Public consultations on the proposed Patent Rules

Current status: Closed

Public consultations on the proposed Patent Rules in August 2018
Canada Gazette, Part I: Opened on December 1, 2018 and closed on December 31, 2018

Third-party information liability disclaimer

Some of the information on this web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

Sender: Canadian Intellectual Property Offic (CIPO)

Purpose

The Government of Canada is modernizing Canada's intellectual property (IP) framework so that we can join five international IP treaties, including the Patent Law Treaty (PLT).

Participation in these international agreements will better align Canada's IP systems with our major international trading partners, making it easier for innovative Canadian businesses to protect their IP at home and abroad. It will also help to make Canada a more attractive destination for foreign investment and encourage companies to bring innovations to market more quickly, to the benefit of Canadian consumers.

We have already made amendments to the Patent Act to comply with the requirements of the PLT, and are now in the process of amending the accompanying Rules which will guide us on how the Act is applied.

This consultation specifically pertains to the proposed amendments to the Patent Rules. In line with our commitment to inclusive, meaningful, open, transparent and balanced consultations, we want to hear your views and comments on the proposed Rules.

What we heard

This public consultation on proposed amendments to the Patent Rules was an opportunity for you to learn about the proposed amendments and their potential impacts and benefits. Individuals were encouraged to read the patent consultation documents listed below and were invited to ask questions and provide comments related to the Patent Rules.

Consultation documents:

Comments received during Canada Gazette, Part I

December 1 to December 31, 2018

Related information

Contact us

Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Place du Portage I
50 Victoria Street, room C-114
Gatineau, QC  K1A 0C9
Email: ic.contact-contact.ic@canada.ca
Phone: 1-866-997-1936

Date modified:

Consultations publiques sur les Règles sur les brevets proposées

État actuel : Fermé

Consultations publiques sur les Règles sur les brevets proposes en décembre 2018
Gazette du Canada, partie 1 : Lancées le 1er décembre 2018 et fermées le 31 décembre 2018

Énoncé de désistement de responsabilité concernant les renseignements provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

Expéditeur : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC)

Objectif

Le gouvernement du Canada s'affaire à moderniser le cadre de propriété intellectuelle (PI) du Canada afin que nous puissions adhérer à cinq (5) traités internationaux en matière de PI, dont le Traité sur le droit des brevets (PLT).

La participation à ces accords internationaux permettra au Canada de mieux aligner ses systèmes de PI sur ceux de ses principaux partenaires commerciaux internationaux, ce qui fera en sorte qu'il sera plus facile pour les entreprises canadiennes novatrices de protéger leur PI au pays et à l'étranger. Cette initiative fera aussi du Canada une destination plus attirante pour les investissements étrangers et encouragera les entreprises à apporter des innovations pouvant être commercialisées plus rapidement, au bénéfice des consommateurs canadiens.

Nous avons déjà apporté des modifications à la Loi sur les brevets afin de nous conformer aux exigences du PLT et nous sommes en voie de modifier les règles afférentes qui nous guideront concernant l'application de la Loi.

Cette consultation aura trait précisément aux modifications proposées aux Règles sur les brevets. Conformément à notre engagement à procéder à des consultations inclusives, significatives, ouvertes, transparentes et équilibrées, nous voulons connaître vos points de vue et commentaires sur les règles proposées.

Ce que nous avons entendu

Cette consultation publique sur les modifications proposées aux Règles sur les brevets était une occasion de se familiariser avec les modifications proposées et leurs répercussions et avantages potentiels. Nous avons invité les gens à lire les documents de consultation sur les brevets énumérés ci-dessous et à poser vos questions et donner leurs commentaires au sujet des Règles sur les brevets.

Documents de la consultation :

Commentaires reçus durant la publication dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada (Gazette du Canada, partie I)

1er décembre au 31 décembre 2018

Information connexe

Communiquez avec nous

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
Place du Portage I
50, rue Victoria, pièce C-114
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0C9
Courriel : ic.contact-contact.ic@canada.ca
Téléphone : 1-866-997-1936

Date de modification :