Archived — Modernizing the IP Community

Acknowledgments

The members of the working group responsible for this report would like to thank the Intellectual Property Institute of Canada (IPIC), the International Federation of Intellectual Property Attorneys (FICPI), and the International Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (AIPPI), for supporting the launch of this work by encouraging some of their members to participate in the discussions leading to this report. This report forms the basis for future discussions between those organizations and the Canadian Intellectual Property Office on the topic of modernizing the intellectual property (IP) community. The co-chairs of the working groups recognize the contributions of the many firms and organizations that supported the participation of their partners, associates, and employees in this project.

The co-chairs recognize the remarkable cooperation between the CIPO staff and volunteers who formed the working group, and they look forward to continued cooperation in the implementation stages of the recommendations.

The private sector co-chairs (representing the patent and trademark professions in Canada) believe that this report and all the work that has gone into it represent the first of many steps that are necessary to ensure that Canada has the appropriate modern framework for the IP professions. This will ensure that the interests of the Canadian public are well served in the field of intellectual property. The private sector co-chairs wish to note that this report does not address the long-standing recommendation of the agent professions in Canada to protect the public interest through an autonomous governance model similar to that of other professions in Canada. That implementation option was outside the scope of this report.

The working group thanks the employees of foreign IP offices who responded to our questionnaires and offered their perspective on many of the issues central to this report.

The working group also acknowledges the contribution of Elisabeth Lang, Director General of Program Policy and Regulatory Affairs at the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Table of contents

Date modified:

Archivé — Modernisation de la communauté de la PI

Remerciements

Les membres du groupe de travail responsable du présent rapport souhaitent remercier l'Institut de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (IPIC), la Fédération internationale des conseils en propriété intellectuelle (FICPI) et l'Association internationale pour la protection de la propriété intellectuelle (AIPPI) d'avoir soutenu le lancement de ce travail en encourageant certains de leurs membres à participer aux discussions ayant mené à ce rapport. Ce rapport constitue le fondement des discussions futures entre lesdits organismes et l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada sur la modernisation de la communauté de la propriété intellectuelle (PI). Les coprésidents des groupes de travail reconnaissent les contributions des nombreuses firmes et organismes qui ont appuyé la participation de leurs partenaires, associés et employés à ce projet.

Les coprésidents reconnaissent la collaboration remarquable entre les employés de l'OPIC et les bénévoles qui composaient le groupe de travail, et ils comptent sur une collaboration continue au cours des étapes de mise en œuvre des recommandations.

Les coprésidents du secteur privé (représentant les professions du domaine des brevets et des marques de commerce au Canada) pensent que le présent rapport et tout le travail qui lui a été consacré constituent la première d'un grand nombre d'étapes nécessaires pour assurer que le Canada soit doté d'un cadre moderne approprié pour les professions liées à la PI; un cadre qui puisse assurer que les intérêts du public canadien soient bien servis dans le domaine de la propriété intellectuelle. Les coprésidents du secteur privé souhaitent faire observer que le rapport n'aborde pas la recommandation de longue date des membres des professions d'agents au Canada visant à protéger l'intérêt public au moyen d'un modèle de gouvernance autonome similaire à celui de certaines autres professions au Canada. Cette option de mise en œuvre dépassait la portée du présent rapport.

Le groupe de travail remercie les employés des offices de la PI étrangers qui ont répondu aux questionnaires et offert leur point de vue sur un grand nombre de questions qui sont au cœur du présent rapport.

Le groupe de travail souhaite également souligner la contribution de Mme Elisabeth Lang, directrice générale, Politiques du programme et affaires réglementaires au Bureau du surintendant des faillites Canada.

Table des matières

Date de modification :