Certification program

What legislation governs the manufacture, importation, distribution, lease, sale and use of radio equipment in Canada?

The Radiocommunication Act requires that anyone wishing to manufacture, import, distribute, lease, sell or use radio equipment in Canada, must ensure that devices are tested and certified to meet applicable technical standards. This requirement applies to all radiocommunication devices, whether locally manufactured or imported for use in Canada.

What is the purpose of the standards and the certification program?

The technical standards for radio equipment are prescribed by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada to ensure various radio apparatus used by radio services such as broadcasting, cellular, Wi-Fi, air traffic control and Public Safety can operate with minimal impact on each other and with the best use of the spectrum. The standards also ensure the radio apparatus meet the limits set forth by Health Canada on the exposure of radio frequencies, particularly concerning the limits for Specific Absorption Rate (SAR). Measuring SAR is a complex procedure. Further information on SAR and how to measure it can be found at the following site: SAR.

The Canadian Equipment Certification program ensures radio equipment used in Canada meets the requirements of the applicable standards for specific types of equipment. This program is applied to all manufacturers and importers of radio apparatus.

How is radio equipment authorized and approved for use in Canada?

All radio equipment must meet specific Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada regulatory requirements and technical standards before it can be imported, sold or used in Canada. The process whereby equipment manufacturers demonstrate compliance with Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's technical Standards is referred to as certification.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's Certification and Engineering Bureau provides up-to-date information on all radiocommunication equipment certified for use in Canada. Certification information for specific types of radio devices can be obtained directly by reviewing Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's Radio Equipment List (REL) database or by contacting the Bureau.

How do I know if radio equipment is approved for use in Canada?

Before a radio device can be sold in Canada, manufacturers must demonstrate to the Department that the device meets applicable technical and regulatory requirements. Once a radio device has been approved for use in Canada, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada will provide the manufacturer with a certification/registration number. All radio devices approved for use in Canada will bear a label, either physical or electronic, noting Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's certification/registration number. If the radio device is not labeled with an Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada certification/registration number, it is not approved for use in Canada.

Where can I find more information on technical standards for radio devices?

The following documents provide additional information on Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's regulatory and technical requirements for low-power licence-exempt radiocommunication devices.

RSS-Gen sets out general requirements and provides information for the certification of radiocommunication equipment in Canada.

Radio Specification Standards (RSS) listed in the Radio Equipment Standards , the technical requirements applicable to most all radio devices requiring certification in Canada Information concerning Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's radio equipment certification process is available in RSP-100.

Specific enquiries concerning radio equipment certification can also be directed to:

Chief, Certification and Engineering Bureau
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
3701 Carling Avenue (Building 94)
P.O. Box 11490, Station H
Ottawa, Ontario K2H 8S2
Telephone: 613-990-4218
Fax: 613-990-5009
E-mail: ic.certificationbureau-bureauhomologation.ic@canada.ca

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Programme de certification canadien

Quelle loi régit la fabrication, l'importation, la distribution, la location à bail, la vente et l'utilisation du matériel radio au Canada?

La Loi sur la radiocommunication exige que quiconque désire fabriquer, importer, distribuer, louer à bail, vendre ou utiliser du matériel radio au Canada doit s'assurer que les dispositifs sont mis à l'essai et certifiés comme étant conformes aux normes techniques applicables. Cette exigence s'applique également aux dispositifs de radiocommunication exempts de licence, qu'ils soient fabriqués localement ou importés pour utilisation au Canada.

À quoi servent les normes techniques prescrites et le programme d’homologation ?

Les normes techniques pour les appareils radio sont prescrites par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada afin d'assurer que la variété d’appareils radio utilisés par les services tels la radiodiffusion, les systèmes cellulaires, les systèmes de contrôle aérien et les services de communication des services de sécurité publique, opèrent avec un minimum d’impact entre eux et ce, pour la meilleure utilisation possible du spectre. Les normes assurent aussi que ces appareils radio rencontrent les limites mise en place par Santé Canada en ce qui concerne l’exposition aux radiofréquences, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les limites de Débit d'Absorption Spécifique (DAS). Mesurer les valeurs de DAS est une procédure complexe. Pour plus d’information sur le DAS ou comment celui-ci est mesuré, visitez le site suivant :DAS.

Le programme de certification canadien assure que les appareils radio utilisés au Canada rencontrent les exigences établies dans les normes applicables à chaque type d’appareil. Ce programma s’adresse à tous les manufacturiers et importateurs de ces appareils.

Comment le matériel radio est-il autorisé et approuvé pour utilisation au Canada?

Tout le matériel radio doit respecter les exigences réglementaires et les normes techniques pertinentes d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, avant qu'il puisse être importé, vendu ou utilisé au Canada. Le processus selon lequel les fabricants de matériel démontrent la conformité aux normes techniques d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada est appelé la certification.

Le Bureau d'homologation et de services techniques d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada fournit de l'information à jour sur tout le matériel de radiocommunication certifié pour utilisation au Canada. On peut obtenir des précisions sur la certification de types particuliers de dispositifs radio directement de la base de données Nomenclature du matériel radio (NMR) d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada ou par communication avec le Bureau.

Comment puis-je savoir si du matériel radio est approuvé pour utilisation au Canada?

Avant qu'un dispositif radio exempt de licence puisse être vendu au Canada, les fabricants doivent démontrer au Ministère que ce dispositif répond aux exigences techniques et réglementaires applicables. Une fois qu'un dispositif radio a été approuvé pour utilisation au Canada, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada fournira au fabricant un numéro de certification/d'enregistrement. Tous les dispositifs radio approuvés pour utilisation au Canada doivent arborer une étiquette, physique ou électronique, portant le numéro de certification/d'enregistrement d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada. Si le dispositif radio ne porte pas un numéro certification/d'enregistrement d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, il n'est pas approuvé pour utilisation au Canada.

Où puis-je obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les normes techniques visant les dispositifs radio de faible puissance exempts de licence?

Les documents ci-dessous fournissent de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences réglementaires et techniques d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada relativement aux dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance exempts de licence.

Le CNR-Gen établit les exigences générales et fournit des détails sur la certification du matériel de radiocommunication au Canada.

Les Cahiers de normes radio (CNR) décrivent les exigences techniques applicables à la plupart des dispositifs radio au Canada. Vous pouvez trouver la liste de CNR au site suivant : Cahiers des charges sur les normes radioélectriques. Vous trouverez des renseignements sur le processus de certification du matériel radio d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada dans le PNR-100.

Pour d'autres précisions concernant la certification du matériel radio, vous pouvez vous adresser au :

Chef, Bureau d'homologation et de services techniques
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
3701, avenue Carling (Édifice 94)
C.P. 11490, succursale H
Téléphone : 613-990-4218
Fax : 613-990-5009
Courriel : ic.certificationbureau-bureauhomologation.ic@canada.ca

Date de modification :