décider de ne pas se dissoudre lorsqu'un certificat d'intention de dissolution a été émis. Afin d'arrêter le processus de dissolution, la société doit faire une demande de certificat de renonciation à dissolution en soumettant un Formulaire 20 – Déclaration de renonciation à la dissolution rempli et signé (voir Formulaires pour l'incorporation de régime fédéral). Il y a des frais de dépôts (voir Services, frais et délais d'exécution – LCSA).

Lorsque le certificat de renonciation à dissolution est émis, la société peut reprendre ses activités.

Si le certificat de dissolution a été émis, le certificat d'intention de dissolution ne peut être révoqué. Toutefois, il est possible de reconstituer la société.

Documents à déposer pour dissoudre une société ou fournir un avis de dissolution

Pour obtenir un certificat de dissolution, un Formulaire 17 – Clauses de dissolution rempli et signé doit être soumis à Corporations Canada (voir Formulaires pour l'incorporation de régime fédéral).

Pour obtenir un certificat d'intention de dissolution, un Formulaire 19 – Déclaration d'intention de dissolution rempli et signé doit être soumis à Corporations Canada (voir Formulaires pour l'incorporation de régime fédéral).

Les copies de la résolution des administrateurs ou de la résolution spéciale des actionnaires n'ont pas à être soumises avec la demande.

Corporations Canada vous offre différentes manières de déposer des certificats (voir Comment déposer une demande en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions (LCSA)?). Il n'y a pas de frais de dépôt pour ces deux certificats.

Société par actions en faillite ou insolvable

Une société en faillite qui a un syndic désigné dans une proposition ou un séquestre intérimaire en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI) ne peut pas se dissoudre volontairement.

Une société est en faillite en vertu de la LFI si elle a fait une cession en faillite ou si une ordonnance de faillite a été rendue contre elle.

Une société est insolvable en vertu de la LFI si :

  • elle est incapable de faire honneur à ses obligations au fur et à mesure de leur échéance
  • elle a cessé d'acquitter ses obligations courantes dans le cours ordinaire des affaires au fur et à mesure de leur échéance, ou
  • la totalité des biens de la société n'est pas suffisante, d'après une juste estimation, pour permettre l'acquittement de toutes ses obligations (c.-à-d. que même si la disposition de tous les biens était faite, la somme qui en serait tirée ne serait pas suffisante pour acquitter toutes ses obligations échues ou à échoir).
Date de modification :