Notice 2020 - DRS0007

April 22, 2020

Certification Requirements for Products Employing Time-Averaged Specific Absorption Rate (TAS) Protocol

Products employing time averaging technology used for dynamic management of power levels to control Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) over a specific time period, such as QUALCOMM’s Smart TransmitTM, require pre-approval from ISED. ISED will only consider the acceptance and subsequent listing of products on the Radio Equipment List (REL) provided the following requirements have been met.


A. Consultation with ISED prior to seeking equipment certification for new and emerging technologies

When there are no standardized test procedures explicitly defined for new and emerging technologies, ISED shall be consulted to determine the necessary test methodologies for demonstrating compliance with applicable Canadian requirements (e.g. Canadian RF exposure limits).

To minimize delay in obtaining Canadian regulatory approval, applicants and other responsible parties (e.g. recognized test laboratories, certification bodies, product integrators etc.) should contact the Department as early as possible via the general inquiry web page.


B. Pre-approval of SAR time averaging protocols

Due to the lack of standardized test methods and protocols, ISED will be assessing all applications for product certification involving Time-averaged SAR (TAS) on a case-by-case basis. No product will be listed on the Radio Equipment List (REL) until ISED has validated and approved the TAS protocol.

ISED approval will be granted following a satisfactory review of the protocol documentation, and, when deemed necessary, via a physical evaluation.

When is ISED pre-approval required?

    1. TAS protocols
    Any TAS protocol shall be pre-approved by ISED.

    2. Modules
    Any module integrating an ISED approved TAS protocol requires pre-approval by ISED to validate host product integration.

    3. Final products

    Any final product that integrates an ISED approved TAS protocol requires pre-approval by ISED to validate that the final product took into account the integration considerations stipulated by the TAS protocol developer as well as the requirements set forth in this document.

    Note: When the final product is a host integrating a certified module incorporating an ISED approved TAS protocol, ISED pre-approval is not required. However, the C4PC requirements detailed in section 10.4 and 11.4 of RSP-100, including any other requirements set forth in applicable standards, shall be met.


TAS pre-approval packages shall be submitted to ISED via the following email address: ic.certificationbureau-bureauhomologation.ic@canada.ca. It is recommended to add “TAS pre-approval package” in the subject line of the email.

Following a successful review of the TAS pre-approval package, ISED will provide an approval letter to the applicant. The applicant shall provide the approval letter to the Certification Body (CB) for the purpose of certification. The CB shall include the approval letter as part of the technical brief submitted to ISED for the product to be listed on the REL.


C. Time-averaging period

To demonstrate compliance with the SAR limits specified in Health Canada’s Safety Code 6 and ISED’s RSS-102, a time averaging period of 360 seconds shall be used; compliance shall be demonstrated in any 360 second period (rolling window). All products certified for the Canadian market shall implement a time-averaging period of 360 seconds at the chip set level.


D. Averaging methodology

As per Health Canada’s Technical Guide for Safety Code 6, the arithmetic mean shall be used when averaging SAR to demonstrate compliance with the Canadian radio frequency (RF) exposure limits. Averaging methods employing any types of weighting factors are not accepted.


E. Laboratory accreditation

All testing performed to demonstrate compliance of a radio apparatus with the requirements set forth in RSS-102, including its referenced and accepted normative standards and test procedures, shall be carried out by an ISED recognized testing laboratory.

It is critical that all device specific evaluation parameters used for compliance evaluations are assessed by a recognized test laboratory including, but not limited to, the following;

✔ Factors and methods used to determine applicable exposure conditions and operational modes
✔ Proximity or other sensors used for power reduction
✔ Output power
✔ Dynamic antenna tuning
✔ SAR evaluations
✔ Time-averaging transmitter (Tx) factor assessment
✔ TAS protocol validation

For proprietary test procedures and validation protocols that have been accepted by ISED, the recognized test laboratory shall demonstrate that they have been approved by the TAS protocol developer to assess their technology. An approval letter from the TAS protocol developer shall be provided as part of the technical brief submission. A TAS protocol developer’s in-house test laboratory is not required to submit an approval letter.


F. Product certification requirements

Manufacturers, importers, distributors and vendors have a legal obligation to ensure that Category I radio apparatus introduced in the Canadian marketplace have been certified and comply with applicable Canadian technical standards.

As per the requirements set forth in Section 4 (3) of the Radiocommunication Act, “No person shall manufacture, import, distribute, lease, offer for sale or sell any radio apparatus, interference-causing equipment or radio-sensitive equipment for which technical standards have been established under paragraph 6(1)(a), unless the apparatus or equipment complies with those standards.”

As per the requirements set forth in section 2.6.1 of RSS-Gen Issue 5, “No person shall import, distribute, lease, offer for sale, or sell Category I radio apparatus in Canada unless they are listed on ISED's REL”.

Equipment in the Canadian marketplace shall continue to meet those standards during their entire life-cycle.


G. Future Considerations

ISED is currently analyzing how time averaging can be implemented to manage compliance with other RF exposure requirements, such as power density above 6 GHz.

If you have any questions or require additional guidance, please contact ISED via the following web page: General Inquiry form

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Avis 2020 - DRS0007

le 22 avril, 2020

Mise à jour le 15 septembre, 2020 (délais de traitment ajoutés à la section B)

Exigences de certification pour les produits utilisant un protocole de calcul de la valeur moyenne temporelle du débit d’absorption spécifique (TAS)

Les produits qui utilisent des techniques de calcul de la moyenne temporelle pour la gestion dynamique des niveaux de puissance afin de régir le débit d’absorption spécifique (DAS) sur une période de temps particulière (par exemple, Smart TransmitMC de QUALCOMM), doivent être approuvés à l’avance par ISDE. ISDE envisagera seulement d’accepter et d’inclure un produit dans la Nomenclature du matériel radio (NMR) si les exigences suivantes sont respectées.


A. Consultation avec ISDE avant de demander la certification pour de nouvelles technologies

Lorsqu’il n’y a pas de procédure d’essais normalisée définie pour de nouvelles technologies, il est nécessaire de consulter ISDE pour déterminer les méthodes d’essai à utiliser pour démontrer la compatibilité avec les exigences canadiennes pertinentes (p. ex., limites canadiennes d’exposition aux RF).

Pour accélérer le processus d’approbation réglementaire canadien, les demandeurs et les autres parties responsables (p. ex., laboratoires d’essais reconnus, organismes de certification, intégrateurs de produits) doivent communiquer avec le ministère dès que possible par l’intermédiaire de la page Web Demande générale.


B. Approbation préalable de protocoles de calcul de la moyenne temporelle du DAS

Compte tenu de l’absence de méthodes et de protocoles d’essais normalisés, ISDE évalue au cas par cas les demandes de certification de produits qui utilisent le calcul de la moyenne temporelle du DAS (TAS). Aucun produit ne sera ajouté à la Nomenclature du matériel radio (NMR) tant qu’ISDE n’aura pas validé et approuvé le protocole de calcul du TAS.

L’approbation d’ISDE sera accordée à la suite d’un examen satisfaisant des documents relatifs au protocole et, au besoin, d’une évaluation physique.


Quand faut-il obtenir une autorisation préalable?

    1. Protocoles TAS
    Chaque protocole TAS doit être approuvé au préalable par ISDE.

    2. Modules
    Tout module qui intègre un protocole TAS approuvé par ISDE requiert une approbation préalable d’ISDE pour valider l’intégration du produit hôte.

    3. Produits finaux
    Chaque produit final qui intègre un protocole TAS approuvé par ISDE doit être approuvé au préalable par ISDE pour vérifier que le produit tient compte des facteurs relatifs à l’intégration énoncés par le concepteur du protocole TAS ainsi que des exigences du présent document.

    Nota : L’approbation préalable d’ISDE n’est pas requise lorsque le produit final est un hôte qui intègre un module certifié utilisant un protocole de calcul approuvé par ISDE. Toutefois, les exigences en matière de modifications permises au matériel de classe IV (MPC4) énoncées aux sections 10.4 et 11.4 du PNR-100, y compris d’autres exigences énoncées dans les normes pertinentes, doivent être respectées.

Transmettez à lSDE les trousses d’approbation préalable de protocoles TAS à l’adresse ic.certificationbureau-bureauhomologation.ic@canada.ca. Nous recommandons d’inclure le libellé « Trousse d’approbation préalable de protocoles TAS » dans la ligne d’objet du message.

L’approbation des protocoles TAS est un long processus qui prend plusieurs semaines, et dans certains cas, des mois, surtout, lorsqu’une évaluation physique est nécessaire. Les demandeurs et les autres parties responsables (p. ex. Les fabricants, les intégrateurs de produits, les laboratoires d’essais reconnus / organismes de certification) devraient communiquer avec ISDE le plus tôt possible.

Pour les modules ou les produits finaux qui implémentent un protocole TAS préalablement approuvés par ISDE, la trousse d’approbation préalable doit être envoyée à ISDE au moins 10 jours ouvrables avant la date de certification souhaitée.

ISDE examine la trousse et, le cas échéant, transmet au demandeur une lettre d’approbation. Le demandeur fournit alors la lettre d’approbation à l’organisme de certification. L’organisme de certification inclut la lettre d’approbation dans le mémoire technique présenté à ISDE pour faire inclure le produit dans la NMR.


C. Période de calcul de la moyenne temporelle

Pour démontrer la conformité aux limites de DAS précisées dans le Code de sécurité 6 de Santé Canada et le CNR-102 d’ISDE, il faut utiliser une période de calcul de la moyenne temporelle de 360 secondes et démontrer la conformité au cours de n’importe quelle période de 360 secondes (période mobile). Tous les produits certifiés pour le marché canadien doivent appliquer une période de calcul de la moyenne temporelle de 360 secondes au niveau du chipset.


D. Méthode de calcul de la moyenne temporelle

Conformément au Guide technique pour le Code de sécurité 6, il faut utiliser la moyenne arithmétique pour le calcul de la moyenne temporelle du DAS afin de démontrer la conformité aux limites canadiennes d’exposition aux RF. Aucune autre méthode de calcul de la moyenne n’est acceptée.


E. Accréditation du laboratoire

L’ensemble des essais pour démontrer la conformité d’un appareil radio aux exigences énoncées dans le CNR-102, y compris les normes et procédures d’essais citées et acceptées, doit être effectué par un laboratoire d’essais reconnu par ISDE.

Il est essentiel qu’un laboratoire d’essais reconnu examine tous les paramètres d’évaluation propres à un dispositif, y compris ce qui suit (sans s’y limiter) :

✔ facteurs et méthodes de détermination des conditions d’exposition et des modes opérationnels pertinents;
✔ capteurs de proximité ou autres utilisés pour réduire la puissance;
✔ puissance de sortie de l’émetteur;
✔ syntonisation dynamique de l’antenne;
✔ évaluations du DAS;
✔ évaluation du facteur de calcul de la moyenne temporelle de l’émetteur (Tx factor);
✔ validation du protocole TAS.

Dans le cas de procédures d’essais et de protocoles de validation exclusifs acceptés par ISDE, le laboratoire d’essais reconnu doit démontrer qu’ils ont été approuvés par le concepteur du protocole TAS pour évaluer leur technologie. Le mémoire technique déposé auprès d’ISDE doit inclure la lettre d’approbation du concepteur du protocole TAS. Aucune lettre n’est requise pour l’utilisation faite par un laboratoire d’essais interne du concepteur du protocole TAS.


F. Exigences de certification d’un produit

Les fabricants, les importateurs, les distributeurs et les vendeurs ont l’obligation juridique de s’assurer que les appareils radio de catégorie I introduits sur le marché canadien sont certifiés et conformes aux normes techniques pertinentes du Canada.

En vertu des exigences énoncées au paragraphe 4(3) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, « Il est interdit d’effectuer les activités prévues au paragraphe (2) à l’égard de tout appareil ou matériel qui y est mentionné et qui n’est pas conforme aux normes techniques fixées en application de l’alinéa 6(1)a) auxquelles il est assujetti. »

En vertu des exigences énoncées à la section 2.6.1 de la 5e édition du CNR-Gen, « Nul n’est autorisé à importer, à distribuer, à louer, à mettre en vente ou à vendre des appareils radio de catégorie I au Canada, sauf s’ils sont inscrits dans la base de données de la NMR d’ISDE. »

Le matériel offert sur le marché canadien doit continuer de respecter les normes tout au long de son cycle de vie.


G. Considérations pour l’avenir

ISDE analyse actuellement l’application du calcul de la moyenne temporelle dans le cadre de la gestion des autres exigences en matière d’exposition aux RF, par exemple, pour la densité de puissance au-delà de 6 GHz. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec ISDE au moyen de la page Web Demande générale

Date de modification :