Intellectual property success stories

These stories are about businesses reaching their potential with the help and protection of intellectual property.

Canadian businesses bring to the marketplace innovative ideas and designs that are as diverse as its people. Our contribution counts on our knowledge and expertise in delivering quality IP rights for patents, trademarks, copyright and industrial designs so that innovators can profit from rightful ownership. Their success is our raison d'être, and why we choose to share their stories with you.


Solace Power – Generating smart strategies on intellectual property protection

Wireless power transfer is the transmission of electrical energy without wires. In the age of the Internet of Things (IoT), wireless power transfer is quickly moving from a luxury to a necessity. Experts estimate that the IoT will consist of a staggering 30 billion objects by 2020. With many of these objects needing to be powered or recharged, the number of cords required for all these electrical connections will be equally staggering.

Read more about Solace Power – Generating smart strategies on intellectual property protection


Leading a new cooking generation: Instant Pot

The Instant Pot® was created to solve a cooking challenge that busy people face: how to quickly put a healthy, delicious meal on the table after a long day of work or study. The product has struck a chord. It has been the best-selling item in its category on Amazon in the last five years and now boasts a Facebook community of 1.6 million users.

For millions of customers, the Instant Pot is a must-have. But what is the must-have for the company behind the Instant Pot? A solid intellectual property (IP) strategy.

Read more about Leading a new cooking generation: Instant Pot


Spin Master's success in the world of toys

In today's highly competitive toy industry, finding innovative, fun ways for kids to play is the key to success. The Canadian company Spin Master has mastered this skill to become a leading global children's entertainment company while strategically leveraging intellectual property (IP) to protect its products and entertainment properties around the world.

Read more about Spin Master's success in the world of toys


DNA Genotek: Sampling made simple

When a renowned magazine like Time compares your company's inventiveness to what Google did for web searches, you know you're in business.

Based in Ottawa, DNA Genotek makes it possible for healthcare workers, researchers and vendors to collect high-quality DNA samples from donors in any setting, whether they're in the clinic, in the field or in the comfort of their homes.

Read more about DNA Genotek: Sampling made simple


PBSC Urban solutions

"Changing the world, one city at a time," is the motto of PBSC Urban Solutions Inc. (PBSC), and it is easy to understand why. Creator of Montréal's bike sharing system (BIXI), this Canadian company designs, produces and sells bike sharing systems all over the world. The eco-friendly system consists of a docking station and kiosk where bikes can be rented by credit card and returned. Customers can also use their membership card or a mobile app. Popular in Montréal and Toronto, PBSC has successfully implemented its products in more than 30 cities around the world, including New York, London, Chicago, Honolulu, Melbourne and Rio de Janeiro.

Read more about PBSC Urban solutions


Bringing a unique Canadian brand to China

North Vancouver sits at the foot of the North Shore mountains, just minutes away from skiing, climbing, and harsh mountain environments. It provides a unique setting for a city and the perfect crucible for innovative, purposeful outdoor designs. A perfect location for the origin of Arc'teryx.

Founded in 1989, Arc'teryx is an innovative design and manufacturing company specialized in technical high performance outerwear and equipment. Arc'teryx leverages its strong brand recognition through its 32 brand stores globally, including 16 in North America. The company's products are also distributed through more than 3,000 retail locations in 40 countries.

Read more about Bringing a unique Canadian brand to China


Bleeding Art Industries: Creating cool in the creative industries

Founded more than 15 years ago, Bleeding Art Industries creates mind-blowing film special effects and has become a creative incubator for hundreds of artists and technicians in Calgary. The company manufactures props and prosthetics, and produces short films that have won international and domestic film awards.

Owning intellectual property is a key component to Bleeding Art Industries’ success. The company has registered several trademarks and copyrights for its creative products and content.

Read more about Bleeding Art Industries: Creating cool in the creative industries


Green Beaver's natural ingredient to success

Green Beaver has successfully established a reliable and instantly recognized brand in a competitive and growing global industry since 2002. For this company that produces organic, natural personal care products, success not only lies in its quality products, but also in its ability to recognize the value of intellectual property from the very beginning. With a unique trademark, Green Beaver has secured a solid presence and has built a strong customer loyalty base.

Read more about Green Beaver's natural ingredient to success


Crossworks' IP—A cut above the rest

Well settled with two factories in Canada, Crossworks Manufacturing Ltd. is a Canadian diamond manufacturing company whose mission is to create beautiful, sustainable products that are ethically mined, manufactured and sold worldwide. They purchase rough diamonds from the iconic diamond company De Beers, predominately from the Victor Diamond Mine, in Northern Ontario.

Keen on innovation, in the late 1990s, Crossworks began focusing on research and development (R&D) to create new shapes never before seen in the diamond industry, establishing a shiny IP portfolio for themselves. That's when they decided to use their expertise and identity to differentiate themselves as a Canadian company with specialized diamond cuts.

Read more about Crossworks' IP—A cut above the rest


ProSlide – Protecting the "next big thing" with IP

In an industry where differentiation is the key to success, Canada's ProSlide Technology Inc. has manoeuvred the waves expertly. The award-winning water ride company has an impressive list of industry firsts, and recognizes the importance of protecting its intellectual property.

At the heart of its strategy is pursuit of innovation to create the next big thing, while staying flexible towards the market's needs and trends.

ProSlide began to secure IP rights early on, with registered trademarks to protect its corporate identity. It then expanded its IP portfolio with patents, industrial designs, and even trade secrets in its marketing countries.

Read more about ProSlide – Protecting the "next big thing" with IP


Lee Valley Tools – Crafting a business through IP

With beginnings as a kitchen-operated mail-order business, Lee Valley has used the right tools to grow its business over the past 40 years.

The Canadian company has intellectual property in mind at every step of the process: from research and development of the design, to establishing freedom to operate, to deciding which products have IP worth protecting.

Lee Valley knows the value of a strong brand, right down to designing original packaging. The company uses trademarks to create brand recognition at home and internationally, and to adapt its marketing strategies to diverse markets and audiences.

Exploiting various forms of IP to protect their goods, while being respectful of others' IP is part of Lee Valley's good business practices, and it has proven effective.

Read more about ProSlide – Protecting the "next big thing" with IP


CarbonCure – Innovation and IP—CO2 in the mix

Canada's CarbonCure has entirely reimagined CO2 as a solution to reducing concrete's hefty carbon footprint. Its breakthrough technology recycles waste carbon dioxide during the concrete manufacturing process to decrease carbon emissions and improve strength.

A sound IP strategy has been key to CarbonCure's success, enabling the company to generate revenues through licensing its patented technology to concrete manufacturers. CarbonCure also credits its IP-savvy team as invaluable to business development and its effective use of IP.

Read more about CarbonCure – Innovation and IP—CO2 in the mix


lululemon – Intellectual property best practices

Since 1998, Vancouver-based lululemon athletica has evolved from an active living community hub to a global retail phenomenon. Integral to the continued growth of the athletic apparel retailer is the strategic use of IP.

With its distinct logo and brand name, lululemon has successfully used its trademarks as powerful business tools to build a well-recognized brand and establish a strong connection with its customers. To protect the rights to its unique and innovative athletic wear designs, the company holds numerous patents and industrial design registrations in Canada and throughout the world.

Read more about lululemon – Intellectual property best practices


Share your story

Have we inspired you to share your success story? We would love to hear from you!

Contact us for an opportunity to have your success story published on this page.

Please ensure that all submissions can be made publicly available. If you are unsure about disclosing the information please contact a patent or trade-mark agent before submitting your post.


Success stories quiz

Can you guess the answers to the questions on some of these popular Canadian success stories?

1. Shuttled to space 90 times, this astonishing invention was granted its first Canadian patent in 1978.

Answer

The Canadarm

2. How do you solve transport issues caused by harsh Canadian winters? Bombardier found a way with his 1966 industrial design.

Answer

Bombardier B-7 Snowmobile

3. Canadian paramedic Rahul Singh registered a trademark in 2011 for this organization that provides disaster relief.

Answer

Global Medic

4. Hockey goalies around the world owe a debt to Habs fan Bill Burchmore for this industrial design that he registered in 1960.

Answer

Jacques Plante's Goalie Mask

5. This patented invention saved the lives and limbs of thousands of people around the world.

Answer

Acticoat

6. What patented medicine helped lead the way to the pharmaceutical industry with its large-scale production?

Answer

Insulin

7. Trademarked UCA194, this powdered baby cereal potentially saved the lives of many newborn children.

Answer

Pablum

8. An unintentional discovery turned clinical device. That's the remarkable Canadian intellectual property story of this life saving device.

Answer

The pacemaker

Date modified:

Histoires de réussite en matière de propriété intellectuelle

Ces histoires sont celles d'entreprises qui ont réalisé leur plein potentiel à l'aide de la propriété intellectuelle et grâce à la protection qu'elle offre.

Les entreprises canadiennes apportent au marché des idées et des conceptions novatrices tout aussi diversifiées que son public. Notre contribution s'appuie sur nos connaissances et sur notre expertise en matière d'octroi de droits de PI de qualité pour les brevets, les marques de commerce, le droit d'auteur et les dessins industriels, de manière à ce que les innovateurs puissent profiter d'une propriété légitime. Leur succès est notre raison d'être, et c'est ce qui nous motive à partager leur histoire avec vous.


Solace Power – Générer des stratégies intelligentes en matière de protection de la propriété intellectuelle

La transmission d'énergie sans fil est une technique permettant la distribution de l'énergie électrique sans utiliser de fil. À l'ère de l'Internet des objets (IdO), la transmission d'énergie sans fil passe rapidement du luxe à la nécessité. Les experts estiment que d'ici 2020, l'IdO comptera le chiffre stupéfiant de 30 milliards d'objets. Étant donné que bon nombre de ces objets doivent être branchés au courant électrique ou rechargés, le nombre de fils requis pour toutes ces connexions électriques est tout aussi stupéfiant.

Pour en savoir plus à propos de Solace Power – Générer des stratégies intelligentes en matière de protection de la propriété intellectuelle


Chef de file d'une nouvelle génération d'appareils de cuisson : l'Instant Pot

L'Instant PotMD a été créé pour répondre à une question que se posent souvent les personnes occupées : comment préparer rapidement un repas sain et délicieux après une longue journée de travail ou d'étude? L'appareil a touché une corde sensible : l'Instant Pot est l'article le plus vendu dans sa catégorie sur Amazon depuis 5 ans, et une communauté Facebook de 1,6 million d'abonnés lui est consacrée.

Pour des millions de clients, l'Instant Pot est indispensable. Mais qu'est-ce qui est indispensable pour l'entreprise qui a inventé l'Instant Pot? Une solide stratégie de propriété intellectuelle (PI).

Pour en savoir plus à propos de Chef de file d'une nouvelle génération d'appareils de cuisson : l'Instant Pot


Le succès de Spin Master dans le monde du jouet

Dans l'industrie du jouet, où la concurrence est féroce, trouver des façons novatrices et amusantes de faire jouer les enfants est la clé du succès. L'entreprise canadienne Spin Master maîtrise cet art et est devenue un chef de file dans l'industrie du divertissement pour enfants à l'échelle internationale tout en tirant profit stratégiquement de la propriété intellectuelle (PI) pour protéger ses produits et ses sites de divertissement dans le monde entier.

Pour en savoir plus à propos du succès de Spin Master dans le monde du jouet


DNA Genotek : la collecte d'échantillons simplifiée

Quand un magazine renommé comme Time compare l'inventivité de votre entreprise à ce que Google a fait pour les recherches sur le Web, vous savez que c'est gagné.

Située à Ottawa, l'entreprise DNA Genotek permet aux travailleurs, aux chercheurs et aux fournisseurs du domaine de la santé de recueillir des échantillons d'ADN de grande qualité auprès de donneurs peu importe l'endroit, que ce soit à la clinique, sur le terrain ou dans le confort de leur foyer.

Pour en savoir plus à propos de DNA Genotek : la collecte d'échantillons simplifiée


PBSC Solutions urbaines

Changer le monde, une ville à la fois, est la devise de l'entreprise PBSC Solutions Urbaines Inc., (PBSC), et c'est facile de comprendre pourquoi. Fondatrice du système de vélopartage de Montréal (BIXI), cette entreprise canadienne dessine, produit et vend des systèmes de vélopartage aux quatre coins du globe. Ce système écologique est composé d'une station avec des points d'ancrage et un kiosque où l'on peut louer un vélo par carte de crédit et le retourner. Les usagers peuvent également utiliser leur carte de membre ou l'application mobile. Populaire à Montréal et Toronto, PBSC a réussi à mettre en œuvre ses produits dans plus de 30 villes dans le monde, dont New York, Londres, Chicago, Honolulu, Melbourne, Rio de Janeiro, pour n'en nommer que quelques-unes.

Pour en savoir plus à propos de PBSC Solutions urbaines


Faire entrer une marque canadienne unique en Chine

North Vancouver se trouve au pied des montagnes du North Shore, à quelques minutes d'un environnement propice à des activités telles que le ski et l'escalade. Il s'agit d'un milieu unique pour une ville, le creuset idéal pour des aménagements extérieurs novateurs et à la fine pointe de l'innovation. Un lieu parfait pour la naissance d'Arc'teryx.

Fondée en 1989, Arc'teryx est une entreprise manufacturière d'une conception novatrice, spécialisée dans des pièces d'équipement et des vêtements extérieurs à rendement technique élevé. Arc'teryx mise sur la reconnaissance de sa forte image de marque grâce à ses 32 boutiques mono-marque dans le monde, dont 16 en Amérique du Nord. Les produits de l'entreprise sont également distribués dans plus de 3000 magasins de détail répartis à travers 40 pays.

Pour en savoir plus à propos de faire entrer une marque canadienne unique en Chine


Bleeding Art Industries : créer du fantastique dans les industries de la création

Fondée il y a plus de 15 ans, l'entreprise Bleeding Art Industries crée des effets spéciaux époustouflants pour le cinéma et est devenue un incubateur de création pour des centaines d'artistes et de techniciens à Calgary. De plus, l'entreprise fabrique des accessoires et des articles de maquillage prothétique et produit des courts métrages récompensés à l'échelle nationale et internationale.

Les droits de propriété intellectuelle détenus par Bleeding Art Industries sont un élément clé de son succès. L'entreprise a enregistré plusieurs marques de commerce et droits d'auteur pour ses produits et son contenu créatifs.

Pour en savoir plus à propos de Bleeding Art Industries : créer du fantastique dans les industries de la création


La recette du succès au naturel selon Green Beaver

Depuis 2002, Green Beaver a réussi à établir une image de marque fiable et facilement reconnaissable dans un marché mondial concurrentiel et en pleine croissance. La réussite de cette entreprise qui fabrique des produits d'hygiène biologiques et naturels ne s'explique pas seulement par la qualité de ses produits, mais aussi par sa capacité d'avoir reconnu dès le départ la valeur de la propriété intellectuelle. Avec sa marque de commerce unique, Green Beaver s'est assuré une solide présence sur le marché et s'est bâti une solide base de clients fidèles.

Pour en savoir plus à propos de La recette du succès au naturel selon Green Beaver


La PI de Crossworks — Un fabricant de taille supérieure

Crossworks Manufacturing Ltd., qui exploite deux usines au Canada, est une entreprise canadienne de fabrication de diamants bien établie qui a pour mission de créer de magnifiques produits durables qui sont extraits, taillés et vendus dans le monde entier dans le respect de l'éthique. Elle achète, auprès de la société emblématique De Beers, des diamants bruts qui proviennent en majeure partie de la mine de diamants Victor, dans le Nord de l'Ontario.

Soucieuse d'innover, à la fin des années 1990, Crossworks a commencé à se concentrer sur la recherche et le développement pour créer de nouvelles formes jamais vues auparavant dans l'industrie diamantaire, se créant ainsi un brillant portefeuille de propriété intellectuelle (PI). Elle a alors décidé d'utiliser son expertise et son identité pour se différencier en tant qu'entreprise canadienne productrice de diamants aux tailles uniques.

Pour en savoir plus à propos de la PI de Crossworks — Un fabricant de taille supérieure


ProSlide – Protéger le « nec plus ultra » grâce à la PI

Dans une industrie où la différenciation est la clé du succès, l'entreprise canadienne ProSlide Technology Inc. a su naviguer sur les vagues avec agilité. Forte d'une liste impressionnante de premières dans l'industrie, l'entreprise de glissades d'eau ayant également reçu de nombreux prix reconnaît l'importance de protéger sa propriété intellectuelle.

Au cœur de sa stratégie se trouve la volonté d'innover pour créer le prochain « nec plus ultra », tout en demeurant souple à l'égard des besoins et des tendances du marché.

ProSlide a commencé à protéger ses droits de PI dès les débuts de l'entreprise, en faisant enregistrer ses marques de commerce pour protéger son identité commerciale. Elle a ensuite étendu son portfolio de PI, maintenant composé de brevets, de dessins industriels, et même de secrets industriels dans les pays où elle fait affaire.

Pour en savoir plus à propos de ProSlide – Protéger le « nec plus ultra » grâce à la PI


Lee Valley Tools – Tailler une entreprise à partir de la PI

Lee Valley, qui était initialement une entreprise de vente par correspondance exploitée à partir d'une cuisine, a utilisé les bons outils pour faire croître son entreprise au cours des 40 dernières années.

L'entreprise canadienne tient compte de la propriété intellectuelle à chaque étape du processus : de la recherche et du développement des éléments de conception à la détermination de la liberté d'exploitation, en passant par la prise de décisions sur la PI relativement aux produits qu'il convient de protéger.

Lee Valley connaît la valeur d'une marque forte, et ce, jusqu'à la conception de l'emballage original. L'entreprise utilise les marques de commerce afin que sa marque puisse être reconnue au pays et à l'étranger, et afin d'adapter ses stratégies de marketing en fonction des marchés et des publics.

L'exploitation par Lee Valley de différentes formes de PI pour protéger ses biens tout en respectant la PI d'autrui s'inscrit dans ses bonnes pratiques commerciales et s'est révélée efficace.

Pour en savoir plus à propos de Lee Valley Tools – Tailler une entreprise à partir de la PI


CarbonCure – Innovation et PI — Du CO2 dans le béton

L'entreprise canadienne CarbonCure a complètement repensé le CO2 pour en faire une solution permettant de réduire l'empreinte carbone liée au béton. Sa technologie innovatrice permet de recycler le dioxyde de carbone émis durant le processus de fabrication du béton, ce qui contribue à réduire les émissions de carbone et à accroître la résistance du béton.

Une bonne stratégie de PI a été un élément clé du succès de CarbonCure, permettant à l'entreprise de générer des revenus grâce à l'octroi de licences aux fabricants de béton pour l'exploitation de sa technologie brevetée. CarbonCure reconnaît également que son équipe bien avisée en matière de PI est essentielle au développement des affaires et à son utilisation efficace de la PI.

Pour en savoir plus à propos de CarbonCure – Innovation et PI — Du CO2 dans le béton


lululemon – Pratiques exemplaires en matière de propriété intellectuelle

Depuis ses débuts à Vancouver en 1998, lululemon athletica est passé d'un carrefour pour la communauté de vie active à un imposant détaillant mondial. L'utilisation stratégique de la propriété intellectuelle est au cœur de la croissance continue du détaillant de vêtements de sport.

Avec sa marque et son logo distincts, lululemon a su utiliser avec brio ses marques de commerce en tant que puissants outils d'affaires pour bâtir une marque reconnue et établir un lien solide avec ses clients. Afin de protéger les droits liés à ses dessins de vêtements de sport uniques et novateurs, l'entreprise possède de nombreux enregistrements de brevets et de dessins industriels au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde.

Pour en savoir plus à propos de lululemon – Pratiques exemplaires en matière de propriété intellectuelle


Partagez votre histoire

Est-ce que nous vous avons donné le goût de partager votre histoire de réussite? Nous aimerions avoir de vos nouvelles!

Contactez-nous pour que votre histoire soit publiée sur cette page.

Veuillez vous assurer que tous les envois peuvent être rendus publics. Si vous n'êtes pas certain de vouloir divulguer l'information, veuillez communiquer avec un agent de brevet ou de marque de commerce avant d'envoyer votre texte.


Questionnaire sur les histoires de réussite

Pouvez-vous trouver les réponses aux questions sur certaines de ces histoires de réussite canadiennes?

1. Envoyée dans l'espace 90 fois, cette superbe invention a obtenu son premier brevet canadien en 1978.

Réponse

Le Bras canadien

2. Comment se déplacer durant les rudes hivers canadiens? Bombardier a trouvé une solution avec son dessin industriel de 1966

Réponse

Autoneige B-7 de Bombardier

3. Le Canadien Rahul Singh a enregistré une marque de commerce en 2011 pour cette organisation qui offre de l'aide lors de catastrophes.

Réponse

Global Medic

4. Tous les gardiens de but sont redevables à Bill Burchmore, partisan du CH, pour son dessin industriel enregistré en 1960.

Réponse

Masque de gardien de but de Jacques Plante

5. Cette invention brevetée a permis de sauver la vie et les membres de milliers de gens dans le monde .

Réponse

Acticoat

6. Quel médicament breveté, avec sa production à grande échelle, a mené à l'industrie pharmaceutique?

Réponse

L'insuline

7. Ces céréales en poudre dont la marque de commerce est UCA194 ont probablement sauvé la vie de nombreux nouveau-nés.

Réponse

Pablum

8. Une découverte imprévue devenue un dispositif médical. Voilà l'histoire de propriété intellectuelle de ce dispositif qui sauve des vies.

Réponse

La fréquence cardiaque artificielle

Date de modification :