Notice 2014-DRS1003

PDF version

Updated November 13, 2014

The purpose of this notice is to advise interested parties that Industry Canada is, effective immediately, allowing devices with an integrated display screen to present the required label information electronically (e-label) in lieu of a physical label or nameplate. Devices without an integrated display screen are allowed to present the e-labelling information through an audio message or a host device display screen connected via physical connection, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, etc. if the connection to a device with a display is mandatory for use. This applies to all devices subject to certification or registration requirements and to applicable Interference-Causing Equipment Standards (ICES) where Notice is referenced. Alternative methods of e-labelling, could be allowed on a case-by-case basis by the Department.

  1. Information to be displayed
    1. The Industry Canada registration number for terminal equipment devices, certification number for radio equipment, and model identification number.
    2. Any other information required to be provided on the surface of the device unless such information is permitted to be included in the User’s Manual or other packaging inserts.
  2. Accessibility to the required information
    1. Users shall be provided clear instructions on how to access the regulatory information stored electronically without requiring special access codes or accessories (i.e., SIM/USIM cards) or having to go through multiple steps (no more than three) in a device’s menu.Footnote 1
    2. Users shall be provided specific instructions which are easily accessible by the average user and included in the User’s manual, operating instructions, packaging material inserts, or product related website.Footnote 2
    3. The equipment authorization application must clearly include the instructions for accessing information as part of the label exhibit
  3. Labelling for Importation and Purchasing
    1. Products utilizing e-labels are required to have a physical label on the product packaging at the time of importation, marketing and sales.
    2. For devices imported in bulk (not packaged individually), a removable adhesive label or, for devices in protective bags, a label on the bags is acceptable to meet this requirement.
    3. Any removable label used shall survive normal shipping and handling and must only be removed by the customer after purchase. For devices already imported in individual packages ready for sale, the information may alternatively be provided on the package and shall contain:
      1. The IC certification number for radio equipment, registration number for terminal equipment, and model identification number.
      2. Any other information required by specific requirements to be provided on the surface of the product unless such information is permitted to be included in the User’s manual or other packaging inserts
  4. Security
    1. The above information must be programmed by the responsible party and the information must be secured in such manner that it cannot be modified or removed during the course of normal activities that a third-party (typical user) might be authorized to perform (e.g. installation of applications, accessing the menus, etc.).
  5. User Manual/Packaging
    1. All the applicable regulatory information required on the packaging or User Manual must be provided according to the applicable requirements even if it is displayed electronically.
    2. E-label displays may include regulatory information required to be placed in the User’s Manual or on the packaging as per the applicable requirements. The following considerations must be taken into account for such information distribution.
      1. If the primary User Manual/User Guide is provided by other electronic media (e.g., CD, or online) then as an option this information can also be provided as part of the e-label.
      2. The e-label format must clearly differentiate between the information required to be on the surface of the device and the information required for the User’s Manual or on the packaging.
  6. Devices Approved as Certified Transmitter Modules
    1. Devices approved as certified transmitter modules may have their IC certification number displayed electronically, if the module or the host in which it is integrated has a display screen. The general guidance for all transmitters discussed above also applies to such devices.
    2. If the certified transmitter module provides a secure electronic exchange interface with authentication between the host with integrated display and the module to identify the correct IC certification, then the host can display the IC certification number on the host’s built-in display. The module can be either user-installable or factory-installed. The application for equipment authorization for such modules must include a description of the secure electronic exchange protocol and the security of such arrangement.Footnote 3
    3. If the certified transmitter module does not provide a secure electronic exchange interface with authentication, the host manufacturer can electronically display the IC certification number on the host by factory-encoding the IC certification number of the module
    4. Factory encoding must be secure and locked by the host manufacturer and not alterable by any third parties. The programmed information must display IC certification number of the module, preceded by the words "Contains transmitter module", or the word "Contains", or similar wording expressing the same meaning, as follows:

      “Contains transmitter module IC: XXXXXX-YYYYYYYYYYY”

      where XXXXXX-YYYYYYYYYYY is the module's certification number.

    5. Multiple modules in a host can be electronically displayed as “Contains transmitter modules IC: XXXXXX-YYYYYYYYYYY1, XXXXXX-YYYYYYYYYYY2”, etc.

Should you have any questions, please submit them to the Directorate, Regulatory Standards at the following e-mail address:res_nmr@canada.ca

Date modified:

Avis 2014-DRS1003

PDF version

Mise à jour le 13 novembre, 2014

Le présent avis a pour objet d’informer les partis concernés qu’Industrie Canada permet dorénavant que les appareils dotés d’un écran d’affichage intégré de présenter les renseignements nécessaires de l’étiquette par voie électronique (étiquetage électronique) plutôt qu’au moyen d’une étiquette physique ou d’une plaque indicatrice. Les appareils sans écran d'affichage intégré sont autorisés à présenter l'information d’étiquetage électronique par un message audio ou sur un écran d'affichage d’un appareil hôte connecté via une connexion physique, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, etc. à la condition qu’une telle connexion soit obligatoirement requise pour son utilisation. Cela s’applique aux appareils soumis aux exigences de certification ou d’enregistrement et aux normes sur le matériel brouilleur (NMB) applicables lorsque cet Avis est référence. D'autres méthodes d’étiquetage électronique pourraient être permises sur une base de cas par cas par le ministère.

  1. Renseignements à afficher
    1. Le numéro d’enregistrement d’Industrie Canada pour les appareils d’un matériel terminal, le numéro de certification pour le matériel radio, et le numéro d’identification de modèle.
    2. Tout autre renseignement devant être fourni sur la surface de l’appareil, à moins qu’il soit permis qu’un tel renseignement apparaisse dans le guide d’utilisation ou sur d’autres encarts à l’intérieur de l’emballage.
  2. Accès aux renseignements nécessaires
    1. Des instructions précises doivent être transmises aux utilisateurs relativement à la façon d’accéder aux renseignements réglementaires stockés sous forme électronique, sans qu’il soit nécessaire d’avoir recours à des accessoires ou des codes d’accès spéciaux (c.-à-d. cartes SIM ou USIM) ou de suivre des étapes multiples (pas plus que trois) dans le menu d’un appareil.Footnote 1
    2. Il importe de transmettre des instructions précises, auxquelles l’utilisateur moyen a facilement accès et qui apparaissent dans le guide d’utilisation, dans la brochure explicative, sur les encarts à l’intérieur de l’emballage ou sur un site Web concernant le produit.Footnote 2
    3. La demande d’autorisation du matériel doit inclure, sur l’étiquette affichée, des instructions précises sur la façon d’accéder aux renseignements
  3. Étiquetage pour les importations et les achats
    1. Dans le cas des produits utilisant des étiquettes électroniques, une étiquette physique doit apparaître sur l’emballage de ces produits au moment de l’importation, de la commercialisation et de la vente.
    2. Dans le cas des appareils importés en vrac (non emballés individuellement), une étiquette adhésive amovible ou, pour les appareils se trouvant dans des sacs de protection, une étiquette apposée sur les sacs, peut être acceptable aux fins du respect de la présente exigence.
    3. Toute étiquette amovible utilisée doit survivre aux conditions normales d’expédition et de manutention, et ne doit être enlevée que par le consommateur après la vente. Dans le cas des appareils déjà importés dans des emballages individuels prêts à la vente, les renseignements peuvent aussi apparaître sur l’emballage et doivent inclure ce qui suit :
      1. Le numéro de certification d’IC pour le matériel radio, le numéro d’enregistrement pour le matériel terminal et le numéro d’identification de modèle.
      2. Tout autre renseignement requis en vertu d’exigences précises et à faire apparaître sur la surface du produit, à moins qu’il soit permis qu’un tel renseignement soit inclus dans le guide d’utilisation ou sur d’autres encarts à l’intérieur de l’emballage.
  4. Sécurité
    1. Les renseignements susmentionnées doivent être programmés par le parti responsable et ces derniers doivent être sécurisés d’une telle façon à ce que ceux-ci ne puissent pas être modifiés ou effacés lors d’activités qu’un tierce parti (usager typique) pourrait être autorisé d’entreprendre (ex : installation d’applications, accéder aux menus, etc.).
  5. Guide d’utilisation / Emballage
    1. Tous les renseignements réglementaires requis sur l’emballage ou dans le guide d’utilisation doivent être fournis conformément aux exigences pertinentes, même s’ils sont affichés sous forme électronique.
    2. Les étiquettes électroniques affichées peuvent inclure les renseignements réglementaires devant être inclus dans le guide d’utilisation ou sur l’emballage, conformément aux exigences pertinentes. Les facteurs suivants doivent être pris en considération aux fins de la diffusion de tels renseignements.
      1. Si le manuel ou le guide d’utilisation principal est fourni sur un autre support électronique (p. ex. sur un disque compact ou en ligne), ces renseignements peuvent aussi, à titre optionnel, apparaître sur l’étiquette électronique.
      2. Le support de l’étiquette électronique doit permettre de bien faire la distinction entre les renseignements qui doivent apparaître sur la surface de l’appareil et ceux qui doivent apparaître dans le guide d’utilisation ou sur l’emballage.
  6. Appareils approuvés en tant que modules d’émission certifiés
    1. Le numéro de certification d’IC des appareils approuvés en tant que modules d’émission certifiés peut être affiché sous forme électronique, si le module ou le système central auquel l’appareil est intégré est doté d’un écran d’affichage. Les directives générales concernant tous les émetteurs dont il a été question précédemment visent aussi de tels appareils.
    2. Si le module d’émission certifié offre une interface d’échange électronique sécurisée incluant une fonction d’authentification entre le système central doté d’un écran d’affichage intégré et le module, aux fins de l’identification du bon numéro de certification d’IC, le système central peut afficher le numéro d’identification d’IC sur son écran d’affichage intégré. Le module peut être installable par l’utilisateur ou installé à l’usine. La demande d’autorisation de matériel pour de tels modules doit inclure une description du protocole d’échange électronique sécurisé et du caractère sécuritaire d’un tel dispositif.Footnote 3
    3. Si le module d’émission certifié n’offre pas d’interface d’échange électronique incluant une fonction d’authentification, le fabricant du système central peut afficher sur ce dernier le numéro de certification d’IC, par suite de l’encodage en usine du numéro de certification d’IC du module.
    4. Le code attribué en usine doit être sécurisé et verrouillé par le fabricant, et être à l’abri de toute modification par des tiers. Les renseignements programmés doivent afficher le numéro de certification d’IC, précédé par les mots « Contient le module d’émission », ou le mot « Contient », ou une formulation semblable ayant le même sens, comme suit :

      «  Contient le module d’émission IC : XXXXXX-YYYYYYYYYYY  »

      où XXXXXX-YYYYYYYYYYY est le numéro de certification du module.

    5. Les multiples modules d’un système peuvent être affichés sous forme électronique comme suit : «  Contient les modules d’émission IC : XXXXXX-YYYYYYYYYYY1, XXXXXX-YYYYYYYYYYY2  », etc.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez les transmettre à la direction des normes réglementaires, à l’adresse de courrier électronique suivante : res_nmr@canada.ca

Date de modification :