Language selection

Search

Notice 2020-DRS0020

November 3, 2020

Updated April 20, 2021 (Clarified the applicability of FCC KDB 941225 D05 for LTE devices)

Applicability of IEC/IEEE 62209-1528 and IEC 62209-3 Standard

The Radio Standards Specification (RSS)-102 entitled Radio Frequency (RF) Exposure Compliance of Radiocommunication Apparatus (All Frequency Bands) incorporates by reference the latest version of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 62209 and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)-1528 standards for Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) assessment of wireless devices.

On October 19, 2020, the IEC and IEEE published the IEC/IEEE 62209-1528:2020 ED1 (IEC/IEEE 62209-1528 thereafter), entitled Measurement procedure for the assessment of specific absorption rate of human exposure to radio frequency fields from hand-held and body-worn wireless communication devices - Part 1528: Human models, instrumentation and procedures (Frequency range of 4 MHz to 10 GHz).

Although the IEC/IEEE 62209-1528 defines procedures to evaluate SAR up to 10 GHz, as per Health Canada’s Safety Code 6, SAR measurements shall only be performed up to 6 GHz to assess RF exposure compliance. Above 6 GHz, power density is the appropriate metric to assess RF exposure compliance.

In addition, the SAR assessment procedures for long term evolution (LTE) devices provided in FCC KDB 941225 D05: SAR for LTE Devices v02r05 take precedence over Clause 7.9.3.6 of IEC/IEEE 62209-1528.

This notice announces that for the purposes of wireless devices certification, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) is adopting the IEC/IEEE 62209-1528 procedures and requirements with the exception of Clause 7.6 – Time-period averaged SAR considerations. In lieu of Clause 7.6, ISED intends to publish SPR-004 entitled Time-Averaging SAR Assessment Procedures, which will provide standardized procedures for the certification of final products implementing ISED approved time-averaging SAR algorithms. In the meantime, Notice 2020-DRS0007 provides guidance that shall be followed by the applicant.

This notice also announces that for the purposes of wireless devices certification, ISED accepts the fast SAR testing procedures set forth in Clause 7.9.2 of IEC/IEEE 62209-1528. The procedures of IEC 62209-3 entitled Measurement procedure for the assessment of specific absorption rate of human exposure to radio frequency fields from hand-held and body-worn wireless communication devices - Part 3: Vector measurement-based systems (Frequency range of 600 MHz to 6 GHz) are still not accepted for device certification in Canada (see Notice 2020-DRS001). However, consistent with IEC/IEEE 62209-1528, Class 2 fast SAR systems compliant with IEC 62209-3 are permitted to be used to identify the worst SAR test configurations (relative SAR measurements) that shall subsequently be measured with full SAR testing to assess compliance (absolute SAR measurements).

Starting immediately, all certification bodies (CB) and test labs may apply the adopted procedures and requirements of the IEC/IEEE 62209-1528 standard on a voluntary basis. However, starting on May 3, 2021, the adopted procedures and requirements of IEC/IEEE 62209-1528 standard shall be mandatory for the certification of wireless devices operating in the frequency range from 4 MHz to 6 GHz.

Should you have any questions, please use our General Inquiry form .

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Avis 2020-DRS0020

le 3 novembre 2020

Mise à jour le 20 avril, 2021 (Clarifier l’applicabilité de la KDB 941225 D05 de la FCC pour les dispositifs LTE)

Applicabilité des normes IEC/IEEE 62209-1528 et CEI 62209-3

Le Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR)-102 intitulé Conformité des appareils de radiocommunication aux limites d'exposition humaine aux radiofréquences (toutes bandes de fréquences) intègre par renvoi la dernière édition des normes de la Commission électrotechnique internationale (CEI) 62209 et de la Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)-1528 reliées à l'évaluation du débit d'absorption spécifique (DAS) des dispositifs sans fil.

Le 19 octobre 2020, la CEI et IEEE ont publié la IEC/IEEE 62209-1528:2020 ED1 (IEC/IEEE 62209-1528 par la suite), intitulée Measurement procedure for the assessment of specific absorption rate of human exposure to radio frequency fields from hand-held and body-worn wireless communication devices - Part 1528: Human models, instrumentation and procedures (Frequency range of 4 MHz to 10 GHz) (disponible en anglais seulement).

Bien que le IEC/IEEE 62209-1528 contient des procédures visant à évaluer le DAS jusqu’à 10 GHz, le DAS doit être utilisé jusqu’à 6 GHz pour évaluer la conformité de l’exposition aux RF conformément au Code de sécurité 6 de Santé Canada. Pour les fréquences au-delà de 6 GHz, la densité de puissance est la mesure appropriée pour évaluer la conformité de l’exposition aux RF.

Le présent avis annonce qu’aux fins de la certification des dispositifs sans fil, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) adopte les procédures et exigences de la IEC/IEEE 62209-1528 à l’exception de la section 7.6 intitulée « Time-period averaged SAR considerations ». En guise de remplacement, ISDE a l’intention de publier la PRS-004 intitulée « Procédures d’évaluation de la valeur moyenne temporelle du DAS », qui fournira les procédures normalisées pour la certification des produits finaux utilisant des algorithmes de la valeur moyenne temporelle du DAS préalablement approuvés ISDE. Entre-temps, l’Avis 2020 - DRS0007 fournit les directives qui doivent être suivies par le demandeur.

En outre, les procédures d’évaluation du DAS pour les dispositifs de l’évolution à long terme (LTE) fournis dans la KDB 941225 D05 de la FCC « SAR for LTE Devices v02r05 » (disponible en anglais seulement) ont préséance sur la clause 7.9.3.6 de la IEC/IEEE 62209-1528.

Le présent avis annonce également que pour les fins de certification des dispositifs sans fil, ISDE accepte les procédures d’essai du DAS rapide décrites à la section 7.9.2 du IEC/IEEE 62209-1528. Les procédures de la CEI 62209-3 intitulé Procédure de mesure pour l'évaluation du débit d'absorption spécifique de l'exposition humaine aux champs radiofréquence produits par les dispositifs de communications sans fil tenus à la main ou portes près du corps - Partie 3: Systèmes basés sur la mesure vectorielle (plage de fréquences comprise entre 600 MHz et 6 GHz) ne sont toujours pas acceptées pour la certification des dispositifs sans fils au Canada (voir l’Avis 2020-DRS001). Par contre, les systèmes de DAS de type Classe 2 conformes à la CEI 62209-3 sont autorisés à être utilisés pour définir les configurations qui génèrent les valeurs de DAS les plus élevées (mesures du DAS relatives) qui doivent par la suite être évaluées avec une mesure complète du DAS pour évaluer la conformité (mesure du DAS absolue).

À partir de maintenant, tous les organismes de certification (OC) et laboratoires d’essai peuvent appliquer les procédures et exigences acceptées de la norme IEC/IEEE 62209-1528 sur une base volontaire. Toutefois, à compter du 3 mai 2021, les procédures et exigences acceptées de la norme IEC/IEEE 62209-1528 deviendront obligatoires pour la certification des dispositifs sans fil opérant dans la gamme de fréquences entre 4 MHz et 6 GHz.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez utiliser notre formulaire de demande de renseignements généraux .

Date de modification :