Candidate Guide To Writing — The Canadian Patent Agent Examination

The Patent Agent Examination is a certification exam designed to assess the candidate's knowledge of the Patent Act, the Patent Rules, patent application drafting, case law and Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) practices. The exam is required in order to practice independently as a patent agent.

The examination tests candidates' analytical and problem solving skills as well as their skills in drafting and communicating with the Office and their client.

Candidates may write the examination in English or French. The examination will be provided in both Official Languages. Please note that the English and French versions of the examination may contain language differences because of the specialized subject matter.



Examination Content

The examination consists of four papers as follows:

  1. Paper A tests the candidate's ability to: (1) understand a client's disclosure, (2) analyse prior art relevant to the invention, (3) identify the point(s) of invention of the client's disclosure, and (4) prepare a patent application that is based on and reflects the analysis and conclusions made in items (1) to (3) and is focused on a point of invention both disclosed by the client and patentable over the prior art;
  2. Paper B tests the candidate's basic legal, analytical and knowledge competencies necessary to deal with validity issues respecting issued Canadian patents;
  3. Paper C tests the candidate's basic legal, analytical and knowledge competencies necessary to maintain and prosecute a patent application in Canada, with primary emphasis on Patent Office practice and responding to examiners' reports via formal correspondence with the Office (using appropriate form and content).
  4. Paper D tests the candidate's basic legal, analytical and knowledge competencies necessary to deal with claim infringement issues respecting issued Canadian patents.

Each examination paper may, in addition to the foregoing, include questions directed to basic skills of patent agency, important principles of patent law and practice, and practical problems encountered in actual practice, such as:

  1. reissuance and re-examination of a patent;
  2. unity of invention and divisional practice;
  3. final actions and review of rejected applications by the Commissioner;
  4. issues relating to requisitions and time limits;
  5. administrative procedures such as maintenance fees and national entry;
  6. ownership issues such as assignments, legal title and inventorship;
  7. deemed abandonment and reinstatement;
  8. the Patent Cooperation Treaty;
  9. international applications and international search and examination;
  10. foreign practice as it relates to advising a client about a Canadian application;
  11. complementary protection such as copyrights and industrial designs;
  12. general questions about the state of Canadian law and jurisprudence.

Papers B, C and D of the examination are presented in two parts: part A, which consists of "long answer questions" generally worth 70-80 marks and part B which consists of "short answer questions" generally worth 30-20 marks. Paper A may consist solely of long answer questions.

Candidates are encouraged to consult the specific writing guides for each paper, available on the website of the Intellectual Property Institute of Canada.

Identification of Candidates

Candidates may only identify themselves by their candidate number. The Examining Board follows rules of procedure to maintain strict secrecy as to the identity of all candidates. No member of the Board may, at any time, discuss the marks or standing obtained by a candidate with anyone other than a member of the Board.

Standards Required for Passing the Examination

To be eligible for inclusion on the register of patent agents, a candidate must obtain at least 50 marks (50%) on each paper and have a total of 240 marks on the 4 papers. 100 marks are available for each paper. Candidates may write 1 or more papers in a given year and the marks from a given paper on which a grade of 60 or more was achieved will carry forward to future attempts to pass the examination. A candidate who is entitled to carry forward marks is said to have achieved a "partial pass" of the examination.

If a candidate writes again a paper on which he/she scored at least 60 marks (60%) in a previous year, he/she will keep the marks of the most recent paper.

For example:

Scoring

Marks will be provided for an answer (or a part of an answer) that:

Marks will not be given for:

Logistics

The Patent Agent Examination is held at least once a year, in major centers across Canada.

About 7 months before the examination, the CIPO will announce the date of that year's Patent Agent examination and the deadline for applying to write the examination. The deadline to apply is within two months after the day on which the notice was published.

The examination is written over 4 consecutive days, with 1 paper of the exam written on each day. Candidates are allowed 4 hours for each paper. The papers are typically written from 9:00 to 13:00 hrs.

Note that candidates must provide their own blue or black permanent ink pen with which to write the examination. Candidates may bring adhesive tape, glue and scissors to cut and paste excerpts of the examination into the candidates' answers. Candidates must bring a hard copy of their invitation to write the exam with them each time they write a paper. When the candidates have completed the last paper they are writing, they must submit a signed copy of the invitation to the invigilator. If the candidates do not have a hard copy of the invitation with them, they will not be allowed to write the paper. Furthermore, the candidates must bring one piece of identification with photo or two identification pieces without photo.

Invigilation

  1. At the beginning of each session, each candidate receives the examination paper, answer book(s) and an envelope, and is responsible for indicating the assigned candidate number on each of these. No other form of identification is permitted on any material submitted.
  2. At the conclusion of the four-hour examination session, it is the candidate's responsibility to insert the examination paper together with the answer book(s) into the envelope and to seal the envelope.
  3. The only aids permitted are the copies of the Patent Act and Patent Rules provided by CIPO and an unmarked dictionary (English or French or French/English).
  4. Cell phones, smart phones, smart watches and any device that allows for wireless communication or the retrieval of information from memory may not be used during the examination.

Failure to abide by the rules may result in a candidate being given a mark of zero (0).

Examination Results

Examination results are communicated to candidates about 3 months after the examination date.

Candidates are given a 2-week period within which to request their examination materials, and have one month from the date on which examination materials are sent to request a review of their marks.

Reviews are completed and the results are communicated to candidates about 2 months after the deadline to submit requests for review.

Top Four Tips When Taking the Exam

Allocate your time

The marks referred to throughout the paper are provided to show the relative weight attributed to each question. Allocate your time accordingly, to avoid running out of time. Recognize that writing extensively on questions that are worth few marks may prevent you from fully answering more substantive questions worth more marks.

Write efficiently

Salutations, signatures and other formalities of correspondence are not required in your answers; substance is important. Marks are awarded for analytical and problem solving skills, communication skills, drafting skills, prioritizing and judgment skills in addition to knowledge demonstrated in your answers. Answers given in point form are acceptable except where the question specifically asks you to draft or write your answer.

Read the questions carefully

Read the questions carefully and answer the questions as asked, based on the facts presented. In drafting the questions, the Examining Board attempts to ensure that all necessary information required to respond to the question is included in the fact situation as set out. Do not incorporate your own technical knowledge of the subject matter into your answers. Statements of authorities or pertinent law (which may include case law and statutory and regulatory provisions) and analysis are required to address each issue adequately unless the question expressly states that it is not necessary.

Write legibly

It is important to write as legibly as possible, double-spaced on the right-hand pages of the answer book. If the Examining Board member is unable to read the response, it will not be marked. Furthermore, marks will not be given for anything written on the left hand pages of the answer book, or on the examination itself (unless pages from the examination itself are incorporated in the answer book).

Date modified:

Guide du candidat pour la rédaction — Examen d’agent de brevets canadien

L'examen d'agent de brevets est un examen d'accréditation qui évalue les connaissances qu'a le candidat de la Loi sur les brevets, des Règles sur les brevets, de la rédaction des demandes de brevet, de la jurisprudence et des pratiques de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC). Cet examen est nécessaire pour devenir un agent indépendant de brevets.

Également, l'examen permet de démontrer les capacités d'analyse et de résolution de problème des candidats ainsi que leur habileté à rédiger des documents et à communiquer avec l'Office et leur client.

Les parties de l'examen sont disponibles dans les deux langues officielles et les candidats peuvent répondre aux questions dans la langue officielle de leur choix. Il est à noter que les versions française et anglaise de l'examen peuvent comporter des divergences linguistiques en raison de la nature spécialisée de la matière.



Contenu de l'examen

L'examen comporte les quatre documents suivants :

  1. Papier A évalue la capacité du candidat à : (1) comprendre la présentation du client, (2) analyser l'état de la technique de l'invention, (3) identifier les points d'invention de la présentation du client et (4) préparer la demande de brevet en fonction de l'analyse et des conclusions des trois premiers points. La demande doit cibler un point d'invention établi par le client et brevetable suivant l'état de la technique;
  2. Papier B évalue les connaissances ainsi que les compétences juridiques et analytiques de base du candidat nécessaires pour vérifier la validité de l'invention en rapport aux brevets canadiens existants;
  3. Papier C évalue les connaissances ainsi que les compétences juridiques et analytiques de base du candidat nécessaires pour soutenir et déposer une demande de brevet au Canada, et plus précisément sa connaissance des pratiques du Bureau des brevets et sa capacité à répondre aux rapports des examinateurs dans le cadre d'une correspondance officielle avec le Bureau (tant dans la forme que dans le contenu);
  4. Papier D évalue les connaissances ainsi que les compétences juridiques et analytiques du candidat nécessaires pour traiter les réclamations pour contrefaçon en rapport aux brevets canadiens existants;

En plus des critères ci-haut, chaque papier de l'examen comporte des questions sur les connaissances de base qu'a le candidat du Bureau des brevets, des principes importants des lois des pratiques sur les brevets ainsi que des problèmes pratiques survenant à l'usage; par exemple :

  1. redélivrance et réexamen d'un brevet;
  2. unité de l'invention et pratique divisionnaire;
  3. dispositions finales et examen des demandes refusées par le Commissaire;
  4. problèmes relatifs aux demandes et aux délais;
  5. procédures administratives; par exemple : les taxes périodiques et l'enregistrement national;
  6. questions de propriété; par exemple : les cessions, les titres juridiques et le droit sur l'invention;
  7. abandon et rétablissement réputés;
  8. Traité de coopération en matière de brevets;
  9. demandes, recherches et examens internationaux;
  10. pratiques étrangères en matière de conseils à un client sur les demandes canadiennes;
  11. protection complémentaire; par exemple : les droits d'auteur et la protection des dessins industriels;
  12. questions générales sur les lois et la jurisprudence canadiennes.

Les papiers B, C et D de l'examen sont séparés en deux parties : La partie A, qui présente des questions à développement, vaut généralement entre 70 et 80 points; la partie B quant à elle propose des questions à réponses courtes qui valent entre 20 et 30 points. Le document A peut ne comporter que des questions à développement.

Les candidats sont encouragés à consulter les guides de rédaction pour chaque document disponibles sur le site Web de l'Institut de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada.

Identification des candidats

Les candidats seront identifiés uniquement par leur numéro. Le comité d'examen se conforme aux règles de procédure afin d'assurer l'entière confidentialité de l'identité des candidats. Les membres du comité d'examen ne peuvent d'aucune façon discuter des notes ou du classement d'un candidat avec d'autres personnes sauf qu'avec les autres membres du comité.

Critères de réussite de l'examen

Pour que son nom soit inscrit au registre des agents de brevets, un candidat doit obtenir au moins 50 points (50 %) à chacune des épreuves et un total de 240 points pour les 4 épreuves. La note maximale de chaque papier est de 100. Un candidat peut se présenter à une ou à plusieurs épreuves au cours d'une même année et les points obtenus à une épreuve donnée, pour laquelle une note de 60 % ou plus a été obtenue, pourront être reportés à toute tentative ultérieure du candidat pour réussir l'examen de compétence. Lorsque les points obtenus par un candidat à une ou à plusieurs épreuves peuvent être reportés, le candidat est réputé avoir « réussi partiellement » l'examen de compétence.

Le candidat qui rédige à nouveau un examen auquel il a obtenu au moins 60 points (60 %) précédemment, conservera la note de l'épreuve la plus récente.

Par exemple :

Notation

Des points seront accordés pour les réponses (ou parties de réponse) qui :

On n'accorde pas de point pour :

Logistique

L'examen d'agent de brevets a lieu au moins une fois par année dans différents grands centres à la grandeur du pays.

Environ sept mois avant l'examen, l'OPIC dévoile la date de l'examen à venir et la date limite pour s'y inscrire. La date limite d'inscription est dans les deux mois suivant la date de publication de l'avis.

L'examen écrit s'échelonne sur quatre jours; un papier par jour. Les candidats ont droit à quatre (4) heures pour chaque papier. Généralement, les examens se déroulent entre 9 h et 13 h.

Les candidats doivent fournir leur propre stylo à encre permanente bleue ou noire pour l'examen. Les candidats peuvent apporter du ruban adhésif, de la colle et des ciseaux pour couper des extraits de la copie d'examen et les coller dans leur cahier de réponse. Les candidats doivent également obligatoirement apporter une copie papier de leur invitation à rédiger l'examen avec eux chaque fois qu'ils rédigent une épreuve. Lorsque les candidats auront complété la dernière épreuve à laquelle ils sont inscrits, ils devront soumettre une copie signée de leur invitation au surveillant. Si les candidats n'ont pas une copie papier de leur invitation, il ne leur sera pas permis de rédiger l'épreuve. Enfin, les candidats doivent apporter une pièce d'identité avec photo ou deux pièces d'identité sans photo.

Surveillance

  1. Au début d'une période d'examen, chaque candidat reçoit une copie d'examen, un cahier de réponses et une enveloppe. Il doit inscrire son numéro de candidat sur chacun de ces items. Il est interdit d'inscrire une autre forme d'identification sur le matériel fourni.
  2. Au terme de la période d'examen de quatre heures, le candidat met sa copie d'examen et son cahier de réponse dans l'enveloppe fournie et la cachète.
  3. Les seuls outils de référence permis sont la Loi sur les brevets et les Règles sur les brevets fournis par l'OPIC ainsi qu'un dictionnaire non annoté (anglais, français ou bilingue).
  4. Les téléphones cellulaires, téléphones intelligents, montres intelligentes et autres appareils de communications sans fil et d'extraction d'information d'une mémoire sont interdits pendant l'examen. Il vous sera demandé d'éteindre tout appareil électronique avant le début de l'examen.

Le candidat qui n'observe pas les directives peut se voir attribuer une note de zéro.

Résultats d'examen

Les résultats d'examen sont communiqués aux candidats environ trois (3) mois après leur date d'examen.

Les candidats ont deux semaines pour demander leur matériel d'examen, et un mois à partir de la date d'envoi dudit matériel pour demander une révision de leur note.

Les résultats des révisions sont communiqués aux candidats environ deux mois après la date limite de demande de révision.

4 principaux conseils pour l'examen

Pondérez le temps alloué

Tenez compte du nombre de points attribués à la question. Lorsqu'il s'agit de questions représentant un nombre inférieur de points, le fait de consacrer beaucoup de temps à la rédaction d'une réponse a souvent pour conséquence que les candidats sont incapables de répondre aux questions plus importantes ou n'ont pas assez de temps pour le faire.

Rédiger efficacement

Les salutations, signatures et autres formalités ne sont pas exigés dans vos réponses. Le texte en substance est important. Des points sont accordés pour les capacités d'analyse et de résolution de problème, les aptitudes à la communication et à la rédaction, la capacité d'établir les priorités et de poser un jugement, en plus des connaissances démontrées dans vos réponses. Les réponses en style abrégé sont acceptables, sauf si la question vous demande expressément d'écrire ou de rédiger votre réponse. Les principes des décisions ou de loi applicable (ce qui peut comprendre la jurisprudence, les dispositions législatives et réglementaires) et l'analyse sont requises pour traiter chaque question de manière adéquate à moins que la question mentionne spécifiquement que cela n'est pas nécessaire.

Lisez attentivement

Lisez attentivement les questions et répondez-y correctement en fonction des faits énoncés. En rédigeant les questions, le comité a voulu s'assurer que tous les renseignements nécessaires à la réponse figuraient dans l'exposé de la situation. N'ajoutez pas dans vos réponses vos propres connaissances techniques sur le sujet.

Écrivez lisiblement

Écrivez aussi lisiblement que possible à double interligne sur les pages de droite du cahier de réponse. Si le comité d'examen est incapable de lire la réponse, il ne lui attribuera pas de points. De plus, aucun point ne sera accordé au texte qui est écrit sur les pages de gauche du cahier de réponses ou sur la copie de l'épreuve (à moins que les pages de la copie de l'épreuve soient incluses dans l'examen).

Date de modification :