Archived — Practice Notice: Public Authority Status under Sub-paragraph 9(1)(n)(iii), Publication Date: 2006-02-01

Public Authority Status under Sub-paragraph 9(1)(n)(iii)

Publication Date: 2006-02-01

NOTE: This notice replaces the notice on public authority status under sub-paragraph 9(1)(n) (iii) published in the Trademarks Journal on October 02, 2002.

This notice is intended to provide guidance on current Trademarks Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between these notices and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed.

Obligation To Evaluate Public Authority Status

The Registrar of Trademarks will require evidence of public authority status on every request to publish an official mark pursuant to sub-paragraph 9(1)(n) (iii) of the Trade-marks Act Stadium Corporation of Ontario Ltd. v. Wagon-Wheel Concessions Ltd., [1989] 3 F. C. 132 (F.C.T.D.)].

Public authority in Canada

In order for an entity to claim the benefit of subparagraph 9(1)(n)(iii) of the Trade-marks Act, it must be a public authority in Canada [Canada Post Corporation v. United States Postal Service (unreported, 2005 FC 1630)].

Test To Be Used To Evaluate Public Authority Status

The Registrar of Trademarks will apply the two-part test, adopted by the Federal Court of Appeal [Ontario Association of Architects v. Association of Architectural Technologists of Ontario, 19 C.P.R. (4 th) 417, hereinafter referred to as "Ontario Association of Architects"].

The two-part test is made up of the following elements:

  • a significant degree of control must be exercised by the appropriate government over the activities of the body; and
  • the activities of the body must benefit the public.

Governmental Control within Canada

In order to satisfy the first element of the two-part test, an entity must be subject to governmental control within Canada   [Canada Post Corporation v. United States Postal Service (unreported, 2005 FC 1630)].

The test of governmental control calls for ongoing government supervision of the activities of the body claiming to be a public authority for the purpose of sub-paragraph 9(1)(n)(iii).

The fact that a self-regulatory body is statutory, and its objects and powers may be amended unilaterally and exclusively by the Legislature that created it, does not in law constitute "governmental control" in this context.

The test of governmental control requires that the government be enabled, directly or through its nominees, to exercise a degree of ongoing influence in the body's governance and decision-making.

The following are examples of the types of governmental control the Registrar may look for in evaluating public authority status (Ontario Association of Architects):

  • legislation conferring powers on the relevant Minister to:
    1. review the activities of the body;
    2. request the body to undertake activities that, in the Minister's opinion, are necessary and desirable for implementing the intent of the Act;
    3. advise the body on the implementation of statutory schemes.
  • legislation conferring powers on the Lieutenant Governor in Council to:
    1. approve the exercise of the body's regulation-making;
    2. appoint members of the body's committees.

The fact that a body is incorporated as a non-profit corporation with charitable objects, has obtained tax exempt status, the ability to issue charitable receipts to donors, or that, as a foreign charity operating in a Canadian province, it could be asked to provide its accounts, financial and corporate information to the government, is not sufficient to conclude that it is under sufficient significant government control to be a public authority [Big Sisters Association of Ontario and Big Sisters of Canada v. Big Brothers of Canada, 75 C.P.R. (3d) 177 and Canadian Jewish Congress v. Chosen People Ministries, Inc. and The Registrar of Trademarks, 19 C.P.R. (4 th) 186, affirmed 27 C.P.R. (4 th) 193].

Public Benefit

In determining whether a body's functions satisfy the public benefit requirement, it is relevant to consider its objects, duties and powers, including the distribution of its assets. In this context, a duty to do something that is of benefit to the public is relevant as an element of "public benefit", even though it is not a "public duty" in the sense of being legally enforceable by a public law remedy, such as an order of mandamus or its equivalent (Ontario Association of Architects).

Examples of activities which are for public benefit include:

  • regulating the practice of a profession, setting and enforcing standards of professional competence and ethical conduct of the body's members;
  • being under a duty to maintain an accurate register of members and to make it available for public inspection;
  • the fact that the decisions of a statutory self-regulatory body regarding membership and discipline are subject to appeal to a Court of justice on questions of fact and law tends to indicate that the public benefits from the proper performance by the body of its functions.

The fact that the activities of a body may also benefit its members is not a fatal objection to characterizing them as also benefiting the public.

NOTE: The fee set out in Item 12 of the Tariff of Fees, that is payable on the filing of a request pursuant to paragraph 9(1)(n) or (n.1) of the Act, is considered to cover the work associated with creating the file and is therefore not transferable or refundable.

Date modified:

Archivé — Énoncé de pratique: Statut d'autorité publique en vertu du sous-alinéa 9(1)(n)(iii), Date de publication : 2006-02-01

Statut d'autorité publique en vertu du sous-alinéa 9(1)(n)(iii)

Date de publication : 2006-02-01

NOTE : Le présent énoncé de pratique remplace celui sur le statut d'autorité publique en vertu du sous-alinéa 9(1)(n)(iii), paru dans le Journal des marques de commerce le 2 octobre 2002.

Il a pour objet de fournir une orientation sur les pratiques du Bureau des marques de commerce et l'interprétation des lois pertinentes. Toutefois, en cas de disparité entre cet énoncé de pratique et les lois pertinentes, ces dernières doivent prévaloir.

Obligation d'évaluer le statut d'autorité publique

Le registraire des marques de commerce exigera une preuve du statut d'autorité publique à l'égard de chaque demande de publication d'une marque officielle, conformément au sous-alinéa 9(1)(n)(iii) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce Société ontarienne du Stade Limitée c. Wagon-Wheel Concessions Ltd., [1989] 3 F. C. 132 (SPICF)].

Autorité publique au Canada

Pour qu’une entité puisse revendiquer le bénéfice du sous-alinéa 9(1)(n)(iii) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, elle doit être une autorité publique au Canada [Canada Post Corporation c. United States Postal Service (non-publiée, 2005 CF 1630)].

Critère d'évaluation du statut d'autorité publique

Le registraire des marques de commerce se fonde sur le critère à deux volets adopté par la Cour d'appel fédérale [Ontario Association of Architects c. Association of Architectural Technologists of Ontario, 19 C.P.R. (4 th) 417, ci-après « Ontario Association of Architects »].

Le critère à deux volets repose sur les éléments suivants :

  1. Le gouvernement compétent doit exercer un contrôle important sur les activités de l'organisme;
  2. Les activités de l'organisme doivent servir l'intérêt public.

Contrôle exercé par le gouvernement au Canada

Afin de rencontrer le premier élément du critère d’évaluation à deux volets, une entité doit être assujettie à un contrôle gouvernemental au Canada [Canada Post Corporation c. United States Postal Service (non-publié, 2005 CF 1630)].

Le critère du contrôle gouvernemental exige une supervision continue de la part du gouvernement des activités de l'organisme qui prétend être une autorité publique aux fins du sous-alinéa 9(1)(n)(iii).

Le fait qu'un organisme auto-réglementaire soit établi par la loi, et que sa mission et ses pouvoirs puissent être modifiés de façon unilatérale et exclusive par le corps législatif qui l'a créé ne constitue pas selon la loi un « contrôle exercé par le gouvernement » dans ce contexte.

Le critère du contrôle gouvernemental exige que le gouvernement soit habilité, directement ou par l'entremise de personnes désignées, à exercer une influence continue sur la gouvernance et le processus décisionnel de l'organisme.

Voici des exemples de contrôle exercé par le gouvernement que le registraire peut rechercher en vue d'évaluer le statut d'autorité publique (Ontario Association of Architects) :

  • dispositions législatives octroyant des pouvoirs au ministre compétent afin :
    1. d'examiner les activités de l'organisme;
    2. de demander à l'organisme d'entreprendre des activités qui, selon lui, sont nécessaires et souhaitables en vue d'appliquer dûment la Loi;
    3. de conseiller l'organisme sur l'application de projets législatifs.
  • dispositions législatives octroyant des pouvoirs au lieutenant gouverneur en conseil afin :
    1. d'approuver l'exercice du pouvoir réglementaire de l'organisme;
    2. de nommer les membres des comités de l'organisme.

Le fait qu'un organisme soit incorporé comme société de bienfaisance à but non lucratif, qu'il bénéficie d'une exemption fiscale, qu'il ait la capacité d'émettre des reçus pour dons de bienfaisance ou que, en tant qu'organisme de bienfaisance étranger œuvrant dans une province canadienne, le gouvernement puisse lui demander de fournir des renseignements sur ses comptes ainsi que de l'information financière et corporative ne permet pas de conclure que l'organisme est soumis à un contrôle suffisant pour être une autorité publique [Big Sisters Association of Ontario et Grandes soeurs du Canada c. Les Grands Frères du Canada, 75 C.P.R. (3d) 177 et Congrès juif canadien c. Chosen People Ministries Inc. et le registraire des marques de commerce, 19 C.P.R. (4 th) 186, confirm é 27 C.P.R. (4 th) 193].

Intérêt public

Pour déterminer si les activités d'un organisme servent un intérêt public, il est pertinent d'examiner sa mission, ses obligations et ses pouvoirs, de même que la répartition de son actif. Dans ce contexte, l'obligation de faire quelque chose qui profite à la population peut être considérée comme un facteur d'« intérêt public », même si elle ne constitue pas une « obligation publique », dans le sens qu'elle n'est pas exécutoire conformément à un redressement prévu par le droit public, comme une ordonnance de mandamus ou un redressement équivalent (Ontario Association of Architects).

Exemples d'activités d'intérêt public :

  • réglementer l'exercice d'une profession, établir et appliquer des règles de compétence professionnelle et de comportement éthique à l'intention des membres de l'organisme;
  • avoir l'obligation de maintenir un registre précis des membres et de le rendre accessible aux fins de vérification publique.
  • le fait que les décisions prises par un organisme auto-réglementaire établi par la loi relativement à ses membres et à ses mesures de discipline fassent l'objet d'un appel auprès d'un tribunal de droit sur des questions de fait et de droit semble indiquer que la population tire profit de l'exercice approprié des fonctions de l'organisme.

Le fait que les activités d'un organisme puissent aussi profiter aux membres de l'organisme ne constitue pas une objection fatale à ce que l'on considère ces activités comme profitables à la population.

NOTE : Le droit prévu à l'article 12 du Tarif des droits, qui est payable pour la production d'une demande visée aux alinéas 9(1)(n) ou (n.1) de la Loi, est considéré couvrir le traitement associé à la création du dossier et ne sera donc pas transféré ou remboursé.

Date de modification :