Archived — Practice Notice: Professional Designations and their initials — Paragraph 12(1)(b) of the trade-marks Act, Publication Date: 2007-06-13

Professional Designations and their initials — Paragraph 12(1)(b) of the Trade-marks Act

Publication Date: 2007-06-13

Note: This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on current Trademarks Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed.

This notice is intended to clarify the Trademarks Office practice with respect to applying the provisions of paragraph 12(1)(b) of the Trade-marks Act (hereinafter referred to as the "Act") to professional designations.

When confronted with a mark that appears to be the title of a profession, research is conducted to determine whether it is a professional designation. Where research discloses that the trademark applied for does consist of a professional designation, examiners are to apply the first impression test in light of the applicant's wares and/or services Wool Bureau of Canada Ltd. v. Registrar of Trade Marks, (1978) 40 C.P.R. (2d) 25; Mitel Corp. v. Registrar of Trade Marks (1984), 79 C.P.R. (2d) 202].

If it is considered that the prospective consumer, when faced with the applied for trademark would immediately, as a matter of first impression, assume that the wares or services are produced by a professional from that designation, the mark will be found to be clearly descriptive of the persons employed in the production of the wares and services and unregistrable pursuant to the provisions of paragraph 12(1)(b) of the Act [Life Underwriters Assn. of Canada v. Provincial Assn. of Québec Life Underwriters (1988 FCTD 1); Lubrication Engineers, Inc. v. Canadian Council of Professional Engineers (1992 FCA 243) ].

The Trademarks Office considers that the addition of initials to the title of a profession will not serve to render a mark registrable where these are clearly descriptive and known to be only initials representing the titles [Life Underwriters Assn supra].

Date modified:

Archivé — Énoncé de pratique: Titres professionnels et leurs initiales — Alinéa 12(1)(b) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, Date de publication : 2007-06-13

Titres professionnels et leurs initiales — Alinéa 12(1)(b) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce

Date de publication : 2007-06-13

Nota : Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour but de préciser les pratiques actuelles du Bureau des marques de commerce et l'interprétation faite par le Bureau de certaines dispositions de la loi pertinente. Toutefois, en cas de divergence entre le présent énoncé et la loi applicable, c'est la loi qui prévaudra.

Le présent énoncé a pour but de préciser la pratique du Bureau des marques de commerce en ce qui concerne l'application des dispositions de l'alinéa 12(1)(b) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce (ci-après la « Loi ») aux titres professionnels.

Lorsqu'il se heurte à une marque qui semble être le nom d'une profession, l'examinateur effectue une recherche afin de déterminer s'il s'agit d'un titre professionnel. Si la recherche révèle que la marque de commerce visée par la demande est effectivement composée d'un titre professionnel, l'examinateur doit appliquer le critère de la première impression eu égard aux marchandises et/ou services du requérant Wool Bureau of Canada Ltd. v. Registrar of Trade Marks, (1978) 40 C.P.R. (2d) 25; Mitel Corp. v. Registrar of Trade Marks (1984), 79 C.P.R. (2d) 202].

S'il est jugé que le consommateur éventuel, au vu de la marque visée par la demande, aurait immédiatement l'impression que les marchandises ou services sont produits par un membre de cette profession, la marque sera considérée comme donnant une description claire des personnes ayant produit les marchandises et services et donc non enregistrable conformément aux dispositions de l'alinéa 12(1)(b) de la Loi [Life Underwriters Assn. of Canada v. Provincial Assn. of Québec Life Underwriters (1988 CFSPI 1); Lubrication Engineers, Inc. v. Canadian Council of Professional Engineers (1992 CAF 243)].

Le Bureau des marques de commerce considère que l'ajout d'initiales au titre d'une profession ne rendra pas une marque enregistrable si ces initiales sont clairement descriptives et sont connues comme étant seulement des initiales représentant le titre professionnel [Life Underwriters Assn ci-dessus].

Date de modification :