Public Consultations on the Proposed Industrial Design Regulations

Current status: Closed

Public consultation: Opened on June 19, 2017 and closed on July 14, 2017
Canada Gazette, Part I: Opened on December 9, 2017 and closed on January 8, 2018

Third-party information liability disclaimer

Some of the information on this web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

The Government of Canada is modernizing Canada's intellectual property (IP) framework in order to join five international IP treaties, including the Hague Agreement for the international registration of industrial designs.

Participation in these international agreements will better align Canada's IP systems with our major international trading partners, making it easier for innovative Canadian businesses to protect their IP at home and abroad. It will also help to make Canada a more attractive destination for foreign investments and encourage foreign companies to bring innovations to the market more quickly, to the benefit of Canadian consumers.

In addition to the measures required to accede to the Hague Agreement, certain aspects of the the industrial design regime will be updated, clarified and codified to ensure further its modernization.

Purpose

This public consultation on proposed amendments to the Industrial Design Regulations was an opportunity to learn about the proposed amendments and their potential impacts and benefits. Individuals were encouraged to read the industrial design consultation material and were invited to ask questions and provide comments related to the Industrial Design Regulations.

What we heard

The following is a compilation of the comments received. Please note that the comments are presented as they were submitted, in the language in which they were written.

Comments received during the public consultation

June 19 to July 14, 2017

Comments received during Canada Gazette, Part I

December 9, 2017 to January 8, 2018

Next steps

We are pleased to announce that feedback received during these consultations was used to finalize the Regulations, which have been published in the Canada Gazette, Part II. Consultations on the new Industrial Design Office Practice Manual (IDOP) were also completed and the feedback will be used to finalize the IDOP in the coming months. Together, these changes along with those of the Act will come into force on November 5, 2018, which will allow Canada to accede to the Hague Agreement and modernize its industrial design regime.

Related information

Contact us

Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Place du Portage I
50 Victoria Street, room C-114
Gatineau, QC K1A 0C9
Email: ic.contact-contact.ic@canada.ca
Phone: 1-866-997-1936

Date modified:

Consultation publique sur le Règlement sur les dessins industriels proposé

État actuel : Fermé

Consultation publique : Du 19 juin 2017 au 14 juillet 2017
Gazette du Canada, Partie I : Du 9 décembre 2017 au 8 janvier 2018

Énoncé de désistement de responsabilité concernant les renseignements provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

Le gouvernement du Canada s'affaire à moderniser le cadre de propriété intellectuelle (PI) du Canada dans le but d'adhérer à cinq traités internationaux en matière de PI, dont l'Arrangement de La Haye concernant l'enregistrement international des dessins et modèles industriels.

L'adhésion à ces traités internationaux permettra au Canada de mieux harmoniser ses régimes de PI avec ceux de ses principaux partenaires commerciaux internationaux, ce qui fera en sorte qu'il sera plus facile pour les entreprises canadiennes novatrices de protéger leur PI au pays et à l'étranger. Cette initiative contribuera également à faire du Canada une destination plus attrayante pour les investissements étrangers et encouragera les entreprises étrangères à commercialiser plus rapidement leurs innovations, pour le bénéfice des consommateurs canadiens.

En plus des mesures à prendre pour adhérer à l’Arrangement de La Haye, certains aspects du régime de dessins industriels seront actualisés, clarifiés et codifiés afin de poursuivre la modernisation du régime.  

Objectif

Cette consultation publique sur les modifications proposées au Règlement sur les dessins industriels était une occasion de se familiariser avec les modifications proposées et avec les répercussions et avantages possibles. Nous avons invité les gens à lire le matériel d'appui sur les dessins industriels, à poser leurs questions et à donner leurs commentaires au sujet du Règlement sur les dessins industriels.

Ce que nous avons entendu

Ci-dessous se trouve une compilation des commentaires reçus. Veuillez prendre note que les commentaires sont présentés comme ils ont été soumis, dans la langue utilisée par l'auteur.

Commentaires reçus durant la consultation publique

Du 19 juin au 14 juillet 2017

Commentaires reçus durant la publication dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada

Du 9 décembre 2017 au 8 janvier 2018

Prochaines étapes

Nous avons le plaisir d’annoncer que la rétroaction reçue dans le cadre de cette consultation a servi à mettre au point le Règlement, qui a été publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada. La consultation sur le nouveau Manuel des pratiques administratives en dessins industriels (PADI) est également terminée et les commentaires reçus seront utilisés pour finaliser le PADI dans les prochains mois. Les modifications apportées au Règlement et au PADI, en plus de celles apportées à la Loi, entreront en vigueur le 5 novembre 2018, ce qui permettra au Canada d’adhérer à l’Arrangement de La Haye et de moderniser son régime de dessins industriels.

Information connexe

Communiquez avec nous

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
Place du Portage I
50, rue Victoria, pièce C-114
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0C9
Courriel : ic.contact-contact.ic@canada.ca
Téléphone : 1-866-997-1936

Date de modification :