IP Hub: Protect it - Enforcement/infringement

IP Hub

Protect it

Enforcement/infringement

Intellectual property (IP) rights can be used to prevent competitors from illegally using the business' IP assets. Take some time to read and understand how you can enforce your IP rights and take action on infringement cases. Sail safe in your IP journey!

Discover resources

Discover resources

It is essential to understand the different ways you can enforce and litigate your IP rights and see how your rights can protect your creation.

Alternative dispute resolution

Alternative dispute resolution (ADR) commonly refers to other forms of solving disputes between parties, such as arbitration, mediation and negotiation. ADR methods are generally consensual in nature and enable the parties to tailor the outcome and the dispute resolution process to the parties' needs.

Infringement

Tools

Tools

Find additional practical tools to help you with enforcing your IP rights:

  • Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) – Request for Assistance application
    As a Canadian trademark or geographical indication rights holder or owner registered with the Canadian Intellectual Property Office, you are eligible to file a Request for Assistance (RFA) application with the CBSA. RFAs will help the CBSA to effectively identify and detain commercial shipments suspected of containing counterfeit trademark goods.
  • World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) – Arbitration and Mediation Center
    Based in Geneva, Switzerland, with a further office in Singapore, the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center was established in 1994 to offer alternative dispute resolution options for the resolution of international commercial disputes between private parties.
  • WIPO ­– Domain Name Panelists
    To help parties to a domain name dispute select appropriately qualified panelists, the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center has established a list of persons who have agreed to serve on WIPO Domain Name Administrative Panels.
Find an expert

Find an expert

Have questions? Ask an IP expert!

Canadian Intellectual Property Office

IP agents

Alternative dispute resolution experts

  • ADR Institute of Canada
  • International Trademark Association (INTA) – Panel of Trademark Mediators
    The INTA's Panel of Trademark Mediators offers parties access to an international roster of qualified mediators with specific expertise in trademark and related unfair competition issues, combined with a deep understanding of the business drivers underlying these kinds of disputes.
  • World Intellectual Property Organization – Arbitration and Mediation Center

Other experts

You may want to visit:

Enforcement/
infringement

Your IP journey

Learn it.
Create it.
Protect it.
Grow your business.
Date modified:

Le Carrefour de la PI : Protégez - Application / Violation

Le Carrefour de la PI

Protégez

Application / Violation

Les droits de propriété intellectuelle (PI) peuvent être utilisés pour empêcher les concurrents d'utiliser illégalement les actifs de PI de l'entreprise. Prenez le temps nécessaire pour lire et comprendre comment vous pouvez faire appliquer vos droits de PI et prendre des mesures dans les cas de violation. Faites preuve de prudence en matière de propriété intellectuelle!

Découvrez les ressources

Découvrez les ressources

Il est essentiel que vous compreniez les différentes façons de faire respecter et de défendre vos droits de PI et comment ils peuvent protéger votre création.

Modes de règlement alternatif des différends

Le règlement alternatif des différends (RAD) désigne couramment d'autres formes de règlement de différends entre les parties, comme l'arbitrage, la médiation et la négociation. Les méthodes de RAD sont généralement consensuelles et permettent aux parties d'adapter le résultat et le processus de règlement des différends à leurs besoins.

Violation

Outils

Outils

Pour trouver des outils pratiques additionnels pour vous aider à faire respecter vos droits de PI :

  • Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) – Formulaire de demande d'aide
    À titre de détenteur/titulaire de droits canadiens sur des marques de commerce ou des indications géographiques enregistré auprès de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada, vous êtes admissible à présenter une formulaire de demande d'aide (FDA) à l'ASFC. Les FDA aideront l'ASFC à repérer et à détenir les envois commerciaux soupçonnés de contenir des marchandises de marque contrefaites.
  • Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OMPI) – Centre d'arbitrage et de médiation
    Le Centre d'arbitrage et de médiation de l'OMPI, basé à Genève, en Suisse, et comptant un bureau à Singapour, a été créé en 1994 dans le but de proposer des services de règlement extrajudiciaire des litiges pour le règlement de litiges commerciaux internationaux entre parties privées.
  • OMPI – Experts de l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle en matière de noms de domaine
    Pour aider les parties dans le cadre d'un différend portant sur un nom de domaine à bien choisir des experts compétents, le Centre d'arbitrage et de médiation de l'OMPI a constitué une liste de personnes qui ont accepté d'agir comme experts de l'OMPI en matière de noms de domaine.
Trouvez un expert

Trouvez un expert

Vous avez des questions? Demandez à un expert de la PI!

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Agents de PI

Experts du règlement alternatif des différends

  • Institut d'arbitrage et de médiation du Canada
  • International Trademark Association (INTA) – Groupe des médiateurs en marque de commerce (en anglais seulement)
    Le groupe des médiateurs en marque de commerce de l'INTA offre aux parties un accès à un groupe international de médiateurs qualifiés qui possèdent des compétences particulières dans le domaine des marques de commerce et des questions de concurrence déloyale et qui ont une compréhension approfondie des facteurs commerciaux qui sous-tendent ce genre de différends.
  • Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle – Centre d'arbitrage et de médiation

Autres experts

Vous voudrez peut-être consulter :

Application / Violation

Votre parcours en matière de PI

Apprenez
Créez
Protégez
Prospérez
Date de modification :