Chemicals and chemical products (Total)

Introduction

This profile provides a brief overview of the overall chemical and chemical products industry. More detailed information is available for select sub-industries in the other industry profiles available on this website.

The chemical industry is a diverse group of manufacturing companies that operate in all regions of Canada. Companies in this industry exhibit one of two features. One group uses chemical reactions to convert one substance into a different substance. The second group, blends a variety of inputs to produce a functional product for specific end-use applications.

According to the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), the chemical industry is identified as NAICS 325. Within this grouping the 4-digit sub-industries are:

Industrial Chemicals

3251 Basic Chemicals

Basic chemical companies transform raw, natural resources like natural gas, crude oil, minerals and metals into organic (petrochemicals) or inorganic chemicals. Also within the basic chemical industry are those companies that start with one chemical substance and subject it to further chemical reactions to create second-order basic chemicals, known as derivatives.

3252 Synthetic Resins and Fibres:

These companies use basic chemicals produced from companies in NAICS 3251 and polymerize them into synthetic resins and fibres. In some cases companies in this industry are integrated (ie., they produce basic chemicals and then convert them into polymers), and in other cases companies buy the basic chemicals from a different company. For both of these industries, the companies tend to be large, multinational firms.

Agricultural Chemicals

3253 Fertilizers and Pesticides:

Fertilizer production is quite similar in nature to basic chemical production. Raw resources are chemically reacted to produce the desired species. Pesticides involve an active ingredient that provides the desired pest-control functionality blended with other substances in order to create a product that is useable by customers. In Canada, there is little production of pesticide active ingredients, and most of the industry is involved in blending, only. Companies in this industry also tend to be large, multinational firms.

Pharmaceuticals

3254 Pharmaceuticals and Medicines:

Pharmaceuticals also involve an active ingredient that provides the basic intended functionality, blended with other substances to put that active ingredient into a form that is easy for patients to use.

Formulated Products

3255 Paints, Adhesives and Sealants

3256 Soaps and Toilet Preparations

3259 Other Chemical Products

For the most part, formulated product manufacturing processes do not involve chemical reactions, but rather involve the blending of a number of chemical products together to meet a particular end-use application. This part of the industry is characterized by a predominance of small and medium-sized firms.

Within each 4-digit NAICS industry, there are further subdivisions into more specific industry groups. The distribution of industry shipments by each of the major sub-industry groupings is shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1: Chemical Industry Structure, 2010 (percentage of total)

the long description is located below the image
Description of Figure 1
Figure 1: Chemical Industry Structure, 2010 (percentage of total)
  Shipments Exports Imports
Source: Statistics Canada
Industrial Chemicals 48.8 38.9 56.5
Agricultural Chemicals 9.31 4.80 5.70
Pharmaceuticals 20.4 32.6 22.1
Formulated Products 21.7 23.7 15.7

Size and Structure of the Industry

In 2010, there were about 2730 establishments in Canada in the chemical industry. This generated shipments valued at $42.4 billion and employed 77 670 people. See the statistical tables on the statistics page for additional information. Compared to all 21 3-digit NAICS industries in Canada, chemicals ranks fifth according to value of shipments and ninth according to employment.

Trade

In 2010, exports totalled $27.9 billion and imports were valued at $40.9 billion. On the basis of exports, chemicals ranks second among all 3-digit NAICS industries in Canada. Canadian exports of chemicals grew from 25 percent of shipments in 1990 to 64 percent in 2010 (Figure 2). Imports have also increased significantly during this period. In 1990, imports satisfied 31 percent of total domestic consumption, and by 2010 this had risen to 72 percent.

Figure 2: Trade (percentages)

Figure 2: Trade (percentages) (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 2
Figure 2: Trade (percentages)
Year Exports as Percentage of Shipments Imports as Percentage of Domestic Market Trade Balance as Percentage of Shipments
Source: Statistics Canada
1995 44.4 52.3 -16.5
1996 45.7 54.5 -19.2
1997 48.0 56.8 -20.3
1998 49.2 60.9 -29.9
1999 49.7 62.3 -33.3
2000 50.1 61.1 -28.4
2001 51.7 62.6 -29.3
2002 49.9 61.8 -31.4
2003 47.8 59.9 -30.2
2004 51.5 60.9 -23.9
2005 55.2 63.2 -21.7
2006 58.0 65.3 -20.9
2007 67.1 71.8 -16.8
2008 65.3 71.2 -20.6
2009 64.5 73.2 -32.7
2010 63.7 71.9 -29.5

The United States is the dominant export partner, being the destination for 76 percent of exports and the source of 60 percent of imports. The next largest export markets are: United Kingdom (4 percent), China (3 percent) and Brazil (2 percent). The next largest import sources were: Germany (5 percent), Switzerland (4 percent) and France (4 percent).

Regional Distribution

Over the past 10 years, the regional distribution of the industry has not changed dramatically. In 2009, 41 percent of all establishments were located in Ontario, 27 percent in Quebec, 16 percent in the Prairie provinces (mainly Alberta), 12 percent in British Columbia, and 4 percent in the Atlantic provinces (Figure 3). On the basis of shipments, the distribution changes, primarily due to the presence of some very large production facilities in Alberta, to Ontario (45 percent), Prairies (31 percent), Quebec (20 percent), British Columbia (3 percent) and Atlantic Canada (1 percent).

Figure 3: Regional Distribution of Establishments, 2009 (percentage of total)

Figure 3: Regional Distribution of Establishments, 2009 (percentage of total) (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 3
Figure 3: Regional Distribution of Establishments, 2009 (percentage of total)
Region/Province Percent of total
Source: Statistics Canada
Atlantic 3.6
Quebec 27.4
Ontario 41.4
Prairies 15.8
British Columbia 11.8
Date modified:

Fabrication de produits chimiques (totale)

Introduction

Ce profil est un survol de l'ensemble de l'industrie chimique et des produits chimiques. Le lecteur trouvera de plus amples renseignements touchant à des groupes industriels précis à l'intérieur d'autres profils industriels auxquels il a accès sur ce site Web.

Cette industrie regroupe diverses entreprises qui sont à l'œuvre dans toutes les régions au pays. Ces entreprises se distinguent par l'une ou l'autre de deux particularités. Un groupe base ses activités sur des réactions chimiques visant à transformer une substance de départ en une substance différente. Le second groupe combine divers intrants pour fabriquer un produit fonctionnel destiné à des utilisations finales précises.

Dans le Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN), l'industrie chimique porte le code SCIAN 325. À l'intérieur de ce groupe, les groupes industriels, à quatre chiffres, sont les suivants :

Produits chimiques industriels

3251 Fabrication de produits chimiques de base :

Ces entreprises transforment des ressources naturelles brutes comme le gaz naturel, le pétrole brut, les minéraux et les métaux en produits chimiques organiques (pétrochimie) ou inorganiques. Dans ce secteur également, il y a les entreprises qui prennent une substance chimique de départ et la soumettent à des réactions chimiques afin de produire de nouvelles substances chimiques de base, qu'on appelle les dérivés.

3252 Fabrication de résines et de fibres synthétiques :

Ces entreprises prennent les produits chimiques de base qui sont fabriqués par les entreprises du groupe SCIAN 3251 et les polymérisent pour en faire des résines et des fibres synthétiques. Certaines des entreprises de cette industrie sont intégrées (c.-à-d. qu'elles produisent les produits chimiques de base et les transforment ensuite en polymères); d'autres achètent les produits chimiques de base d'une autre entreprise. Dans les deux cas, les entreprises sont généralement de grandes entreprises multinationales.

Produits chimiques agricoles

3253 Fabrication de pesticides et d'engrais :

La production d'engrais s'apparente beaucoup à celle des produits chimiques de base. Les matières premières brutes sont soumises à des réactions chimiques pour donner les produits souhaités. Les pesticides sont constitués d'une matière active à l'origine de l'effet antiparasitaire cherché qui est mélangée à d'autres substances pour donner un produit utilisable par les destinataires. Peu de matières actives sont synthétisées au Canada; la plus grande partie de l'industrie s'occupe du mélange uniquement. Les entreprises sont généralement de grandes entreprises multinationales.

Produits pharmaceutiques

3254 Fabrication de produits pharmaceutiques et de médicaments :

les produits pharmaceutiques sont aussi constitués d'une matière active à l'origine de l'effet cherché, qui est mélangée à d'autres substances la rendant facile d'emploi par les patients.

Formulations

3255 Fabrication de peintures, de revêtements et d'adhésifs

3256 Fabrication de savons, de détachants et de produits de toilette

3259 Fabrication d'autres produits chimiques

En général, les procédés de fabrication de formulations ne comprennent pas de réaction chimique; il est plutôt question de combiner un certain nombre de produits chimiques en vue d'une utilisation finale bien déterminée. Ce secteur industriel est caractérisé par la prédominance de petites et moyennes entreprises.

On trouve à l'intérieur de chaque groupe industriel portant un code de 4 chiffres du bSCIANb, d'autres subdivisions correspondant à des sous-groupes plus précis. La figure 1 donne la distribution des livraisons par chacun des principaux groupes industriels.

Figure 1 : Structure de l'industrie, 2010 (en pourcentage du total)

Figure 1 : Structure de l'industrie, 2010 (en pourcentage du total) (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la Figure 1
Figure 1 : Structure de l'industrie, 2010 (en pourcentage du total)
  Livraisons Exportations Importations
Source : Statistique Canada
Produits chimiques industriels 48,8 38,9 56,5
Produits chimiques agricoles 9,31 4,80 5,70
Produits pharmaceutiques 20,4 32,6 22,1
Formulations 21,7 23,7 15,7

Importance et structure de l'industrie

En 2010, l'industrie chimique au Canada comptait 2730 établissements dont les livraisons ont atteint la valeur de 42,4 milliards de dollars. Elle employait 77 670 personnes. Consulter les tables statistiques pour de plus amples renseignements. À comparer aux 21 industries à 3 chiffres du SCIAN au Canada, l'industrie chimique se classe au cinquième rang en termes de la valeur des livraisons, et au neuvième rang quant à l'emploi.

Échanges commerciaux

En 2010, les exportations se sont chiffrées à 27,9 milliards de dollars, les importations à 40,9 milliards. Pour les exportations, l'industrie chimique se classe au deuxième rang de toutes les industries à 3 chiffres du SCIAN au Canada. L'exportation canadienne de produits chimiques est passée de 25 p. 100 des livraisons en 1990 à 64 p. 100 en 2010 (figure 2). Les importations se sont aussi accrues considérablement au cours de cette période. En 1990, les importations comblaient 31 p. 100 de la consommation intérieure totale; en 2010, cette proportion atteignait 72 p. 100.

Figure 2 : Commerce (en pourcentages)

Figure 2 : Commerce en pourcentages (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la Figure 2
Figure 2 : Commerce (en pourcentages)
Année Exportation en tant que pourcentage des livraisons Importation en tant que pourcentage du marché intérieur Balance en tant que pourcentage des livraisons
Source : Statistique Canada
1995 44,4 52,3 -16,5
1996 45,7 54,5 -19,2
1997 48,0 56,8 -20,3
1998 49,2 60,9 -29,9
1999 49,7 62,3 -33,3
2000 50,1 61,1 -28,4
2001 51,7 62,6 -29,3
2002 49,9 61,8 -31,4
2003 47,8 59,9 -30,2
2004 51,5 60,9 -23,9
2005 55,2 63,2 -21,7
2006 58,0 65,3 -20,9
2007 67,1 71,8 -16,8
2008 65,3 71,2 -20,6
2009 64,5 73,2 -32,7
2010 63,7 71,9 -29,5

Les États-Unis constituent le principal partenaire commercial du Canada sur le plan des exportations canadiennes; 76 p. 100 des exportations y sont destinées. Ce pays est à l'origine de 60 p. 100 des importations canadiennes. Après les États-Unis, les principaux marchés importateurs sont, dans l'ordre, le Royaume-Uni (4 p. 100), la Chine (3 p. 100) et le Brésil (2 p. 100). Après les États-Unis, les principaux exportateurs vers le Canada sont, dans l'ordre, l'Allemagne (5 p. 100), la Suisse (4 p. 100) et la France (4 p. 100).

Répartition entre les régions

Depuis une décennie, cette répartition a assez peu changé. En 2009, 41 p. 100 de tous les établissements étaient situés en Ontario, 27 p. 100 au Québec, 16 p. 100 dans les Prairies (principalement en Alberta), 12 p. 100 en Colombie-Britannique et 4 p. 100 dans les provinces de l'Atlantique (figure 3). En termes de livraisons, la répartition est modifiée, essentiellement à cause de la présence de très grandes installations de production en Alberta : Ontario (45 p. 100), Prairies (31 p. 100), Québec (20 p. 100) Colombie-Britannique (3 p. 100) et Canada atlantique (1 p. 100).

Figure 3 : Distribution régionale des établissements, 2009 (en pourcentage du total)

Figure 3 : Distribution régionale des établissements, 2009 (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la Figure 3
Figure 3 : Distribution régionale des établissements, 2009 (en pourcentage du total)
Région/Province En pourcentage du total)
Source : Statistique Canada
Atlantique 3,6
Québec 27,4
Ontario 41,4
Prairies 15,8
Colombie-Britannique 11,8
Date de modification :