Archived — Practice Notice: Priority Claims - Requirements for Country, Date and Number, Publication Date: 2000-06-07

Priority Claims - Requirements for Country, Date and Number

Publication Date: 2000-06-07

This practice notice constitutes an amendment to the Trademarks Examination Manual. The text appearing in section II.7.3.5 of the Examination Manual is deleted and replaced with the following text:

This amendment will be incorporated into the paper version of the Manual when it is next printed.

In accordance with subsection 34(1) of the Trade-marks Act, in order for an applicant to make a claim of priority based on an earlier filed application, a declaration setting out the date and country of filing of the earlier application must be filed with the Registrar of Trademarks within a period of six months after the date on which the earliest application was filed for the registration of the same or substantially the same trademark for use in association with the same kind of wares or services. Such a priority declaration may be filed in one of the following ways:

  1. by including the declaration in an application as originally filed, provided that the subsequent application is filed within the above-noted six-month period;
  2. by amending an application to include the declaration, provided that the amendment is made within the six-month period;
  3. by filing a separate declaration in respect of an application at any time within the six-month period.

Should an error be made in a priority declaration concerning the date or country of filing of the earlier application, the Office will permit the declaration to be amended to correct the error at any time within the six-month period of time. After the expiry of the six-month period of time, no amendment will be permitted to the date or country indicated in the declaration since it is considered that such an amendment would be inconsistent with subsection 34(1) of the Act.

Subsection 34(1) of the Act does not require that a priority declaration include the number of the earlier application. The Office, however, considers that it is highly desirable for it to be able to make available to the public either the number of, or a copy of, the earlier application. Accordingly, where a priority declaration does not include the number of the earlier application, the Office will, pursuant to subsection 34(2) of the Act, require the applicant to either provide the Office with the number or submit a certified copy of the earlier application.

Should an error be made in indicating the number of the earlier application, the Office will permit the number to be corrected at any time before registration. (Since subsection 34(1) of the Act does not require the declaration to include the number, the Office considers that an amendment of the number is permitted by the applicant as of right in accordance with section 30 of the Trade-marks Regulations (1996).)

Date modified:

Archivé — Énoncé de pratique: Revendications de priorité - exigences quant au pays, à la date et au numéro, Date de publication : 2000-06-07

Revendications de priorité - exigences quant au pays, à la date et au numéro

Date de publication : 2000-06-07

Cet énoncé de pratique consiste en une modification au Manuel de l'examen des marques de commerce. Le texte figurant au paragraphe II.7.3.5 du Manuel de l'examen est rayé et remplacé par le texte suivant:

Cette modification sera intégrée à la version papier du Manuel lors de la prochaine réimpression.

Conformément au paragraphe 34(1) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, le requérant peut revendiquer la priorité fondée sur une demande antérieure en produisant au Bureau du registraire des marques de commerce une déclaration de la date et du pays où a été produite la demande antérieure dans les six mois à compter de la date de production de la plus ancienne demande d'enregistrement de la même marque de commerce, ou sensiblement la même, en vue de son emploi en liaison avec le même genre de marchandises ou services. La déclaration de priorité peut être produite selon l'un ou l'autre des modes suivants :

  1. inclure la déclaration dans la demande initiale, à la condition que la demande postérieure soit produite dans le délai de six mois indiqué ci-dessus;
  2. modifier la demande par insertion de la déclaration, à la condition que la modification soit faite dans le délai de six mois;
  3. produire une déclaration séparée relativement à la demande à tout moment dans le délai de six mois.

Si, dans la déclaration de priorité, la date ou le pays où a été produite la demande antérieure sont mal indiqués, le Bureau permet au requérant de modifier la déclaration pour corriger l'erreur à tout moment dans le délai de six mois. Après l'expiration du délai de six mois, aucune modification de la date ou du pays indiqués dans la déclaration ne sera autorisé car une telle modification est tenue pour incompatible avec le paragraphe 34(1) de la Loi.

Le paragraphe 34(1) de la Loi n'exige pas que la déclaration de priorité inclut le numéro de la demande antérieure. Le Bureau juge cependant très à propos de pouvoir mettre à la disposition du public soit le numéro, soit une copie de la demande antérieure. En conséquence, si la déclaration de priorité n'inclut pas le numéro de la demande antérieure, le Bureau enjoindra au requérant, en vertu du paragraphe 34(2) de la Loi, de fournir le numéro au Bureau ou de lui remettre une copie certifiée de la demande antérieure.

Si le numéro de la demande antérieure est mal indiqué, le Bureau permettra que le numéro soit corrigé à tout moment avant l'enregistrement. (Comme le paragraphe 34(1) de la Loi n'exige pas que la déclaration inclue le numéro, le Bureau estime que le requérant peut modifier le numéro de plein droit conformément B l'article 30 du Règlement sur les marques de commerce (1996).)

Date de modification :