RSS-102 supplementary procedures (SPR)-001

SAR TESTING REQUIREMENTS WITH REGARD TO BYSTANDERS FOR LAPTOP TYPE COMPUTERS WITH ANTENNAS BUILT-IN ON DISPLAY SCREEN (LAPTOP MODE/TABLET MODE)

This document provides supplementary information on the requirements and method to perform SAR evaluation with regard to bystanders for laptop type computers (laptop modeFootnote1 /tablet modeFootnote2) with antennas built-in on display screens.

The definition of Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) evaluation was revised in Industry Canada’s RSS-102 - Radio Frequency (RF) Exposure Compliance of Radiocommunication Apparatus (All Frequency Bands) Issue 4, published in March 2010, as follow:

Specific absorption rate (SAR) evaluation is the method used to evaluate the SAR levels from a device by physical measurement or computational modelling techniques. SAR evaluation is required if the separation distance between the user or bystanders and the device is less than or equal to 20 cm.

Laptop type computers (laptop mode/tablet mode ) with antennas built-in on display screens will sometimes have a separation distance of 20 cm or less from bystanders, and therefore subject to the routine SAR evaluation. A warning that a minimum separation distance of 20 cm must be maintained between the bystanders and the device in the manufacturer’s user manual will not suffice.

The following measurement procedure shall be followed:

Unless the side(s)/edge(s) of the laptop type computer (laptop mode/tablet mode) containing the built-in antenna(s) was already tested against the flat phantom to account for the user requirements (e.g. antenna in the laptop base), Industry Canada requires SAR measurements to be performed with the side(s)/edge(s) of the display screen containing the built-in antenna(s) pointing towards the flat phantom. The separation distance shall not exceed 25 mm between the device and the flat phantom to show compliance for bystanders. Additional configurations regarding SAR testing for laptop type computer (laptop mode/tablet mode) are not required if the separation distance of 25 mm for bystanders represents the worst-case configuration.

  1. If the integrated antenna(s) are located in the back side of the display screen, the back side shall be facing towards the flat phantom at a distance not exceeding 25 mm.
  2. If the integrated antenna(s) are installed along the edge(s) of the display screen, the edge(s) shall be facing towards the flat phantom at a distance not exceeding 25 mm.
  3. If the integrated antenna(s) are installed at the corner of the display, both edges, as well as back side shall be tested to ensure that the worst-case configuration is captured.

The bystander requirement can be demonstrated based on the FCC KDB Publication 447498 and FCC KDB Publication 616217 (host limitation based on measured SAR level) as follow:

  1. SAR measurement at the module level.
  2. SAR measurement with a representative host
  3. SAR measurement with each individual host

Applicants shall include in the RF exposure technical brief all information relevant to the exact test methodology used.

All transmitters are exempt from routine SAR evaluations for bystander requirement in the case of laptop type computers provided that output power complies with the power levels of sections 2.5.1 of RSS-102. If the equipment under test (EUT) meets the requirements of sections 2.5.1, applicants are only required to submit a properly signed declaration of compliance (see Annex C of RSS-102). The information contained in the RF exposure technical brief may be limited to information that demonstrates how the output power of the transmitter was derived. If the EUT does not meet the appropriate exemption limit, a complete SAR evaluation shall be performed. It must be emphasized that the above exemption from routine evaluation is not an exemption from compliance.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

CNR-102 procédures supplémentaires (PRS)-001

PDF version

OBJET : EXIGENCES DES MESURES DU DAS ÀRD DES TIERS POUR LES ORDINATEURS TYPE PORTATIFS AVEC ANTENNE(S) INTÉGRÉE(S) DANS L’ÉCRAN DE VISUALISATION (MODE ‘LAPTOP’ et ‘TABLET’)

Ce document prescrit les renseignements sur les exigences et méthodes d’effectuer une évaluation DAS à l’égard des tiers pour les ordinateurs type portatifs (mode ‘laptop’Footnote 1 et ‘tablet’Footnote2) avec des antennes intégrées dans l’écran de visualisation.

La définition de l’évaluation du débit d’absorption spécifique (DAS) a été révisée dans le <CNR-102 - Conformité des appareils de radiocommunication aux limites d'exposition humaine aux radiofréquences (toutes bandes de fréquences) 4e édition, publié en mars 2010 par Industrie Canada, comme suit:

Évaluation du débit d'absorption spécifique (DAS) : Méthode utilisée pour évaluer les niveaux DAS venant d'un dispositif au moyen de techniques de mesure physique ou de modélisation computationnelle. L'évaluation DAS est requise si la distance de séparation entre le dispositif et l'utilisateur ou des tiers est inférieure ou égale à 20 cm.

Les ordinateurs type portatifs (mode ‘laptop’ et ‘tablet’) avec une ou des antenne(s) intégrée(s) dans l’écran de visualisation ont parfois une distance de séparation de 20 cm ou moins entre les tiers. Le dispositif sera alors assujetti à l’évaluation DAS. Un avertissement qu’une distance minimale de séparation de 20 cm doit être maintenue entre les tiers et le dispositif dans le manuel de l’utilisateur du fabricant n’est pas suffisant.

La procédure de mesure suivante doit être suivit:

À moins que le(s) côté(s)/rebord(s) contenant le(s) antenne(s) intégrée(s) de l’ordinateur type portatif (mode ‘laptop’ et ‘tablet’) a (ont) déjà été testé contre le fantôme plat pour tenir compte des exigences d’essais pour l’utilisateur (p. ex. antenne dans la base d’un ordinateur portatif), Industrie Canada exige que les mesures du DAS soient effectuées avec le(s) côté(s)/rebord(s) de l’écran de visualisation contenant le(s) antenne(s) intégrée(s) pointé vers le fantôme plat. La distance de séparation ne doit pas excédé 25 mm entre le dispositif et le fantôme plat afin de démontrer la conformité pour les tiers. Des configurations additionnelles pour l’évaluation DAS pour les ordinateurs type portatifs (mode ‘laptop’ et ‘tablet’) ne sont pas requises si la distance de séparation de 25 mm pour les tiers représente la configuration dans la pire éventualité.

  1. Si le(s) antenne(s) intégrée(s) est (sont) localisée(s) dans côté arrière de l’écran de visualisation, le côté arrière doit pointer vers le fantôme plat à une distance qui n’excède pas 25 mm.
  2. Si le(s) antenne(s) intégrée(s) est (sont) localisée(s) dans le(s) rebord(s) de l’écran de visualisation, le(s) rebord(s) doit pointer vers le fantôme plat à une distance qui n’excède pas 25 mm.
  3. Si le(s) antenne(s) intégré(s) est (sont) localisée(s) dans le coin de l’écran de visualisation, les deux rebords en plus du côté arrière doivent être testés afin de capturer la configuration dans la pire éventualité.

L’exigence à l’égard des tiers peut être démontrée conformément aux publications de FCC KDB 447498 et KDB 616217 (limitation du hôte basée sur le niveau du DAS mesuré) comme suit:

  1. Mesure du DAS au niveau du module.
  2. Mesure du DAS avec un hôte représentatif.
  3. Mesure du DAS avec un hôte individuel.

Les requérants doivent soumettre toute l'information pertinente quant à la méthode précise utilisée dans le mémoire technique sur l'exposition aux radiofréquences.

Tous les émetteurs sont exemptés de l'évaluation DAS à l’égard des tiers pour les ordinateurs type portatifs si leur puissance de sortie respecte les niveaux de puissance des sections 2.5.1 du CNR-102. Si le matériel à l'essai (MAI) satisfait aux exigences des sections 2.5.1, les requérants sont simplement tenus de présenter une déclaration de conformité dûment signée figurant à l'Annexe C du CNR-102. L'information contenue dans le mémoire technique sur l'exposition aux RF peut se limiter à l'information qui démontre comment la puissance de sortie du dispositif a été dérivée. Si le MAI ne respecte pas la limite applicable à l'exemption, une évaluation DAS ou une évaluation d'exposition aux RF complète sera effectuée. Soulignons que l'exemption précitée visant l'évaluation courante n'est pas une exemption de conformité.

Date de modification :