Standard fees for patents

Check fees for patent filing, examination, maintenance and other services. All amounts are in Canadian dollar.

Warning: scam notices related to patents or trademarks

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) is aware of various scam mail or email being sent to holders of patent and trademark registrations. Protect yourself! Find out more about non-CIPO solicitations and learn how you can report them.


Most common fees

Different fees must be paid at various times during the patent application process. The table below shows the more commonly paid fees. For a more comprehensive list you should consult the complete list of fees for patents.

Fees
Title and description Standard Small entityFootnote 1
Filing fee
To receive an official filing date in Canada, the filing fee, and a signed small entity declaration if applicable, needs to be submitted at the time of filing with all the other minimum requirements.
$400 $200
Request for examination
Your application will not automatically be examined simply because you have filed it. You must formally request examination and pay the examination fee. This request must be made within five years of the Canadian filing date; otherwise, your application will be deemed abandoned.
$800 $400
Request for advanced examination
The advanced examination fee is in addition to the request for examination fee, but no additional fee is required for the accelerated examination service of patent applications related to clean technologies. Please note that CIPO will not consider an advanced examination request unless the application has been laid open to public inspection and you have made a request for examination.
$500 $500
Final fee (before grant)
If the examiner finds your patent application to be allowable, the Office will send you a Notice of Allowance. This notice will confirm that you will receive a patent if you pay the amount of the final fee within 6 months from the date of the notice.
$300* $150*
Reinstatement fee
If your application becomes abandoned, you must request that it be reinstated if you want to continue the process to obtain a patent. The process is simple: you must make a clear request for the reinstatement of your application, take the action that should have been taken (pay the maintenance fee, respond to an office action, etc.) and pay the reinstatement fee of $200.
$200 $200

*For each page in excess of 100 pages add an additional $6

Maintenance fees

Each year a maintenance fee must be paid in order to keep a patent application or patent in good standing. This table provides an overview, but the detailed list should be consulted.

Basic maintenance fees (if paid on or before the anniversary of the filing)
On or before Standard Small entityFootnote 1
2nd, 3rd, and 4th anniversary of the filing $100 $50
5th, 6th, 7th, 8th and 9th anniversary of the filing $200 $100
10th, 11th, 12th, 13th and 14th anniversary of the filing $250 $125
15th, 16th, 17th, 18th and 19th anniversary of the filing $450 $225

Legal Disclaimer: CIPO has made reasonable efforts to ensure that any information provided is accurate. If there are inconsistencies between the information on this page and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed. The information provided is for information purposes only and should not be relied upon for legal purposes or business decisions.

Legislation

Date modified:

Taxes générales pour les brevets

Aide-mémoire pour les taxes pour le dépôt d'un brevet, l'examen, le maintien en état et autres services. Tous les montants sont en dollars canadiens.

Attention : avis de fraude concernant des brevets et des marques de commerce

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) a appris que des correspondances frauduleuses et des pourriels sont envoyés aux détenteurs de brevets et de marques de commerce. Protégez-vous! Apprenez-en plus sur les avis qui ne proviennent pas de l'OPIC et comment vous pouvez les signaler.


Les taxes les plus fréquentes

Diverses taxes doivent être payées à divers moments pendant la procédure menant à l'octroi d'un brevet. Le tableau ci-dessous décrit les taxes les plus fréquentes. Pour une liste complète, consultez la liste complète des frais des brevets.

Taxes
Titre et description Générale Petite entitéNote de bas de page 1
Taxe pour le dépôt
Auparavant appelée « taxe de dépôt », son paiement ne constitue plus une exigence pour l'obtention d'une date de dépôt. Cependant, si la taxe pour le dépôt n'est pas payée au moment du dépôt, elle sera considérée comme en souffrance et le paiement d'une surtaxe sera exigé.
400 $ 200 $
Requête d'examen
Votre demande ne sera pas automatiquement examinée simplement parce que vous l'avez déposée. Vous devez faire une requête d'examen écrite officielle, accompagnée du paiement de la taxe pour l'examen d'une demande. La requête d'examen doit être faite dans les quatre ans suivant la date de dépôt de votre demande de brevet au Canada; autrement, votre demande sera réputée abandonnée.
800 $ 400 $
Requête d'avancement de l'examen
La taxe pour l'avancement de l'examen d'une demande de brevet est en sus de la taxe pour l'examen d'une demande, mais aucune taxe supplémentaire n'est imposée pour l'examen accéléré d'une demande de brevet liée aux technologies d'atténuation des impacts environnementaux. Veuillez prendre note que l'OPIC ne tiendra compte d'une requête d'avancement de l'examen d'une demande de brevet que si la demande de brevet peut être consultée par le public et qu'une requête d'examen de la demande a été faite.
500 $ 500 $
Taxe finale (avant l'octroi)
La taxe finale est payable une fois que l'examinateur a déterminé que votre demande de brevet est acceptable. Vous recevrez un avis d'acceptation indiquant que vous disposez d'un délai de quatre mois à compter de la date de l'avis pour effectuer le paiement de la taxe finale. Le brevet sera délivré une fois que la taxe finale aura été payée.
300 $* 150 $*

*Une taxe supplémentaire de 6 $ s'ajoute pour chaque page après la centième page, autre que des pages de listage des séquences soumises sous forme électronique.

Taxes pour le maintien en état

Chaque année, une taxe pour le maintien en état doit être payée pour assurer le maintien en état d'une demande de brevet ou des droits conférés par un brevet.

Cette liste donne un aperçu, mais la liste détaillée devrait être consultée.

Taxes de maintien en état de base (si payées avant ou à la date anniversaire du dépôt)
À la date même ou avant Générale Petite entitéNote de bas de page 1
2e, 3e, et 4e anniversaire du dépôt 100 $ 50 $
5e, 6e, 7e, 8e et 9e anniversaire du dépôt 200 $ 100 $
10e, 11e, 12e, 13e et 14e anniversaire du dépôt 250 $ 125 $
15e, 16e, 17e, 18e et 19e anniversaire du dépôt 450 $ 225 $

Avis de non-responsabilité légal : L'OPIC a fait des efforts raisonnables pour s'assurer que ces renseignements sont justes. En cas de divergence entre les renseignements contenus dans cette page et les dispositions législatives applicables, ces dernières ont préséance. Ces renseignements sont fournis à titre d'information seulement et ne devraient pas être le fondement unique pour des questions d'ordre juridique ni des décisions d'affaires.

Date de modification :