Equipment market surveillance

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's (ISED) Certification and Engineering Bureau performs regular audits or market surveillance of wireless and wireline equipment offered for sale to verify that the equipment complies with ISED's technical standards and that it is properly certified and/or registered. Why does ISED perform market surveillance?

  • to promote a fair and equitable marketplace for wireless and wireline product manufacturers/suppliers
  • to prevent possible harm due to equipment that is non-compliant with ISED's standards regarding radio-frequency electromagnetic field
  • to prevent radio frequency interference or harm to the public switched telephone network (PSTN) or its users

Under ISED's market surveillance program, equipment is selected using a risk based approach and tested at the Certification and Engineering Bureau's facilities to ensure compliance with ISED's wireless and wireline equipment standards.

Manufacturers, importers, distributors and vendors must ensure that all wireless (radiocommunication devices) and wireline (telecommunication apparatus) equipment imported into Canada or deployed in the Canadian marketplace, or both, complies at all times with ISED's requirements. Certified radiocommunication devices are listed in the Radio Equipment List (REL) and registered telecommunication apparatus are in the Terminal Apparatus Register (TAR).

Individuals and businesses are encouraged to report any form of non-compliance found on the Canadian market, whether it is a non-certified wireless product, a non-registered wireline product or a product which does not comply with ISED's applicable technical standards.

If you wish to report any compliance issues, please complete a Non-Compliance Report form. Once you have reported a non-compliance case, you will receive an acknowledgement by email. ISED will conduct a study and may contact you for more information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Surveillance du marché de l’équipement

Le Bureau d'homologation et de services techniques d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) effectue régulièrement des vérifications ou une surveillance du marché de la vente d'équipements sans fil et filaires pour s'assurer que ces équipements sont conformes aux normes d'ISDE et sont dûment homologués et/ou enregistrés. ISDE effectue une surveillance du marché pour :

Dans le cadre du programme de surveillance du marché d'ISDE, l'équipement est choisi en utilisant une approche fondée sur le risque et il est testé aux installations du Bureau d'homologation et de services techniques, afin d'assurer la conformité aux normes d'ISDE relative aux équipements sans fil et filaires.

Les fabricants, les importateurs, les distributeurs et les fournisseurs doivent s'assurer que tous les appareils sans fil (appareils de télécommunication) et filaires (appareils de télécommunications) importés au Canada ou déployés sur le marché canadien, ou les deux, répondent en tout temps aux exigences d'ISDE. Les appareils de radiocommunication certifiés sont répertoriés dans la Nomenclature du matériel radio (NMR). Les appareils de télécommunication enregistrés figurent dans le registre d'appareils de télécommunication (RAT).

ISDE encourage les particuliers et les entreprises à signaler toute forme de non-conformité trouvée sur le marché canadien, qu'il s'agisse d'un produit sans fil non homologué, d'un produit filaire non enregistré ou d'un produit non conforme aux normes techniques applicables d'ISDE.

Si vous souhaitez signaler tout problème de conformité, veuillez remplir le formulaire Rapport de non-conformité. Une fois que vous avez signalé une non-conformité, vous recevrez un accusé de réception par courriel. ISDE réalisera une étude et pourrait communiquer avec vous pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements

Date de modification :