International Affairs

    CIPO's International Objectives

    CIPO is committed to contributing to the improvement of the worldwide IP system, influencing international IP administrative policies and practices for the benefit of Canadians, and sharing and acquiring best practices and business intelligence.

    International Agenda

    CIPO seeks to influence the worldwide IP system, particularly in the area of IP harmonization. We also play a role of technical support for developing countries through many multilateral and bilateral initiatives.

    IP beyond our borders

    Intellectual Property (IP) is very important to the fair and efficient operation of the global marketplace. Most countries have laws protecting various forms of IP which differ from country to country.

    Learn more about intellectual property abroad

    Treaties

    Given the importance of intellectual property (IP) at the international level, some countries have negotiated and adopted treaties in the various fields of intellectual property in order to simplify procedures and practices.

    View the treaties signed and ratified by Canada

    Resources

Affaires internationales

    Objectifs internationaux de l'OPIC

    L'OPIC est déterminé à contribuer à l'amélioration du régime de la PI mondial, d'influencer les politiques internationales de propriété intellectuelle et les pratiques administratives au profit des Canadiens, et nous communiquons et acquérons des pratiques exemplaires et des renseignements d'affaires.

    Plan d'action international

    L'OPIC veut exercer une influence sur le régime mondial de la PI, plus particulièrement dans le domaine de l'harmonisation de la PI. Nous offrons également une assistance technique aux pays en voie de développement grâce à plusieurs projets multilatéraux et bilatéraux.

    La PI au-delà de nos frontières

    La propriété intellectuelle (PI) constitue un élément crucial au déroulement équitable et efficace des activités commerciales dans les marchés mondiaux. La plupart des pays disposent de lois protégeant diverses formes de PI, lois qui diffèrent d'un pays à un autre.

    Renseignez-vous davantage sur la propriété intellectuelle à l'étranger

    Traités

    • Compte tenu de l'importance des enjeux de la propriété intellectuelle (PI) à l'international, certains pays ont négocié et adopté des traités dans différents domaines de la PI afin de simplifier les pratiques et les procédures.
    • Consultez les traités signés et ratifiés par le Canada.

    Ressources