Notice 2012-DRS0529

Notice 2012 DRS0529

Re: SAR CORRECTION FOR MEASURED CONDUCTIVITY AND RELATIVE PERMITTIVITY BASED ON IEC 62209-2 STANDARD

Industry Canada's RSS-102 - RF exposure compliance of radiocommunication apparatus (All frequency Bands) incorporates by reference the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 62209-2 Human Exposure to Radio Frequency Fields from Hand Held and Body-mounted Wireless Communication Devices - Human Models, Instrumentation, and Procedures - Part 2: Procedure to determine the specific absorption rate (SAR) for wireless communication devices used in close proximity to the human body (frequency range of 30MHz to 6GHz).

Section 6.1.1 of IEC 62209-2 Ed. 1 states:

The measured conductivity and relative permittivity shall be within 10% of the target values. The measured SAR results shall be corrected using the procedures of Annex F. If the correction ΔSAR has a negative sign, the measured SAR results shall not be corrected.

In Section 6.1.1 of IEC 62209-2, there is currently an error regarding the sign for the correction of SAR. It should read:

If the correction ΔSAR has a positive sign, the measured SAR results shall not be corrected.

The ΔSAR refers to the percent change in SAR relative to the percent change in dielectric properties versus the target values. A negative ΔSAR would translate to a lower measured SAR value than what would be measured if using dielectric properties equal to the target values. A positive ΔSAR would translate to a higher measured SAR value than what would be measured if using dielectric properties equal to the target values. SAR correction shall not be made when the ΔSAR has a positive sign to provide a conservative SAR value. The SAR is only corrected when ΔSAR has a negative sign.

The correction is implemented using Equation 1. The ΔSAR must first be inverted (- to +) when implementing the correction as given in the following example:

Example:

With a measured SAR of 1.00 W/Kg and a ΔSAR of -6%, the corrected SAR would be:

Corrected SAR = Measured SAR * ((100 +(ΔSAR × -1));     (Equation 1)

Corrected SAR = 1.00 W/Kg *((100 +6)/100) = 1.06 W/Kg

In addition, this notice provides clarification pertaining to Industry Canada’s latest requirements on the SAR correction when the measured conductivity and relative permittivity deviate from the target values.

If the dielectric properties of the tissue simulating liquid are equal or less than 5% of the target values, one of the following actions shall be undertaken:

i) the measured uncertainty is added to the uncertainty budget, or

ii) the SAR value is corrected and the applicable uncertainty contributor associated with the correction formula is added to the uncertainty budget using the procedure of Annex F of IEC 62209-2.

However, if the dielectric properties of the tissue simulating liquid are above 5% but equal or less than 10% of the target values, the SAR value shall be corrected for the deviation in the dielectric properties using the procedures of Annex F of IEC 62209-2 and the uncertainty of the correction formula shall be added to the uncertainty budget.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Avis 2012-DRS0529

OBJET: CORRECTION DU DAS D’APRÈS LES VALEURS MESURÉES DE LA CONDUCTIVITÉ ET DE LA PERMITTIVITÉ RELATIVE ÉTABLIE EN FONCTION DE LA NORME CEI 62209-2

Le CNR-102, Conformité des appareils de radiocommunication aux limites d’exposition humaine aux radiofréquences (toutes bandes de fréquences), d’Industrie Canada incorpore par renvoi la norme de la Commission électrotechnique internationale (CEI) 62209-2 Exposition humaine aux champs radiofréquence produits par les dispositifs de communications sans fils tenus à la main ou portés près du corps – Modèles de corps humain, instrumentation et procédures – Partie 2 : Procédure de détermination du débit d’absorption spécifique (DAS) produit par les appareils de communications sans fil utilisés très près du corps humain (gamme de fréquences de 30 MHz à 6 GHz)

Section 6.1.1 de la norme CEI 62209-2 Éd.. 1 énonce:

La conductivité mesurée et la permittivité relative doivent être à 10 % près des valeurs cibles. Les résultats des mesures du DAS doivent être corrigés en utilisant les procédures de l' Annexe F. Si la correction ΔDAS a un signe négatif, les résultats des mesures du DAS ne doivent pas être corrigés.

Dans la section 6.1.1 de la norme CEI 62209-2, il y a présentement une erreur dans la à l’égard du signe pour la correction du DAS. L’énoncé devrait lire:

Si la correction ΔDAS a un signe positif, les résultats des mesures du DAS ne doivent pas être corrigés.

Le ΔDAS réfère à la variation de pourcentage du DAS dû à la variation de pourcentage des propriétés diélectriques par rapport aux valeurs cibles. Un ΔDAS négatif se traduit comme une valeur de DAS mesurée plus basse si les propriétés diélectriques auraient été égaux aux valeurs cibles. Un ΔDAS positif se traduit comme une valeur de DAS mesurée plus haute si les propriétés diélectriques auraient été égaux aux valeurs cibles. La correction du DAS ne doit pas avoir lieu lorsque le ΔDAS a un signe positif afin d’assurer une valeur du DAS conservatrice. Le DAS est seulement corrigé lorsque le ΔDAS a un signe négatif.

La correction est implémentée en utilisant l’équation 1. Premièrement, ΔDAS doit être inversé (- à +) conformément à l’exemple suivant:

Exemple:

Avec un DAS mesuré de 1.00W/Kg et un ΔDAS de -6%, le DAS corrigé serait:

DAS corrigé = DAS mesuré * ((100 + (ΔDAS x -1)) /100)       (Équation 1)

DAS corrigé = 1.00 W/Kg * ((100 +6)/100) = 1.06 W/Kg

En plus, cet avis prescrit la clarification à l’égard des dernières exigences du Ministère sur la correction du DAS lorsque la valeur de la conductivité mesurée et celle de la permittivité relative mesurée dévient des valeurs cibles.

Si les propriétés diélectriques du liquide équivalent aux tissues sont égaux ou moins que 5% des valeurs cibles, une des mesures suivantes doivent être entreprises :

i) l’incertitude de mesure est ajoutée au budget d’incertitude, ou

ii) la valeur du DAS est corrigée et le contributeur d’incertitude applicable associé à la formule de correction est ajouté au budget d’incertitude en utilisant la procédure de l’Annexe F de la norme CEI 62209-2.

Cependant, si les propriétés diélectriques du liquide équivalent aux tissues dépassent 5% mais égaux ou moins que 10% des valeurs cibles, la valeur du DAS doit être corrigée pour la déviation des propriétés diélectriques en utilisant la procédure de l’Annexe F de la norme CEI 62209-2. L’incertitude associée à la formule de correction est ajoutée au budget d’incertitude.

Date de modification :