Language selection

Search

Notice 2020 - DRS0019

October 19, 2020

Guidance for RF Exposure Assessments of Portable Devices with Wireless Power Transfer (WPT) Capabilities


This notice provides guidance to ensure that RF exposure from WPT-enabled portable devices is properly assessed according to ISED’s rules.


1. Introduction

Wireless charging is increasing in popularity among portable devices, such as tablets and smartphones. While early portable devices were only capable of receiving power, new devices are being released with the capability of charging accessories or other devices.


Most WPT implementations for portable devices operate between 100 kHz and 10 MHz. As a result, they must comply with the limits preventing both thermal and nerve stimulation (NS) effects.


2. Assessment Methods

WPT-enabled portable devices shall comply with the basic restrictions for internal electric field and specific absorption rate (SAR) to prevent NS and thermal effects, respectively. While the NS basic restriction is defined from 3 kHz to 10 MHz, SAR is defined from 100 kHz to 10 MHz. However, there are no commercially available systems to measure these quantities in the range of 100 kHz to 10 MHz. As a result, there are two options for assessing compliance of WPT-enabled portable devices:

  1. Computational assessment against the basic restrictions. The applicant shall consult with ISED for guidance in this regard.
  2. Both electric (E) and magnetic (H) field measurements for comparison with the SAR and NS-based reference levels summarized in Table 4 of RSS-102. If any of the reference levels are exceeded, a full computational assessment is required in accordance with (a).

It is important to note that WPT-enabled portable devices do not meet the condition for exemption from routine evaluation outlined in section 6.4.4 of RSS-216. In addition, they should not be treated as table-top devices, since charging may occur when the devices are in a body-worn configuration.


3. Separation Distances

For SAR compliance, WPT-enabled portable devices should be evaluated under body-worn conditions. In accordance with section 3.1.1 of RSS-102, when assessing SAR compliance, the maximum allowed separation distance is 15 mm.


Section 6.4 of SPR-002 states that NS compliance should be assessed at a separation distance which is logical based on normal usage conditions, and declared by the manufacturer in the user manual. In the case of WPT-enabled portable devices, the separation distance for NS compliance testing should also be 15 mm or less.


For WPT-enabled portable devices being considered for certification, the user manuals shall specify the separation distance when the WPT function is enabled, which shall not be larger than 15 mm.


4. Measurement probe

All field measurements should be performed using a probe which meets the requirements outlined in Section 5.2 of SPR-002 (additional clarifications can be found in Notice 2020 – DRS0012).


5. Test conditions

Applicants shall consult with ISED for guidance regarding computational assessments.


When performing field measurements for comparison with reference levels, the following guidance provided in section 6.4.4 of RSS-216 is relevant:

“RF exposure shall be evaluated with the client devices charged/powered by the source device at maximum output power. Additionally, all transmitters, including those not used for wireless power transfer, must be active simultaneously and at maximum power.”


In the context of NS, the relevant procedures outlined in SPR-002 should be followed.


The measurements should capture the highest fields to which a user may be exposed. This may require several measurements, taken from each side of the equipment under test.


6. Future considerations

ISED will be modernizing its guidance with respect to WPT devices. Computational assessments will be preferred in the near term; ISED's internal guidance will be further developed and generalized for this purpose. As internationally accepted assessment methods and measurement systems become available, they will be evaluated and incorporated into ISED's guidance accordingly.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Avis 2020 - DRS0019

le 19 octobre 2020

Directives pour l’évaluation de l’exposition aux RF des dispositifs portatifs de transfert d’alimentation sans fil (TASF)


Le présent avis fournit des directives pour veiller à ce que l’exposition aux RF des dispositifs portatifs de transfert d’alimentation sans fil soit évaluée selon les règles d’ISDE.


1. Introduction

Le transfert d’alimentation sans fil est en popularité croissante parmi les dispositifs portatifs, comme les tablettes et les téléphones intelligents. Alors que les premiers dispositifs portatifs n'étaient que capables de recevoir de l'énergie, de nouveaux appareils ont la capacité d’alimenter des accessoires ou d'autres appareils.


La plupart des implémentations TASF pour les dispositifs portatifs fonctionnent entre 100 kHz et 10 MHz. En conséquence, ils doivent respecter les limites empêchant à la fois les effets thermiques et de stimulation des nerfs (SN).


2. Méthodes d’évaluation

Les dispositifs portatifs TASF doivent se conformer aux restrictions de base applicables à l’intensité du champ électrique interne et au débit d'absorption spécifique (DAS) afin de, respectivement, prévenir la SN et les effets thermiques. Bien que la restriction de base pour la SN s'applique de 3 kHz à 10 MHz, le DAS s'applique de 100 kHz à 10 MHz. Toutefois, il n’y a aucun système de mesure disponible sur le marché pour mesurer ces quantités dans la gamme de 100 kHz à 10 MHz. Par conséquent, il y a deux options pour évaluer la conformité des dispositifs portatifs TASF :

  1. évaluation par modélisation (simulation) par rapport aux restrictions de base. Les requérants doivent consulter ISDE pour obtenir des directives à cet égard.
  2. mesure du champ électrique (E) et magnétique (H) à des fins de comparaison avec les niveaux de référence basés sur la DAS et SN qui sont résumés dans le tableau 4 du CNR-102. Si l’un des niveaux de référence excède la limite prescrite, une évaluation par modélisation est requise conformément à (a).

Il est important de noter que les dispositifs portatifs TASF ne répondent pas aux conditions relatives à la dispense (exemption) de l'évaluation courante décrites à la Section 6.4.4 de RSS-216. En outre, ils ne doivent pas être traités comme des dispositifs TASF conçus pour être utilisés sur une surface de bureau, puisque l’alimentation d’un autre appareil peut survenir lorsque les dispositifs sont dans une configuration portée sur le corps.


3. Distance de séparation

Pour la conformité au DAS, les dispositifs portatifs TAFS peuvent être évalués en vertu des conditions portées sur le corps. Conformément à la section 3.1.1 du CNR-102, au moment d'évaluer la conformité au DAS, la distance de séparation maximale autorisée est de 15 mm.


La section 6.4 de la PRS-002 affirme que la conformité SN peut être évaluée à une distance de séparation logique fondée sur des conditions d’utilisation normales, et qui est déclarée par le fabricant dans le manuel de l’utilisateur. Dans le cas des dispositifs portatifs TASF, la distance de séparation pour les essais de conformité NS doit également être de 15 mm ou moins.


Pour les dispositifs portatifs TASF envisagés aux fins d’homologation, le manuel de l’utilisateur doit préciser la distance de séparation lorsque la fonction de TASF est activée, et la distance de séparation ne doit pas être supérieure à 15 mm.


4. Sonde du matériel d’essai

Toutes les mesures de champs doivent être effectuées en utilisant une sonde qui répond aux exigences énoncées dans la section 5.2 de PRS-002 (des précisions supplémentaires se trouvent dans l’avis 2020 – DRS0012).


5. Conditions d’essai

Les requérants doivent consulter ISDE pour obtenir des directives pour les évaluations par modélisation.


Lors de l’exécution des mesures des champs à des fins de comparaison avec les niveaux de référence, seule la directive suivante fournie dans la section 6.4.4 de RSS-216 est pertinente :

« L'exposition aux RF doit être évaluée alors que les dispositifs clients sont alimentés/rechargés par le dispositif source à son niveau de puissance maximal. De plus, tous les transmetteurs, y compris ceux qui ne sont pas utilisés aux fins de transfert d'alimentation sans fil, doivent fonctionner simultanément à leur puissance maximale. »


Dans le contexte de la SN, les procédures pertinentes énoncées dans SPR-002 devront être suivies.


Les mesures devront saisir le champ le plus élevé auquel un utilisateur peut être exposé. Cela peut exiger plusieurs mesures, prises de chaque côté de l’équipement soumis à l’essai.


6. Prochainement

ISDE modernisera ses directives concernant les dispositifs TASF. Les évaluations par modélisation seront privilégiées à court terme; l’approche utilisée à l’interne sera développée et généralisée à cette fin. Au fur et à mesure que des méthodes d’évaluation reconnues à l’échelle internationale et des systèmes de mesure seront commercialement disponibles, ils seront évalués et intégrés dans les lignes directrices d'ISDE s’il y a lieu.

Date de modification :