Obtaining an Authorization in Canada

A Canadian pharmaceutical manufacturer that wishes to supply a low-cost version of a patented pharmaceutical product to an eligible importing country must comply with Health Canada requirements and follow the application procedures below.

Please contact our Client Service Centre to obtain an application or renewal package with the applicable forms.

Initial application
1. Submit an Application for authorization under Section 21.04 of the Patent Act. (Form 1)

Application for a compulsory licence to manufacture and export a generic version of a patented pharmaceutical product or medical device.

2. Submit a Solemn or statutory declaration under paragraph 21.04(3)(c) of the Patent Act. (Form 2)

Declaration that the applicant sought a voluntary licence from the patent holder or holders.

3. Submit a Solemn or statutory declaration under clause 21.04(3)(d) (Form 3, Form 4, Form 5, Form 6, or Form 7)

Choose the form that corresponds to the schedule on which the importing country appears as well as the patent status of the pharmaceutical product or medical device in that country.

  1. Solemn or statutory declaration under clause 21.04(3)(d)(i)(A) of the Patent Act (Form 3)
    Schedule 2, WTO member, product not patented
  2. Solemn or statutory declaration under clause 21.04(3)(d)(i)(B) of the Patent Act (Form 4)
    Schedule 2, WTO member, product is patented
  3. Solemn or statutory declaration under clause 21.04(3)(d)(ii)(A) of the Patent Act (Form 5)
    Schedule 2, not WTO member, product not patented
  4. Solemn or statutory declaration under clause 21.04(3)(d)(ii)(B) of the Patent Act (Form 6)
    Schedule 2, not WTO member, product is patented
  5. Solemn or statutory declaration under clause 21.04(3)(d)(iii)(A), (iv)(A) or (v)(A) of the Patent Act (Form 7)
    Schedule 3 or 4, product not patented
4. Submit a certified copy of the appropriate notification, based on WTO and patented status. (if required)

Note: certified copies of the appropriate notification are not required if the importing country is:

  • a Schedule 2 country and Form 3 or Form 5 are submitted.
  • a Schedule 3 or 4 country and Form 7 is submitted.

If the importing country is a WTO member, and:

  • The product is not patented in the importing country:
    submit a certified copy of the notification sent to the WTO of its intention to import the pharmaceutical product and confirmation that the product is not patented in the importing country; or
  • The product is patented in the importing country:
    submit a certified copy of the notification sent to the WTO of its intention to import the pharmaceutical product and that it has granted or intends to grant authorization to use the invention pertaining to the product.

If the importing country is not a WTO member, and:

  • The product is not patented in the importing country:
    submit a certified copy of the notice sent to the Government of Canada of its intention to import the pharmaceutical product and confirmation that the product is not patented in the importing country; or
  • The product is patented in the importing country:
    submit a certified copy of the notice sent to the Government of Canada of its intention to import the pharmaceutical product and that it has granted or intends to grant authorization to use the invention pertaining to the product.
Before exporting
1. Submit a Solemn or statutory declaration (Form 8)

Pursuant to paragraph 21.16(1)(b) of the Patent Act, within 15 days after the day on which the authorization was granted OR the day on which the supply agreement to which the authorization relates was entered into, whichever is later.

2. Provide a copy of the supply agreement with the importing country to the Commissioner and the patentee(s).

Pursuant to paragraph 21.16(1)(a) of the Patent Act, within 15 days after the day on which the authorization was granted OR the day on which the supply agreement to which the authorization relates was entered into, whichever is later.

3. Maintain a website

Before a pharmaceutical product subject to an authorization may be exported, the holder of the authorization must establish a website pursuant to Section 21.06 of the Patent Act.

The duty to maintain the website by disclosing the particulars remains ongoing throughout the validity period of the authorization.

4. Pay royalties

The Regulations provide that a holder of an authorization is required to pay royalties within a prescribed time, and in accordance with a prescribed regulatory formula that takes into account the humanitarian and non-commercial reasons underlying the issuance of an authorization.

The formula calculates the royalty by multiplying the monetary value of the supply agreement between the holder of the authorization and the importing country by an amount that fluctuates on the basis of that country's standing on the United Nations Human Development Index (UNHDI).

The formula to determine the royalty rate is 1, plus the number of countries on the UNHDI, minus the importing country's rank on the UNHDI, divided by the number of countries on the UNHDI, multiplied by 0.04.

According to this formula, the royalty payable in respect of the lowest eligible country that currently appears on the UNHDI would be 0.02 percent, and the highest, 3.5 percent.

Mathematically, the regulatory formula cannot result in a royalty rate in excess of 4 percent, a ceiling that is considered to be consistent with the humanitarian and non-commercial considerations that gave rise to the August 30, 2003 decision and the Jean Chrétien Pledge to Africa regime.

5. Provide a notice of export

Pursuant to Section 21.07 of the Patent Act, within fifteen (15) days prior to the export of each shipment, the holder of the authorization must provide an export notice, by certified or registered mail, to the patentee(s), the importing country or WTO Member, and the person or entity that purchased the product.

Renewing an application
1. Submit an Application for renewal of authorization under Section 21.12 of the Patent Act (Form 10)

An authorization is valid for a period of two years and can be renewed only once for an equal period, on application by the holder of the authorization and within thirty (30) days immediately before the authorization ceases to be valid.

An applicant seeking renewal of an authorization must certify that the quantity of the pharmaceutical product that had been authorized to be made and exported had not been fully exported within the initial two-year term and that the applicant has otherwise complied with the terms of the authorization and its statutory obligations to establish a website disclosing the particulars of the authorized transaction, to provide a notice of export for each shipment, and to pay the patentee(s) the required royalty.

Date modified:

Obtenir une autorisation au Canada

Les fabricants de produits pharmaceutiques canadiens qui désirent fournir une version abordable d'un produit pharmaceutique breveté à un pays importateur admissible doivent se conformer aux exigences de Santé Canada et suivre les formalités de demande ci-dessous.

Veuillez communiquer avec notre Centre de services à la clientèle pour obtenir une trousse contenant les formulaires d'autorisation ou de renouvellement.

Demande initiale
1. Présenter une Demande d'autorisation prévue à l'article 21.04 de la Loi sur les brevets. (Formulaire 1)

Demande de licence obligatoire pour la fabrication et l'exportation d'une version générique d'un produit pharmaceutique ou d'un instrument médical breveté.

2. Produire une Déclaration solennelle prévue à l'alinéa 21.04(3)(c) de la Loi sur les brevets. (Formulaire 2)

Déclaration précisant que le demandeur a tenté d'obtenir une licence volontaire du ou des titulaires de brevet.

3. Produire une Déclaration solennelle prévue à la division 21.04(3)(d) (Formulaire 3, Formulaire 4, Formulaire 5, Formulaire 6 ou Formulaire 7)

Choisir le formulaire correspondant à l'annexe sur laquelle figure le pays importateur et à l'état du brevet dans ce pays du produit pharmaceutique ou de l'instrument médical.

  1. Déclaration solennelle prévue à la division 21.04(3)(d)(i)(A) de la Loi sur les brevets (Formulaire 3)
    annexe 2, pays membre de l'OMC, produit non breveté
  2. Déclaration solennelle prévue à la division 21.04(3)(d)(i)(B) de la Loi sur les brevets (Formulaire 4)
    annexe 2, pays membre de l'OMC, produit breveté
  3. Déclaration solennelle prévue à la division 21.04(3)(d)(ii)(A) de la Loi sur les brevets (Formulaire 5)
    annexe 2, pays non membre de l'OMC, produit non breveté
  4. Déclaration solennelle prévue à la division 21.04(3)(d)(ii)(B) de la Loi sur les brevets (Formulaire 6)
    annexe 2, pays non membre de l'OMC, produit breveté
  5. Déclaration solennelle prévue à la division 21.04(3)(d)(iii)(A), (iv)(A) ou (v)(A) de la Loi sur les brevets (Formulaire 7)
    annexe 3 ou 4, produit non breveté
4. Présenter une copie certifiée conforme de l'avis approprié en fonction du statut à l'OMC du pays importateur et de l'état du brevet du produit pharmaceutique. au besoin)

Nota : aucune copie certifiée conforme n'est requise si le pays importateur :

  • figure à l'annexe 2 et qu'un formulaire 3 ou 5 a été produit;
  • figure à l'annexe 3 ou 4 et qu'un formulaire 7 a été produit.

Si le pays importateur est membre de l'OMC, et

  • Le produit n'est pas breveté dans le pays importateur :
    présenter une copie certifiée conforme de l'avis envoyé à l'OMC pour lui signifier son intention d'importer le produit pharmaceutique et que le produit n'est pas breveté dans le pays importateur; ou
  • Si le produit est breveté dans le pays importateur :
    présenter une copie certifiée conforme de l'avis envoyé à l'OMC pour lui signifier son intention d'importer le produit pharmaceutique et lui signaler qu'il a accordé ou qu'il a l'intention d'accorder une autorisation pour l'utilisation de l'invention se rapportant au produit.

Si le pays importateur n'est pas membre de l'OMC, et

  • Si le produit n'est pas breveté dans le pays importateur :
    présenter une copie certifiée conforme de l'avis envoyé au gouvernement du Canada pour lui signifier son intention d'importer le produit pharmaceutique et que le produit n'est pas breveté dans le pays importateur; ou
  • Si le produit est breveté dans le pays importateur :
    présenter une copie certifiée conforme de l'avis envoyé au gouvernement du Canada pour lui signifier son intention d'importer le produit pharmaceutique et lui signaler qu'il a accordé ou qu'il a l'intention d'accorder une autorisation pour l'utilisation de l'invention se rapportant au produit.
Avant d'exporter
1. Produire une Déclaration solennelle (Formulaire 8)

En vertu de l'alinéa 21.16(1)(b) de la Loi sur les brevets, dans les quinze (15) jours suivant le jour de l'octroi de l'autorisation OU le jour de la conclusion de l'accord d'approvisionnement faisant l'objet de l'autorisation, le dernier délai à expirer étant à retenir.

2. Fournir au commissaire et au(x) breveté(s) une copie de l'accord d'approvisionnement du titulaire de l'autorisation avec le pays importateur.

En vertudel'alinéa 21.16(1)(a) de la Loi sur les brevets, dans les quinze (15) jours suivant le jour de l'octroi de l'autorisation OU le jour de la conclusion de l'accord d'approvisionnement faisant l'objet de l'autorisation, le dernier délai à expirer étant à retenir.

3. Tenir un site Internet

Avant d'exporter le produit pharmaceutique fabriqué au titre de l'autorisation, le titulaire doit créer un site Web conformément à l'article 21.06 de la Loi sur les brevets.

Le site Web doit divulguer de l'information et être maintenu pendant toute la durée de validité de l'autorisation.

4. Verser les redevances

Les Règles prévoient que le titulaire d'une autorisation est tenu de verser, dans un délai imparti, des redevances qui sont calculées selon une formule réglementaire qui tient compte des principes humanitaires et non commerciaux qui sous-tendent l'octroi d'une autorisation.

La formule calcule les redevances en multipliant la valeur pécuniaire de l'accord d'approvisionnement intervenu entre le titulaire de l'autorisation et le pays importateur, par un montant qui fluctue suivant le rang numérique qu'occupe ce pays sur l'indicateur de développement humain des Nations Unies (IDHNU).

La formule qui détermine le taux de la redevance est : 1 plus le nombre total de pays figurant sur l'indicateur, moins le rang du pays importateur sur l'indicateur. Cette valeur est ensuite divisée par le nombre total de pays figurant sur l'indicateur et est multipliée par 0,04.

Selon cette formule, la redevance devant être versée relativement au pays apparaissant au rang le plus bas sur l'indicateur serait de l'ordre de 0,02 %, contre 3,5 % pour le pays occupant le rang le plus élevé.

Mathématiquement, la formule réglementaire ne peut pas entraîner un taux de redevance supérieur à 4 %, un plafond considéré comme étant en accord avec les considérations humanitaires et non commerciales ayant mené à la décision du 30 août 2003 et à l'engagement de Jean Chrétien envers l'Afrique.

5. Donner un avis d'exportation

En vertu de l'article 21.07 de la Loi sur les brevets, dans les quinze (15) jours précédant l'exportation de chaque expédition, le titulaire de l'autorisation doit donner, par courrier certifié ou recommandé, un avis d'exportation au breveté ou à chacun des brevetés, au pays importateur ou au membre de l'OMC, ainsi qu'à la personne ou à l'entité qui a acheté le produit.

Renouvellement d'une demande
1. Présenter une Demande de renouvellement d'autorisation prévue à l'article 21.12 de la Loi sur les brevets (Formulaire 10)

Une autorisation est valide pour une période de deux ans, et ne peut faire l'objet que d'un seul renouvellement d'une durée équivalente, sur demande du titulaire de l'autorisation dans les trente (30) jours précédant la fin de la période de validité de l'autorisation.

Pour obtenir le renouvellement de son autorisation, le demandeur doit certifier que la quantité du produit pour laquelle il a reçu une autorisation de production et d'exportation n'a pas été exportée en totalité au cours de la période de deux ans qui lui a été allouée, et qu'il a par ailleurs respecté les conditions de l'autorisation et les obligations que lui imposait la Loi de maintenir un site Web pour divulguer l'information relative à la transaction autorisée , de fournir un avis d'exportation pour chaque expédition, et de payer les redevances prescrites au(x) breveté(s).

Date de modification :